DETAILED ACTION
Reply Under 37 CFR 1.111
The Amendments and Applicant Arguments submitted on 06/12/2026 have been received and its contents have been carefully considered.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 5 and 17, as currently amended, are presented for examination. Claims 2-4, 6-16 and 18-20, as previously submitted, are now presented again for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-10, 12, 17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 101609754) (from applicant’s IDS submitted on 08/27/2025), Lin et al. (US Publication 2015/0270861) (from applicant’s IDS submitted on 08/27/2025) and further in view of Fathollahi et al. (US Publication 2014/0262848).
In re Claim 1, Kim discloses a case 1 for a portable electronic device A, the case comprising: a shell 20 comprising a back panel and a front panel opposite the back panel, and at least one side wall extending between the back panel and the front panel (Figure 1), wherein the back panel, front panel, and at least one side wall define a cavity for receiving and holding the portable electronic device A within the shell and further define a side opening (Figure 1), between the back panel and the front panel for insertion of the portable electronic device A through the side opening into the cavity; and a removable endpiece 10 comprising a base and an adapter 30 coupled to the base (See Figure 3), the adapter comprises a male plug 31 configured for insertion into a female port C of the portable electronic device A, a contactor 32 opposite the male plug 31, a plurality of first contacts disposed on the male plug (inherently disclosed in Figure 4 and associated description, with electrical connection between male plug 31 and contactor 32 via traces in printed circuit board 34), and a plurality of second contacts disposed on the contactor and electrically coupled to the first contacts (inherently disclosed in Figure 4 and associated description, with electrical connection between male plug 31 and contactor 32 via traces in printed circuit board 34), wherein the removable endpiece 10 is configured for, after insertion of the portable electronic device, insertion through the side opening into the cavity and between the front panel and the back panel for engagement with, and retention of, the portable electronic device A within the cavity, wherein the removable endpiece 10 comprises at least one tab 18 and the shell 20 defines at least one tab receptacle 21 along the side opening to receive the at least one tab of the removable endpiece.
Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein a side opening is separate from the window. However, providing such was not new in the art before applicant’s effective filing date. For example, Lin discloses a case for a portable electronic device, wherein the case comprises a shell 2, wherein the shell comprises a back panel 23, front panel (See Figure 1) with a side panel therebetween, and wherein a side opening 213 is formed to receive a removable end piece 22, the side opening is separate from a window formed by the front panel (See Figure 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of portable electronics at a time before the effective filing date to have provided a side opening that is separate from a window, as disclosed in Lin, and to have modified Kim in that way to improve the structural integrity of the case by improving the strength of the window area. This will also provide greater protection to the portable electronic device display within the frame when the device is being protected by the case.
Kim further does not explicitly disclose wherein the front panel or back panel defines at least one tab receptacle along the side opening and spaced apart from the at least one side wall as Kim discloses the tab receptacle in the side wall. However, Fathollahi discloses a shell 40 and an endpiece 80, wherein the front panel 120 and/or the back panel 200 comprises at least one tab receptacle 48 to accept a corresponding tab 50 of the endpiece 80. See Fathollahi, Figures 1A-1B; paragraph 0056. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of portable electronics at a time before applicant’s effective filing date to have provided a receptacle along the side opening on the front and/or back panel, as taught by Fathollahi, and to have modified the location of the receptacle as otherwise disclosed in Kim, in order to provide a known snap-fit attachment between the endpiece and the shell, thereby providing secure positive closure of the endpiece and reducing inadvertent opening while retaining and protecting the portable electronic device. Fathollahi provides further motivation disclosing that engagement of the tab receptacles can generate an audible click or snap indicating proper closure. Fathollahi, paragraph 0056.
In re Claim 2, Kim discloses wherein the at least one tab 18 is undercut. See Kim, Figure 4.
In re Claim 3, Kim discloses wherein a wall of the at least one tab receptacle 21 is sloped to fit into the undercut of the at least one tab 18. See Kim, Figures 3 and 4.
In re Claim 4, Kim discloses wherein the at least one tab 18 comprises at least two tabs (See Figures 3 and 4) with a first one of the tabs extending from a first surface of the base and a second of the tabs extending from a second surface of the base opposite the first surface.
In re Claim 5, Fathollahi discloses wherein the at least one tab receptacle 48 comprises at least two tab receptacles with the front panel 120 defining a first one of the tab receptacles (Figure 1A) along a first edge of the side opening and the back panel 200 defining a second one of the tab receptacles 50 along a second edge of the side opening opposite the first edge. See Fathollahi, Figures 1A-1B.
In re Claim 6, Kim discloses wherein the first one of the tabs 18 and the second one of the tabs 18 are disposed directly opposite each other (See Figure 3) and the first one of the tab receptacles 21 and the second one of the tab receptacles 21 are disposed directly opposite each other (See Figure 3).
In re Claim 7, Kim discloses wherein a distal end of each of the at least one tab 18 is flush with an exterior surface of the shell 20 when the removable endpiece 10 is inserted into the shell 20. See Kim, Figure 2.
In re Claim 9, Lin discloses wherein, when inserted into the cavity after insertion of the portable electronic device 10, no portion of the removable endpiece 22 is exposed through the window. See Lin, Figure 3.
In re Claim 10, Kim as modified by Lin discloses wherein, when inserted into the cavity after insertion of the portable electronic device (A in Kim; 10 in Lin), no portion of the removable endpiece (10 in Kim; 22 in Lin), except the male plug (31 in Kim; 31 in Lin), is disposed in a region of the cavity that is below the window.
In re Claims 12 and 20, Kim as modified by Lin discloses an arrangement, comprising: the case of claim 1; and the portable electronic device (A in Kim; 10 in Lin) configured for insertion into the case.
In re Claim 17, Kim discloses a case 1 for a portable electronic device A, the case comprising: a shell 20 comprising a back panel and a front panel opposite the back panel, and at least one side wall extending between the back panel and the front panel (Figure 1), wherein the back panel, front panel, and at least one side wall define a cavity for receiving and holding the portable electronic device A within the shell and further define a side opening (Figure 1), between the back panel and the front panel for insertion of the portable electronic device A through the side opening into the cavity; and a removable endpiece 10 configured for, after insertion of the portable electronic device A, insertion through the side opening into the cavity and between the front panel and the back panel for engagement with, and retention of, the portable electronic device A within the cavity, wherein the removable endpiece 10 comprises at least one tab 18 and the shell defines at least one tab receptacle 21 along the side opening to receive the at least one tab of the removable endpiece.
Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein a side opening is separate from the window. However, providing such was not new in the art before applicant’s effective filing date. For example, Lin discloses a case for a portable electronic device, wherein the case comprises a shell 2, wherein the shell comprises a back panel 23, front panel (See Figure 1) with a side panel therebetween, and wherein a side opening 213 is formed to receive a removable end piece 22, the side opening is separate from a window formed by the front panel (See Figure 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of portable electronics at a time before the effective filing date to have provided a side opening that is separate from a window, as disclosed in Lin, and to have modified Kim in that way to improve the structural integrity of the case by improving the strength of the window area. This will also provide greater protection to the portable electronic device display within the frame when the device is being protected by the case.
Kim further does not explicitly disclose wherein the front panel or back panel defines at least one tab receptacle along the side opening and spaced apart from the at least one side wall as Kim discloses the tab receptacle in the side wall. However, Fathollahi discloses a shell 40 and an endpiece 80, wherein the front panel 120 and/or the back panel 200 comprises at least one tab receptacle 48 to accept a corresponding tab 50 of the endpiece 80. See Fathollahi, Figures 1A-1B; paragraph 0056. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of portable electronics at a time before applicant’s effective filing date to have provided a receptacle along the side opening on the front and/or back panel, as taught by Fathollahi, and to have modified the location of the receptacle as otherwise disclosed in Kim, in order to provide a known snap-fit attachment between the endpiece and the shell, thereby providing secure positive closure of the endpiece and reducing inadvertent opening while retaining and protecting the portable electronic device. Fathollahi provides further motivation disclosing that engagement of the tab receptacles can generate an audible click or snap indicating proper closure. Fathollahi, paragraph 0056.
In re Claim 19, Kim discloses wherein the at least one tab 18 is undercut (See Kim, Figure 4) and wherein a wall of the at least one tab receptacle 21 is sloped to fit into the undercut of the at least one tab 18 (See Kim, Figures 3 and 4).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 101609754) (from applicant’s IDS submitted on 08/27/2025), Lin et al. (US Publication 2015/0270861) (from applicant’s IDS submitted on 08/27/2025), Fathollahi et al. (US Publication 2014/0262848) and further in view of Carnevali (US Publication 2021/0391678).
In re Claim 8, Kim as modified by Lin and Fathollahi disclose the limitations as noted above, but do not explicitly disclose wherein one of the removable endpiece or the shell comprises at least one pin and another one of the removable endpiece or the shell comprises at least one pin receptacle to receive the at least one pin when the removable endpiece is inserted into the shell. However, providing such was not new in the art of portable electronics. For example, Carnevali discloses a shell 108 and a removable endpiece 110, wherein the endpiece 110 is secured to the shell 108 with a pin 116. See Carnevali, Figures 2A, 2C. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of portable electronics at a time before applicant’s effective filing date to have provided a pin connection, like that disclosed in Carnevali, with the apparatus as otherwise disclosed in Kim to provide for a more secure and permanent connection between the endpiece and the shell to further prevent inadvertent disconnection between the endpiece and shell during use.
Claim(s) 11 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 101609754) (from applicant’s IDS submitted on 08/27/2025), Lin et al. (US Publication 2015/0270861) (from applicant’s IDS submitted on 08/27/2025), Fathollahi et al. (US Publication 2014/0262848) and further in view of Chen (US Publication 2014/0036420).
In re Claims 11 and 18, Kim as modified by Lin and Fathollahi does not explicitly disclose wherein an entirety of the base of the removable endpiece is configured for insertion through the side opening into the cavity. However, providing such was not new in the art before the effective filing date. For example, Chen discloses an end piece 2 that is completely insertable into a side opening of a shell 1 (See Figure 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of portable electronics at a time before the effective filing date to have provided an end piece that is at least 50 percent insertable into a shell, as disclosed in Chen, with the apparatus as otherwise disclosed in Kim so as to improve the structural integrity of the case by reducing the likelihood of inadvertent disconnection of the end piece from the shell (i.e. providing more of the end piece within the shell makes it more difficult for the end piece to become detached form the shell).
Claim(s) 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 101609754) (from applicant’s IDS submitted on 08/27/2025), Lin et al. (US Publication 2015/0270861) (from applicant’s IDS submitted on 08/27/2025) and further in view of Chen (US Publication 2014/0036420).
In re Claim 13, Kim discloses a case 1 for a portable electronic device A, the case comprising: a shell 20 comprising a back panel and a front panel opposite the back panel (Figure 1), and at least one side wall extending between the back panel and the front panel (Figure 1), wherein the back panel, front panel, and at least one side wall define a cavity for receiving and holding the portable electronic device A within the shell 20 and further define a side opening (Figure 1) between the back panel and the front panel for insertion of the portable electronic device A through the side opening into the cavity; and a removable endpiece 10 comprising a base and an adapter 30 coupled to the base (Figure 3), the adapter comprises a male plug 31 configured for insertion into a female port C of the portable electronic device A, a contactor 32 opposite the male plug, a plurality of first contacts disposed on the male plug (inherently disclosed in Figure 4 and associated description, with electrical connection between male plug 31 and contactor 32 via traces in printed circuit board 34), and a plurality of second contacts disposed on the contactor and electrically coupled to the first contacts (inherently disclosed in Figure 4 and associated description, with electrical connection between male plug 31 and contactor 32 via traces in printed circuit board 34), wherein the removable endpiece 10 is configured for insertion through the side opening into the cavity for engagement with, and retention of, the portable electronic device A within the cavity, wherein the removable endpiece comprises at least one tab 18 and the shell 20 defines at least one tab receptacle 21 along the side opening to receive the at least one tab of the removable endpiece.
Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein a side opening is separate from the window. However, providing such was not new in the art before applicant’s effective filing date. For example, Lin discloses a case for a portable electronic device, wherein the case comprises a shell 2, wherein the shell comprises a back panel 23, front panel (See Figure 1) with a side panel therebetween, and wherein a side opening 213 is formed to receive a removable end piece 22, the side opening is separate from a window formed by the front panel (See Figure 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of portable electronics at a time before the effective filing date to have provided a side opening that is separate from a window, as disclosed in Lin, and to have modified Kim in that way to improve the structural integrity of the case by improving the strength of the window area. This will also provide greater protection to the portable electronic device display within the frame when the device is being protected by the case.
Kim further does not explicitly disclose wherein at least 50% of a volume of the removable endpiece is configured for insertion through the side opening into the cavity. However, providing such was not new in the art before the effective filing date. For example, Chen discloses an end piece 2 that is completely insertable into a side opening of a shell 1 (See Figure 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of portable electronics at a time before the effective filing date to have provided an end piece that is at least 50 percent insertable into a shell, as disclosed in Chen, with the apparatus as otherwise disclosed in Kim so as to improve the structural integrity of the case by reducing the likelihood of inadvertent disconnection of the end piece from the shell (i.e. providing more of the end piece within the shell makes it more difficult for the end piece to become detached form the shell).
In re Claim 14, Chen discloses wherein substantially all of the endpiece 2 is inserted into the side opening of a cavity (See Figures 1 and 2) and therefore discloses wherein at least 80% of the volume of the removable endpiece is configured for insertion through the side opening into the cavity for engagement with, and retention of, the portable electronic device within the cavity.
In re Claim 15, Kim discloses wherein the at least one tab 18 is undercut (See Kim, Figure 4) and wherein a wall of the at least one tab receptacle 21 is sloped to fit into the undercut of the at least one tab 18 (See Kim, Figures 3 and 4).
In re Claim 16, Kim as modified by Lin and Chen discloses an arrangement, comprising: the case of claim 1; and the portable electronic device (A in Kim; 10 in Lin) configured for insertion into the case.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, applicant argues the combination of Kim, Lin and Chen does not teach or suggest “at least 50% of a volume of the removable endpiece is configured for insertion through the side opening into the cavity for engagement with, and retention of, the portable electronic device within the cavity” as recited in Claim 13. Applicant’s Arguments, p. 8. Applicant reasons that Chen, when modified by Kim and Lin, would provide an endpiece that “would not fit within the narrow slot available for the endpiece in Chen.” Id. I respectfully disagree. The primary reference is Kim and thus Kim is being modified by Chen. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of one reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of another reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because it is not responsive to the combination set forth in the rejection. Kim, as modified by Lin, is relied upon for the removable endpiece comprising the recited adapter and associated electrical components. Chen is relied upon for the additional teaching of configuring a removable endpiece to be substantially inserted into a shell. The rejection does not propose bodily incorporating the components of Kim into the particular dimensions of Chen’s endpiece 2 or otherwise retaining the precise dimensions of Chen while adding Kim’s components. Rather, the combined teachings would have suggested configuring the removable endpiece of Kim to extend farther into the shell, as taught by Chen, for the previously stated purpose of improving retention and reducing inadvertent disengagement.
Applicant’s remaining arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 and 17-20 have been considered but are moot because of the new grounds of rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADRIAN S WILSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841