DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species IV in the reply filed on 5/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6, 8-15, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by US 2024/0314706 (Sheppard).
As to claim 1, A method for mitigating RF radiation exposure in an area of concern proximate to an RF radiation source, the method comprising:
operatively connecting one or more sensors to a processor (camera 106+proximity sensor 108, fig 1 and paragraphs 16 and 28-30);
operatively connecting the processor to a variable reducer disposed on an path between an input and an output, the variable reducer configured to reduce power or an RF signal between the input and the output under control of the processor (see paragraphs 16, 20 and 44-46, transmit power is dynamically attenuated);
operatively connecting the input to at least one of a power supply or an RF signal source; operatively connecting the output to the RF radiation source (antenna system 102 and antennas 104 and paragraphs 18-19);
detecting, via the one or more sensors, that an object has entered area of concern; and controlling the variable reducer via the processor, at least in response to detection by the one or more sensors that the object has entered the area of concern, to temporarily reduce the power or the RF signal to the RF radiation source (110, fig 1 and paragraphs 16 and 44-46, when object such as human detected by camera+proximity sensor, the transmit power from antennas may be dynamically attenuated).
As to claim 5, Sheppard further teaches wherein detecting that the object has entered the area of concern comprises detecting that the object has entered a region proximate to the RF radiation source where a power density of RF radiation within the area of concern or RF radiation exposure to the object within the area of concern exceeds a predetermined threshold when the RF radiation source is in operation (see paragraphs 16 and 36-37, MPE used as a threshold for determining if object/human is in danger).
As to claim 6, Sheppard further teaches wherein controlling the variable reducer comprises controlling the variable reducer to reduce the power or the RF signal between the input and the output at a predetermined rate (see paragraphs 44-50, monitoring may be done continuously or periodically and transmit power adjusted accordingly).
As to claim 8, Sheppard further teaches wherein controlling the variable reducer via the processor comprises: receiving information about the RF radiation being emitted by the RF radiation source from an RF monitor; and calculating a reduction of the power or the RF signal to reduce the RF radiation below a predetermined level (see paragraphs 31-36, RF emissions associated with object/human determined and compared to a threshold such as MPE so that transmit power can be adjusted).
As to claim 9, Sheppard further teaches wherein receiving the information about the RF radiation being emitted by the RF radiation source from the RF monitor comprises receiving one or more of a power density within the area of concern or radiation exposure to the object within the area of concern (see paragraphs 31-36, RF emissions associated with object/human determined and compared to a threshold such as MPE so that transmit power can be adjusted).
As to claim 10, Sheppard further teaches wherein receiving the radiation exposure to the object within the area of concern comprises receiving a cumulative radiation exposure for the object within the area of concern (see paragraphs 31-36, RF emissions associated with object/human determined and compared to a threshold such as MPE so that transmit power can be adjusted).
As to claim 11, Sheppard further teaches tracking the cumulative radiation exposure for each of a plurality of objects detected within the area of concern (see paragraphs 36-43, different objects will have different determined RF emissions and different exposure thresholds based on object types and distances from antenna).
As to claim 12, Sheppard further teaches wherein calculating comprises calculating the reduction of the power or the RF signal to reduce the RF radiation below a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) of the RF radiation for a human (see paragraph 36, MPE used as RF emission threshold).
As to claim 13, Sheppard further teaches wherein the object is a human, the one or more sensors include an artificial intelligence (AI) camera, and detecting comprises distinguishing the human from other types of objects using the Al camera (see paragraphs 24-27, AI uses camera images to tell if the object is a human).
As to claim 14, Sheppard further teaches wherein detecting comprises detecting that the object has entered the area of concern using at least one of a proximity sensor, a motion detector, a barrier tip/move sensor, or a photoelectric beam sensor (see paragraph 18, proximity sensor).
As to claim 15, Sheppard further teaches wherein controlling the variable reducer further comprises controlling the variable reducer to automatically restore the power or the RF signal to the RF radiation source to an original level at least in response to the one or more sensors detecting that the object has exited the area of concern (see paragraphs 44-50, monitoring may be done continuously or periodically and transmit power adjusted accordingly. This would result in the transmit power returning to the original level when the objects have left the range of the camera and proximity sensor).
As to claim 17, Sheppard further teaches operatively connecting an RF monitoring system to processor; and monitoring, via the RF monitoring system, a power density of the RF radiation within the area of concern or RF radiation exposure to the object within the area of concern; wherein controlling the variable reducer comprises controlling the variable reducer, at least in response to the power density of the RF radiation within the area of concern or the RF radiation exposure to the object within the area of concern exceeding a predetermined threshold, to temporarily reduce the power or the RF signal to the RF radiation source (see paragraphs 31-36, RF emissions associated with object/human determined and compared to a power density of radiation based threshold such as MPE so that transmit power can be adjusted).
As to claim 20, Sheppard further teaches initiating at least one of an audible warning or a visual warning to the object that has entered the area of concern (see paragraphs 51-55, various types of visual and/or audible alerts sent when objects determined to be exposed to dangerous RF emissions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheppard in view of Well Known Prior Art (Official Notice).
As to claim 4, what is lacking from Sheppard is wherein operatively connecting the processor to the variable reducer comprises operatively connecting the processor to a variable attenuator configured to temporarily reduce a power of the RF signal to the RF radiation source.
Examiner takes Official Notice that it was well known in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize reduce the power of the RF signal for the purpose of attenuating the power of the signal transmitted from an antenna.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Sheppard so as to provide for a cost effective solution to dynamically attenuating the power from the antennas.
As to claim 16, Sheppard further teaches wherein the input, the output, and the variable reducer are components of a reducer unit and the processor is a component of a separate control unit, the method further comprises disposing the reducer unit from the separate control unit (see figure 1)
What is lacking from Sheppard is wherein the input, the output, and the variable reducer are components of a reducer unit and the processor is a component of a separate control unit, the method further comprises disposing the reducer unit remotely from the separate control unit.
Examiner takes Official Notice that it was well known in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to remotely dispose a control unit from the antenna system it is controlling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Sheppard so as to increase cost effectively by implementing centralized control of antenna systems.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheppard in view of US 2022/0386249 (Meshkati et al.).
As to claim 18, Sheppard further teaches and wherein controlling the variable reducer comprises controlling the variable reducer, at least in response to the RF radiation exposure to the object reaching the predetermined threshold, to temporarily reduce the power or the RF signal to the RF radiation source (see paragraphs 31-36, RF emissions associated with object/human determined and compared to a threshold such as MPE so that transmit power can be adjusted).
What is lacking from Sheppard is wherein monitoring comprises monitoring RF radiation exposure to the object based, at least in part, on an amount of time that the object is within the area of concern.
In analogous art, Meshkati teaches MPE limits being based at least in part on radiation exposure of a certain amount of time (see Meshkati, paragraph 53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Sheppard so as to utilize typical regulatory requirements for MPE (see Meshkati, paragraph 53).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheppard in view of US 2024/0112134 (Khan et al.).
As to claim 19, what is lacking from Sheppard is storing, in a memory, a log of each detected entry of each object into the area of concern, wherein the log includes at least one of a date of entry, a time of entry, date of exit, the time of exit, and the power density of the RF radiation within the area of concern or the RF radiation exposure to the object within the area of concern.
In analogous art, Khan teaches event logs for storing safety hazard events including the time in which they occurred (see Khan, paragraph 58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Sheppard so as to facilitate analysis that could be used to improve safety.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2002/0081978 (Hou et al.).
/MAZDA SABOURI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641