Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo (US 20230170560 A1) in view of Verikakis (US 20180241011 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Woo teaches A button cell comprising:
an electrode assembly comprising a first electrode (Fig. 2, 110, [0034]), a second electrode (Fig. 2, 120, [0034]), and a separator between the first electrode and the second electrode (Fig. 2, 130, [0034]);
a case connected to the first electrode, housing the electrode assembly, and comprising an opening exposing the electrode assembly and a side wall defining the opening (Fig. 2, 210, [0044]);
a cap plate connected to the second electrode, bonded to the side wall of the case, and covering the opening (Fig. 2, 300, [0006] and [0033]). Woo does not specifically teach that the cap plate is insulated from the side wall and that there is a bonding layer located between the cap plate and the side wall of the case, and insulating and bonding between the case and the cap plate.
However, Verikakis teaches of a battery cell with features that are applicable to button cells [0039]. One feature is a bonding layer located between the cap plate 36 and the side wall of the case 12, and insulating and bonding between the case and the cap plate. (Fig. 3, 32, [0024]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Woo button cell so that there is an insulating bonding layer between the case and the cap plate because it is configured to electrically insulate the negative cap from the container (Verikakis [0009]). Since the Woo cap is made out of first and second metal layers electrically connected to the second electrode tab, the bonding layer would be applicable.
Regarding claim 13, modified Woo teaches the button cell as claimed in claim 1, wherein the cap plate is not welded to the case (Woo [0063]). Instead of being welded, the cap is bonded to the plastic at a low temperature.
Regarding claim 14, modified Woo teaches the button cell as claimed in claim 1, wherein the cap plate is a flat plate that completely covers the opening (Woo Fig. 2, 300, [0033]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Woo teaches the button cell as claimed in claim 1, wherein the bonding layer is in the form of a loop (Verikakis Fig. 3, 32, [0024]) that is in contact with an edge of the cap plate (Verikakis Fig. 3, 36, [0024]) and the side wall of the case (Verikakis Fig. 3, 12, [0024]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Woo teaches the button cell as claimed in claim 1, wherein the electrode assembly further comprises:
a first electrode tab that extends from the first electrode and is welded to the case (Woo Fig. 2, 140, [0040]);
and a second electrode tab that extends from the second electrode and is welded to the cap plate (Woo Fig. 2, 150, [0041]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Woo teaches the button cell as claimed in claim 1, wherein the case has a same polarity as the first electrode, and the cap plate has a same polarity as the second electrode (Woo [0040]-[0041]).
Claim(s) 2-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo in view of Verikakis as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Min et al (US 20230223625 A1).
Regarding claim 2, modified Woo teaches the button cell as claimed in claim 1, but does not teach that the cap plate does not protrude to an outside of the side wall of the case.
However, Min et al. teaches of a button-type secondary battery that includes a cap and a side wall (Abstract). Min et al. also teaches that the cap plate (Fig. 7, 50, [0061]) does not protrude to an outside of the side wall of the case (Fig. 7, 21, [0061]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date to further modify the modified Woo button cell by altering the side wall to include a step part with a cap inserted into it so that the cap doesn’t protrude to an outside of the side wall. This is because the side wall makes it so that movement of the cap plate can be further restricted (Min et al. [0062]).
Regarding claim 3, further modified Woo teaches the button cell as claimed in claim 2, wherein the outside of the side wall of the case comprises an outside in a horizontal direction and a vertical direction of the button cell (Woo Fig. 1, 220, [0045]).| Regarding claim 4, further modified Woo teaches the button cell as claimed in claim 1, wherein the side wall of the case comprises a step part that is recessed from an end of the side wall and in contact with the bonding layer (Min et al. Fig. 7, 21, [0061]).
Regarding claim 5, further modified Woo teaches the button cell as claimed in claim 4, wherein the cap plate is inserted in the step part (Min et al. Fig. 7, 50 [0061]).
Regarding claim 6, further modified Woo teaches the button cell as claimed in claim 5, wherein the bonding layer is located between the step part and an edge of the cap plate (Verakakis Fig. 2, 300, [0033]).
Regarding claim 7, further modified Woo teaches the button cell as claimed in claim 6, wherein the edge of the cap plate comprises: a rear surface facing a bottom of the step part; a front surface opposite to the rear surface; and a side surface connecting the rear surface and the front surface (Woo Fig. 2, 300, [0033]).
Regarding claim 8, further modified Woo teaches the button cell as claimed in claim 7, wherein the bonding layer comprises a first part that is in contact with the rear surface of the edge of the cap plate (Verikakis Fig. 3, 32, [0024], see figure below).
Regarding claim 9, further modified Woo teaches the button cell as claimed in claim 8, wherein the bonding layer further comprises a second part that extends from the first part and is in contact with the side surface of the edge of the cap plate (Verikakis, see figure below).
Regarding claim 10, further modified Woo teaches the button cell as claimed in claim 9, wherein the bonding layer further comprises a third part that extends from the second part and is contact with the front surface of the edge of the cap plate (Verikakis, see figure below).
Regarding claim 11, further modified Woo teaches the button cell as claimed in claim 9, wherein the bonding layer further comprises a fourth part that extends from the second part and is in contact with the end of the side wall (Verikakis, see figure below).
Regarding claim 12, further modified Woo teaches the button cell as claimed in claim 9, wherein the bonding layer further comprises a fifth part that extends from the first part and is contact with an inner surface of the side wall (Verikakis, see figure below).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Vuille teaches a button cell comprising of a cap and a side wall attached by a layer of insulating glue, or a bonding layer (Abstract).
/YVONNE WEI/Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/NIKI BAKHTIARI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1722