DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s claim for priority as a continuation-in-part of application no. 17/162,092 (now U.S. Patent No. 12,268,916) filed 29 January 2021 and for priority to provisional application no. 62/968,012 filed 30 January 2020 and provisional application no. 63/453,895 filed 22 March 2023. Dependent claims 2-5 in the current application include subject matter that was not described previously in application no. 17/162,092 or provisional application no. 62/968,012, but was described in provisional application no. 63/453,895. Therefore, the effective filing date of claims 2-5 is the filing date of provisional application no. 63/453,895, which is 22 March 2023.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species D (Figures 9-17) in the reply filed on 30 December 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 8-24 were withdrawn by Applicant from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 6-7 are further withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to a nonelected species. Claim 6 recites limitations regarding an attachment mechanism on the end faces of the dumbbell, which is directed to nonelected Species E. Claim 7 recites limitations regarding an attachment mechanism on the curved weight segments of the dumbbell, which is directed to nonelected Species F.
Drawings
Figures 15-21 are objected to as being color photographs or computer-aided design (CAD) drawings. The figures include dark coloring/shading that render the figures difficult to reproduce and the reference characters/lead lines difficult to distinguish. The drawings should be black and white line drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The limitation of “substantially straight” is rendered indefinite by use of the term “substantially.”
Claim 2 recites the limitation “wherein the handle segment is rotatably attached thereto” in lines 1-2. It is unclear what the handle segment is rotatably attached to.
Claim 4 is dependent on itself (“The dumbbell as set forth in claim 4” in line 1). It is unclear how a claim can depend on itself. Applicant should amend the claim to depend from a previously recited claim. Because of this dependency, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the dumbbell” in line 1 and “the opening” in line 2. For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted to be dependent on previously set forth claim 3.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “The dumbbell as set forth in claim 1, further comprising a barbell having first and second ends, … the second end disposed in the opening of another of the dumbbell.” It is unclear how the dumbbell, as set forth in claim 1, comprises a barbell and another of the dumbbell which has already been claimed. Applicant is suggested to amend the preamble of claims 1-5 to read a/the “dumbbell assembly” and to amend claim 1 to include the structures of limitations (a) and (b) as part of a “dumbbell” of the “dumbbell assembly.” With this amendment, the dumbbell assembly could comprise the dumbbell, a second dumbbell, and a barbell.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the opening” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hamady (US 2021/0353993).
Regarding claim 1, Hamady teaches a dumbbell (Fig. 3A shows a dumbbell in as much as Applicant has shown a dumbbell.), comprising:
a) a substantially straight handle segment (handle 120) disposed along a longitudinal axis between a pair of end faces (Figs. 3A-3B); and
b) a plurality of curved weight segments disposed along an arc path between the pair of end faces thereby enclosing the handle segment (See annotated Fig. 3A below. The body is comprised of a plurality of curved weight segments.).
Regarding claim 2, Hamady teaches the dumbbell as set forth in claim 1, wherein the handle segment is rotatably attached thereto (Para. [0049]: “In such embodiments, the handle 120 and the body 110 of the exercise apparatus 100 may be coaxially arranged along a same plane and function to rotate relative to each other when in use. That is, in one or more embodiments, when in use, the handle 120 may function to rotate along a radial center of the body 110.” The handle 120 is rotatably attached to the curved weight segments.).
Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wright (US 4,029,312).
Regarding claim 1, Wright teaches a dumbbell (weight 21) (Fig. 1: Weight 21 is a dumbbell in as much as Applicant has shown a dumbbell.), comprising:
a) a substantially straight handle segment (tubular member 33) disposed along a longitudinal axis between a pair of end faces (Figs. 1, 7-9 shows the tubular member 33 being a handle segment having a pair of end faces.); and
b) a plurality of curved weight segments disposed along an arc path between the pair of end faces thereby enclosing the handle segment (See annotated Fig. 7 below.).
Regarding claim 3, Wright teaches the dumbbell as set forth in claim 1, wherein the handle segment comprises an opening (channel 35) extending therethrough between the pair of end faces (Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 5, Wright teaches the dumbbell as set forth in claim 1, further comprising a barbell (bar 25) having first and second ends, the first end disposed in the opening of the dumbbell, the second end disposed in the opening of another of the dumbbell (See Fig. 11 below.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright (US 4,029,312) as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Giordano (US 2014/0274430).
Regarding claim 4, Wright teaches the dumbbell as set forth in claim [3].
Wright does not teach further comprising a strap disposed through the opening, the strap further comprising a ring for attachment to weight resistance exercise equipment.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Giordano teaches a straight handle segment (hand grip 512) disposed along a longitudinal axis between a pair of end faces, wherein the handle segment comprises an opening extending therethrough between the pair of end faces (Fig. 5 shows the hand grip 512 having an opening therethrough.), further comprising a strap (webbing 506) disposed through the opening, the strap further comprising a ring (loop 502) for attachment to weight resistance exercise equipment (hanger strap 100.) (Figs. 7A, 7B show the strap and hand grip 512 attached to hanger strap 100 which is a piece of exercise equipment that utilizes body weight resistance.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dumbbell of Wright by including the strap assembly of Giordano with the predicted result of providing increased exercise options for a user utilizing both body weight and dumbbell weight for resistance exercises (see MPEP 2141(III)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/C.A.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3784
/LOAN B JIMENEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3784