DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communication: Amendment filed Jan. 14, 2026. This Action is made Final.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 8 and 15 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. (hereinafter Williams) U.S. Patent Publication No. 2010/0251165 in view of Kim (hereinafter Kim) U.S. Patent Publication No. 2008/0178116.
With respect to independent claim 1, Williams teaches a computer-implemented method comprising: providing, for display on a client device, a graphical user interface comprising a view area for displaying digital content (see e.g., Fig. 4 Para [41]-[46]- “The item UI presentation 402 includes an item presentation region 404 for presenting a representation 406 of a collection of items. Here, the item presentation region 404 takes the form of a single rectangular panel, but other item UI presentations can adopt panels having different shapes, panels having multiple component parts, and so on. The item presentation region 404 can depict the items in any way.”), wherein the view area corresponds to a first portion of the graphical user interface (see e.g., Fig. 8);
providing, within the graphical user interface, a scroll element to allow a user to scroll through the digital content within the view area (see e.g., Fig. 4 Para [36][43]-[46] – “The scrolling region presentation module 122 displays the scrolling region 108 of the item UI presentation 104. The scrolling region 108 allows a user to navigate within the collection of items to select a desired item. The scrolling region 108 is enhanced to include scrolling-region information.”) wherein the scroll area corresponds to a second portion of the graphical user interface (see e.g., Fig. 8);
based on receiving, via the graphical user interface, an indication of a user interaction with the scroll element, expanding the scroll element to an expanded state (see e.g., Fig. 6 Para [61]-[64] – “the item display module 118 can increase the size of the information, bold the information, change the color of the information, de-blur the information, and so on. In these scenarios, the slider member 608 may function using a metaphor of a magnifying glass, accentuating the contents of whatever lies beneath. The information that is presented is generically referred to as enhanced information 610, with the understanding that this information encompasses both new information and accentuated information.”); and adding a present position indicator within the scroll element in the expanded state, the present position indicator corresponding to a current position of the digital content in the view area (see e.g., Fig. 4 Para [61]-[66] – “The information that is presented is generically referred to as enhanced information 610, with the understanding that this information encompasses both new information and accentuated information … the scrolling region 606 may present the enhanced information 610 within a window defined by the slider member 608”).
Williams dose not expressly show modifying a size of the second portion of the graphical user interface relative to a size of the first portion. However, Kim teaches the above feature (see e.g. Fig. 5A 5B para [9][10][59]-[60]- “Referring to FIG. 5A, the controller 150 displays a scroll bar 300 on one side of the touch input device 300. As illustrated in FIG. 5B, the controller 150, displays on the touch input device 122 a "SCROLL BAR SETTING" menu to set a size for the scroll bar 300 when the scroll bar 300 is touched … the scroll bar 300 has a size of length h1 and width w1. If a user touches a bottom area of the scroll bar 300 and drags downward, the controller 150 allows the scroll bar 300 to be expanded in the direction of the drag while setting the guide part 301 to be fixed.”). Both Williams and Kim are directed to graphical user interface design. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention having Williams and Kim in front of them to modify the system of Williams to include the above feature. The motivation to combine Williams and Kim comes from Kim. Kim discloses the motivation to enlarge the scroll area so that it would be easier for a user to operated (see e.g. [9][10][59]-[60]). This motivation for combination also applies to the remaining claims which depend on this combination.
With respect to dependent claim 2, the modified Williams teaches receiving an indication that the user interaction with the scroll element ended; and ceasing to provide the scroll element in the expanded state (see e.g., Fig. 6 Para [61]-[66] – “the item display module 118 can change the information it presents for a particular folder (or folders) when the slider member 608 is positioned over that particular folder.” – It is clear that when the particular folder/item is unselected, the expanded state is ended).
With respect to dependent claim 3, the modified Williams teaches the present position indicator within the scroll element in the expanded state comprises text associated with the current position of the digital content in the view area (see e.g., Fig. 6 Para [61] – “the item display module 118 can display additional information that was not previously displayed in the scrolling region 606.”).
With respect to dependent claim 4, the modified Williams teaches determining the user interaction comprises a swipe gesture with respect to the scroll element in the expanded state (see e.g., Para [44] –“The user may engage the slider member 410 using any input device, such as a mouse-type input device, a key-type input device, a touch-sensitive screen input device, and so on.” The examiner notes that it is well-known in the art that user can use swipe gesture on touch screen to interact with a scroll element.); scrolling the digital content through the view area in response to the swipe gesture with respect to the scroll element in the expanded state; and modifying the present position indicator to indicate an updated current position of the digital content in the view area (see e.g., Fig. 4 Para [61]-[66] – “The information that is presented is generically referred to as enhanced information 610, with the understanding that this information encompasses both new information and accentuated information … the scrolling region 606 may present the enhanced information 610 within a window defined by the slider member 608” “the scrolling region 606 may present the enhanced information 610 within a window defined by the slider member 608.”).
With respect to dependent claim 5, the modified Williams teaches the scroll element is a horizontal linear scroll element (see e.g., Para [43]- “the scrolling region 408 may extend along a horizontal dimension (or any other dimension or path) of the item UI presentation 402“).
With respect to dependent claim 6, the modified Williams teaches the digital content comprises a collection of digital images (see e.g., Para [82]).
With respect to dependent claim 7, the modified Williams teaches providing position markers within the scroll element when the scroll element is not in the expanded state (see e.g., Fig. 6, 7 and Para [61]-[63] and claim 5).
With respect to independent claim 8, Williams teaches a system comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to: provide, for display on a client device, a graphical user interface comprising a view area for displaying digital content (see e.g., Fig. 4 Para [41]-[46]- “The item UI presentation 402 includes an item presentation region 404 for presenting a representation 406 of a collection of items. Here, the item presentation region 404 takes the form of a single rectangular panel, but other item UI presentations can adopt panels having different shapes, panels having multiple component parts, and so on. The item presentation region 404 can depict the items in any way.”), wherein the view area corresponds to a first portion of the graphical user interface (see e.g., Fig. 8); provide, within the graphical user interface, a scroll element in a collapsed state, the scroll element used to scroll through the digital content within the view area (see e.g., Fig. 4, 6 Para [61]-[64]), wherein the scroll area corresponds to a second portion of the graphical user interface (see e.g., Fig. 8); based on receiving, via the graphical user interface, an indication of a user interaction with the scroll element, expand the scroll element to an expanded state; and add a present position indicator within the scroll element in the expanded state, the present position indicator corresponding to a current position of the digital content in the view area (see e.g., Fig. 6 Para [61]-[64] – “the item display module 118 can increase the size of the information, bold the information, change the color of the information, de-blur the information, and so on. In these scenarios, the slider member 608 may function using a metaphor of a magnifying glass, accentuating the contents of whatever lies beneath. The information that is presented is generically referred to as enhanced information 610, with the understanding that this information encompasses both new information and accentuated information.”).
Williams dose not expressly show modifying a size of the second portion of the graphical user interface relative to a size of the first portion. However, Kim teaches the above feature (see e.g. Fig. 5A 5B para [9][10][59]-[60]- “Referring to FIG. 5A, the controller 150 displays a scroll bar 300 on one side of the touch input device 300. As illustrated in FIG. 5B, the controller 150, displays on the touch input device 122 a "SCROLL BAR SETTING" menu to set a size for the scroll bar 300 when the scroll bar 300 is touched … the scroll bar 300 has a size of length h1 and width w1. If a user touches a bottom area of the scroll bar 300 and drags downward, the controller 150 allows the scroll bar 300 to be expanded in the direction of the drag while setting the guide part 301 to be fixed.”). Both Williams and Kim are directed to graphical user interface design. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention having Williams and Kim in front of them to modify the system of Williams to include the above feature. The motivation to combine Williams and Kim comes from Kim. Kim discloses the motivation to enlarge the scroll area so that it would be easier for a user to operated (see e.g. [9][10][59]-[60]). This motivation for combination also applies to the remaining claims which depend on this combination.
With respect to dependent claim 9, the modified Williams teaches the system to provide a year or a month for the present position indicator (see e.g., Fig. 7 and 8).
With respect to dependent claim 10, the modified Williams teaches receive an indication that the user interaction with the scroll element ended; and transition the scroll element from the expanded state to the collapsed state (see e.g., Para [61]-[64] - “the item display module 118 can change the information it presents for a particular folder (or folders) when the slider member 608 is positioned over that particular folder.” – It is clear that when the particular folder/item is unselected, the expanded state is ended.)
With respect to dependent claim 11, the modified Williams teaches the scroll element is a horizontal linear scroll element (see e.g., Para [43]- “the scrolling region 408 may extend along a horizontal dimension (or any other dimension or path) of the item UI presentation 402“).
With respect to dependent claim 12, the modified Williams teaches the present position indicator within the scroll element in the expanded state comprises text associated with the current position of the digital content in the view area (see e.g., Fig. 6, 7, 8 Para [61] – “the item display module 118 can display additional information that was not previously displayed in the scrolling region 606.”).
With respect to dependent claim 13, the modified Williams teaches scroll the digital content through the view area in response to the user interaction with respect to the scroll element in the expanded state; and modify the present position indicator to indicate an updated current position of the digital content in the view area (see e.g., Fig. 4 Para [61]-[66] – “The information that is presented is generically referred to as enhanced information 610, with the understanding that this information encompasses both new information and accentuated information … the scrolling region 606 may present the enhanced information 610 within a window defined by the slider member 608” “the scrolling region 606 may present the enhanced information 610 within a window defined by the slider member 608.”).
With respect to dependent claim 14, the modified Williams teaches the digital content comprises a collection of digital images (see e.g., Para [82]).
With respect to independent claim 15, Williams teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause a computer device to: provide, for display on a client device, a graphical user interface comprising a view area for displaying digital content (see e.g., Fig. 4 Para [41]-[46]- “The item UI presentation 402 includes an item presentation region 404 for presenting a representation 406 of a collection of items. Here, the item presentation region 404 takes the form of a single rectangular panel, but other item UI presentations can adopt panels having different shapes, panels having multiple component parts, and so on. The item presentation region 404 can depict the items in any way.”), wherein the view area corresponds to a first portion of the graphical user interface (see e.g., Fig. 8); provide, within the graphical user interface, a scroll element in a collapsed state, the scroll element used to scroll through the digital content within the view area (see e.g., Fig. 4, 6 Para [61]-[64]), wherein the scroll area corresponds to a second portion of the graphical user interface (see e.g., Fig. 8); expand the scroll element to an expanded state based on receiving an indication of a user interaction with the scroll element (see e.g., Fig. 4, 6 Para [61]-[64]); and provide a present position indicator within the scroll element in the expanded state, the present position indicator corresponding to first digital content displayed within the view area (see e.g., Fig. 6 Para [61]-[64] – “the item display module 118 can increase the size of the information, bold the information, change the color of the information, de-blur the information, and so on. In these scenarios, the slider member 608 may function using a metaphor of a magnifying glass, accentuating the contents of whatever lies beneath. The information that is presented is generically referred to as enhanced information 610, with the understanding that this information encompasses both new information and accentuated information.”).
Williams dose not expressly show modifying a size of the second portion of the graphical user interface relative to a size of the first portion. However, Kim teaches the above feature (see e.g. Fig. 5A 5B para [9][10][59]-[60]- “Referring to FIG. 5A, the controller 150 displays a scroll bar 300 on one side of the touch input device 300. As illustrated in FIG. 5B, the controller 150, displays on the touch input device 122 a "SCROLL BAR SETTING" menu to set a size for the scroll bar 300 when the scroll bar 300 is touched … the scroll bar 300 has a size of length h1 and width w1. If a user touches a bottom area of the scroll bar 300 and drags downward, the controller 150 allows the scroll bar 300 to be expanded in the direction of the drag while setting the guide part 301 to be fixed.”). Both Williams and Kim are directed to graphical user interface design. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention having Williams and Kim in front of them to modify the system of Williams to include the above feature. The motivation to combine Williams and Kim comes from Kim. Kim discloses the motivation to enlarge the scroll area so that it would be easier for a user to operated (see e.g. [9][10][59]-[60]). This motivation for combination also applies to the remaining claims which depend on this combination.
With respect to dependent claim 16, the modified Williams teaches scroll the digital content through the view area in response to the user interaction with respect to the scroll element in the expanded state; and modify the present position indicator to indicate second digital content displayed in the view area based on scrolling the digital content through the view area (see e.g., Fig. 4 Para [61]-[66] – “The information that is presented is generically referred to as enhanced information 610, with the understanding that this information encompasses both new information and accentuated information … the scrolling region 606 may present the enhanced information 610 within a window defined by the slider member 608” “the scrolling region 606 may present the enhanced information 610 within a window defined by the slider member 608.”).
With respect to dependent claim 17, the modified Williams teaches the present position indicator within the scroll element in the expanded state comprises text associated with the first digital content displayed within the view area (see e.g., Fig. 6, 7, 8 Para [61] – “the item display module 118 can display additional information that was not previously displayed in the scrolling region 606.”).
With respect to dependent claim 18, the modified Williams teaches receive an indication that the user interaction with the scroll element in the expanded state ended; and collapse the scroll element from the expanded state to the collapsed state (see e.g., Para [61]-[64] - “the item display module 118 can change the information it presents for a particular folder (or folders) when the slider member 608 is positioned over that particular folder.” – It is clear that when the particular folder/item is unselected, the expanded state is ended.).
With respect to dependent claim 19, the modified Williams teaches the scroll element is a horizontal linear scroll element (see e.g., Para [43]- “the scrolling region 408 may extend along a horizontal dimension (or any other dimension or path) of the item UI presentation 402“).
With respect to dependent claim 20, the modified Williams teaches the digital content comprises a collection of digital images (see e.g., Para [82]).
It is noted that any citation to specific pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. “The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). Further, a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See also Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); Celeritas Technologies Ltd. v. Rockwell International Corp., 150 F.3d 1354, 1361, 47 USPQ2d 1516, 1522-23 (Fed. Cir. 1998).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PEI YONG WENG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2141