DETAILED ACTION
The Response of 7 Oct. 2025 has been entered.
Claims 21-41 are currently pending. Claims 27-31, 33, 34 and 37-39 are as being drawn to a nonelected species. Claims 21-26, 32, 35, 36, 40 and 41 are considered here with respect to the elected species of: a biomarker as the basis for selection; and a cell surface receptor as the biomarker.
Applicant is reminded that amendments to a claim must be made by rewriting the entire claim with all changes, except when the claim is being canceled (see 37 CFR 1.121(c)). Thus, the withdrawn claims should be rewritten in full unless they are being cancelled, in which case the status identifier of “cancelled” should be used.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7 Oct. 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Koller teaches incubating cells transfected with a fluorescent protein for 48 hours and then taking baseline fluorescence measurements prior to ablation of cells. This is not persuasive because there is nothing in the instant claims which precludes such steps. Claim 21 uses an open-ended “comprising” transitional phrase, and thus allows steps in addition to those recited.
Applicant further argues that Koller uses 293T cells whereas the instant specification states that the claimed method can be used with any type of cells, and one of ordinary skill would recognize that harvesting a number of cell types would not produce a homogeneous population as taught by Koller. This is not persuasive because the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., use of a certain type or diversity of cells) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant further argues that using fluorescent antibodies as recited in the claimed invention, rather than transfection, allows the skilled artisan to effectively target specific markers, allowing the method to truly isolate the preferred cell type from differing cells within a sample. This is not persuasive because the use of fluorescent antibodies is limited to claim 36, and the use of fluorescent antibodies is taught/rendered obvious by the combination of Koller in view of Koller 2000 (see rejection of claim 36, below).
Applicant further argues that Koller teaches use of transfected cells and use of transfection would likely introduce the fluorescent protein into a number of undesired cells, rendering the claimed method ineffective. This is not persuasive because Koller teaches a method in which cells are transfected with a GFP plasmid and a high-expressing cell is selected in each well based on the brightest fluorescence intensity. Thus, the presence of GFP in non-selected cells does not interfere with the method of Koller.
Applicant further argues that the 103 rejection does not consider what the ablation rate would be when contamination with undesired cells is higher that in Koller, and that there are several applications in which the population of desired cells would be astoundingly small. This is not persuasive because the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., certain levels of contamination in the cell population) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Regarding claims 24 and 25 relating to photodetachment, Applicant argues that the instant application provides that "laser photodetachment may be performed using laser light in a wavelength range of about 1440 to about 1450 nm" (p. 26, lines 1-2) and that one of skill in the art would understand that the claimed invention provides for photodetachment using laser light in the infrared range, which is of lower energy than that used by Pasparakis. This is not persuasive because the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., use of laser light of 1440-1450 nm wavelength) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Amendment of claims 24-25 to recite that the photodetaching is conducted with laser light of 1440-1450 nm wavelength would distinguish the cited combination.
Regarding claims 32, 35 and 36, Applicant further argues that one of ordinary skill would not have been motivated to combine Koller with Koller 2000. This is not persuasive because Koller teaches using laser ablation to select for a single highest-producing transduced cell based on fluorescent intensity of a recombinant protein, and Koller 2000 teaches that high-producing cells expressing a recombinant cell surface receptor can be selected in a similar manner based on fluorescent intensity using a fluorescent antibody against the recombinant receptor. Applicants additional arguments regarding cell contamination, use of transduced cells and homogeneous cell cultures/cell types are unpersuasive for the same reasons set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-23, 26 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koller et al., Cytometry Part A: The Journal of the International Society for Analytical Cytology 61.2 (2004): 153-161 (cited in IDS of 22 March 2024).
Regarding claims 21, 22, 26 and 40, Koller teaches a method comprising: a) providing cells in each of two or more partitioned surfaces or containers (wells of a 384-well plate); b) selecting a cell in each of the two or more partitioned surfaces or containers to retain, thereby identifying a selected cell; and c) laser photoablating all of the cells in each of the two or more partitioned surfaces or containers except the selected cell (entire doc, including under Materials and Methods; and Results, esp. under In Situ Cloning of GFP-Transfected 293T Cells). Koller teaches that the photoablation method can be used as a high-throughput method for sorting and purifying a wide variety of cell types (under Discussion). The method was utilized for selecting a high-expressing recombinant cell for purposes of clonal selection, wherein the cell was transfected with a GFP plasmid and a high-expressing cell was selected in each well based on the brightest fluorescence intensity (under In Situ Cloning of GFP-Transfected 293T Cells; Fig. 5). Regarding the recitation in claim 21 that “cells are photoablated at a rate of at least 60 cells per second”, Koller teaches that the photoablation is carried out with an automated image analysis/laser system capable of imaging 250000 cells/second and with a laser firing at greater than 1000 times/second with pulses in the nanosecond range (p. 154, under The LEAP Instrument Platform; p. 155-156, under Comparison of Difference Mechanisms for Laser-Mediated Cell Purification). While Koller does not disclose the throughput of the clonal selection experiments, Koller demonstrates the throughput of the system in an example where > 105 cells/second are processed and a 0.1% population of unwanted cells are eliminated via photoablation, which corresponds to a photoablation rate of > 100 cells/second (105 cells x 0.1%) (p. 159, 1st full ¶). Koller further teaches that the method can be used to process a wide range of cell contamination levels and plating densities (p. 158, last ¶). It would have thus been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to eliminate unwanted cells in a clonal selection method at a rate of at least 60 cells/second with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 23, Koller teaches growing the selected clone in the photoablated well (Fig. 5), and it would have been obvious to carry out such methods in multiple wells in parallel in the multiwell plate.
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Koller, as applied to claims 21-23, 26 and 40, further in view of Pasparakis et al., Angewandte Chemie International Edition 50.18 (2011): 4142-4145 (cited in IDS of 22 March 2024).
Claims 24 and 25 differ from Koller, as applied to claims 21-23, 26 and 40, in that: the method further comprises photodetaching one or more cells of the clonal population (claim 24); and the method further comprises testing the one or more photodetached cells (claim 25).
Pasparakis teaches a method for photodetaching cultured mammalian cells adhered to a cell culture substrate, comprising coating a substrate with a non-toxic photoresponsive polymer, culturing adherent cells on the coated surface and releasing/detaching the cells by applying a low-energy laser light that photodegrades the polymer (p. 4142, 1st ¶ to p. 4144, 1st full ¶). Cells adhered to the polymer-coated surface in a similar manner as standard tissue culture polystyrene, and the low energy laser allowed for detachment without damage to cells (e.g., DNA damage, heating, free radicals, etc.) (p. 4143, last ¶ to p. 4144, first full ¶). The photodetachment method has the advantage of allowing for gentle release of cells in a spatially controlled manner without need for enzyme or other harsh treatments (p. 4143, last ¶ to p. 4144, first full ¶).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the method of Koller to isolate individual cells for clonal expansion using photoablation and to expand the isolated cells wherein the expanded cells are harvested by photodetachment as taught by Pasparakis because it would have been obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use photodetachment as taught by Pasparakis to harvest the expanded cells because Pasparakis teaches that such harvesting allows for gentle release of cells in a spatially controlled manner without need for enzyme or other harsh treatments. Using photodetachment as taught by Pasparakis to harvest the expanded cells would have led to predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success because Pasparakis teaches that the polymers are non-toxic/biocompatible and the photodegraded products can be readily washed away from harvested cells (p. 4143, last full ¶ to p. 4144, last ¶). Moreover, the method of Koller utilizes laser light for cell isolation and it would have thus been obvious to use similar techniques for the cell harvesting step(s).
Regarding claim 25, Koller teaches that clonal isolation for the purpose of obtaining high-expressing cells, and it would have been obvious to test the clonally expanded cells for the desired property (e.g., to measure expression of the heterologous protein and/or other properties related to such expression, e.g. to determine optimal expression conditions).
Claims 32, 35 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Koller, as applied to claims 21-23, 26 and 40, further in view of Koller et al., Protein Engineering For Industrial Biotechnology. CRC Press, 2000. 339-354 (“Koller 2000”).
Claims 32, 35 and 36 differ from Koller, as applied to claims 21-23, 26 and 40, in that: the selecting is based on one or more biomarkers (claim 32); the one or more biomarkers comprise a cell surface receptor (claim 35); and the cell surface receptor is labeled with fluorescently-tagged antibodies that bind specifically to the receptor (claim 36).
Koller 2000 teaches a method of producing recombinant cell surface receptor proteins wherein the expressed proteins are inserted into the host cell membrane with the ligand-binding portion exposed on the cell surface, and high expressing host cells are selected for clonal development by using a fluorescently labeled antibody specific for the recombinant cell surface receptor and selecting based on fluorescence intensity (p. 327, under Isolation of ECD-expressing Cell Lines and Soluble ECDs; Fig. 3; p. 332-334, under Isolation of High Receptor-Expressing Cell Lines).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the method of Koller to isolate individual cells for clonal expansion by selecting a desired cell based on fluorescence intensity and using photoablation to eliminate unselected cells wherein the desired cell is selected based on binding of a fluorescently labeled antibody to a cell surface receptor (biomarker) as taught by Koller 2000 because it would have been obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to select clones in the method of Koller using a cell surface receptor/biomarker as taught by Koller 2000 because using the recombinant protein/receptor being expressed by the host cell as a basis for selection would eliminate the need for co-expression of a marker such as GFP and thereby enhance efficiency of the process. Moreover, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use the photoablation method of Koller to select clones for expression of the receptors taught by Koller 2000 because Koller teaches that the photoablation method has numerous advantages over traditional FACS based sorting (Koller, p. 154, 1st three full ¶s). Selecting clones in the method of Koller using a cell surface receptor/biomarker as taught by Koller 2000 would have led to predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success because the selection in Koller 2000 is based on the same type of fluorescence intensity parameter as taught by Koller, and
Koller teaches that the photoablation method can be used as an alternative to FACS sorting as taught by Koller 2000 (Koller, p. 154, 1st three full ¶s).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT J YAMASAKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1657