DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 8, 11, 12, 14, 18, and 20-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ka et al., US 2017/0052566, in view of Yun et al., US 2020/0099894.
In regard to claim 1, Ka et al., US 2017/0052566, discloses an electronic device comprising:
a housing (see figure 2A, elements 101 and 102) comprising a first housing (right side of the housing) and a second housing (left side of the housing) (see para 126-131);
a hinge part (see figure 2C, element) rotatably coupled to the first housing and the second housing (see para 180);
a first camera (see figure 2B, element 121b) disposed on a front or rear surface of the first housing and having first camera characteristics, the first camera characteristics comprising a first angle of view (see para 160-164);
a second camera (see figure 2B, element 121c) disposed on a front or rear surface of the second housing and having second camera characteristics (see para 160-164), the second camera characteristics comprising a second angle of view that is different from the first angle of view (see para 73);
a flexible display (see figure 2A, element 151 and 2C) disposed on the front surface of the first housing and the front surface of the second housing across the hinge part (see para 128-131);
at least one processor (see figure 1, element 180; para 48 and 61); and
memory (see figure 1, element 170) storing instructions that, when collectively or individually executed by the at least one processor (see para 60-61), cause the electronic device to:
display, on the flexible display, a first preview screen providing first images corresponding to the first angle of view of the first camera (see figure 12; para 268).
The Ka reference does not specifically disclose that based on a first touch input event associated with the first camera, display, on the flexible display, a second preview screen providing third second images obtained via the first camera, the second images including an angle of view being different from the first angle of view; and based on a second touch input event associated with the second camera, display, on the flexible display, a third preview screen providing third images obtained via the second camera, the third images corresponding to the second angle of view of the second camera.
Yun et al., US 2020/0099894, discloses an electronic device comprising:
a first camera (see figure 1C, element 121B: one of plurality of cameras) having a first angle of view (see para 90-92: The plurality of cameras may include a wide angle camera, a normal angle camera, a tele-photo camera);
a second camera (see figure 1C, element 121B: one of plurality of cameras) having a second angle of view that is smaller than the first angle of view (see para 90-92: the plurality of cameras may include a wide angle camera, a normal angle camera, a tele-photo camera);
a display (see figure 2, element 200 and para 93-97);
at least one processor (see figure 1A: element 180 and 51-53); and
memory (see figure 1a, element 170) storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (see para 51), cause the electronic device to:
display a first preview screen (see figure 7, Preview Wide) providing first images corresponding to the first angle of view of the first camera (see figure 7, element 231)
based on a first touch input event (see figure 7, element 510: selecting Preview normal) associated with the first camera (see para 144-153),
display a second preview screen providing second images obtained via the first camera (displaying Preview Wide on small section and Preview Normal on main screen section), the second images including an angle of view being different from the first angle of view (see figure 7, element 200a and para 151); and
based on a second touch input event associated with the second camera (see figure 7, element 200b: selecting tele angle preview), display, a third preview screen (preview Tele) providing third images obtained via the second camera, the third images corresponding to the second angle of view of the second camera (see figure 7, element 200c and para 145 and 158).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ) to have been motivated to modify Ka et al., US 2017/0052566, in view of Yun et al., US 2020/0099894, based on a first touch input event associated with the first camera, display, on the flexible display, a second preview screen providing third second images obtained via the first camera, the second images including an angle of view being different from the first angle of view; and based on a second touch input event associated with the second camera, display, on the flexible display, a third preview screen providing third images obtained via the second camera, the third images corresponding to the second angle of view of the second camera, in order to quickly and easily view on select the desired camera angle for high quality imaging.
In regard to claim 2, Ka et al., US 2017/0052566, in view of Yun et al., US 2020/0099894, discloses the electronic device of claim 1. The Yun reference discloses wherein an angle of view of the at least one of the first, second or third images is to be changed based on a pinch gesture input with the respect to at least one of the first, second or third images (see figure 10 and 172-174).
In regard to claim 4, Ka et al., US 2017/0052566, in view of Yun et al., US 2020/0099894, discloses the electronic device of claim 1. The Yun reference discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to, display an image corresponding to the first angle of view and an image corresponding to the second angle of view on regions within one screen (see figure 7 and 8; para 144-148 and 154-155).
In regard to claim 8, Ka et al., US 2017/0052566, in view of Yun et al., US 2020/0099894, discloses the electronic device of claim 1. The Yun reference discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to display the first preview screen in an unfolded state of the housing detect the first touch input event on the first preview screen in the unfolded state of the housing, and detect the second touch input event on the first preview screen in the unfolded state of the housing (see figure 7 and 8; para 144-148 and 154-155).
In regard to claim 11, since Ka et al., US 2017/0052566, in view of Yun et al., US 2020/0099894, discloses the electronic device and its operation as described above in regard to claim 1, the method of claim 11 is also disclosed (see claim 1 above).
In regard to claim 12, since Ka et al., US 2017/0052566, in view of Yun et al., US 2020/0099894, discloses the electronic device and its operation as described above in regard to claim 2, the method of claim 12 is also disclosed (see claim 2 above).
In regard to claim 14, since Ka et al., US 2017/0052566, in view of Yun et al., US 2020/0099894, discloses the electronic device and its operation as described above in regard to claim 4, the method of claim 14 is also disclosed (see claim 4 above).
In regard to claim 18, since Ka et al., US 2017/0052566, in view of Yun et al., US 2020/0099894, discloses the electronic device and its operation as described above in regard to claim 8, the method of claim 18 is also disclosed (see claim 8 above).
In regard to claim 20, since Ka et al., US 2017/0052566, in view of Yun et al., US 2020/0099894, discloses the electronic device and its operation as described above in regard to claim 1, recording medium of claim 20 is also disclosed (see claim 1 above).
In regard to claim 21, Ka et al., US 2017/0052566, in view of Yun et al., US 2020/0099894, discloses the electronic device of claim 1. The Yun reference discloses wherein the second preview screen further provides fourth images corresponding to the second angle of view of the second camera (see figure 7, element 200c and para 145 and 158: the tele preview video 233 continues to update which reads on fourth images).
In regard to claim 22, Ka et al., US 2017/0052566, in view of Yun et al., US 2020/0099894, discloses the electronic device of claim 21. The Yun reference discloses wherein the second images are displayed within a first region of the second preview screen (main preview), and the fourth images are displayed within a second region of the second preview screen (see figure 7, element 233), and a size of the first region is larger than a size of the second region (see figure 7 and para 140-145).
In regard to claim 23, since Ka et al., US 2017/0052566, in view of Yun et al., US 2020/0099894, discloses the electronic device and its operation as described above in regard to claim 21, the method of claim 23 is also disclosed (see claim 21 above).
In regard to claim 24, since Ka et al., US 2017/0052566, in view of Yun et al., US 2020/0099894, discloses the electronic device and its operation as described above in regard to claim 22, the method of claim 24 is also disclosed (see claim 22 above).
In regard to claim 25, since Ka et al., US 2017/0052566, in view of Yun et al., US 2020/0099894, discloses the electronic device and its operation as described above in regard to claim 2, recording medium of claim 25 is also disclosed (see claim 2 above).
In regard to claim 26, since Ka et al., US 2017/0052566, in view of Yun et al., US 2020/0099894, discloses the electronic device and its operation as described above in regard to claim 4, recording medium of claim 26 is also disclosed (see claim 4 above).
In regard to claim 27, since Ka et al., US 2017/0052566, in view of Yun et al., US 2020/0099894, discloses the electronic device and its operation as described above in regard to claim 8, recording medium of claim 27 is also disclosed (see claim 8 above).
In regard to claim 28, since Ka et al., US 2017/0052566, in view of Yun et al., US 2020/0099894, discloses the electronic device and its operation as described above in regard to claim 21, recording medium of claim 18 is also disclosed (see claim 21 above).
In regard to claim 29, since Ka et al., US 2017/0052566, in view of Yun et al., US 2020/0099894, discloses the electronic device and its operation as described above in regard to claim 22, recording medium of claim 29 is also disclosed (see claim 22 above).
Conclusion
/GEVELL V SELBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638
gvs