DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10, 11, 14, 16, 17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US2016/0158082 (Gainor).
Regarding claim 1, Gainor disclose a sled table attachable to a pedestal for forming an X-ray table, comprising:
a bottom including a first end and a second end (Fig. 28 and 29, underneath side of the sled table), wherein the bottom is configured to be attached to the pedestal (a patient table is not intended to float in space but is implicitly configured to be attached to a pedestal as shown in Fig. 65);
a side member extending along the bottom between the first end and the second end (Fig. 28, raised portion of 1, which is more clearly shown in Fig. 2);
a rail attached to the side member (Fig. 28 and 29, 111), wherein the rail is hollow so as to define an internal cavity (Fig. 29, [0263]);
one or more conduits extending through the internal cavity of the rail ([0263], “within the rail 111 and the connector 112 resides a gas line 113 that terminates at a regulator 114 which can communication with tubing to the patient. Also housed within the rail and the connector 112 is a power line 117 that comes from within the outer shell 1 and terminates in a power connection 118 that may be used to power devices for patient monitoring or care. The rail 111 also houses a data line 115 that terminates in a data connector 116 that can be used to transfer data to and from the patient”).
Regarding claim 2, Gainor disclose the sled table of claim 1, wherein the one or more conduits comprise a gas conduit ([0263], “within the rail 111 and the connector 112 resides a gas line 113 that terminates at a regulator 114 which can communication with tubing to the patient. Also housed within the rail and the connector 112 is a power line 117 that comes from within the outer shell 1 and terminates in a power connection 118 that may be used to power devices for patient monitoring or care. The rail 111 also houses a data line 115 that terminates in a data connector 116 that can be used to transfer data to and from the patient”).
Regarding claim 4, Gainor disclose the sled table of claim 1, wherein the one or more conduits comprise an electricity conduit ([0263], “within the rail 111 and the connector 112 resides a gas line 113 that terminates at a regulator 114 which can communication with tubing to the patient. Also housed within the rail and the connector 112 is a power line 117 that comes from within the outer shell 1 and terminates in a power connection 118 that may be used to power devices for patient monitoring or care. The rail 111 also houses a data line 115 that terminates in a data connector 116 that can be used to transfer data to and from the patient”).
Regarding claim 5, Gainor disclose the sled table of claim 1, wherein the one or more conduits comprise a data transmission conduit ([0263], “within the rail 111 and the connector 112 resides a gas line 113 that terminates at a regulator 114 which can communication with tubing to the patient. Also housed within the rail and the connector 112 is a power line 117 that comes from within the outer shell 1 and terminates in a power connection 118 that may be used to power devices for patient monitoring or care. The rail 111 also houses a data line 115 that terminates in a data connector 116 that can be used to transfer data to and from the patient”).
Regarding claim 7, Gainor disclose the sled table of claim 1, further comprising an attachment mechanism for attaching the rail to the side member (Fig. 28 and 29, 112).
Regarding claim 8, Gainor disclose the sled table of claim 7, wherein the attachment mechanism is perpendicular to the side member (Fig. 28 and 29, wherein 112 is perpendicular to 1 and 111).
Regarding claim 10, Gainor disclose a sled table attachable to a pedestal for forming an X-ray table, comprising:
a bottom including a first end and a second end (Fig. 28 and 29, underneath side of the sled table), wherein the bottom is configured to be attached to the pedestal (a patient table is not intended to float in space but is implicitly configured to be attached to a pedestal as shown in Fig. 65);
a first side member extending along the bottom between the first end and the second end (Fig. 28, raised portion of 1 on the right hand side of the sled table, which is more clearly shown in Fig. 2);
a second side member extending along a second side of the bottom between the first end and the second end (Fig. 28, raised portion of 1 on the left hand side of the sled table, which is more clearly shown in Fig. 2);
a cavity defined between the first side member and the second side member (Fig. 28, raised portion of 1 on the left hand side of the sled table defines the cavity, which is more clearly shown in Fig. 2);
a rail attached to the first side member of the second side member (Fig. 28 and 29, 111), wherein the rail is hollow so as to define an internal cavity (Fig. 29, [0263]);
one or more conduits extending through the internal cavity of the rail ([0263], “within the rail 111 and the connector 112 resides a gas line 113 that terminates at a regulator 114 which can communication with tubing to the patient. Also housed within the rail and the connector 112 is a power line 117 that comes from within the outer shell 1 and terminates in a power connection 118 that may be used to power devices for patient monitoring or care. The rail 111 also houses a data line 115 that terminates in a data connector 116 that can be used to transfer data to and from the patient”).
Regarding claim 11, Gainor disclose the sled table of claim 10, further comprising an electronic controller positioned within the cavity of the sled table, wherein at least one of the one or more conduits is in electrical communication with the electronic controller (Fig. 39, [0273], wherein a CPU is mounted thin the patient comfort component of the mattress 2, and connected to the rail via a data line 135).
Regarding claim 14, Gainor disclose the sled table of claim 10, wherein the one or more conduits comprise a gas conduit ([0263], “within the rail 111 and the connector 112 resides a gas line 113 that terminates at a regulator 114 which can communication with tubing to the patient. Also housed within the rail and the connector 112 is a power line 117 that comes from within the outer shell 1 and terminates in a power connection 118 that may be used to power devices for patient monitoring or care. The rail 111 also houses a data line 115 that terminates in a data connector 116 that can be used to transfer data to and from the patient”).
Regarding claim 16, Gainor disclose the sled table of claim 10, wherein the one or more conduits comprise an electricity conduit ([0263], “within the rail 111 and the connector 112 resides a gas line 113 that terminates at a regulator 114 which can communication with tubing to the patient. Also housed within the rail and the connector 112 is a power line 117 that comes from within the outer shell 1 and terminates in a power connection 118 that may be used to power devices for patient monitoring or care. The rail 111 also houses a data line 115 that terminates in a data connector 116 that can be used to transfer data to and from the patient”).
Regarding claim 17, Gainor disclose the sled table of claim 10, wherein the one or more conduits comprise a data transmission conduit ([0263], “within the rail 111 and the connector 112 resides a gas line 113 that terminates at a regulator 114 which can communication with tubing to the patient. Also housed within the rail and the connector 112 is a power line 117 that comes from within the outer shell 1 and terminates in a power connection 118 that may be used to power devices for patient monitoring or care. The rail 111 also houses a data line 115 that terminates in a data connector 116 that can be used to transfer data to and from the patient”).
Regarding claim 19, Gainor disclose the sled table of claim 10, further comprising a monitor positioned within the cavity of the sled table, wherein at least one of the one or more conduits is in communication with the monitor ([0035], [0036], [0107], [0263], [0271]).
Regarding claim 20, Gainor disclose a sled table attachable to a pedestal for forming an X-ray table, comprising:
a bottom including a first end and a second end (Fig. 28 and 29, underneath side of the sled table), wherein the bottom is configured to be attached to the pedestal (a patient table is not intended to float in space but is implicitly configured to be attached to a pedestal as shown in Fig. 65);
a first side member extending along the bottom between the first end and the second end (Fig. 28, raised portion of 1 on the right hand side of the sled table, which is more clearly shown in Fig. 2);
a second side member extending along a second side of the bottom between the first end and the second end (Fig. 28, raised portion of 1 on the left hand side of the sled table, which is more clearly shown in Fig. 2);
a foam top extending across the first and second side members [0038];
a channel defined between the bottom, the first side member, the second side member, and the foam top (Fig. 28 and 29, shown in more detail in Fig. 1 and 2, wherein foam top is placed within the channel);
a rail attached to the first side member of the second side member (Fig. 28 and 29, 111), wherein the rail is hollow so as to define an internal cavity (Fig. 29, [0263]);
a plurality of conduits extending through the rail cavity of the rail, the plurality of conduits being selected from a group consisting of a gas conduit, a suction conduit, an electricity conduit, and a data transmission conduit; and a device positioned within the channel, wherein at least one of the plurality of conduits is in communication with the device ([0263], “within the rail 111 and the connector 112 resides a gas line 113 that terminates at a regulator 114 which can communication with tubing to the patient. Also housed within the rail and the connector 112 is a power line 117 that comes from within the outer shell 1 and terminates in a power connection 118 that may be used to power devices for patient monitoring or care. The rail 111 also houses a data line 115 that terminates in a data connector 116 that can be used to transfer data to and from the patient”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 6, 15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gainor as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of US2018/0110583 (Gibbs).
Regarding claim 3, Gainor disclose the sled table of claim 1, wherein the rails are used to attach medical devices, where the rails may contain a power supply, gasses, and conductors for data and computer communication [0025].
Gainer fails to explicitly teach the details of wherein the one or more conduits comprise a suction conduit.
Gibbs disclose a patient table comprising a fluid management system coupled to the table (Fig. 1b. 2b, [0044], [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention disclosed by Gibbs to include a suction conduit in order to integrate a fluid management system directly into the table. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide the sled table of Gainor with a fluid/suction unit.
Regarding claim 6, Gainor disclose the sled table of claim 1, wherein the one or more conduits comprise a gas conduit, an electricity conduit, and a data transmission conduit ([0263], “within the rail 111 and the connector 112 resides a gas line 113 that terminates at a regulator 114 which can communication with tubing to the patient. Also housed within the rail and the connector 112 is a power line 117 that comes from within the outer shell 1 and terminates in a power connection 118 that may be used to power devices for patient monitoring or care. The rail 111 also houses a data line 115 that terminates in a data connector 116 that can be used to transfer data to and from the patient”).
Gainer fails to explicitly teach the details of wherein the one or more conduits comprise a suction conduit.
Gibbs disclose a patient table comprising a fluid management system coupled to the table (Fig. 1b. 2b, [0044], [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention disclosed by Gainor to include a suction conduit in order to integrate the fluid management system. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide the sled table of Gainor with controlled irrigation, aspiration, and suction capabilities.
Regarding claim 15, Gainor disclose the sled table of claim 10, wherein the rails are used to attach medical devices, where the rails may contain a power supply, gasses, and conductors for data and computer communication [0025].
Gainer fails to explicitly teach the details of wherein the one or more conduits comprise a suction conduit.
Gibbs disclose a patient table comprising a fluid management system coupled to the table (Fig. 1b. 2b, [0044], [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention disclosed by Gibbs to include a suction conduit in order to integrate a fluid management system directly into the table. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide the sled table of Gainor with a fluid/suction unit.
Regarding claim 18, Gainor disclose the sled table of claim 10, wherein the one or more conduits comprise a gas conduit, an electricity conduit, and a data transmission conduit ([0263], “within the rail 111 and the connector 112 resides a gas line 113 that terminates at a regulator 114 which can communication with tubing to the patient. Also housed within the rail and the connector 112 is a power line 117 that comes from within the outer shell 1 and terminates in a power connection 118 that may be used to power devices for patient monitoring or care. The rail 111 also houses a data line 115 that terminates in a data connector 116 that can be used to transfer data to and from the patient”).
Gainer fails to explicitly teach the details of wherein the one or more conduits comprise a suction conduit.
Gibbs disclose a patient table comprising a fluid management system coupled to the table (Fig. 1b. 2b, [0044], [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention disclosed by Gainor to include a suction conduit in order to integrate the fluid management system. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide the sled table of Gainor with controlled irrigation, aspiration, and suction capabilities.
Claim(s) 9, 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gainor as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of 5759149 (Goldberg).
Regarding claim 9, Gainor disclose the sled table of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the bottom comprises a plurality of vent holes.
Goldberg disclose a sled table comprising a bottom with a plurality of vent holes (Fig. 7, 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the sled table of Gainor with the teachings of Goldberg. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide temperature regulation of the patient and the sled table.
Regarding claim 12, Gainor disclose the sled table of claim 11, but fail to teach the details of further comprising a fan positioned within the cavity of the sled table adjacent to the electronic controller.
Goldberg disclose a sled table comprising a bottom with a fan positioned within the cavity of the sled table (78) and vent holes in fluid communication with a cavity (42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the sled table of Gainor with the teachings of Goldberg. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide temperature regulation of the patient, the sled table, and any electrical components integrated into the sled table.
Regarding claim 13, Gainor in view of Goldberg disclose the sled table of claim 12, wherein the bottom comprises one or more vent holes in fluid communication with the cavity (Goldberg, 42).
Conclusion
/DANI FOX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884