Response to Applicants Remarks/Arguments
In regards to the applicants remarks that Sen et al does not explicitly teach the amended claim language, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Sen does teach the first image sensor and the second image sensor being of a same modality ([0027] “one or more image sensors (e.g., one or more cameras)… an image sensor may include a FOV that at least partially overlaps with… a FOV of another image sensor.” )and providing redundancy to the perception system; ([0027] “at least one of the sensors may include a field-of-view (FOV) that at least partially overlaps with a FOV of at least one other sensor.” Is understood to be the same as the claimed redundancy as it is further explained below that redundancy is achieved by having one sensor overlapping the field of view of the second sensor and [0121] “one or more of the camera(s) may be used to perform advanced driver assistance systems (ADAS) functions (e.g., as part of a redundant or fail-safe design)”)… ECU is further configured to operate in a redundant mode ([0115] “controller 1136 for redundancy in emergency conditions,”) … the first set of pixels and the second set of pixels defining an overlapping region of the first field of view and the second field of view ([0027] “at least one of the sensors may include a field-of-view (FOV) that at least partially overlaps with a FOV of at least one other sensor.”) and including identical data in the first image data and the second image data; ([0028] “The system(s) may then track (e.g., associate, group, etc.) features points between two images. For instance, if a first feature point of a first image generated at a first time depicts a same feature in the environment as a second feature point of a second image generated at a second time, the system(s) may track the first feature point of the first image to the second feature point of the second image.”)
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: electronic control unit in claims 1, 8 and 15
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sen et al. (US20240161342, hereinafter “Sen”)
Claim 1. (Currently Amended) Sen teaches A perception system, comprising:
a first image sensor ([0028] “an image sensor”) configured to capture first calibration image data ([0028] “image data generated … for calibrating the image sensor”) in a first field of view, and subsequently capture first image data in the first field of view; ([0002] “array of cameras with various fields-of-view to capture visual information of an environment surrounding the vehicle,”)
a second image sensor ([0027] “one or more image sensors (e.g., one or more cameras”) configured to capture second calibration image data ([0027]“ image data generated using one or more image sensors (e.g., one or more cameras)”) in a second field of view, and subsequently capture second image data in the second field of view; ([0002] “array of cameras with various fields-of-view to capture visual information of an environment surrounding the vehicle,”)
the first image sensor and the second image sensor being of a same modality ([0027] “one or more image sensors (e.g., one or more cameras)… an image sensor may include a FOV that at least partially overlaps with… a FOV of another image sensor.” )and providing redundancy to the perception system; ([0027] “at least one of the sensors may include a field-of-view (FOV) that at least partially overlaps with a FOV of at least one other sensor.” Is understood to be the same as the claimed redundancy as it is further explained below that redundancy is achieved by having one sensor overlapping the field of view of the second sensor and [0121] “one or more of the camera(s) may be used to perform advanced driver assistance systems (ADAS) functions (e.g., as part of a redundant or fail-safe design)”)
a first electronic control unit (ECU) ([0115] “The controller(s) 1136 may include a first controller” and [0219] “electronic control unit (ECU),”) coupled to the first image sensor, ([0116] “The controller(s) 1136 may provide the signals for controlling one or more components and/or systems of the vehicle 1100 in response to sensor data received from one or more sensors (e.g., sensor inputs). The sensor data may be received from, … stereo camera(s)”) the first ECU comprising at least one memory ([0219] “memory”) configured to store machine executable instructions and at least one processor configured to execute the stored executable instructions; ([0039] “processor executing instructions stored in memory.” And [0128])
a second ECU ([0115] “a second controller 1136” and [0219] “electronic control unit (ECU),”) coupled to the second image sensor, ([0116] “The controller(s) 1136 may provide the signals for controlling one or more components and/or systems of the vehicle 1100 in response to sensor data received from one or more sensors (e.g., sensor inputs). The sensor data may be received from, … LiDAR sensor(s) 1164”) wherein the second ECU comprising at least one memory ([0219] “memory”) configured to store machine executable instructions and at least one processor configured to execute the stored machine executable instructions; ([0039] “processor executing instructions stored in memory.” And [0128])
wherein each of the first ECU and the second ECU is configured to:
receive the first calibration image data and the second calibration image data; ([0115] “two or more controllers 1136 may handle a single functionality,”) and
perform feature detection ([0028] “process the image data in order to determine, for each image of at least two images, feature points”) for calibration using the first calibration image data and the second calibration image data; ([0028] “calibrating the image sensor with respect to the LiDAR sensor.”)
wherein the first ECU is further configured to operate in a redundant mode ([0115] “controller 1136 for redundancy in emergency conditions,”) by:
identifying a first set of pixels in the first field of view having common features with a second set of pixels in the second field of view ([0028]“first feature point of a first image generated at a first time depicts a same feature in the environment as a second feature point of a second image generated at a second time,”) the first set of pixels and the second set of pixels defining an overlapping region of the first field of view and the second field of view ([0027] “at least one of the sensors may include a field-of-view (FOV) that at least partially overlaps with a FOV of at least one other sensor.”) and including identical data in the first image data and the second image data; ([0028] “The system(s) may then track (e.g., associate, group, etc.) features points between two images. For instance, if a first feature point of a first image generated at a first time depicts a same feature in the environment as a second feature point of a second image generated at a second time, the system(s) may track the first feature point of the first image to the second feature point of the second image.”)
receiving the first image data from the first image sensor; ([0028] “use image data generated using an image sensor”)
reducing the first image data to only the first set of pixels in the first field of view; ([0076] “perform a local cropping process 612 on the first image 602 to generate a first cropped image 614.”) and
performing object detection on the first image data consisting of the first set of pixels; ([0123] “identify forward facing paths and obstacles…pedestrian detection, and collision avoidance” and [0124] “stereo camera pair may be used for depth-based object detection”) and
wherein the second ECU is further configured to operate in the redundant mode by:
identifying the second set of pixels in the second field of view having the common features with the first set of pixels in the first field of view; ([0028] “The system(s) may then track (e.g., associate, group, etc.) features points between two images. For instance, if a first feature point of a first image generated at a first time depicts a same feature in the environment as a second feature point of a second image generated at a second time, the system(s) may track the first feature point of the first image to the second feature point of the second image.”)
receiving the second image data from the second image sensor; ([0028] “LiDAR data generated using a LiDAR sensor”)
reducing the second image data to only the second set of pixels in the second field of view; ([0076] “perform a local cropping process 616 on the second image 604 to generate a second cropped image 618”) and
performing object detection on the second image data consisting of the second set of pixels. ([0123] “identify forward facing paths and obstacles…pedestrian detection, and collision avoidance” and [0157] “estimates of the object obtained from … other sensors (e.g., LiDAR sensor(s) 1164 or RADAR sensor(s) 1160)”
Claim 2. (Original) Sen teaches The perception system of claim 1, wherein the first image sensor and the second image sensor are camera sensors.
([0116] “The sensor data may be received from, …stereo camera(s)”)
Claim 3. (Original) Sen teaches The perception system of claim 1, wherein the first image sensor and the second image sensor are radio detection and ranging (RADAR) sensors.
([0116] “The sensor data may be received from, … RADAR sensor(s) 1160”)
Claim 4. (Original) Sen teaches The perception system of claim 1, wherein the first image sensor and the second image sensor are light detection and ranging (LiDAR) sensors.
([0116] “The sensor data may be received from, …LiDAR sensor(s) 1164,”)
Claim 5. (Original) Sen teaches The perception system of claim 1, wherein the first ECU is further configured to verify the object detection performed using the first set of pixels matches with the object detection performed using the second set of pixels by the second ECU; and the second ECU is further configured to verify the object detection performed using the second set of pixels matches with the object detection performed using the first set of pixels by the first ECU. ([0204] “the vehicle 1100 itself must …decide whether to heed the result from a primary computer or a secondary computer (e.g., a first controller 1136 or a second controller 1136). For example, in some embodiments, the ADAS system 1138 may be a backup and/or secondary computer for providing perception information to a backup computer rationality module. The backup computer rationality monitor may run a redundant diverse software on hardware components to detect faults in perception and dynamic driving tasks.”)
Claim 6. (Original) Sen teaches The perception system of claim 5, wherein the instructions further cause each of the first ECU and the second ECU to upon the object detection performed using the first set of pixels not matching with the object detection performed using the second set of pixels by the second ECU, ([0052] “The optimization component 116 may then determine differences associated with multiple projected points and features points associated with the multiple images.”) calibrate the perception system by re-identifying the first set of pixels in the first field of view having common features with the second set of pixels in the second field of view. ([0052] “perform similar processes to project feature points between multiple other images represented by the image data 112”)
Claim 7. (Original) Sen teaches The perception system of claim 5, wherein the first set of pixels and the second set of pixels include one or more lane identification markers. ([0155] “perform computer stereo vision… lane detection,”)
Claim 8. (Currently Amended) The method herein has been executed and performed by the system of claim 1 and is likewise rejected
Claim 9. (Original) The method herein has been executed and performed by the system of claim 2 and is likewise rejected
Claim 10. (Original) The method herein has been executed and performed by the system of claim 3 and is likewise rejected
Claim 11. (Original) The method herein has been executed and performed by the system of claim 4 and is likewise rejected
Claim 12. (Original) The method herein has been executed and performed by the system of claim 5 and is likewise rejected
Claim 13. (Original) The method herein has been executed and performed by the system of claim 6 and is likewise rejected
Claim 14. (Original) The method herein has been executed and performed by the system of claim 7 and is likewise rejected
Claim 15. (Currently Amended)The system herein has been executed and performed by the system of claim 1 and is likewise rejected
Claim 16. (Original) The system herein has been executed and performed by the system of claim 2 and is likewise rejected
Claim 17. (Original) Sen teaches The vehicle of claim 15, wherein the first image sensor and the second image sensor are radio detection and ranging (RADAR) sensors, ([0116] “The sensor data may be received from, … RADAR sensor(s) 1160”)
or the first image sensor and the second image sensor are light detection and ranging (LiDAR) sensors. ([0116] “The sensor data may be received from, …LiDAR sensor(s) 1164,”)
Claim 18. (Original) The system herein has been executed and performed by the system of claim 5 and is likewise rejected
Claim 19. (Original) The system herein has been executed and performed by the system of claim 6 and is likewise rejected
Claim 20. (Original) The system herein has been executed and performed by the system of claim 7 and is likewise rejected
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Tzabari et al US10701336 teaches left image and right image matching based on feature points.
Narayanan et al US20250264599 teaches synchronizing image, lidar and radar input data.
Gupta et al NPL “Dual Image Cropping Algorithm for Enabling Redundant ASIL-D Safe Lane Detection” teaches the same invention however the publication date is after the filing date of the instant invention.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OWAIS I MEMON/Examiner, Art Unit 2663
/GREGORY A MORSE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2698