DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been considered for patentability.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-10, 12, 17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 101609754) (from applicant’s IDS submitted on 08/27/2025) in view of Lin et al. (US Publication 2015/0270861) (from applicant’s IDS submitted on 08/27/2025).
In re Claim 1, Kim discloses a case 1 for a portable electronic device A, the case comprising: a shell 20 comprising a back panel and a front panel opposite the back panel, and at least one side wall extending between the back panel and the front panel (Figure 1), wherein the back panel, front panel, and at least one side wall define a cavity for receiving and holding the portable electronic device A within the shell and further define a side opening (Figure 1), between the back panel and the front panel for insertion of the portable electronic device A through the side opening into the cavity; and a removable endpiece 10 comprising a base and an adapter 30 coupled to the base (See Figure 3), the adapter comprises a male plug 31 configured for insertion into a female port C of the portable electronic device A, a contactor 32 opposite the male plug 31, a plurality of first contacts disposed on the male plug (inherently disclosed in Figure 4 and associated description, with electrical connection between male plug 31 and contactor 32 via traces in printed circuit board 34), and a plurality of second contacts disposed on the contactor and electrically coupled to the first contacts (inherently disclosed in Figure 4 and associated description, with electrical connection between male plug 31 and contactor 32 via traces in printed circuit board 34), wherein the removable endpiece 10 is configured for, after insertion of the portable electronic device, insertion through the side opening into the cavity and between the front panel and the back panel for engagement with, and retention of, the portable electronic device A within the cavity, wherein the removable endpiece 10 comprises at least one tab 18 and the shell 20 defines at least one tab receptacle 21 along the side opening to receive the at least one tab of the removable endpiece.
Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein a side opening is separate from the window. However, providing such was not new in the art before applicant’s effective filing date. For example, Lin discloses a case for a portable electronic device, wherein the case comprises a shell 2, wherein the shell comprises a back panel 23, front panel (See Figure 1) with a side panel therebetween, and wherein a side opening 213 is formed to receive a removable end piece 22, the side opening is separate from a window formed by the front panel (See Figure 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of portable electronics at a time before the effective filing date to have provided a side opening that is separate from a window, as disclosed in Lin, and to have modified Kim in that way to improve the structural integrity of the case by improving the strength of the window area. This will also provide greater protection to the portable electronic device display within the frame when the device is being protected by the case.
In re Claim 2, Kim discloses wherein the at least one tab 18 is undercut. See Kim, Figure 4.
In re Claim 3, Kim discloses wherein a wall of the at least one tab receptacle 21 is sloped to fit into the undercut of the at least one tab 18. See Kim, Figures 3 and 4.
In re Claim 4, Kim discloses wherein the at least one tab 18 comprises at least two tabs (See Figures 3 and 4) with a first one of the tabs extending from a first surface of the base and a second of the tabs extending from a second surface of the base opposite the first surface.
In re Claim 5, Kim discloses wherein the at least one tab receptacle 21 comprises at least two tab receptacles with the shell 20 defining a first one of the tab receptacles along a first edge of the side opening and a second one of the tab receptacles along a second edge of the side opening opposite the first edge. See Kim, Figure 3.
In re Claim 6, Kim discloses wherein the first one of the tabs 18 and the second one of the tabs 18 are disposed directly opposite each other (See Figure 3) and the first one of the tab receptacles 21 and the second one of the tab receptacles 21 are disposed directly opposite each other (See Figure 3).
In re Claim 7, Kim discloses wherein a distal end of each of the at least one tab 18 is flush with an exterior surface of the shell 20 when the removable endpiece 10 is inserted into the shell 20. See Kim, Figure 2.
In re Claim 9, Lin discloses wherein, when inserted into the cavity after insertion of the portable electronic device 10, no portion of the removable endpiece 22 is exposed through the window. See Lin, Figure 3.
In re Claim 10, Kim as modified by Lin discloses wherein, when inserted into the cavity after insertion of the portable electronic device (A in Kim; 10 in Lin), no portion of the removable endpiece (10 in Kim; 22 in Lin), except the male plug (31 in Kim; 31 in Lin), is disposed in a region of the cavity that is below the window.
In re Claims 12 and 20, Kim as modified by Lin discloses an arrangement, comprising: the case of claim 1; and the portable electronic device (A in Kim; 10 in Lin) configured for insertion into the case.
In re Claim 17, Kim discloses a case 1 for a portable electronic device A, the case comprising: a shell 20 comprising a back panel and a front panel opposite the back panel, and at least one side wall extending between the back panel and the front panel (Figure 1), wherein the back panel, front panel, and at least one side wall define a cavity for receiving and holding the portable electronic device A within the shell and further define a side opening (Figure 1), between the back panel and the front panel for insertion of the portable electronic device A through the side opening into the cavity; and a removable endpiece 10 configured for, after insertion of the portable electronic device A, insertion through the side opening into the cavity and between the front panel and the back panel for engagement with, and retention of, the portable electronic device A within the cavity, wherein the removable endpiece 10 comprises at least one tab 18 and the shell defines at least one tab receptacle 21 along the side opening to receive the at least one tab of the removable endpiece.
Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein a side opening is separate from the window. However, providing such was not new in the art before applicant’s effective filing date. For example, Lin discloses a case for a portable electronic device, wherein the case comprises a shell 2, wherein the shell comprises a back panel 23, front panel (See Figure 1) with a side panel therebetween, and wherein a side opening 213 is formed to receive a removable end piece 22, the side opening is separate from a window formed by the front panel (See Figure 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of portable electronics at a time before the effective filing date to have provided a side opening that is separate from a window, as disclosed in Lin, and to have modified Kim in that way to improve the structural integrity of the case by improving the strength of the window area. This will also provide greater protection to the portable electronic device display within the frame when the device is being protected by the case.
In re Claim 19, Kim discloses wherein the at least one tab 18 is undercut (See Kim, Figure 4) and wherein a wall of the at least one tab receptacle 21 is sloped to fit into the undercut of the at least one tab 18 (See Kim, Figures 3 and 4).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 101609754) (from applicant’s IDS submitted on 08/27/2025), Lin et al. (US Publication 2015/0270861) (from applicant’s IDS submitted on 08/27/2025) and further in view of Carnevali (US Publication 2021/0391678).
In re Claim 8, Kim as modified by Lin disclose the limitations as noted above, but do not explicitly disclose wherein a one of the removable endpiece or the shell comprises at least one pin and another one of the removable endpiece or the shell comprises at least one pin receptacle to receive the at least one pin when the removable endpiece is inserted into the shell. However, providing such was not new in the art of portable electronics. For example, Carnevali discloses a shell 108 and a removable endpiece 110, wherein the endpiece 110 is secured to the shell 108 with a pin 116. See Carnevali, Figures 2A, 2C. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of portable electronics at a time before applicant’s effective filing date to have provided a pin connection, like that disclosed in Carnevali, with the apparatus as otherwise disclosed in Kim to provide for a more secure and permanent connection between the endpiece and the shell to further prevent inadvertent disconnection between the endpiece and shell during use.
Claim(s) 11, 13-16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 101609754) (from applicant’s IDS submitted on 08/27/2025), Lin et al. (US Publication 2015/0270861) (from applicant’s IDS submitted on 08/27/2025) and further in view of Chen (US Publication 2014/0036420).
In re Claims 11 and 18, Kim as modified by Lin does not explicitly disclose wherein an entirety of the base of the removable endpiece is configured for insertion through the side opening into the cavity. However, providing such was not new in the art before the effective filing date. For example, Chen discloses an end piece 2 that is completely insertable into a side opening of a shell 1 (See Figure 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of portable electronics at a time before the effective filing date to have provided an end piece that is at least 50 percent insertable into a shell, as disclosed in Chen, with the apparatus as otherwise disclosed in Kim so as to improve the structural integrity of the case by reducing the likelihood of inadvertent disconnection of the end piece from the shell (i.e. providing more of the end piece within the shell makes it more difficult for the end piece to become detached form the shell).
In re Claim 13, Kim discloses a case 1 for a portable electronic device A, the case comprising: a shell 20 comprising a back panel and a front panel opposite the back panel (Figure 1), and at least one side wall extending between the back panel and the front panel (Figure 1), wherein the back panel, front panel, and at least one side wall define a cavity for receiving and holding the portable electronic device A within the shell 20 and further define a side opening (Figure 1) between the back panel and the front panel for insertion of the portable electronic device A through the side opening into the cavity; and a removable endpiece 10 comprising a base and an adapter 30 coupled to the base (Figure 3), the adapter comprises a male plug 31 configured for insertion into a female port C of the portable electronic device A, a contactor 32 opposite the male plug, a plurality of first contacts disposed on the male plug (inherently disclosed in Figure 4 and associated description, with electrical connection between male plug 31 and contactor 32 via traces in printed circuit board 34), and a plurality of second contacts disposed on the contactor and electrically coupled to the first contacts (inherently disclosed in Figure 4 and associated description, with electrical connection between male plug 31 and contactor 32 via traces in printed circuit board 34), wherein the removable endpiece 10 is configured for insertion through the side opening into the cavity for engagement with, and retention of, the portable electronic device A within the cavity, wherein the removable endpiece comprises at least one tab 18 and the shell 20 defines at least one tab receptacle 21 along the side opening to receive the at least one tab of the removable endpiece.
Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein a side opening is separate from the window. However, providing such was not new in the art before applicant’s effective filing date. For example, Lin discloses a case for a portable electronic device, wherein the case comprises a shell 2, wherein the shell comprises a back panel 23, front panel (See Figure 1) with a side panel therebetween, and wherein a side opening 213 is formed to receive a removable end piece 22, the side opening is separate from a window formed by the front panel (See Figure 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of portable electronics at a time before the effective filing date to have provided a side opening that is separate from a window, as disclosed in Lin, and to have modified Kim in that way to improve the structural integrity of the case by improving the strength of the window area. This will also provide greater protection to the portable electronic device display within the frame when the device is being protected by the case.
Kim further does not explicitly disclose wherein at least 50% of a volume of the removable endpiece is configured for insertion through the side opening into the cavity. However, providing such was not new in the art before the effective filing date. For example, Chen discloses an end piece 2 that is completely insertable into a side opening of a shell 1 (See Figure 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of portable electronics at a time before the effective filing date to have provided an end piece that is at least 50 percent insertable into a shell, as disclosed in Chen, with the apparatus as otherwise disclosed in Kim so as to improve the structural integrity of the case by reducing the likelihood of inadvertent disconnection of the end piece from the shell (i.e. providing more of the end piece within the shell makes it more difficult for the end piece to become detached form the shell).
In re Claim 14, Chen discloses wherein substantially all of the endpiece 2 is inserted into the side opening of a cavity (See Figures 1 and 2) and therefore discloses wherein at least 80% of the volume of the removable endpiece is configured for insertion through the side opening into the cavity for engagement with, and retention of, the portable electronic device within the cavity.
In re Claim 15, Kim discloses wherein the at least one tab 18 is undercut (See Kim, Figure 4) and wherein a wall of the at least one tab receptacle 21 is sloped to fit into the undercut of the at least one tab 18 (See Kim, Figures 3 and 4).
In re Claim 16, Kim as modified by Lin and Chen discloses an arrangement, comprising: the case of claim 1; and the portable electronic device (A in Kim; 10 in Lin) configured for insertion into the case.
Conclusion
/ADRIAN S WILSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841