DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 4 - 10, 12, 14 - 19, & 30 - 33 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 9, 15, 17, 18, & 31 - 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weed (US 2020/0198561 A1) in view of Falk (US 2017/0026236 A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Weed discloses: An apparatus including at least one processor and at least one non-transitory memory including computer program code instructions, the computer program code instructions configured to, when executed, cause the apparatus to at least: (Weed discloses in at least Paragraph 0011 a vehicle system for use with at least one removable accessory, including a user interface and controller [i.e. an apparatus]. At least Paragraphs 0097 & 0101 of Weed disclose wherein the system controllers, including accessory and vehicle controllers, may be embodied as non-transient computer readable storage media, such as memory, coupled to processing hardware, storing and implementing computer instructions to perform functions [i.e. at least one processor and at least one non-transitory memory including computer program code instructions])
receive an indication of an accessory device connected to a connection point of a vehicle; (Weed discloses in at least Paragraph 0127 wherein a connection between a controller and accessory may be established by the physical connection of one or more wires from the accessory to a wire harness [i.e. connection point] of the vehicle. Based on establishing this connection between controller and accessory, which includes an explicit detection step for the connection by the controller as disclosed in at least Paragraphs 0128 & 0129 of Weed [i.e. based on an indication of an accessory device being connected], the controller is configured to provide information to a user interface controller indicating the connection between the controller and the accessory, and transmit a request for the accessory identification information to the accessory)
retrieve accessory information from the accessory device; wherein accessory information is retrieved from a read only memory of the accessory device and (Weed discloses in at least Paragraph 0127 wherein in response to a connection between a controller that is part of the vehicle and an accessory being established, the controller may transmit a request for accessory identification information [i.e. accessory information] to the accessory, which may be received and processed by a controller that is part of the accessory to transmit the requested accessory identification information back to the controller that is part of the vehicle as disclosed in at least Paragraph 0134 [i.e. accessory information is retrieved from the accessory device]. At least Paragraph 0140 of Weed further discloses wherein the accessory identification information may be a configuration message indicating a particular accessory, or information such as voltage or pulse width modulation characteristics enabling a vehicle controller to identify a particular accessory from stored accessory information as disclosed in at least Paragraphs 0142 & 0143. At least Figure 12 of Weed, below, depicts this identification process, and at least Paragraphs 0112 & 0159 of Weed disclose wherein memory of an accessory, which may include read-only memory, may store identification indicators [i.e. wherein accessory information is retrieved from a read only memory of the accessory device])
Wherein accessory information comprises one or more of: a mode of operation according to a vehicle state, a mode of operation according to a vehicle speed, a mode of operation according to a presence of a key, a maximum current draw, a maximum on time, or a dimming capability of the accessory device; (Weed discloses in at least Paragraphs 0207 – 0209 wherein user customization for an accessory may be pre-defined or pre-programmed in memory, said customization being used to provide different commands to control the accessories based on one or more vehicle parameters, such as vehicle speed, turn signal status, and the like [i.e. accessory information comprises a mode of operation according to a vehicle state or a mode of operation according to a vehicle speed]. At least Paragraph 0232 of Weed discloses wherein one such customization may indicate when to turn on an accessory, such as a light accessory being provided instructions to turn on when the vehicle speed exceeds a threshold. At least Paragraphs 0240, 0241, 0245, & 0246 of Weed disclose a plurality of further customization parameters in which the accessory device may be turned on, such as gear position, IMU measurement, and the like)
configure operation of the accessory device according to the one or more of the mode of operation according to the vehicle state, the mode of operation according to the vehicle speed, the mode of operation according to the presence of the key, the maximum current draw, the maximum on time, or the dimming capability of the accessory device: (Weed discloses in at least Paragraphs 0022 – 0025 & 0207 – 0209 wherein based on customization information for accessories, the vehicle controller may be configured to provide different commands to the accessories to control said accessories [i.e. operation of the accessory device(s) is configured based on the accessory information]. As set forth above with respect to the accessory information, this may include a configuration to be controlled based on one or more vehicle parameters such as speed, turn signal status, and the like, such as a light accessory being provided instructions to turn on when the vehicle speed exceeds a threshold as disclosed in at least Paragraph 0232 of Weed [i.e. configure operation of the accessory device according to the one or more of the mode of operation according to the vehicle state or the mode of operation according to the vehicle speed])
receive, from the vehicle, an operational state of the vehicle; and (Weed discloses in at least Paragraph 0211 wherein an accessory controller disposed at the vehicle may receive information from multiple different sensors, including a vehicle speed sensor, steering sensor, inertial measurement unit (IMU), and gear position sensor, among other embodiments, to receive information regarding vehicle speed, steering angle/position/rate, yaw/pitch/roll rate, lateral/longitudinal acceleration, and gear position [i.e. operational states of the vehicle are received])
provide power to the accessory device based on the accessory information and the operational state of the vehicle. (Weed discloses in at least Paragraphs 0011 & 0021 wherein one or more commands may be provided to control the at least one removable accessory based on the identification of the accessory, which is based on the accessory identification information, control including the providing/termination or adjustment of power to identified vehicle accessories as disclosed in at least Paragraph 0109 [i.e. power is provided based on the accessory information]. At least Paragraph 0019 of Weed discloses wherein a plurality of vehicle parameter thresholds are utilized as comparison points for vehicle parameters [i.e. operational states of the vehicle] to determine if power supplied should be reduced or terminated. At least Paragraphs 0231 & 0232 of Weed further disclose in an embodiment, based on the vehicle speed exceeding a threshold, light accessories are turned on, and based on the vehicle speed falling below said threshold, light accessories are turned off [i.e. provide power to the accessory device based on… the operational state of the vehicle]. At least Figure 22 of Weed, below, further discloses the aforementioned steps)
Weed however appears to be silent regarding:
Wherein accessory information comprises one or more flags, wherein the one or more flags include one or more of:
However Falk teaches wherein a configuration data structure including a plurality of information items and parameters may be stored in the memory of a connectable device and communicated to an apparatus to which the device is connected.
Wherein accessory information comprises one or more flags, wherein the one or more flags include one or more of: (However Falk teaches in at least Paragraphs 0049 & 0050 wherein a configuration data structure [KDS] may be stored in the memory of a connectable device, and the KDS may be communicated to the apparatus to which the device is connected. At least Paragraphs 0054 & 0056 of Falk further teach wherein the KDS may include a plurality of information items and parameters, as well as a configuration identifier, information concerning the type of the device, and the configuration data itself as taught in at least Paragraphs 0058, 0059, & 0063, the KDS being depicted in at least Figures 2 & 3 of Falk, below. At least Paragraphs 0026 – 0028 of Falk teach wherein the configuration data may be utilized to configure the device to operate in the environment in which it is connected [i.e. wherein the one or more flags include data that configures operation of the device as set forth above with respect to Weed]. Examiner notes that “flags” in the context of programming encompass one or more bits storing variables representing attributes in an embodiment, said variables which may be members of a defined data structure, and thus the parameters and identifiers in the KDS of Falk are asserted by the Examiner to anticipate the “flags” comprising the accessory information of the present claimed invention)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Weed by incorporating the communication of configuration data for a connectable device through a configuration data structure comprising a plurality of information items and parameters as taught by Falk.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Falk in at least Paragraph 0063, the amount of data required to be transferred between devices may be reduced, improving the communication of configuration parameters between connected devices and the apparatus to which said devices connect to.
Regarding Claim 7:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein causing the apparatus to receive accessory f. information from the accessory device comprises causing the apparatus to receive accessory information via a single wire that is not used to power the accessory device.
Weed discloses in at least Paragraph 0134 wherein a wiring harness, through which the connection takes place as disclosed in at least Paragraph 0127 of Weed, may include power wires, and an additional wire to transmit/receive information, including accessory identification information [i.e. accessory information is received via a single wire that is not used to power the accessory device].
Regarding Claim 9:
Weed discloses: A method comprising: (Weed discloses in at least Paragraph 0005 a method for connecting an accessory to a vehicle, including the receipt of accessory identification in response to establishing a physical connection between vehicle and accessory, the identification of the accessory based on the identification information, and the control of power allocation to the accessory as disclosed in at least Paragraph 0018)
receiving an indication of an accessory device connected to a connection point of a vehicle; (Weed discloses in at least Paragraph 0127 wherein a connection between a controller and accessory may be established by the physical connection of one or more wires from the accessory to a wire harness [i.e. connection point] of the vehicle. Based on establishing this connection between controller and accessory, which includes an explicit detection step for the connection by the controller as disclosed in at least Paragraphs 0128 & 0129 of Weed [i.e. based on an indication of an accessory device being connected], the controller is configured to provide information to a user interface controller indicating the connection between the controller and the accessory, and transmit a request for the accessory identification information to the accessory)
retrieving accessory information from the accessory device, wherein accessory information is retrieved from a read only memory of the accessory device (Weed discloses in at least Paragraph 0127 wherein in response to a connection between a controller that is part of the vehicle and an accessory being established, the controller may transmit a request for accessory identification information [i.e. accessory information] to the accessory, which may be received and processed by a controller that is part of the accessory to transmit the requested accessory identification information back to the controller that is part of the vehicle as disclosed in at least Paragraph 0134 [i.e. accessory information is received from the accessory device]. At least Paragraph 0140 of Weed further discloses wherein the accessory identification information may be a configuration message indicating a particular accessory, or information such as voltage or pulse width modulation characteristics enabling a vehicle controller to identify a particular accessory from stored accessory information as disclosed in at least Paragraphs 0142 & 0143. At least Figure 12 of Weed, above, depicts this identification process, and at least Paragraphs 0112 & 0159 of Weed disclose wherein memory of an accessory, which may include read-only memory, may store identification indicators [i.e. wherein accessory information is retrieved from a read only memory of the accessory device])
Wherein accessory information comprises one or more of: a mode of operation according to a vehicle state, a mode of operation according to a vehicle speed, a mode of operation according to a presence of a key, a maximum current draw, a maximum on time, or a dimming capability of the accessory device; (Weed discloses in at least Paragraphs 0207 – 0209 wherein user customization for an accessory may be pre-defined or pre-programmed in memory, said customization being used to provide different commands to control the accessories based on one or more vehicle parameters, such as vehicle speed, turn signal status, and the like [i.e. a mode of operation according to a vehicle state, a mode of operation according to a vehicle speed]. At least Paragraph 0232 of Weed discloses wherein one such customization may indicate when to turn on an accessory, such as a light accessory being provided instructions to turn on when the vehicle speed exceeds a threshold. At least Paragraphs 0240, 0241, 0245, & 0246 of Weed disclose a plurality of further customization parameters in which the accessory device may be turned on, such as gear position, IMU measurement, and the like)
configuring operation of the accessory device according to the one or more of the mode of operation according to the vehicle state, the mode of operation according to the vehicle speed, the mode of operation according to the presence of the key, the maximum current draw, the maximum on time, or the dimming capability of the accessory device; (Weed discloses in at least Paragraphs 0022 – 0025 & 0207 – 0209 wherein based on customization information for accessories, the vehicle controller may be configured to provide different commands to the accessories to control said accessories [i.e. operation of the accessory device(s) is configured based on the accessory information]. As set forth above with respect to the accessory information, this may include a configuration to be controlled based on one or more vehicle parameters such as speed, turn signal status, and the like, such as a light accessory being provided instructions to turn on when the vehicle speed exceeds a threshold as disclosed in at least Paragraph 0232 of Weed [i.e. configure operation of the accessory device according to the one or more of the mode of operation according to the vehicle state or the mode of operation according to the vehicle speed])
receiving, from the vehicle, an operational state of the vehicle; and (Weed discloses in at least Paragraph 0211 wherein an accessory controller disposed at the vehicle may receive information from multiple different sensors, including a vehicle speed sensor, steering sensor, inertial measurement unit (IMU), and gear position sensor, among other embodiments, to receive information regarding vehicle speed, steering angle/position/rate, yaw/pitch/roll rate, lateral/longitudinal acceleration, and gear position [i.e. operational states of the vehicle are received])
providing power to the accessory device based on the accessory information and the operational state of the vehicle. (Weed discloses in at least Paragraph 0011 wherein one or more commands may be provided to control the at least one removable accessory based on the identification of the accessory, which is based on the accessory identification information, control including the providing/termination or adjustment of power to identified vehicle accessories as disclosed in at least Paragraph 0109 [i.e. power is provided based on the accessory information]. At least Paragraph 0019 of Weed discloses wherein a plurality of vehicle parameter thresholds are utilized as comparison points for vehicle parameters [i.e. operational states of the vehicle] to determine if power supplied should be reduced or terminated. At least Paragraphs 0231 & 0232 of Weed further disclose in an embodiment, based on the vehicle speed exceeding a threshold, light accessories are turned on, and based on the vehicle speed falling below said threshold, light accessories are turned off [i.e. provide power to the accessory device based on… the operational state of the vehicle]. At least Figure 22 of Weed, above, further discloses the aforementioned steps)
Weed however appears to be silent regarding:
Wherein accessory information comprises one or more flags, wherein the one or more flags include one or more of:
However Falk teaches wherein a configuration data structure including a plurality of information items and parameters may be stored in the memory of a connectable device and communicated to an apparatus to which the device is connected.
Wherein accessory information comprises one or more flags, wherein the one or more flags include one or more of: (However Falk teaches in at least Paragraphs 0049 & 0050 wherein a configuration data structure [KDS] may be stored in the memory of a connectable device, and the KDS may be communicated to the apparatus to which the device is connected. At least Paragraphs 0054 & 0056 of Falk further teach wherein the KDS may include a plurality of information items and parameters, as well as a configuration identifier, information concerning the type of the device, and the configuration data itself as taught in at least Paragraphs 0058, 0059, & 0063, the KDS being depicted in at least Figures 2 & 3 of Falk, above. At least Paragraphs 0026 – 0028 of Falk teach wherein the configuration data may be utilized to configure the device to operate in the environment in which it is connected [i.e. wherein the one or more flags include data that configures operation of the device as set forth above with respect to Weed]. Examiner notes that “flags” in the context of programming encompass one or more bits storing variables representing attributes in an embodiment, said variables which may be members of a defined data structure, and thus the parameters and identifiers in the KDS of Falk are asserted by the Examiner to anticipate the “flags” comprising the accessory information of the present claimed invention)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Weed by incorporating the communication of configuration data for a connectable device through a configuration data structure comprising a plurality of information items and parameters as taught by Falk.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Falk in at least Paragraph 0063, the amount of data required to be transferred between devices may be reduced, improving the communication of configuration parameters between connected devices and the apparatus to which said devices connect to.
Regarding Claim 15:
Claim 15 recites substantially the same limitations as those found in Claim 7, above, and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding Claim 17:
The method of claim 9, further comprising: receiving an indication that a new accessory is present within the vehicle; and providing for display of a user-interface including options for configuring the vehicle according to one or more properties of the new accessory.
Weed discloses in at least Paragraphs 0147 & 0149 wherein upon a new accessory being connected, such new accessory being identified through the steps disclosed in at least Paragraph 0123 and Figure 12 of Weed, above, the controller may be configured to add the newly connected accessory to the user interface, and display a customization screen for customizing the accessories based on user input and/or vehicle parameters. At least Paragraphs 0206, 0211, & 0222 of Weed disclose wherein customization parameters set may include specific configuration of accessory behavior based on operational parameters of the vehicle, such as the lighting of vehicle light bars being based on turning direction, or a gear shift position/speed indicating if an accessory should be enabled or not.
Regarding Claim 18:
Weed discloses: A computer program product comprising at least one non-transitory computer- readable storage medium having computer-executable program code portions stored therein, the computer-executable program code portions comprising program code instructions configured to: (Weed discloses in at least Paragraph 0011 a vehicle system for use with at least one removable accessory, including a user interface and controller. At least Paragraphs 0097 & 0101 of Weed disclose wherein the system controllers, including accessory and vehicle controllers, may be embodied as non-transient computer readable storage media, such as memory, coupled to processing hardware, storing and implementing computer instructions to perform functions [i.e. at least one processor and at least one non-transitory memory including computer program code instructions])
receive an indication of an accessory device connected to a connection point of a vehicle; (Weed discloses in at least Paragraph 0127 wherein a connection between a controller and accessory may be established by the physical connection of one or more wires from the accessory to a wire harness [i.e. connection point] of the vehicle. Based on establishing this connection between controller and accessory, which includes an explicit detection step for the connection by the controller as disclosed in at least Paragraphs 0128 & 0129 of Weed [i.e. based on an indication of an accessory device being connected], the controller is configured to provide information to a user interface controller indicating the connection between the controller and the accessory, and transmit a request for the accessory identification information to the accessory)
retrieve accessory information from the accessory device, wherein accessory information is retrieved from a read only memory of the accessory device (Weed discloses in at least Paragraph 0127 wherein in response to a connection between a controller that is part of the vehicle and an accessory being established, the controller may transmit a request for accessory identification information [i.e. accessory information] to the accessory, which may be received and processed by a controller that is part of the accessory to transmit the requested accessory identification information back to the controller that is part of the vehicle as disclosed in at least Paragraph 0134 [i.e. accessory information is received from the accessory device]. At least Paragraph 0140 of Weed further discloses wherein the accessory identification information may be a configuration message indicating a particular accessory, or information such as voltage or pulse width modulation characteristics enabling a vehicle controller to identify a particular accessory from stored accessory information as disclosed in at least Paragraphs 0142 & 0143. At least Figure 12 of Weed, above, depicts this identification process, and at least Paragraphs 0112 & 0159 of Weed disclose wherein memory of an accessory, which may include read-only memory, may store identification indicators [i.e. wherein accessory information is retrieved from a read only memory of the accessory device])
Wherein accessory information comprises one or more of: a mode of operation according to a vehicle state, a mode of operation according to a vehicle speed, a mode of operation according to a presence of a key, a maximum current draw, a maximum on time, or a dimming capability of the accessory device; (Weed discloses in at least Paragraphs 0207 – 0209 wherein user customization for an accessory may be pre-defined or pre-programmed in memory, said customization being used to provide different commands to control the accessories based on one or more vehicle parameters, such as vehicle speed, turn signal status, and the like [i.e. a mode of operation according to a vehicle state, a mode of operation according to a vehicle speed]. At least Paragraph 0232 of Weed discloses wherein one such customization may indicate when to turn on an accessory, such as a light accessory being provided instructions to turn on when the vehicle speed exceeds a threshold. At least Paragraphs 0240, 0241, 0245, & 0246 of Weed disclose a plurality of further customization parameters in which the accessory device may be turned on, such as gear position, IMU measurement, and the like)
configure operation of the accessory device according to the one or more of the mode of operation according to the vehicle state, the mode of operation according to the vehicle speed, the mode of operation according to the presence of the key, the maximum current draw, the maximum on time, or the dimming capability of the accessory device; (Weed discloses in at least Paragraphs 0022 – 0025 & 0207 – 0209 wherein based on customization information for accessories, the vehicle controller may be configured to provide different commands to the accessories to control said accessories [i.e. operation of the accessory device(s) is configured based on the accessory information]. As set forth above with respect to the accessory information, this may include a configuration to be controlled based on one or more vehicle parameters such as speed, turn signal status, and the like, such as a light accessory being provided instructions to turn on when the vehicle speed exceeds a threshold as disclosed in at least Paragraph 0232 of Weed [i.e. configure operation of the accessory device according to the one or more of the mode of operation according to the vehicle state or the mode of operation according to the vehicle speed])
receive, from the vehicle, an operational state of the vehicle; and (Weed discloses in at least Paragraph 0211 wherein an accessory controller disposed at the vehicle may receive information from multiple different sensors, including a vehicle speed sensor, steering sensor, inertial measurement unit (IMU), and gear position sensor, among other embodiments, to receive information regarding vehicle speed, steering angle/position/rate, yaw/pitch/roll rate, lateral/longitudinal acceleration, and gear position [i.e. operational states of the vehicle are received])
provide power to the accessory device based on the accessory information and the operational state of the vehicle. (Weed discloses in at least Paragraph 0011 wherein one or more commands may be provided to control the at least one removable accessory based on the identification of the accessory, which is based on the accessory identification information, control including the providing/termination or adjustment of power to identified vehicle accessories as disclosed in at least Paragraph 0109 [i.e. power is provided based on the accessory information]. At least Paragraph 0019 of Weed discloses wherein a plurality of vehicle parameter thresholds are utilized as comparison points for vehicle parameters [i.e. operational states of the vehicle] to determine if power supplied should be reduced or terminated. At least Paragraphs 0231 & 0232 of Weed further disclose in an embodiment, based on the vehicle speed exceeding a threshold, light accessories are turned on, and based on the vehicle speed falling below said threshold, light accessories are turned off [i.e. provide power to the accessory device based on… the operational state of the vehicle]. At least Figure 22 of Weed, above, further discloses the aforementioned steps)
Weed however appears to be silent regarding:
Wherein accessory information comprises one or more flags, wherein the one or more flags include one or more of:
However Falk teaches wherein a configuration data structure including a plurality of information items and parameters may be stored in the memory of a connectable device and communicated to an apparatus to which the device is connected.
Wherein accessory information comprises one or more flags, wherein the one or more flags include one or more of: (However Falk teaches in at least Paragraphs 0049 & 0050 wherein a configuration data structure [KDS] may be stored in the memory of a connectable device, and the KDS may be communicated to the apparatus to which the device is connected. At least Paragraphs 0054 & 0056 of Falk further teach wherein the KDS may include a plurality of information items and parameters, as well as a configuration identifier, information concerning the type of the device, and the configuration data itself as taught in at least Paragraphs 0058, 0059, & 0063, the KDS being depicted in at least Figures 2 & 3 of Falk, above. At least Paragraphs 0026 – 0028 of Falk teach wherein the configuration data may be utilized to configure the device to operate in the environment in which it is connected [i.e. wherein the one or more flags include data that configures operation of the device as set forth above with respect to Weed]. Examiner notes that “flags” in the context of programming encompass one or more bits storing variables representing attributes in an embodiment, said variables which may be members of a defined data structure, and thus the parameters and identifiers in the KDS of Falk are asserted by the Examiner to anticipate the “flags” comprising the accessory information of the present claimed invention)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Weed by incorporating the communication of configuration data for a connectable device through a configuration data structure comprising a plurality of information items and parameters as taught by Falk.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Falk in at least Paragraph 0063, the amount of data required to be transferred between devices may be reduced, improving the communication of configuration parameters between connected devices and the apparatus to which said devices connect to.
Regarding Claim 31:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the accessory information is stored on the read only memory as an address and a series of flags, wherein the address and the series of flags provide all configurable information associated with the accessory device.
Weed does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the accessory information is stored on the read only memory as an address and a series of flags, wherein the address and the series of flags provide all configurable information associated with the accessory device.
However Falk teaches in at least Paragraphs 0049 & 0050 wherein a configuration data structure [KDS] may be stored in the memory of a connectable device, and the KDS may be communicated to the apparatus to which the device is connected. At least Paragraphs 0054 & 0056 of Falk further teach wherein the KDS may include a plurality of information items and parameters, as well as a configuration identifier, information concerning the type of the device [i.e. an address as defined in at least Paragraph 0034 of the present specification], and the configuration data itself [i.e. wherein the address and the series of flags provide all configurable information associated with the accessory device] as taught in at least Paragraphs 0058, 0059, & 0063. Examiner notes that as set forth above, “flags” in the context of programming encompass one or more bits storing variables representing attributes in an embodiment, said variables which may be members of a defined data structure, and thus the parameters and identifiers in the KDS of Falk are asserted by the Examiner to anticipate the “flags” comprising the accessory information of the present claimed invention
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Weed by incorporating the storage of accessory information including a configuration identifier, information concerning the type of the device, and the configuration data itself as taught by Falk.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Falk in at least Paragraph 0063, by configuring the accessory information in such a manner, the amount of data required to be transferred between devices may be reduced, improving the communication of configuration parameters between connected devices and the apparatus to which said devices connect to.
Regarding Claim 32:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is further caused to: request user input to change one or more settings for one or more vehicle settings based on the accessory information.
Weed discloses in at least Paragraphs 0193 & 0299 wherein a user interface controller may display a prompt [i.e. a request] indicating a user to select or change configuration information of the accessory [i.e. request user input to change one or more settings for one or more vehicle settings based on the accessory information].
Regarding Claim 33:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more flags comprise an address, and wherein an identification of a name of the accessory device is stored at the address of the read only memory.
Weed does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the one or more flags comprise an address, and wherein an identification of a name of the accessory device is stored at the address of the read only memory.
However Falk teaches in at least Paragraphs 0054 & 0056 wherein the KDS may include a plurality of information items and parameters, as well as a configuration identifier, information concerning the type of the device [i.e. wherein the one or more flags comprise an address, and wherein an identification of a name of the accessory device is stored at the address of the read only memory], as taught in at least Paragraphs 0058 & 0059. Examiner notes that as set forth above, “flags” in the context of programming encompass one or more bits storing variables representing attributes in an embodiment, said variables which may be members of a defined data structure, and thus the parameters and identifiers in the KDS of Falk are asserted by the Examiner to anticipate the “flags” comprising the accessory information of the present claimed invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have incorporated the storage of a type identifier of a device in the configuration data structure as taught by Falk.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Falk in at least Paragraph 0059, identical devices may be identified and configured in the same way by the apparatus to which the connectable devices connect, improving the convenience of the device connection system.
Claim(s) 2, 4, 10, 12, & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weed (US 2020/0198561 A1) in view of Falk (US 2017/0026236 A1) as applied to claims 1, 9, & 18 above, and further in view of Moffatt (US 2024/0092168 A1).
Regarding Claim 2:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the accessory information comprises an indication of at least one operational state of the vehicle in which power is to be provided to the accessory device and an indication of at least one operational state of the vehicle in which power is not to be provided to the accessory device.
Weed discloses in at least Paragraphs 0207 – 0209 wherein user customization for an accessory may be pre-defined or pre-programmed in memory, said customization being used to provide different commands to control the accessories based on one or more vehicle parameters, such as vehicle speed, turn signal status, and the like [i.e. based on at least one operational state of the vehicle]. At least Paragraph 0232 of Weed discloses wherein one such customization may indicate when to turn on an accessory, such as a light accessory being provided instructions to turn on [i.e. power is provided to the accessory device] when the vehicle speed exceeds a threshold. At least Paragraphs 0240, 0241, 0245, & 0246 of Weed disclose a plurality of further customization parameters in which the accessory device may be turned on, such as gear position, IMU measurement, and the like. At least Paragraph 0232 of Weed further discloses wherein such customization may indicate when to turn off an accessory, such as a light accessory being provided instructions to turn off [i.e. power is not to be provided to the accessory device] when the vehicle speed is below a threshold. At least Paragraphs 0240, 0241, 0245, & 0246 of Weed disclose further customization parameters in which the accessory device may be turned off, such as gear position, IMU measurement, and the like. However Weed appears to be silent regarding wherein said customization is received as accessory information from the accessory device, as recited by the present claimed invention.
However Moffatt teaches in at least Paragraph 0022 wherein an operational setting may be used to describe how a peripheral device [i.e. accessory] may be operated, including restricting or enabling usage of the devices based on conditions such as parking brake status and speed as taught in at least Paragraphs 0035 & 0038 [i.e. an indication of at least one operational state of the vehicle in which power is to be provided to the accessory device]. At least Paragraph 0032 of Moffatt teaches wherein such operational settings may be created at an operation server and transmitted directly to a peripheral device, which are then transferred to a vehicle controller upon connection of the peripheral device to the vehicle [i.e. the operational state is indicated as part of accessory information provided from the accessory device to the vehicle following connection of the accessory device].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Weed by incorporating the automatic provisioning of appropriate operational settings for controlling a peripheral device from said peripheral device in response to the connection between said peripheral device and d vehicle being established as taught by Moffatt.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Moffatt in at least Paragraph 0003, the usage of peripheral devices installed to a vehicle may be improved by automatically providing appropriate operational settings for controlling the peripheral device in response to connecting the peripheral device to the vehicle, allowing for “plug and play” operation of vehicle peripheral devices.
Regarding Claim 4:
The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one operational state comprises at least one of: a vehicle speed, a vehicle accessory mode, a vehicle run mode, a vehicle park engaged, a vehicle reverse engaged, a vehicle drive engaged, a vehicle door open status, or a vehicle door lock status.
Weed discloses in at least Paragraphs 0207 – 0209 wherein user customization for an accessory may be pre-defined or pre-programmed in memory, said customization being used to provide different commands to control the accessories based on one or more vehicle parameters, such as vehicle speed, turn signal status, and the like [i.e. the at least one operational state comprises at least one of: a vehicle speed]. At least Paragraph 0232 of Weed discloses wherein one such customization may indicate when to turn on an accessory, such as a light accessory being provided instructions to turn on [i.e. power is provided to the accessory device] when the vehicle speed exceeds a threshold [the controller turning off lights when below said threshold speed]. At least Paragraphs 0240, 0241, 0245, & 0246 of Weed disclose further customization parameters in which the accessory device may be turned on, such as gear position, IMU measurement, and the like [i.e. the at least one operational state comprises at least one of: …a vehicle run mode, a vehicle park engaged, a vehicle reverse engaged, a vehicle drive engaged].
Regarding Claim 10:
Claim 10 recites substantially the same limitations as those found in Claim 2, above, and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding Claim 12:
Claim 12 recites substantially the same limitations as those found in Claim 4, above, and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding Claim 19:
Claim 19 recites substantially the same limitations as those found in Claim 2, above, and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weed (US 2020/0198561 A1) in view of Falk (US 2017/0026236 A1) and Moffatt (US 2024/0092168 A1) as applied to claims 4 & 12 above, and further in view of Walsh (US 2011/0167287 A1).
Regarding Claim 5:
The apparatus of claim 4, wherein the accessory information further comprises at least one of: a maximum duty cycle, a maximum allowed current draw, or a maximum continuous on time.
Weed discloses in at least Paragraphs 0142 & 0143 wherein accessory identification information may include a particular voltage or pulse width modulation characteristic for the accessory, however appears to be silent regarding wherein the accessory information further comprises at least one of: a maximum duty cycle, a maximum allowed current draw, or a maximum continuous on time.
However Walsh teaches in at least Paragraph 0006 wherein an accessory may be connected to an electronic device, such as an in-vehicle media system [i.e. an accessory device is connected to a vehicle]. At least Paragraphs 0068 & 0069 of Walsh teach wherein an accessory may specify and send a hibernation power request command [i.e. accessory information] to indicate an amount of power desired during hibernation, which may include a maximum current drawn by the accessory device [i.e. a maximum allowed current draw]. Similarly, at least Paragraph 0117 of Walsh teaches wherein a normal mode current limit may be specified by an accessory request [i.e. a maximum allowed current draw during normal operation].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Weed by incorporating the providing of accessory information including a maximum allowed current draw as taught by Walsh.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Walsh in at least Paragraphs 0082, 0085, & 0117, an accessory may be provided appropriate levels of power for the state of the device, improving the power distribution of the system by only distributing the amount of power required by the accessory device.
Claim(s) 6 & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weed (US 2020/0198561 A1) in view of Falk (US 2017/0026236 A1) as applied to claims 1 & 9 above, and further in view of Walsh (US 2011/0167287 A1).
Regarding Claim 6:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein causing the apparatus to provide power to the accessory device based on the accessory information and the operational state of the vehicle comprises causing the apparatus to provide a level of power to the accessory device specified in the accessory information.
Weed does not appear to specifically disclose wherein power is provided to the accessory device based on a level of power to the accessory device specified in the accessory information.
However Walsh teaches in at least Paragraph 0006 wherein an accessory may be connected to an electronic device, such as an in-vehicle media system [i.e. an accessory device is connected to a vehicle]. At least Paragraph 0085 wherein an accessory may send a power instruction [i.e. accessory information] to indicate an amount of power required by the accessory following the establishment of a connection to the accessory, which may include a plurality of power requirements based on the state of the accessory [i.e. a level of power to the accessory device specified in the accessory information]. At least Paragraphs 0085, 0088, & 0109 of Walsh further disclose wherein based on the power instructions, a power manager may be configured to supply power to the accessory devices to the requested power level [i.e. causing the apparatus to provide a level of power to the accessory device specified in the accessory information]. The above-described power instruction and control steps are further taught by Walsh in Figure 10, below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Weed by incorporating the providing of power to accessory device(s) based on an accessory-requested level as taught by Walsh.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Walsh in at least Paragraphs 0082 & 0085, an accessory may be provided appropriate levels of power for the state of the device, improving the power distribution of the system by only distributing the amount of power required by the accessory device.
Regarding Claim 14:
Claim 14 recites substantially the same limitations as those found in Claim 6, above, and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 8 & 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weed (US 2020/0198561 A1) as applied to claims 1 & 9 above, and further in view of Zadesky (US 2014/0075051 A1).
Regarding Claim 8:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the accessory information further comprises an indication of configurability of the accessory device, wherein the indication of configurability is provided to the vehicle, and wherein a configuration of the accessory device is received from the vehicle, wherein the apparatus is further configured to provide power to the accessory device based on the accessory information, the operational state of the vehicle, and the configuration of the accessory device.
Weed discloses in at least Paragraphs 0147 & 0149 wherein a customization screen may be displayed on a user interface in the vehicle [Paragraph 0010] for customizing the accessory functionality based on user input. Said customization may include, as disclosed in at least Paragraphs 0206 & 0221, parameters for when to turn the accessory on or off with respect to the vehicle state, which includes gear shift position, speed, and the like [i.e. a configuration of the accessory device is received from the vehicle]. Based on vehicle and customization parameters, instructions to control the accessory are generated and implemented, as disclosed in at least Paragraph 0222 & 0223 [i.e. the apparatus is further configured to provide power to the accessory device based on the accessory information, the operational state of the vehicle, and the configuration of the accessory device]. Weed however appears to be silent regarding wherein the accessory information further comprises an indication of configurability of the accessory device, and wherein the indication of configurability is provided to the vehicle.
However Zadesky teaches in at least Paragraph 0053 wherein an identification module may be programmed with identification and configuration information about an accessory that may be communicated to a portable electronic device when connected [i.e. the accessory information further comprises an indication of configurability of the accessory device, and wherein the indication of configurability is provided to the vehicle]. At least Paragraph 0075 of Zadesky teaches wherein this may include a category of device/accessory, the information of which is used as taught by Zadesky in at least Paragraphs 0080, 0087, & 0088 to determine and present configuration options and actions associated with the accessory. At least Paragraphs 0087 & 0088, as well as Figure 11 of Zadesky, below, further teach this configuration process, including the determination of possible actions/configuration options based on the identifier of the accessory, a video accessory and a travel accessory having different configuration options in the given example. Further, Examiner notes that while the “portable electronic device” with which the accessory communicates in Zadesky is not specifically a vehicle, the accessory may be embodied as “an automobile accessory” [Zadesky, Paragraph 0028] communicating with a generalized computer or other electronic device as the portable electronic device [Zadesky, Paragraph 0027, i.e. a vehicle controller as disclosed by Weed].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Weed by incorporating the communication of accessory device identification type to indicate a configurability of the accessory device as taught by Zadesky.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Zadesky in at least Paragraph 0088, by the accessory transmitting identification information regarding the accessory device type, only the actions relevant to the connected accessory may be displayed on screen, improving the user experience during configuration of the accessory device.
Regarding Claim 16:
Claim 16 recites substantially the same limitations as those found in Claim 8, above, and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weed (US 2020/0198561 A1) in view of Falk (US 2017/0026236 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oler (US 2013/0232349 A1).
Regarding Claim 30:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein power is initially supplied to the accessory device sufficient only to retrieve the one or more flags from the read only memory.
Weed does not appear to specifically disclose wherein power is initially supplied to the accessory device sufficient only to retrieve the one or more flags from the read only memory.
However Oler teaches in at least Paragraphs 0018, 0042, & 0043 wherein upon a connection of a power adapter, only a low amount of power may be supplied initially, said low power only being sufficient to establish communication between the power adapter and host device [i.e. wherein power is initially supplied to the accessory device sufficient only to retrieve the one or more flags from the read only memory].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Weed by incorporating the provisioning of only a low initial power supply upon connection of a device as taught by Oler.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Oler in at least Paragraph 0018, only sufficient power to detect a connection and establish communication may be provided, ensuring that the device is ready to receive the higher power prior to said higher power being supplied, improving the power distribution to the connectable device and preventing unwanted powering and damage to such.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record but not relied upon is considered pertinent to the Applicant’s disclosure:
Bayer (US 2023/0388803 A1): Bayer recites a vehicle accessory control system, including the pairing of an accessory with the vehicle, and the presentation of a user interface for customization of the paired accessory. Customization may include control options for the accessories, including settings to adjust power consumption of the accessories based on vehicle speed, weather conditions, or driving state [such as if the vehicle is off-roading].
Brombach (US 10,266,134 B2): Brombach recites an accessory power management system, including the enabling of an accessory mode and disabling of a start-stop mode, responsive to an input requesting the use of a vehicle accessory. The electrical load on the vehicle may additionally be reduced, including the disabling of one or more other electrical systems, to allow the accessory to draw enough power to operate.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R CARDIMINO/Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/RAMYA P BURGESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661