DETAILED ACTION
Status of Case
This Office Action is in response to the claims filed on 3/22/2024.
Claims 1-34 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 3/25/2024, 6/27/2024, 9/30/2024, 10/14/2024, 11/22/2024, and 3/24/2026 have been considered by Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-19, 21-31, 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HANNA (WO 2006/127115 A1) in view of Safe Dynamics (USPAN 2022/0166454) (hereinafter “Safe”).
Regarding claim 1, HANNA discloses an RF system (see figure 1, reproduced below for convenience, wherein disclosed is said system) comprising:
one or more sensors (pg 12, In 32- pg 13, In 11 "The sensor element 111 specifically generates an electrical signal from the electromagnetic field around the antenna. In the preferred embodiment, the sensor element 111 is located proximal to the antenna such that the electromagnetic field at the sensor element 111 is predominantly caused by electromagnetic radiation from the antenna 105. Thus, the electrical signal generated by the sensor element 111 is predominantly caused by the transmissions of the radio frequency signal amplified by the power amplifier 103."),
an RF mitigation system operatively connected to the one or more sensors (reduce the power, pg 14, In 5-14 "In the base station 100 of FIG. 1, such an excessive radiation of power will result in a radiated power indication of the electrical signal generated by the sensor element 111 clearly indicating that the radiated power is outside the expected values. Accordingly, the fault condition may be detected by the feedback controller 113 which may control the power supply controller 107 to reduce the power to the power amplifier 103 thereby limiting the output power and the radiated power from the antenna."), the RF mitigation system including:
a communication interface operatively connected via a network to an RF signal source (radio frequency signal to be radiated from an antenna, transmissions of the radio frequency signal, pg 4, In 25- pg 5, In 2 "According to a first aspect of the invention there is provided a radio transmitter arrangement comprising: a power amplifier for generating a radio frequency signal to be radiated from an antenna; power supply means for supplying a supply power to the power amplifier; sensor means for generating a radiated power indication by sensing a radiated signal strength of the radio frequency signal; and control means for controlling the supply power to the power amplifier in response to the radiated power indication.", pg 11, In 16-25 ''The base station comprises a transmit unit 101 which generates signals to be transmitted to mobile stations over the air interface of the cellular communication system. The transmit unit 101 is coupled to a power amplifier 103 which amplifies the signal to be transmitted to a suitable power level required to communicate with the mobile stations. The power amplifier is coupled to an antenna 105 which receives the signal and radiates this as a radio frequency electromagnetic signal.", pg 12, In 32- pg 13, In 11 "The sensor element 111 specifically generates an electrical signal from the electromagnetic field around the antenna. In the preferred embodiment, the sensor element 111 is located proximal to the antenna such that the electromagnetic field at the sensor element 111 is predominantly caused by electromagnetic radiation from the antenna 105. Thus, the electrical signal generated by the sensor element 111 is predominantly caused by the transmissions of the radio frequency signal amplified by the power amplifier 103."),
the RF signal source including an application programming interface (API) for controlling a power of, or interrupting, an RF signal produced by the RF signal source (software running on data processors, reduce the power, pg 22, In 22-26 "The invention can be implemented in any suitable form including hardware, software, firmware or any combination of these. The invention may optionally be implemented partly as computer software running on one or more data processors and/or digital signal processors.", pg 14, In 5-14 "In the base station 100 of FIG. 1, such an excessive radiation of power will result in a radiated power indication of the electrical signal generated by the sensor element 111 clearly indicating that the radiated power is outside the expected values. Accordingly, the fault condition may be detected by the feedback controller 113 which may control the power supply controller 107 to reduce the power to the power amplifier 103 thereby limiting the output power and the radiated power from the antenna."); and
a processor operatively connected to the communication interface and configured, to send a first command via the communication interface to the API (software running on data processors, feedback controller 113 receives the electrical signal from the sensor element 111, pg 22, In 22-26 "The invention can be implemented in any suitable form including hardware, software, firmware or any combination of these. The invention may optionally be implemented partly as computer software running on one or more data processors and/or digital signal processors.", pg 13, In 16-21 "The sensor element 111 is coupled to a feedback controller 113 which is further coupled to the power supply controller 107. The feedback controller 113 receives the electrical signal from the sensor element 111 and controls the power which is supplied to the power amplifier 103 through the power supply controller 107."),
the first command configured to temporarily reduce or interrupt the RF signal produced by the RF signal source (pg 12, In 32- pg 13, In 11 "The sensor element 111 specifically generates an electrical signal from the electromagnetic field around the antenna. In the preferred embodiment, the sensor element 111 is located proximal to the antenna such that the electromagnetic field al the sensor element 111 is predominantly caused by electromagnetic radiation from the antenna 105. Thus, the electrical signal generated by the sensor element 111 is predominantly caused by the transmissions of the radio frequency signal amplified by the power amplifier 103.", pg 14, In 5-14 "In the base station 100 of FIG. 1, such an excessive radiation of power will result in a radiated power indication of the electrical signal generated by the sensor element 111 clearly indicating that the radiated power is outside the expected values. Accordingly, the fault condition may be detected by the feedback controller 113 which may control the power supply controller 107 to reduce the power to the power amplifier 103 thereby limiting the output power and the radiated power from the antenna.").
HANNA does not specifically disclose an RF infrastructure sentry system, configured to detect that an object has entered an area of concern proximate to an RF radiation source and at least in response to detection by the one or more sensors that the object has entered the area of concern.
However, Safe discloses a method for automated RF safety compliance (abstract) and further discloses an RF infrastructure sentry system (para [0075] "As an example, a sensor may be a motion sensor that detects movement in the area surrounding the transmitter. When movement is detected, the system 100 may utilize camera images to identify the source of the movement. Based on the source of the movement, the system 100 may modify the operation of the transmitter to ensure compliance with RF exposure regulations. For example, operating characteristics may be adjusted if a person triggered the sensor, thereby reducing the exposure to within regulations."), configured to detect that an object has entered an area of concern proximate to an RF radiation source (para [0076] "As another example, a sensor system may comprise a combination of sensors, including, for example, one or more cameras. System 100 could host artificial intelligence (e.g., one or more machine-learning models}, or an augmented reality system, that processes images from the camera(s) to detect and/or confirm the presence of a human within the vicinity of one or more transmitting antennas, as well as determine the distance between the human and the transmitting antenna(s)."); and at least in response to detection by the one or more sensors that the object has entered the area of concern (provide information about security, attendance, status of transmitters, para [0078] "In an embodiment, the system 100 may use individual sensors or a combination of multiple sensors, connected to transmitters, to provide information about security, attendance, status of transmitters and their associated antenna locations, and/or the like. Furthermore, the system 100 my utilize sensors, operating parameters, use cases, and/or artificial intelligence (Al) systems to trigger automated modification of transmitter characteristics to ensure compliance with current and any future updates of RF exposure regulations.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hanna and combine it with the noted teachings of Safe. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a system to control transmitter characteristics when human presence is detected (Safe, para [0078]).
Regarding claims 2 and 19, HANNA discloses wherein the object is a human (para [0075] "As an example, a sensor may be a motion sensor that detects movement in the area surrounding the transmitter. When movement is detected, the system 100 may utilize camera images to identify the source of the movement. Based on the source of the movement, the system 100 may modify the operation of the transmitter to ensure compliance with RF exposure regulations. For example, operating characteristics may be adjusted if a person triggered the sensor, thereby reducing the exposure to within regulations."),
the one or more sensors include an artificial intelligence (Al) camera, and detecting comprises distinguishing the human from other types of objects using the Al camera (para [0076] "As another example, a sensor system may comprise a combination of sensors, including, for example, one or more cameras. System 100 could host artificial intelligence (e.g., one or more machine-learning models), or an augmented reality system, that processes images from the camera(s) to detect and/or confirm the presence of a human within the vicinity of one or more transmitting antennas, as well as determine the distance between the human and the transmitting antenna(s).").
Regarding claim 3, HANNA detecting comprises detecting that the object has entered the area of concern using at least one of a proximity sensor, a motion detector, a barrier tip/move sensor, or a photoelectric beam sensor (motion detector, para [0075] "As an example, a sensor may be a motion sensor that detects movement in the area surrounding the transmitter. When movement is detected, the system 100 may utilize camera images to identify the source of the movement. Based on the source of the movement, the system 100 may modify the operation of the transmitter to ensure compliance with RF exposure regulations. For example, operating characteristics may be adjusted if a person triggered the sensor, thereby reducing the exposure to within regulations.").
Regarding claims 5 and 21, HANNA discloses wherein a signal reducer is operatively connected to the processor and disposed on a signal path between an input and an output, the input being operatively connected to the RF signal source and the output being operatively coupled to the RF radiation source (antenna, person, transmitter power to one or more antennas may be reduced or completely shut off by the system 100, para [0077) "In an embodiment, sensors may be utilized by the system for monitoring access to antenna locations. The sensors may trigger an automated modification of the transmitter characteristics to ensure compliance with current and any future updates of RF exposure regulations. For example, the transmitter power to one or more antennas may be reduced or completely shut off by the system 100, in response to sensing motion towards the antenna(s) (e.g., indicative of a person gelling closer to the antenna(s)), to ensure that maximum exposure limits are not exceeded (e.g., for as long as motion is sensed near the antenna(s))."), the method further comprising:
controlling the signal reducer, via the processor, to reduce or interrupt the RF signal between the input and the output in response to a condition (person getting closer to the antenna, transmitter power to one or more antennas may be reduced or completely shut off by the system 100, para [0077) "In an embodiment, sensors may be utilized by the system for monitoring access to antenna locations. The sensors may trigger an automated modification of the transmitter characteristics to ensure compliance with current and any future updates of RF exposure regulations. For example, the transmitter power to one or more antennas may be reduced or completely shut off by the system 100, in response to sensing motion towards the antenna(s) (e.g., indicative of a person getting closer to the antenna(s)), to ensure that maximum exposure limits are not exceeded (e.g., for as long as motion is sensed near the antenna(s)).").
Regarding claims 6 and 22, HANNA discloses tracking, by the processor, an amount of elapsed time since the first command was sent to the API, the condition comprising the elapsed time exceeding a predetermined time (para [0140) "FIG. 8B is a flow diagram of the functions performed once a power down request email is sent to the transmitter owner or operator, according to an embodiment. This request is sent automatically by database administration module 444 of FIG. 5. Al step 726, at predetermined time intervals, a check is carried out to determine if a response from the transmitter owner or operator has been received.").
Regarding claims 7 and 23, HANNA discloses further comprising: tracking, by the processor, a power density of RF radiation within the area of concern or an RF radiation exposure to the object (power density, para [0076) "While the human presence is detected, the system 100 may continually modify the operation of the transmitting antenna(s), based on the calculated power density experienced by a human at the position of the human and/or at the determined distance between the human and the transmitting antenna(s), in real time, as that position and/or distance changes over time, to ensure real-time compliance with RF exposure regulations as the human moves around within the vicinity of the transmitting antenna(s).", para [0086) "The system 100 may also be configured to determine the modifications to be made, for example, based on a determined MPE map and/or power density calculations of the detected area, and modify one or more transmitter characteristics to ensure compliance."),
the condition comprising the power density within the area of concern or the RF radiation exposure to the object exceeding a predetermined level (power density, ensure compliance, para [0086) "The system 100 may also be configured to determine the modifications to be made, for example, based on a determined MPE map and/or power density calculations of the detected area, and modify one or more transmitter characteristics to ensure compliance.").
Regarding claims 8 and 24, HANNA discloses wherein tracking the RF radiation exposure comprises tracking a cumulative RF radiation exposure to the object since the object entered the area of concern (dynamic resident database information, MPE maps, para [0109) "The engineering tools module 436 may generate and provide an MPE map based on dynamic resident database information and/or modified data. For example, the engineering tools module 436 may utilize the dynamic resident database information to calculate power densities for antennas in the database, including calculations for intermodulation, isolation, and creation of a hypothetical site called a "try-out" site. For the MPE map, the user can select any antennae from the site to view all information about the antennae. The user can manipulate some of the data to see how it affects the MPE maps.
For intermodulation, the module 436 calculates the intermodulation between two selected antennas. For isolation, the module 436 calculates the isolation between the two selected antennas. The user can create try-out sites by placing new antennas into the site to create a preview of MPE maps or calculate intermodulation and isolation.").
Regarding claims 9 and 25, HANNA discloses wherein the signal reducer includes a relay (pg 18, In 21- pg 19, In 5 "The capacitor 203 is coupled to a comparator 207 which is furthermore provided with a reference voltage from a voltage generator 209. The comparison voltage of the voltage generator 209 is set to provide an upper threshold for the measured signal level above which a fault is deemed to have occurred. The output of the comparator 207 is fed to a latching relay 211. The relay 211 operates a switch 213 of a power supply line 215 feeding power to the power amplifier103. Thus, as long as the signal level measured by the sensor element 111 is sufficiently low for the comparison voltage to exceed that of the capacitor voltage, the comparator 207 provides a low voltage resulting in the relay remaining in the position where the switch 213 is closed thus allowing power to be supplied to the power amplifier 103.").
Regarding claims 10 and 25, HANNA discloses that the signal reducer includes an attenuator (resonating element, attenuate signals, "According to an optional feature of the invention, the resonating element is tuned to a frequency of the radio frequency signal. The resonating element may specifically be tuned to attenuate signals outside a frequency interval comprising the frequency of the radio frequency signal. This may allow improved performance and may in particular allow increased accuracy of the sensing by attenuating sources of interference.").
Regarding claims 11 and 26, HANNA discloses that the attenuator is a variable attenuator configured to temporarily reduce the RF signal by a variable amount (attenuate signals outside a frequency interval, pg 8, In 22-31 "According to an optional feature of the invention, the resonating element is tuned to a frequency of the radio frequency signal. The resonating element may specifically be tuned to attenuate signals outside a frequency interval comprising the frequency of the radio frequency signal. This may allow improved performance and may in particular allow increased accuracy of the sensing by attenuating sources of interference.").
Regarding claims 12 and 27, HANNA discloses that the RF radiation source comprises a first cell tower (base station, pg 14, In 9-19 "Accordingly, the fault condition may be detected by the feedback controller 113 which may control the power supply controller 107 to reduce the power to the power amplifier 103 thereby limiting the output power and the radiated power from the antenna. This results in a limitation of the interference and may in many embodiments ensure that a fault may only affect the mobile stations served by this power amplifier 103 but will not prevent other mobile stations to be served from their respective transmit arrangements and/or base stations."), and
wherein the signal reducer is configured to reduce the RF signal between the input and the output at a predetermined rate selected to cause a cell phone connected to the first cell tower to switch to a second cell tower without dropping a call (mobile stations served by respective base stations, transmit arrangements, pg 14, In 9-19 "Accordingly, the fault condition may be detected by the feedback controller 113 which may control the power supply controller 107 to reduce the power to the power amplifier 103 thereby limiting the output power and the radiated power from the antenna. This results in a limitation of the interference and may in many embodiments ensure that a fault may only affect the mobile stations served by this power amplifier 103 but will not prevent other mobile stations to be served from their respective transmit arrangements and/or base stations.").
Regarding claim 13, HANNA discloses: receiving information about the power of the RF signal, a power density of RF radiation within the area of concern, or RF radiation exposure to the object within the area of concern (power density calculations, para [0086] "The system 100 may also be configured to determine the modifications to be made, for example, based on a determined MPE map and/or power density calculations of the detected area, and modify one or more transmitter characteristics to ensure compliance. In an embodiment, the system 100 may issue a warning or other indication to a user to cause the modification."); and determining whether to send the first command based on the information and the detection by the one or more sensors that the object has entered the area of concern (indication to a user to cause the modification, para [0086] "The system 100 may also be configured to determine the modifications to be made, for example, based on a determined MPE map and/or power density calculations of the detected area, and modify one or more transmitter characteristics to ensure compliance. In an embodiment, the system 100 may issue a warning or other indication to a user to cause the modification.").
Regarding claims 13 and 29, HANNA as modified by Safe discloses the method of claim 1, and Safe further discloses further comprising: operatively connecting an input to the RF signal source (customer equipment, para [0158] "In an embodiment, power densities may be measured using equipment (e.g., customer equipment and/or custom equipment) positioned within an operating range of the antenna (e.g., a controlled and/or restricted area of the MPE map). For example, the equipment may be configured to detect output from an antenna and measure the power across a detection area. By utilizing such equipment, the systems described herein may be configured to measure power densities for RF transmitters of wireless networks utilizing, but not limited to MIMO, Massive MIMO, antenna arrays, and beamforming algorithms, and provide proper safety instructions to ensure compliance with existing and any future RF exposure regulations."): operatively connecting an output to the RF radiation source (detect output from an antenna, para [0158] "In an embodiment, power densities may be measured using equipment (e.g., customer equipment and/or custom equipment) positioned within an operating range of the antenna (e.g., a controlled and/or restricted area of the MPE map). For example, the equipment may be configured to detect output from an antenna and measure the power across a detection area. By utilizing such equipment, the systems described herein may be configured to measure power densities for RF transmitters of wireless networks utilizing, but not limited to MIMO, Massive MIMO, antenna arrays, and beamforming algorithms, and provide proper safety instructions to ensure compliance with existing and any future RF exposure regulations."): and determining the power of the RF signal from the RF signal source via a signal meter disposed on a path between the input and the output (measure the power across a detection area, para [0158] "In an embodiment, power densities may be measured using equipment (e.g., customer equipment and/or custom equipment) positioned within an operating range of the antenna (e.g., a controlled and/or restricted area of the MPE map). For example, the equipment may be configured to detect output from an antenna and measure the power across a detection area. By utilizing such equipment, the systems described herein may be configured to measure power densities for RF transmitters of wireless networks utilizing, but not limited to MIMO, Massive MIMO, antenna arrays, and beamforming algorithms, and provide proper safety instructions to ensure compliance with existing and any future RF exposure regulations.").
Regarding claims 14 and 33, HANNA as modified by Safe discloses the method of claim 1, and Safe further discloses further comprising: operatively connecting an input to the RF signal source (customer equipment, para [0158] "In an embodiment, power densities may be measured using equipment (e.g., customer equipment and/or custom equipment) positioned within an operating range of the antenna (e.g., a controlled and/or restricted area of the MPE map). For example, the equipment may be configured to detect output from an antenna and measure the power across a detection area. By utilizing such equipment, the systems described herein may be configured to measure power densities for RF transmitters of wireless networks utilizing, but not limited to MIMO, Massive MIMO, antenna arrays, and beamforming algorithms, and provide proper safety instructions to ensure compliance with existing and any future RF exposure regulations."):
operatively connecting an output to the RF radiation source (detect output from an antenna, para [0158] "In an embodiment, power densities may be measured using equipment (e.g., customer equipment and/or custom equipment) positioned within an operating range of the antenna (e.g., a controlled and/or restricted area of the MPE map). For example, the equipment may be configured to detect output from an antenna and measure the power across a detection area. By utilizing such equipment, the systems described herein may be configured to measure power densities for RF transmitters of wireless networks utilizing, but not limited to MIMO, Massive MIMO, antenna arrays, and beamforming algorithms, and provide proper safety instructions to ensure compliance with existing and any future RF exposure regulations."): and
determining the power of the RF signal from the RF signal source via a signal meter disposed on a path between the input and the output (measure the power across a detection area, para [0158] "In an embodiment, power densities may be measured using equipment (e.g., customer equipment and/or custom equipment) positioned within an operating range of the antenna (e.g., a controlled and/or restricted area of the MPE map). For example, the equipment may be configured to detect output from an antenna and measure the power across a detection area. By utilizing such equipment, the systems described herein may be configured to measure power densities for RF transmitters of wireless networks utilizing, but not limited to MIMO, Massive MIMO, antenna arrays, and beamforming algorithms, and provide proper safety instructions to ensure compliance with existing and any future RF exposure regulations.").
Regarding claims 15, 30, and 34, HANNA discloses receiving, by the processor from the signal meter, information about the power of the RF signal (pg 14, In 5-9 "In the base station 100 of FIG. 1, such an excessive radiation of power will result in a radiated power indication of the electrical signal generated by the sensor element 111 clearly indicating that the radiated power is outside the expected values."); and calculating, by the processor, a reduction to the power of the RF signal to reduce RF radiation emitted by the RF radiation source below a predetermined level (pg 14, In 9-14 "Accordingly, the fault condition may be detected by the feedback controller 113 which may control the power supply controller 107 to reduce the power to the power amplifier 103 thereby limiting the output power and the radiated power from the antenna."); wherein the first command sent to the API includes an indication of the reduction calculated by the processor (software running on data processors, reduce the power, pg 22, In 22-26 "The invention can be implemented in any suitable form including hardware, software, firmware or any combination of these. The invention may optionally be implemented partly as computer software running on one or more data processors and/or digital signal processors.", pg 14, In 9-14 "Accordingly, the fault condition may be detected by the feedback controller 113 which may control the power supply controller 107 to reduce the power to the power amplifier 103 thereby limiting the output power and the radiated power from the antenna.").
Regarding claim 16, HANNA discloses wherein the predetermined level is a function of a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) of the RF radiation for a human (para [0063] "RF Information table 222 may store the information used to calculate power density levels used for creating MPE maps by module 430 of FIG. 5 and for the Engineering tools functionalities of module 436 of FIG. 5.", para [0086] "The system 100 may recognize the detection signal, process the signal, and determine to modify the operation of the transmitter to ensure compliance with RF regulations. The system 100 may also be configured to determine the modifications to be made, for example, based on a determined MPE map and/or power density calculations of the detected area, and modify one or more transmitter characteristics to ensure compliance.").
Regarding claim 17, HANNA discloses: initiating, by the processor, at least one of an audible warning or a visual warning to the object that has entered the area of concern (visual warning, para [0055] "Remote user devices 110 include traditional computers, mobile computers, mobile telephones, smart phones, and/or other mobile or fixed computing devices which can provide a user interface (e.g., a display and input mechanism) and access to the system 100 via a network 114, such as the Internet.", para [0086] "The system 100 may also be configured to determine the modifications to be made, for example, based on a determined MPE map and/or power density calculations of the detected area, and modify one or more transmitter characteristics to ensure compliance. In an embodiment, the system 100 may issue a warning or other indication to a user to cause the modification.").
Regarding claim 18, HANNA discloses an RF system (see figure 1, reproduced below for convenience, wherein disclosed is said system) comprising:
one or more sensors (pg 12, In 32- pg 13, In 11 "The sensor element 111 specifically generates an electrical signal from the electromagnetic field around the antenna. In the preferred embodiment, the sensor element 111 is located proximal to the antenna such that the electromagnetic field at the sensor element 111 is predominantly caused by electromagnetic radiation from the antenna 105. Thus, the electrical signal generated by the sensor element 111 is predominantly caused by the transmissions of the radio frequency signal amplified by the power amplifier 103."),
an RF mitigation system operatively connected to the one or more sensors (reduce the power, pg 14, In 5-14 "In the base station 100 of FIG. 1, such an excessive radiation of power will result in a radiated power indication of the electrical signal generated by the sensor element 111 clearly indicating that the radiated power is outside the expected values. Accordingly, the fault condition may be detected by the feedback controller 113 which may control the power supply controller 107 to reduce the power to the power amplifier 103 thereby limiting the output power and the radiated power from the antenna."), the RF mitigation system including:
a communication interface operatively connected via a network to an RF signal source (radio frequency signal to be radiated from an antenna, transmissions of the radio frequency signal, pg 4, In 25- pg 5, In 2 "According to a first aspect of the invention there is provided a radio transmitter arrangement comprising: a power amplifier for generating a radio frequency signal to be radiated from an antenna; power supply means for supplying a supply power to the power amplifier; sensor means for generating a radiated power indication by sensing a radiated signal strength of the radio frequency signal; and control means for controlling the supply power to the power amplifier in response to the radiated power indication.", pg 11, In 16-25 ''The base station comprises a transmit unit 101 which generates signals to be transmitted to mobile stations over the air interface of the cellular communication system. The transmit unit 101 is coupled to a power amplifier 103 which amplifies the signal to be transmitted to a suitable power level required to communicate with the mobile stations. The power amplifier is coupled to an antenna 105 which receives the signal and radiates this as a radio frequency electromagnetic signal.", pg 12, In 32- pg 13, In 11 "The sensor element 111 specifically generates an electrical signal from the electromagnetic field around the antenna. In the preferred embodiment, the sensor element 111 is located proximal to the antenna such that the electromagnetic field at the sensor element 111 is predominantly caused by electromagnetic radiation from the antenna 105. Thus, the electrical signal generated by the sensor element 111 is predominantly caused by the transmissions of the radio frequency signal amplified by the power amplifier 103."),
the RF signal source including an application programming interface (API) for controlling a power of, or interrupting, an RF signal produced by the RF signal source (software running on data processors, reduce the power, pg 22, In 22-26 "The invention can be implemented in any suitable form including hardware, software, firmware or any combination of these. The invention may optionally be implemented partly as computer software running on one or more data processors and/or digital signal processors.", pg 14, In 5-14 "In the base station 100 of FIG. 1, such an excessive radiation of power will result in a radiated power indication of the electrical signal generated by the sensor element 111 clearly indicating that the radiated power is outside the expected values. Accordingly, the fault condition may be detected by the feedback controller 113 which may control the power supply controller 107 to reduce the power to the power amplifier 103 thereby limiting the output power and the radiated power from the antenna."); and
a processor operatively connected to the communication interface and configured, to send a first command via the communication interface to the API (software running on data processors, feedback controller 113 receives the electrical signal from the sensor element 111, pg 22, In 22-26 "The invention can be implemented in any suitable form including hardware, software, firmware or any combination of these. The invention may optionally be implemented partly as computer software running on one or more data processors and/or digital signal processors.", pg 13, In 16-21 "The sensor element 111 is coupled to a feedback controller 113 which is further coupled to the power supply controller 107. The feedback controller 113 receives the electrical signal from the sensor element 111 and controls the power which is supplied to the power amplifier 103 through the power supply controller 107."),
the first command configured to temporarily reduce or interrupt the RF signal produced by the RF signal source (pg 12, In 32- pg 13, In 11 "The sensor element 111 specifically generates an electrical signal from the electromagnetic field around the antenna. In the preferred embodiment, the sensor element 111 is located proximal to the antenna such that the electromagnetic field al the sensor element 111 is predominantly caused by electromagnetic radiation from the antenna 105. Thus, the electrical signal generated by the sensor element 111 is predominantly caused by the transmissions of the radio frequency signal amplified by the power amplifier 103.", pg 14, In 5-14 "In the base station 100 of FIG. 1, such an excessive radiation of power will result in a radiated power indication of the electrical signal generated by the sensor element 111 clearly indicating that the radiated power is outside the expected values. Accordingly, the fault condition may be detected by the feedback controller 113 which may control the power supply controller 107 to reduce the power to the power amplifier 103 thereby limiting the output power and the radiated power from the antenna.").
HANNA does not specifically disclose an RF infrastructure sentry system, configured to detect that an object has entered an area of concern proximate to an RF radiation source and at least in response to detection by the one or more sensors that the object has entered the area of concern.
However, Safe discloses a method for automated RF safety compliance (abstract) and further discloses an RF infrastructure sentry system (para [0075] "As an example, a sensor may be a motion sensor that detects movement in the area surrounding the transmitter. When movement is detected, the system 100 may utilize camera images to identify the source of the movement. Based on the source of the movement, the system 100 may modify the operation of the transmitter to ensure compliance with RF exposure regulations. For example, operating characteristics may be adjusted if a person triggered the sensor, thereby reducing the exposure to within regulations."), configured to detect that an object has entered an area of concern proximate to an RF radiation source (para [0076] "As another example, a sensor system may comprise a combination of sensors, including, for example, one or more cameras. System 100 could host artificial intelligence (e.g., one or more machine-learning models}, or an augmented reality system, that processes images from the camera(s) to detect and/or confirm the presence of a human within the vicinity of one or more transmitting antennas, as well as determine the distance between the human and the transmitting antenna(s)."); and at least in response to detection by the one or more sensors that the object has entered the area of concern (provide information about security, attendance, status of transmitters, para [0078] "In an embodiment, the system 100 may use individual sensors or a combination of multiple sensors, connected to transmitters, to provide information about security, attendance, status of transmitters and their associated antenna locations, and/or the like. Furthermore, the system 100 my utilize sensors, operating parameters, use cases, and/or artificial intelligence (Al) systems to trigger automated modification of transmitter characteristics to ensure compliance with current and any future updates of RF exposure regulations.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hanna and combine it with the noted teachings of Safe. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a system to control transmitter characteristics when human presence is detected (Safe, para [0078]).
Consider claim 28, Hanna discloses receiving information about a power of the RF signal, a power density of RF radiation within the area of concern, or RF radiation exposure to the object within the area of concern; and determine whether to send the first request based on the information and the detection by the one or more sensors that the object has entered the area of concern (see paras [0076] and [0086] "The system 100 may also be configured to determine the modifications to be made, for example, based on a determined MPE map and/or power density calculations of the detected area, and modify one or more transmitter characteristics to ensure compliance.")
Regarding claim 31, HANNA discloses an RF system (see figure 1, reproduced below for convenience, wherein disclosed is said system) comprising:
one or more sensors (pg 12, In 32- pg 13, In 11 "The sensor element 111 specifically generates an electrical signal from the electromagnetic field around the antenna. In the preferred embodiment, the sensor element 111 is located proximal to the antenna such that the electromagnetic field at the sensor element 111 is predominantly caused by electromagnetic radiation from the antenna 105. Thus, the electrical signal generated by the sensor element 111 is predominantly caused by the transmissions of the radio frequency signal amplified by the power amplifier 103."),
an RF mitigation system operatively connected to the one or more sensors (reduce the power, pg 14, In 5-14 "In the base station 100 of FIG. 1, such an excessive radiation of power will result in a radiated power indication of the electrical signal generated by the sensor element 111 clearly indicating that the radiated power is outside the expected values. Accordingly, the fault condition may be detected by the feedback controller 113 which may control the power supply controller 107 to reduce the power to the power amplifier 103 thereby limiting the output power and the radiated power from the antenna."), the RF mitigation system including:
a communication interface operatively connected via a network to a power supply for the RF radiation source (radio frequency signal to be radiated from an antenna, transmissions of the radio frequency signal, pg 4, In 25- pg 5, In 2 "According to a first aspect of the invention there is provided a radio transmitter arrangement comprising: a power amplifier for generating a radio frequency signal to be radiated from an antenna; power supply means for supplying a supply power to the power amplifier; sensor means for generating a radiated power indication by sensing a radiated signal strength of the radio frequency signal; and control means for controlling the supply power to the power amplifier in response to the radiated power indication.", pg 11, In 16-25 ''The base station comprises a transmit unit 101 which generates signals to be transmitted to mobile stations over the air interface of the cellular communication system. The transmit unit 101 is coupled to a power amplifier 103 which amplifies the signal to be transmitted to a suitable power level required to communicate with the mobile stations. The power amplifier is coupled to an antenna 105 which receives the signal and radiates this as a radio frequency electromagnetic signal.", pg 12, In 32- pg 13, In 11 "The sensor element 111 specifically generates an electrical signal from the electromagnetic field around the antenna. In the preferred embodiment, the sensor element 111 is located proximal to the antenna such that the electromagnetic field at the sensor element 111 is predominantly caused by electromagnetic radiation from the antenna 105. Thus, the electrical signal generated by the sensor element 111 is predominantly caused by the transmissions of the radio frequency signal amplified by the power amplifier 103."),
the power supply including an application programming interface (API) for controlling power provided by the power supply to the RF radiation source (software running on data processors, reduce the power, pg 22, In 22-26 "The invention can be implemented in any suitable form including hardware, software, firmware or any combination of these. The invention may optionally be implemented partly as computer software running on one or more data processors and/or digital signal processors.", pg 14, In 5-14 "In the base station 100 of FIG. 1, such an excessive radiation of power will result in a radiated power indication of the electrical signal generated by the sensor element 111 clearly indicating that the radiated power is outside the expected values. Accordingly, the fault condition may be detected by the feedback controller 113 which may control the power supply controller 107 to reduce the power to the power amplifier 103 thereby limiting the output power and the radiated power from the antenna."); and
a processor operatively connected to the communication interface and configured, to send a first command via the communication interface to the API (software running on data processors, feedback controller 113 receives the electrical signal from the sensor element 111, pg 22, In 22-26 "The invention can be implemented in any suitable form including hardware, software, firmware or any combination of these. The invention may optionally be implemented partly as computer software running on one or more data processors and/or digital signal processors.", pg 13, In 16-21 "The sensor element 111 is coupled to a feedback controller 113 which is further coupled to the power supply controller 107. The feedback controller 113 receives the electrical signal from the sensor element 111 and controls the power which is supplied to the power amplifier 103 through the power supply controller 107."),
the first command configured to temporarily reduce or interrupt the RF signal produced by the RF signal source (pg 12, In 32- pg 13, In 11 "The sensor element 111 specifically generates an electrical signal from the electromagnetic field around the antenna. In the preferred embodiment, the sensor element 111 is located proximal to the antenna such that the electromagnetic field al the sensor element 111 is predominantly caused by electromagnetic radiation from the antenna 105. Thus, the electrical signal generated by the sensor element 111 is predominantly caused by the transmissions of the radio frequency signal amplified by the power amplifier 103.", pg 14, In 5-14 "In the base station 100 of FIG. 1, such an excessive radiation of power will result in a radiated power indication of the electrical signal generated by the sensor element 111 clearly indicating that the radiated power is outside the expected values. Accordingly, the fault condition may be detected by the feedback controller 113 which may control the power supply controller 107 to reduce the power to the power amplifier 103 thereby limiting the output power and the radiated power from the antenna.").
HANNA does not specifically disclose an RF infrastructure sentry system, configured to detect that an object has entered an area of concern proximate to an RF radiation source and at least in response to detection by the one or more sensors that the object has entered the area of concern.
However, Safe discloses a method for automated RF safety compliance (abstract) and further discloses an RF infrastructure sentry system (para [0075] "As an example, a sensor may be a motion sensor that detects movement in the area surrounding the transmitter. When movement is detected, the system 100 may utilize camera images to identify the source of the movement. Based on the source of the movement, the system 100 may modify the operation of the transmitter to ensure compliance with RF exposure regulations. For example, operating characteristics may be adjusted if a person triggered the sensor, thereby reducing the exposure to within regulations."), configured to detect that an object has entered an area of concern proximate to an RF radiation source (para [0076] "As another example, a sensor system may comprise a combination of sensors, including, for example, one or more cameras. System 100 could host artificial intelligence (e.g., one or more machine-learning models}, or an augmented reality system, that processes images from the camera(s) to detect and/or confirm the presence of a human within the vicinity of one or more transmitting antennas, as well as determine the distance between the human and the transmitting antenna(s)."); and at least in response to detection by the one or more sensors that the object has entered the area of concern (provide information about security, attendance, status of transmitters, para [0078] "In an embodiment, the system 100 may use individual sensors or a combination of multiple sensors, connected to transmitters, to provide information about security, attendance, status of transmitters and their associated antenna locations, and/or the like. Furthermore, the system 100 my utilize sensors, operating parameters, use cases, and/or artificial intelligence (Al) systems to trigger automated modification of transmitter characteristics to ensure compliance with current and any future updates of RF exposure regulations.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hanna and combine it with the noted teachings of Safe. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a system to control transmitter characteristics when human presence is detected (Safe, para [0078]).
Claims 4, 20, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HANNA (WO 2006/127115 A1) in view of Safe Dynamics (USPAN 2022/0166454) (hereinafter “Safe”) and Comcast (USPAN 2021/0297104).
Regarding claims 4, 20, and 32, HANNA does not disclose further comprising sending, at least in response to the one or more sensors detecting that the object has exited the area of concern, a second request via the communication interface to the API to restore the RF signal produced by the RF signal source to an original level.
However, Comcast discloses a method for exposure detection and reporting (abstract) and further discloses wherein: sending, at least in response to the one or more sensors detecting that the object has exited the area of concern, a second request via the communication interface to the API to restore the RF signal produced by the RF signal source to an original level (coverage recovery, send a transmission of a CR signal, para [0314] "FIG. 30 shows an example method for coverage recovery and/or coverage loss mitigation. A method 3000 may comprise uplink coverage recovery and/or coverage loss mitigation. At step 3010, a wireless device may start a detection timer (e.g., an MPE detection timer) based on initializing a coverage recovery. At step 3015, the wireless device may determine whether an exposure instance (e.g., an MPE instance) has been detected. If no exposure instance is detected (e.g., step 3020), then the wireless device may repeat step 3015. Al step 3025, the wireless device may increment a coverage recovery counter. At step 3030, the wireless device may determine whether the CR counter is greater than a quantity and/or whether the CR timer is running. The quantity may be preset, prestored, and/or provided in one or more configuration parameters received from a base station or another wireless device. If the CR counter is not greater than the quantity (e.g., step 3035), the wireless device may repeat step 3015 to determine whether an exposure instance has been detected. At step 3040, the wireless device may reset the CR counter and/or stop the detection timer. At step 3050, the wireless device may trigger/initiate/send a transmission of a CR signal. The CR signal may be associated with a reporting of one or more MPE indication(s).").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system, as disclosed by HANNA and Safe, so as to include sending a second request to restore RF signal, as disclosed by Comcast, because it allows the system to recover the coverage area for the transmission equipment based on MPE indicators (Comcast, para [03141).
Conclusion
on 571-270-7191. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JAMAL JAVAID/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412