DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received on May 19th, 2025:
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-14, 16-21, and 23 are pending in the current application. Claims 1, 10, and 17 have been amended. Claims 2, 5, 8, 15, and 21-22 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 10, and 17 have been amended to further specify that the plurality of conveyor rollers are disposed along an interior bottom surface of each battery tray slot with individual conveyor rollers extending across opposite sides of battery tray slot and the battery tray rolls over a top surface defined by the plurality of conveyor rollers of a respective battery tray slot. The amendment is supported by the Applicant’s originally filed disclosure, including paragraphs [0035] and [0040] of Applicant’s own PG Publication.
The cores of the previous prior art-based rejections have been overcome in light of the amendment. All changes made to the rejection are necessitated by the amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed with the Remarks on May 19th, 2025 with respect to Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-14, 16-21, and 23 are based on the claims as amended. While Applicant’s arguments are acknowledged, they are found to be moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, presented below, as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the Claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 6 recites the limitation “extending across opposites sides.” This is most likely a typographical error are should read (with emphasis) “extending across opposite sides.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Prior Art
Previously cited Altman US PG Publication 2018/0104829 (“Altman”)
Kong US PG Publication 2020/0287182 (“Kong”)
Previously cited Feng US PG Publication 2021/0151808 (“Feng”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Altman US PG Publication 2018/0104829 in view of Kong US PG Publication 2020/0287182 and Feng US PG Publication 2021/0151808.
Regarding Claim 1, Altman discloses a hot-swappable power system (system for improved power supply including batteries that can be hot-swapped [0043]) comprising:
a hot-swappable power module 400 (i.e. field replaceable battery) that includes one or more batteries (at least one battery cell) (Fig. 4A, [0043], [0053], [0064]) and is configured to provide electrical power to an autonomous robotic system (i.e. mobile manipulation robot) ([0064]), wherein the hot-swappable power module 400 includes a battery tray (see annotated Fig. 5B, wherein a battery tray is defined as the space where the battery is inserted within the walls of the battery powered device) with a battery tray slot (i.e. position within a cavity of the battery tray) with a plurality of conveyor rollers 440A, 440B, 420A, 420B (including both pairs of wheels 440A, 440B and the connection rails 420A, 420B which are used to convey the battery into the cavity) ([0055]-[0064]); and
a power module receiver (i.e. mobile base) configured to receive the hot-swappable power module and releasably electrically couple the hot-swappable power module to a primary energy source (i.e. at least one battery cell of field replaceable battery 400 to power supply circuitry of the battery powered device) of the autonomous robotic system (via blind mate connectors 450 and 550 when the field replaceable battery 400 is installed in the cavity within the mobile base) ([0063]-[0064]), and
wherein the autonomous robotic system includes an autonomous mobile robot ([0017]).
While Altman does not explicitly define a plurality of battery tray slots, the skilled artisan would recognize that Altman discloses additional batteries 575 for supplying power to the battery while the field replaceable battery 400 is being hot-swapped ([0063], [0132]) and that these additional batteries 575 are housed in a position within a cavity (see annotated Fig. 5B). Altman also teaches that the use of the conveyor roller system via sets of two or more wheels aligned to provide movement while maintaining stability of the battery in an upright position allows for heavy batteries to be inserted into a position within a cavity ([0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application that the additional batteries of Altman would also include a battery tray slot within the battery tray (resulting in a plurality of battery tray slots) with a plurality of conveyor rollers such that heavy batteries can be inserted in the battery tray slots, as taught by Altman.
Annotated Figure 5 of Altman
While Altman discloses wherein the plurality of conveyor rollers 440A, 440B, 420A, 420B of each battery tray slot roll the battery tray into and out of electrical coupling (i.e. engaged position) with the primary energy source of the autonomous robotic system (i.e. once the field replaceable battery 400 is fully inserted into the engaged position within the cavity, an electrical connection may be established) ([0064]), Altman fails to explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of conveyor rollers are disposed along on an interior bottom surface of each battery tray slot with individual conveyor rollers extending across opposite sides of each battery tray slot such that the battery tray rolls over a top surface defined by the plurality of conveyor rollers of a respective battery tray slot.
However, Kong discloses a battery pack with a plurality of battery modules and a battery tray for mounting the plurality of battery modules (Abstract, [0013]).
Kong teaches the use of multiple battery tray slots within a battery tray for accommodating the plurality of battery modules, such that the battery modules may be coupled to the battery tray by sliding along a longitudinal direction of the battery module through the use of sliding guide rails (such as sliding rail 120) and corresponding sliding guide protrusions (such as sliding groove 126) (Figs. 1-2, [0013]-[0017], [0034]-[0045]) located along the upper, lower, left, and right sides of the battery and the battery tray slots (and along the entire longitudinal direction of the battery tray slot) in order to ensure coupling, allow for the use of a plurality of battery modules within the device, and allow for surface contact between adjacent battery modules (Fig. 2, [0041]-[0043]). Additionally, this method of coupling the plurality of battery modules to the battery tray allows for sufficient mounting of the battery modules ([0015]) while also accommodating substitution of battery modules ([0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the hot-swappable power system of Altman such that the plurality of conveyor rollers are disposed along on an interior bottom, left, right, and upper surface of each battery tray slot with individual conveyor rollers extending across opposite sides of each battery tray slot such that the battery tray rolls over a top surface defined by the plurality of conveyor rollers of a respective battery tray slot allowing for the battery modules to be sufficiently mounted to the battery tray while maintaining the ability to substitute battery modules in order to ensure coupling, allow for the use of a plurality of battery modules within the device, and allow for surface contact between adjacent battery modules, as taught by Kong.
While Altman discloses wherein the power module receiver is configured to electrically couple the hot-swappable power module to an autonomous mobile robot and a robot arm system ([0064]), Altman in view of Kong fails to explicitly disclose separate electrical connections associated with each of the autonomous mobile robot and the robotic arm system.
However, Feng discloses a power battery pack (Abstract). Feng teaches that various devices are individually electrically connected to the power battery pack to improve safety (Abstract, [0013]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the power system of Altman in view of Kong such that separate electrical connections are associated with each of the devices within the autonomous robotic system, including the autonomous mobile robot and the robotic arm system, in order to improve safety, as taught by Feng.
Regarding Claim 3, Altman in view of Kong and Feng teaches the instantly claimed hot-swappable power system of Claim 1, and Altman discloses wherein the autonomous mobile robot is powered by the primary energy source ([0017], [0064]).
Regarding Claim 4, Altman in view of Kong and Feng teaches the instantly claimed hot-swappable power system of Claim 3, and Altman discloses wherein the hot-swappable power module is configured to provide the electrical power to the primary energy source of the autonomous mobile robot ([0017], [0064]).
Regarding Claim 6, Altman in view of Kong and Feng teaches the instantly claimed hot-swappable power system of Claim 1, and Altman discloses wherein the robotic arm system is powered by the primary energy source (the at least one battery cell of field replaceable battery 400 powers the battery powered device which comprises the manipulator arm) ([0018], [0064]).
Regarding Claim 7, Altman in view of Kong and Feng teaches the instantly claimed hot-swappable power system of Claim 6, and Altman discloses wherein the hot-swappable power module is configured to provide the electrical power to the primary energy source of the robotic arm system ([0018], [0064]).
Regarding Claim 9, Altman in view of Kong and Feng teaches the instantly claimed hot-swappable power system of Claim 1, and while Altman does not explicitly disclose wherein the power module receiver is configured to releasably receive the battery tray, Altman does teach that it is beneficial to be able to insert and remove the batteries, contained within the battery tray, based on their charge status in order to maintain operation ([0066]-[0067], [0132]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the power system of Altman in view of Kong and Feng such that the power module receiver is configured to releasably receive the battery tray such that the batteries held within the battery tray can be readily inserted and removed to maintain operation, as taught by Altman.
Claims 10-14, 16-21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Altman US PG Publication 2018/0104829 in view of Kong US PG Publication 2020/0287182.
Regarding Claims 10 and 17, Altman discloses a hot-swappable power system (system for improved power supply including batteries that can be hot-swapped [0043]) comprising:
a hot-swappable power module 400 (i.e. field replaceable battery) that includes one or more batteries (at least one battery cell) (Fig. 4A, [0043], [0053], [0064]) and is configured to provide electrical power to an autonomous robotic system (i.e. mobile manipulation robot) ([0064]), wherein the hot-swappable power module 400 includes a battery tray (see annotated Fig. 5B, wherein a battery tray is defined as the space where the battery is inserted within the walls of the battery powered device) with a battery tray slot (i.e. position within a cavity of the battery tray) with a plurality of conveyor rollers 440A, 440B, 420A, 420B (including both pairs of wheels 440A, 440B and the connection rails 420A, 420B which are used to convey the battery into the cavity) ([0055]-[0064]); and
a power module receiver (i.e. mobile base) configured to receive the hot-swappable power module and releasably electrically couple the hot-swappable power module to a primary energy source (i.e. at least one battery cell of field replaceable battery 400 to power supply circuitry of the battery powered device) of the autonomous robotic system (via blind mate connectors 450 and 550 when the field replaceable battery 400 is installed in the cavity within the mobile base) ([0063]-[0064]), and
wherein the autonomous robotic system includes an autonomous mobile robot ([0017]).
While Altman does not explicitly define a plurality of battery tray slots, the skilled artisan would recognize that Altman discloses additional batteries 575 for supplying power to the battery while the field replaceable battery 400 is being hot-swapped ([0063], [0132]) and that these additional batteries 575 are housed in a position within a cavity (see annotated Fig. 5B). Altman also teaches that the use of the conveyor roller system via sets of two or more wheels aligned to provide movement while maintaining stability of the battery in an upright position allows for heavy batteries to be inserted into a position within a cavity ([0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application that the additional batteries of Altman would also include a battery tray slot within the battery tray (resulting in a plurality of battery tray slots) with a plurality of conveyor rollers such that heavy batteries can be inserted in the battery tray slots, as taught by Altman.
While Altman discloses wherein the plurality of conveyor rollers 440A, 440B, 420A, 420B of each battery tray slot roll the battery tray into and out of electrical coupling (i.e. engaged position) with the primary energy source of the autonomous robotic system (i.e. once the field replaceable battery 400 is fully inserted into the engaged position within the cavity, an electrical connection may be established) ([0064]), Altman fails to explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of conveyor rollers are disposed along on an interior bottom surface of each battery tray slot with individual conveyor rollers extending across opposite sides of each battery tray slot such that the battery tray rolls over a top surface defined by the plurality of conveyor rollers of a respective battery tray slot.
However, Kong discloses a battery pack with a plurality of battery modules and a battery tray for mounting the plurality of battery modules (Abstract, [0013]).
Kong teaches the use of multiple battery tray slots within a battery tray for accommodating the plurality of battery modules, such that the battery modules may be coupled to the battery tray by sliding along a longitudinal direction of the battery module through the use of sliding guide rails (such as sliding rail 120) and corresponding sliding guide protrusions (such as sliding groove 126) (Figs. 1-2, [0013]-[0017], [0034]-[0045]) located along the upper, lower, left, and right sides of the battery and the battery tray slots (and along the entire longitudinal direction of the battery tray slot) in order to ensure coupling, allow for the use of a plurality of battery modules within the device, and allow for surface contact between adjacent battery modules (Fig. 2, [0041]-[0043]). Additionally, this method of coupling the plurality of battery modules to the battery tray allows for sufficient mounting of the battery modules ([0015]) while also accommodating substitution of battery modules ([0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the hot-swappable power system of Altman such that the plurality of conveyor rollers are disposed along on an interior bottom, left, right, and upper surface of each battery tray slot with individual conveyor rollers extending across opposite sides of each battery tray slot such that the battery tray rolls over a top surface defined by the plurality of conveyor rollers of a respective battery tray slot allowing for the battery modules to be sufficiently mounted to the battery tray while maintaining the ability to substitute battery modules in order to ensure coupling, allow for the use of a plurality of battery modules within the device, and allow for surface contact between adjacent battery modules, as taught by Kong.
Regarding Claim 11, Altman in view of Kong teaches the instantly claimed hot-swappable power system of Claim 10, and Altman discloses wherein the autonomous mobile robot is powered by the primary energy source ([0017], [0064]).
Regarding Claim 12, Altman in view of Kong teaches the instantly claimed hot-swappable power system of Claim 11, and Altman discloses wherein the hot-swappable power module is configured to provide the electrical power to the primary energy source of the autonomous mobile robot ([0017], [0064]).
Regarding Claim 13, Altman in view of Kong teaches the instantly claimed hot-swappable power system of Claim 12, and Altman discloses wherein the autonomous robotic system includes a robotic arm system (e.g., manipulator arm) ([0018]).
Regarding Claim 14, Altman in view of Kong teaches the instantly claimed hot-swappable power system of Claim 13, and Altman discloses wherein the robotic arm system is powered by the primary energy source of the autonomous mobile robot (the at least one battery cell of field replaceable battery 400 powers the battery powered device which comprises the manipulator arm) ([0018], [0064]).
Regarding Claim 16, Altman in view of Kong teaches the instantly claimed hot-swappable power system of Claim 10, and while Altman does not explicitly disclose wherein the power module receiver is configured to releasably receive the battery tray, Altman does teach that it is beneficial to be able to insert and remove the batteries, contained within the battery tray, based on their charge status in order to maintain operation ([0066]-[0067], [0132]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the power system of Altman such that the power module receiver is configured to releasably receive the battery tray such that the batteries held within the battery tray can be readily inserted and removed to maintain operation, as taught by Altman.
Regarding Claim 18, Altman in view of Kong teaches the instantly claimed hot-swappable power system of Claim 17, and Altman discloses wherein the robotic arm system is powered by the primary energy source (the at least one battery cell of field replaceable battery 400 powers the battery powered device which comprises the manipulator arm) ([0018], [0064]).
Regarding Claim 19, Altman in view of Kong teaches the instantly claimed hot-swappable power system of Claim 18, and Altman discloses wherein the hot-swappable power module is configured to provide the electrical power to the primary energy source of the robotic arm system (within the battery powered device) ([0018], [0064]).
Regarding Claim 20, Altman in view of Kong teaches the instantly claimed hot-swappable power system of Claim 19, and Altman discloses wherein the autonomous robotic system also includes an autonomous mobile robot ([0017]).
Regarding Claim 21, Altman in view of Kong teaches the instantly claimed hot-swappable power system of Claim 20, and Altman discloses wherein the autonomous mobile robot is powered by the primary energy source of the robotic arm system (within the battery powered device) ([0064]).
Regarding Claim 23, Altman in view of Kong teaches the instantly claimed hot-swappable power system of Claim 17, while Altman does not explicitly disclose wherein the power module receiver is configured to releasably receive the battery tray, Altman does teach that it is beneficial to be able to insert and remove the batteries, contained within the battery tray, based on their charge status in order to maintain operation ([0066]-[0067], [0132]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the power system of Altman such that the power module receiver is configured to releasably receive the battery tray such that the batteries held within the battery tray can be readily inserted and removed to maintain operation, as taught by Altman.
Conclusion
/O.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729