This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 3/22/2024.
Claims 1-28 are pending and presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/11/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 & 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15, this claim recites “a controller configured to switch the repeater between: a duplex mode, wherein the repeater is configured to communicate a first uplink RF signal from the first server antenna port and communicate a first downlink RF signal to the second server antenna port, and a simplex mode wherein the repeater is configured to communicate the first uplink RF signal from the first server antenna port and communicate the first downlink RF signal to the second server antenna port”. Configuring the repeater to communicate a first uplink RF signal from the first server antenna port and communicate a first downlink RF signal to the second server antenna port defines a simplex mode (as recited in the last part of the limitation) and not a duplex mode, making this limitation unclear. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting this limitation as “a controller configured to switch the repeater between: a duplex mode, wherein the repeater is configured to communicate a first uplink RF signal from the first server antenna port and communicate a first downlink RF signal to the first server antenna port, and a simplex mode wherein the repeater is configured to communicate the first uplink RF signal from the first server antenna port and communicate the first downlink RF signal to the second server antenna port”.
Regarding claim 25, this claim recites “receive a second downlink RF signal from the donor antenna port and communicate the second downlink RF signal to the second server antenna port via the one or more downlink amplification and filtering paths to form a second duplex communication path between the first antenna port and the second server antenna port”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting this claim limitation as “receive a second downlink RF signal from the donor antenna port and communicate the second downlink RF signal to the second server antenna port via the one or more downlink amplification and filtering paths to form a second duplex communication path between the donor antenna port and the second server antenna port”.
Claims 8, 9, 22 & 23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claims 8, 9, 22 & 23, these claims recite limitations related to first and second broadband fiber optic converters that are clearly separate, independent from and not incorporated as part of the repeater defined in claims 4 & 18, as shown in fig 1B of the current application drawings. The components and functions of the repeater, as claimed in claims 4 & 18, are completely unaffected and unchanged by the presence or lack of presence of the fiber optic converters recited dependent clams 8, 9, 22 & 23. Thus, claims 8, 9, 22 & 23 do not limit the subject matter or functions of claims 4 or 18 upon which they depend.
Applicant may cancel the claims, amend the claims to place the claims in proper dependent form, rewrite the claims in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claims complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10-12, 14-19, 24-26 & 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 108880600)(herein after “Yang”) in view of Toyomura et al. (US 2020/0153398)(herein after “Toyomura”).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a repeater (Fig 2A and [0002] & [0094] disclose a radio frequency system with a PA, LNA and filtering (i.e. a repeater).), comprising:
a first antenna port (Fig 2A & [0094]-[0096] disclose a first external port 1 (i.e. a first antenna port).);
a second antenna port configured to be coupled to a second antenna (Fig 2A & [0094]-[0096] disclose a fifth external port 5 (i.e. a second antenna port). Fig 2A & [0097] disclose that fifth external port 5 may be configured to connect to an antenna (i.e. a second antenna).) ;
a third antenna port configured to be coupled to a third antenna (Fig 2A & [0094]-[0096] disclose a sixth external port 6 (i.e. a third antenna port). Fig 2A & [0097] disclose that sixth external port 6 may be configured to connect to an antenna (i.e. a third antenna).);
one or more first direction amplification and filtering paths coupled between a fourth antenna port and the second antenna port (Fig 2A & [0094]-[0096] disclose a LNA and Ny filter path (i.e. a first direction amplification and filtering path) coupled between a fourth external port 4 (i.e. a fourth antenna port) and the fifth external port 5 through a 3P3T switch with the top left switch in fig 2A is in the “UP” position.);
one or more second direction amplification and filtering paths coupled between the first antenna port and one of the second antenna port and the third antenna port (Fig 2A & [0094]-[0096] disclose a PA and Nx filter path (i.e. a second direction amplification and filtering path) coupled between the first external port 1 and the fifth external port 5 or the sixth external port 6 through the 3P3T switch with the bottom left switch in fig 2A is in the “DOWN” position.); and
a controller configured to switch the repeater between: a duplex mode, wherein the repeater is configured to communicate a first first-direction RF signal from the second antenna port and communicate a first second-direction RF signal to the second antenna port (Fig 2A & [0094] discloses a MIPI and/or GPIO control unit that can perform coupler/switch switching to configure the radio frequency system to switch to a duplex mode, wherein the radio frequency system is configured to communicate a first RF signal received (i.e. a first first-direction RF signal) from the fifth external port 5 by having the 3P3T switch connect the middle P port to the top T port, and communicate a first RF signal to be transmitted (i.e. a first second-direction RF signal) to fifth external port 5 by having the 3P3T switch connect the top P port to the top T port.), and
a simplex mode wherein the repeater is configured to communicate the first first-direction RF signal from the second antenna port and communicate the first second-direction RF signal to the third antenna port (Fig 2A & [0094] discloses a MIPI and/or GPIO control unit that can perform coupler/switch switching to configure the radio frequency system to switch to a simplex mode, wherein the radio frequency system is configured to communicate a first RF signal received (i.e. a first first-direction RF signal) from the fifth external port 5 by having the 3P3T switch connect the middle P port to the top T port, and communicate a first RF signal to be transmitted (i.e. a first second-direction RF signal) to sixth external port 6 by having the 3P3T switch connect the top P port to the middle T port.).
Yang fails to disclose, but Toyomura teaches wherein the first antenna port is configured to be coupled to a first antenna; and the fourth antenna port is combined with the first antenna port to provide a new combined first antenna port (Fig 1 & [0031] & [0033] discloses a duplexer 16 that combines a transmit signal Tx1 and a receive signal Rx1 or separates the transmit signal Tx1 and the receive signal Rx1 from each other, and the combined duplexed port 181 is configured to be coupled to an antenna (i.e. a first antenna).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a repeater that can communicate in a first direction with a fourth antenna port and can communicate in a second direction with a first antenna port, as disclosed by Yang, wherein the first antenna port is configured to be coupled to a first antenna; and the fourth antenna port is combined with the first antenna port to provide a new combined first antenna port, as taught by Toyomura. The motivation to do so would be to reduce the number of long cables required to connect a radio frequency system, providing separate transmit and receive ports, to an antenna on an antenna tower for repeating transmit and receive signals between a base station and a UE in order to save cable costs.
Regarding claim 2, Yang in view of Toyomura disclose the repeater of claim 1.
Yang discloses wherein the controller is further configured to switch the repeater to the duplex mode, wherein the repeater is configured to: receive the first first-direction RF signal from the second antenna port and communicate the first first-direction RF signal to a fourth antenna port via the one or more first-direction amplification and filtering paths (Fig 2A & [0094] disclose a MIPI and/or GPIO control unit that can perform coupler/switch switching to configure the radio frequency system to switch to a duplex mode, wherein the radio frequency system is configured to receive a first RF signal received (i.e. a first first-direction RF signal) from fifth external port 5 and communicate the first RF signal received to fourth external port 4 via the LNA and Ny filter path by having the 3P3T switch connect the middle P port to the top T port with the bottom left switch in fig 2A is in the “DOWN” position.); and
receive the first second-direction RF signal from the first antenna port and communicate the first second-direction RF signal to the second antenna port via the one or more second-direction amplification and filtering path to form a first duplex communication path between the first antenna port and the second antenna port (Fig 2A & [0094] disclose a MIPI and/or GPIO control unit that can perform coupler/switch switching to configure the radio frequency system to switch to a duplex mode, wherein the radio frequency system is configured to receive a first RF signal to be transmitted (i.e. a first second-direction RF signal) from first antenna port 1 and communicate the first RF signal to be transmitted to fifth antenna port 5 via the PA and Nx filter path by having the 3P3T switch connect the top P port to the top T port with the top left switch in fig 2A is in the “UP” position, to form a first duplex communication path between the first and fourth external ports 1 & 4 and the fifth external port 5).
Yang fails to disclose, but Toyomura teaches wherein the first antenna port is configured to be coupled to a first antenna; and the fourth antenna port is combined with the first antenna port to provide a new combined first antenna port (Fig 1 & [0031] & [0033] discloses a duplexer 16 that combines a transmit signal Tx1 and a receive signal Rx1 or separates the transmit signal Tx1 and the receive signal Rx1 from each other, and the combined duplexed port 181 is configured to be coupled to an antenna (i.e. a first antenna).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a repeater that can communicate in a first direction with a fourth antenna port and can communicate in a second direction with a first antenna port, as disclosed by Yang, wherein the first antenna port is configured to be coupled to a first antenna; and the fourth antenna port is combined with the first antenna port to provide a new combined first antenna port, as taught by Toyomura. The motivation to do so would be to reduce the number of long cables required to connect a radio frequency system, providing separate transmit and receive ports, to an antenna on an antenna tower for repeating transmit and receive signals between a base station and a UE in order to save cable costs.
Regarding claim 3, Yang in view of Toyomura disclose the repeater of claim 2.
Yang discloses further comprising the second antenna configured to be coupled to the second antenna port and configured to receive the first first-direction RF signal and transmit the first second-direction RF signal (Fig 2A & [0097] disclose that fifth external port 5 may be configured to connect to an antenna (i.e. a second antenna). [0015] discloses that a processing unit controls a receiving path (i.e. first-direction path) between a receiving port (i.e. fifth external port 5) and an antenna of a target antenna group to receive RF signals through the antenna (i.e. receive a first direction RF signal). [0013] discloses that a transmission path (i.e. second-direction path) between a transmission port (i.e. fifth external port 5) and an antenna of a target antenna group can be controlled to transmit RF signals through the antenna for SRS transmission polling (i.e. transmit a second direction RF signal).).
Regarding claim 4, Yang in view of Toyomura disclose the repeater of claim 1.
Yang discloses wherein the controller is further configured to switch the repeater to the simplex mode, wherein the repeater is configured to: receive the first first-direction RF signal from the second antenna port and communicate the first first-direction RF signal to a fourth antenna port via the one or more first-direction amplification and filtering paths that are configured for simplex communication (Fig 2A & [0094] disclose a MIPI and/or GPIO control unit that can perform coupler/switch switching to configure the radio frequency system to switch to a simplex mode, wherein the radio frequency system is configured to receive a first RF signal received (i.e. a first first-direction RF signal) from fifth external port 5 and communicate the first RF signal received to fourth external port 4 via the LNA and Ny filter path configured for simplex communication by having the 3P3T switch connect the middle P port to the top T port with the bottom left switch in fig 2A is in the “DOWN” position.); and
receive the first second-direction RF signal from the first antenna port and communicate the first second-direction RF signal to the third antenna port via the one or more second-direction amplification and filtering paths that are configured for simplex communication (Fig 2A & [0094] disclose a MIPI and/or GPIO control unit that can perform coupler/switch switching to configure the radio frequency system to switch to a simplex mode, wherein the radio frequency system is configured to receive a first RF signal to be transmitted (i.e. a first second-direction RF signal) from first antenna port 1 and communicate the first RF signal to be transmitted to sixth antenna port 6 via the PA and Nx filter path configured for simplex communication by having the 3P3T switch connect the top P port to the middle T port with the top left switch in fig 2A is in the “UP” position.).
Yang fails to disclose, but Toyomura teaches wherein the first antenna port is configured to be coupled to a first antenna; and the fourth antenna port is combined with the first antenna port to provide a new combined first antenna port (Fig 1 & [0031] & [0033] discloses a duplexer 16 that combines a transmit signal Tx1 and a receive signal Rx1 or separates the transmit signal Tx1 and the receive signal Rx1 from each other, and the combined duplexed port 181 is configured to be coupled to an antenna (i.e. a first antenna).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a repeater that can communicate in a first direction with a fourth antenna port and can communicate in a second direction with a first antenna port, as disclosed by Yang, wherein the first antenna port is configured to be coupled to a first antenna; and the fourth antenna port is combined with the first antenna port to provide a new combined first antenna port, as taught by Toyomura. The motivation to do so would be to reduce the number of long cables required to connect a radio frequency system, providing separate transmit and receive ports, to an antenna on an antenna tower for repeating transmit and receive signals between a base station and a UE in order to save cable costs.
Regarding claim 5, Yang in view of Toyomura disclose the repeater of claim 4.
Yang discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: disable the one or more second direction amplification and filtering paths coupled between the first antenna port and the second antenna port to configure the one or more first direction amplification and filtering paths coupled between a fourth antenna port and the second antenna port for first direction simplex communication (Fig 2A & [0094] disclose a MIPI and/or GPIO control unit that can perform coupler/switch switching to configure the radio frequency system to disable the PA & Nx filter path between first external port 1 and fifth external port 5 to configure the LNA and Ny filter path between a fourth external port 4 and fifth external port 5 by having the 3P3T switch connect the middle P port to the top T port and the top P port to the middle T port with the top left switch in the “UP” position and the bottom left switch in fig 2A is in the “DOWN” position.); and
disable the one or more first direction amplification and filtering paths coupled between the first antenna port and the third antenna port to configure the one or more second direction amplification and filtering paths coupled between the first antenna port and the third antenna port for second direction simplex communication (Fig 2A & [0094] disclose a MIPI and/or GPIO control unit that can perform coupler/switch switching to configure the radio frequency system to disable the LNA & Ny filter path between first external port 1 and sixth external port 6 to configure the PA and Nx filter path between the first external port 1 and sixth external port 6 by having the 3P3T switch connect the middle P port to the top T port and the top P port to the middle T port with the top left switch in the “UP” position and the bottom left switch in fig 2A is in the “DOWN” position.).
Yang fails to disclose, but Toyomura teaches wherein the first antenna port is configured to be coupled to a first antenna; and the fourth antenna port is combined with the first antenna port to provide a new combined first antenna port (Fig 1 & [0031] & [0033] discloses a duplexer 16 that combines a transmit signal Tx1 and a receive signal Rx1 or separates the transmit signal Tx1 and the receive signal Rx1 from each other, and the combined duplexed port 181 is configured to be coupled to an antenna (i.e. a first antenna).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a repeater that can communicate in a first direction with a fourth antenna port and can communicate in a second direction with a first antenna port, as disclosed by Yang, wherein the first antenna port is configured to be coupled to a first antenna; and the fourth antenna port is combined with the first antenna port to provide a new combined first antenna port, as taught by Toyomura. The motivation to do so would be to reduce the number of long cables required to connect a radio frequency system, providing separate transmit and receive ports, to an antenna on an antenna tower for repeating transmit and receive signals between a base station and a UE in order to save cable costs.
Regarding claim 10, Yang in view of Toyomura disclose the repeater of claim 1.
Yang discloses wherein the repeater further comprises: a switch that is switchably coupled between: a switchable second-direction amplification and filtering path that is one of the one or more second-direction amplification and filtering paths (Fig 2A and [0094]-[0096] disclose a 3P3T switch coupled with the PA and Nx filter path (i.e. the second-direction amplification and filtering path).);
the second antenna port (Fig 2A and [0094]-[0096] disclose that 3P3T switch is coupled with fifth antenna port 5 (i.e. the second antenna port).); and
the third antenna port (Fig 2A and [0094]-[0096] disclose that 3P3T switch is coupled with sixth antenna port 6 (i.e. the third antenna port).); wherein
the controller is further configured to switch the repeater: to the duplex mode by directing the switch to couple the switchable second-direction amplification and filtering path to the second antenna port (Fig 2A & [0094] discloses a MIPI and/or GPIO control unit that can perform coupler/switch switching to configure the radio frequency system to switch to a duplex mode by controlling the 3P3T switch to connect the top P port to the top T port, which couples the PA and Nx filter path and the fifth antenna port 5.); and
to the simplex mode by directing the switch to couple the switchable second-direction amplification and filtering path to the third antenna port (Fig 2A & [0094] discloses a MIPI and/or GPIO control unit that can perform coupler/switch switching to configure the radio frequency system to switch to a simplex mode by controlling the 3P3T switch to connect the top P port to the middle T port, which couples the PA and Nx filter path and the sixth antenna port 6.).
Regarding claim 11, Yang in view of Toyomura disclose the repeater of claim 1.
Yang discloses wherein the controller is further configured to switch the repeater to the duplex mode, wherein the repeater is configured to: receive a second first-direction RF signal from the third antenna port and communicate the second first-direction RF signal to a fourth antenna port via the one or more first-direction amplification and filtering paths (Fig 2A & [0094] discloses a MIPI and/or GPIO control unit that can perform coupler/switch switching to configure the radio frequency system to switch to a duplex mode by controlling the 3P3T switch to connect the middle P port to the middle T port, which couples the LNA and Ny filter path and the sixth antenna port 6 so that a second first-direction RF signal can be communicated from the fifth antenna port 5 to a fourth antenna port 4.); and
receive a second second-direction RF signal from the first antenna port and communicate the second second-direction RF signal to the third antenna port via the one or more second-direction amplification and filtering paths to form a second duplex communication path between the first antenna port and the third antenna port (Fig 2A & [0094] discloses a MIPI and/or GPIO control unit that can perform coupler/switch switching to configure the radio frequency system to switch to a duplex mode by controlling the 3P3T switch to connect the top P port to the middle T port, which couples the PA and Nx filter path and the sixth antenna port 6 so that a second second-direction RF signal can be communicated from the first antenna port 1 to the sixth antenna port 6.).
Yang fails to disclose, but Toyomura teaches wherein the first antenna port is configured to be coupled to a first antenna; and the fourth antenna port is combined with the first antenna port to provide a new combined first antenna port (Fig 1 & [0031] & [0033] discloses a duplexer 16 that combines a transmit signal Tx1 and a receive signal Rx1 or separates the transmit signal Tx1 and the receive signal Rx1 from each other, and the combined duplexed port 181 is configured to be coupled to an antenna (i.e. a first antenna).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a repeater that can communicate in a first direction with a fourth antenna port and can communicate in a second direction with a first antenna port, as disclosed by Yang, wherein the first antenna port is configured to be coupled to a first antenna; and the fourth antenna port is combined with the first antenna port to provide a new combined first antenna port, as taught by Toyomura. The motivation to do so would be to reduce the number of long cables required to connect a radio frequency system, providing separate transmit and receive ports, to an antenna on an antenna tower for repeating transmit and receive signals between a base station and a UE in order to save cable costs.
Regarding claim 12, Yang in view of Toyomura disclose the repeater of claim 11.
Yang discloses further comprising the third antenna configured to be coupled to the third antenna port and configured to receive the second first-direction RF signal and transmit the second second-direction RF signal (Fig 2A & [0097] disclose that sixth external port 6 may be configured to connect to an antenna (i.e. a third antenna). [0015] discloses that a processing unit controls a receiving path (i.e. first-direction path) between a receiving port (i.e. sixth external port 6) and an antenna of a target antenna group to receive RF signals through the antenna (i.e. receive a second first direction RF signal). [0013] discloses that a transmission path (i.e. a second second-direction path) between a transmission port (i.e. sixth external port 6) and an antenna of a target antenna group can be controlled to transmit RF signals through the antenna for SRS transmission polling (i.e. transmit a second second direction RF signal).).
Regarding claim 14, Yang in view of Toyomura disclose the repeater of claim 1.
Yang further comprising additional antenna ports that are configured to be communicatively coupled to the one or more second direction amplification and filtering paths when the repeater is switched to the simplex mode (Fig 3A and [0094], [0121] & [0163] disclose additional eighth and ninth antenna ports, that connect to receiving modules that include transmit/receive antennas, that can be communicatively coupled to the PA and Nx filter path (i.e. a second direction amplification and filtering path) to support a simplex mode by controlling the 3P3T switch to have the top P port connected to the bottom T port and the middle P port connected to the top T port, and controlling a 4P3T switch to have the top P port connected to the middle or bottom T ports, and controlling a DP3T switch in the receiving modules to have the left P port connected to the Left T port, and controlling a DP4T switch in the receiving module to have either P port connected to the left T port.).
Regarding claims 15, Yang discloses a repeater (Fig 2A and [0002] & [0094] disclose a radio frequency system with a PA, LNA and filtering (i.e. a repeater).), comprising:
a donor antenna port (Fig 2A & [0094]-[0096] disclose a first external port 1 (i.e. a donor antenna port).);
a first server antenna port configured to be coupled to a first server antenna (Fig 2A & [0094]-[0096] disclose a fifth external port 5 (i.e. a first server antenna port). Fig 2A & [0097] disclose that fifth external port 5 may be configured to connect to an antenna (i.e. a first server antenna).) ;
a second server antenna port configured to be coupled to a second server antenna (Fig 2A & [0094]-[0096] disclose a sixth external port 6 (i.e. a second server antenna port). Fig 2A & [0097] disclose that sixth external port 6 may be configured to connect to an antenna (i.e. a second server antenna).);
one or more uplink amplification and filtering paths coupled between a fourth antenna port and the first server antenna port (Fig 2A & [0094]-[0096] disclose a LNA and Ny filter path (i.e. an uplink amplification and filtering path) coupled between a fourth external port 4 (i.e. a fourth antenna port) and the fifth external port 5 through a 3P3T switch with the top left switch in fig 2A is in the “UP” position.);
one or more downlink amplification and filtering paths coupled between the donor antenna port and one of the first server antenna port and the second server antenna port (Fig 2A & [0094]-[0096] disclose a PA and Nx filter path (i.e. a downlink amplification and filtering path) coupled between the first external port 1 and the fifth external port 5 or the sixth external port 6 through the 3P3T switch with the bottom left switch in fig 2A is in the “DOWN” position.); and
a controller configured to switch the repeater between: a duplex mode, wherein the repeater is configured to communicate a first uplink RF signal from the first server antenna port and communicate a first downlink RF signal to the first server antenna port (Fig 2A & [0094] discloses a MIPI and/or GPIO control unit that can perform coupler/switch switching to configure the radio frequency system to switch to a duplex mode, wherein the radio frequency system is configured to communicate a first RF signal received (i.e. a first uplink RF signal) from the fifth external port 5 by having the 3P3T switch connect the middle P port to the top T port, and communicate a first RF signal to be transmitted (i.e. a first downlink RF signal) to fifth external port 5 by having the 3P3T switch connect the top P port to the top T port.), and
a simplex mode wherein the repeater is configured to communicate the first first-direction RF signal from the second antenna port and communicate the first second-direction RF signal to the third antenna port (Fig 2A & [0094] discloses a MIPI and/or GPIO control unit that can perform coupler/switch switching to configure the radio frequency system to switch to a simplex mode, wherein the radio frequency system is configured to communicate a first RF signal received (i.e. a first uplink RF signal) from the fifth external port 5 by having the 3P3T switch connect the middle P port to the top T port, and communicate a first RF signal to be transmitted (i.e. a first downlink RF signal) to sixth external port 6 by having the 3P3T switch connect the top P port to the middle T port.).
Yang fails to disclose, but Toyomura teaches wherein the donor antenna port is configured to be coupled to a donor antenna; and the fourth antenna port is combined with the donor antenna port to provide a new combined donor antenna port (Fig 1 & [0031] & [0033] discloses a duplexer 16 that combines a transmit signal Tx1 and a receive signal Rx1 or separates the transmit signal Tx1 and the receive signal Rx1 from each other, and the combined duplexed port 181 is configured to be coupled to an antenna (i.e. a donor antenna).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a repeater that can communicate in an uplink direction with a fourth antenna port and can communicate in a downlink direction with a donor antenna port, as disclosed by Yang, wherein the donor antenna port is configured to be coupled to a donor antenna; and the fourth antenna port is combined with the donor antenna port to provide a new combined donor antenna port, as taught by Toyomura. The motivation to do so would be to reduce the number of long cables required to connect a radio frequency system, providing separate transmit and receive ports, to an antenna on an antenna tower for repeating transmit and receive signals between a base station and a UE in order to save cable costs.
Regarding claim 16, Yang in view of Toyomura disclose the repeater of claim 15.
Yang discloses wherein the controller is further configured to switch the repeater to the duplex mode, wherein the repeater is configured to: receive the first uplink RF signal from the first server antenna port and communicate the first uplink RF signal to a fourth antenna port via the one or more uplink amplification and filtering paths (Fig 2A & [0094] disclose a MIPI and/or GPIO control unit that can perform coupler/switch switching to configure the radio frequency system to switch to a duplex mode, wherein the radio frequency system is configured to receive a first RF signal received (i.e. a first uplink RF signal) from fifth external port 5 and communicate the first RF signal received to fourth external port 4 via the LNA and Ny filter path by having the 3P3T switch connect the middle P port to the top T port with the bottom left switch in fig 2A is in the “DOWN” position.); and
receive the first downlink RF signal from the donor antenna port and communicate the first downlink RF signal to the first server antenna port via the one or more downlink amplification and filtering paths to form a first duplex communication path between the donor antenna port and the first server antenna port (Fig 2A & [0094] disclose a MIPI and/or GPIO control unit that can perform coupler/switch switching to configure the radio frequency system to switch to a duplex mode, wherein the radio frequency system is configured to receive a first RF signal to be transmitted (i.e. a first downlink RF signal) from first antenna port 1 and communicate the first RF signal to be transmitted to fifth antenna port 5 via the PA and Nx filter path by having the 3P3T switch connect the top P port to the top T port with the top left switch in fig 2A is in the “UP” position, to form a first duplex communication path between the first and fourth external ports 1 & 4 and the fifth external port 5).
Yang fails to disclose, but Toyomura teaches wherein the donor antenna port is configured to be coupled to a donor antenna; and the fourth antenna port is combined with the donor antenna port to provide a new combined donor antenna port (Fig 1 & [0031] & [0033] discloses a duplexer 16 that combines a transmit signal Tx1 and a receive signal Rx1 or separates the transmit signal Tx1 and the receive signal Rx1 from each other, and the combined duplexed port 181 is configured to be coupled to an antenna (i.e. a donor antenna).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a repeater that can communicate in an uplink direction with a fourth antenna port and can communicate in a downlink direction with a donor antenna port, as disclosed by Yang, wherein the donor antenna port is configured to be coupled to a donor antenna; and the fourth antenna port is combined with the donor antenna port to provide a new combined donor antenna port, as taught by Toyomura. The motivation to do so would be to reduce the number of long cables required to connect a radio frequency system, providing separate transmit and receive ports, to an antenna on an antenna tower for repeating transmit and receive signals between a base station and a UE in order to save cable costs.
Regarding claim 17, Yang in view of Toyomura disclose the repeater of claim 16.
Yang discloses further comprising the second server antenna configured to be coupled to the second antenna port and configured to receive the first uplink RF signal and transmit the first downlink RF signal (Fig 2A & [0097] disclose that fifth external port 5 may be configured to connect to an antenna (i.e. a first server antenna). [0015] discloses that a processing unit controls a receiving path (i.e. uplink path) between a receiving port (i.e. fifth external port 5) and an antenna of a target antenna group to receive RF signals through the antenna (i.e. receive an uplink direction RF signal). [0013] discloses that a transmission path (i.e. downlink path) between a transmission port (i.e. fifth external port 5) and an antenna of a target antenna group can be controlled to transmit RF signals through the antenna for SRS transmission polling (i.e. transmit a downlink direction RF signal).).
Regarding claim 18, Yang in view of Toyomura disclose the repeater of claim 15, wherein the controller is further configured to switch the repeater to the simplex mode, wherein the repeater is configured to: receive the first uplink RF signal from the first server antenna port and communicate the first uplink RF signal to a fourth antenna port via the one or more uplink amplification and filtering paths that are configured for simplex communication (Fig 2A & [0094] disclose a MIPI and/or GPIO control unit that can perform coupler/switch switching to configure the radio frequency system to switch to a simplex mode, wherein the radio frequency system is configured to receive a first RF signal received (i.e. a first uplink RF signal) from fifth external port 5 and communicate the first RF signal received to fourth external port 4 via the LNA and Ny filter path configured for simplex communication by having the 3P3T switch connect the middle P port to the top T port with the bottom left switch in fig 2A is in the “DOWN” position.); and
receive the first downlink RF signal from the donor antenna port and communicate the first downlink RF signal to the second server antenna port via the one or more downlink amplification and filtering paths that are configured for simplex communication (Fig 2A & [0094] disclose a MIPI and/or GPIO control unit that can perform coupler/switch switching to configure the radio frequency system to switch to a simplex mode, wherein the radio frequency system is configured to receive a first RF signal to be transmitted (i.e. a first downlink RF signal) from first antenna port 1 and communicate the first RF signal to be transmitted to sixth antenna port 6 via the PA and Nx filter path configured for simplex communication by having the 3P3T switch connect the top P port to the middle T port with the top left switch in fig 2A is in the “UP” position.).
Yang fails to disclose, but Toyomura teaches wherein the donor antenna port is configured to be coupled to a donor antenna; and the fourth antenna port is combined with the donor antenna port to provide a new combined donor antenna port (Fig 1 & [0031] & [0033] discloses a duplexer 16 that combines a transmit signal Tx1 and a receive signal Rx1 or separates the transmit signal Tx1 and the receive signal Rx1 from each other, and the combined duplexed port 181 is configured to be coupled to an antenna (i.e. a donor antenna).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a repeater that can communicate in an uplink direction with a fourth antenna port and can communicate in a downlink direction with a donor antenna port, as disclosed by Yang, wherein the donor antenna port is configured to be coupled to a donor antenna; and the fourth antenna port is combined with the donor antenna port to provide a new combined donor antenna port, as taught by Toyomura. The motivation to do so would be to reduce the number of long cables required to connect a radio frequency system, providing separate transmit and receive ports, to an antenna on an antenna tower for repeating transmit and receive signals between a base station and a UE in order to save cable costs.
Regarding claim 19, Yang in view of Toyomura disclose the repeater of claim 18.
Yang discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: disable the one or more downlink amplification and filtering paths coupled between the donor antenna port and the first server antenna port to configure the one or more uplink amplification and filtering paths coupled between the donor antenna port and the first server antenna port for uplink simplex communication (Fig 2A & [0094] disclose a MIPI and/or GPIO control unit that can perform coupler/switch switching to configure the radio frequency system to disable the PA & Nx filter path between first external port 1 and fifth external port 5 to configure the LNA and Ny filter path between a fourth external port 4 and fifth external port 5 by having the 3P3T switch connect the middle P port to the top T port and the top P port to the middle T port with the top left switch in the “UP” position and the bottom left switch in fig 2A is in the “DOWN” position.); and
disable the one or more uplink amplification and filtering paths coupled between the donor antenna port and the second server antenna port to configure the one or more downlink amplification and filtering paths coupled between the donor antenna port and the second server antenna port for downlink simplex communication (Fig 2A & [0094] disclose a MIPI and/or GPIO control unit that can perform coupler/switch switching to configure the radio frequency system to disable the LNA & Ny filter path between first external port 1 and sixth external port 6 to configure the PA and Nx filter path between the first external port 1 and sixth external port 6 by having the 3P3T switch connect the middle P port to the top T port and the top P port to the middle T port with the top left switch in the “UP” position and the bottom left switch in fig 2A is in the “DOWN” position.).
Regarding claim 24, Yang in view of Toyomura disclose the repeater of claim 18.
Yang discloses wherein the repeater further comprises: a switch that is switchably coupled between: a switchable downlink amplification and filtering path that is one of the one or more downlink amplification and filtering paths (Fig 2A and [0094]-[0096] disclose a 3P3T switch coupled with the PA and Nx filter path (i.e. the downlink amplification and filtering path).);
the first server antenna port (Fig 2A and [0094]-[0096] disclose that 3P3T switch is coupled with fifth antenna port 5 (i.e. the first server antenna port).); and
the second server antenna port (Fig 2A and [0094]-[0096] disclose that 3P3T switch is coupled with sixth antenna port 6 (i.e. the second server antenna port).); wherein
the controller is further configured to switch the repeater: to the duplex mode by directing the switch to couple the switchable downlink amplification and filtering path to the first server antenna port (Fig 2A & [0094] discloses a MIPI and/or GPIO control unit that can perform coupler/switch switching to configure the radio frequency system to switch to a duplex mode by controlling the 3P3T switch to connect the top P port to the top T port, which couples the PA and Nx filter path and the fifth antenna port 5.); and
to the simplex mode by directing the switch to couple the switchable downlink amplification and filtering path to the second server antenna port (Fig 2A & [0094] discloses a MIPI and/or GPIO control unit that can perform coupler/switch switching to configure the radio frequency system to switch to a simplex mode by controlling the 3P3T switch to connect the top P port to the middle T port, which couples the PA and Nx filter path and the sixth antenna port 6.).
Regarding claim 25, Yang in view of Toyomura disclose the repeater of claim 15.
Yang discloses wherein the controller is further configured to switch the repeater to the duplex mode, wherein the repeater is configured to: receive a second uplink RF signal from the second server antenna port and communicate the second uplink RF signal to a fourth antenna port via the one or more uplink amplification and filtering paths (Fig 2A & [0094] discloses a MIPI and/or GPIO control unit that can perform coupler/switch switching to configure the radio frequency system to switch to a duplex mode by controlling the 3P3T switch to connect the middle P port to the middle T port, which couples the LNA and Ny filter path and the sixth antenna port 6 so that a second first-direction RF signal can be communicated from the fifth antenna port 5 to a fourth antenna port 4.); and
receive a second downlink RF signal from the donor antenna port and communicate the second downlink RF signal to the second server antenna port via the one or more downlink amplification and filtering paths to form a second duplex communication path between the first antenna port and the second server antenna port (Fig 2A & [0094] discloses a MIPI and/or GPIO control unit that can perform coupler/switch switching to configure the radio frequency system to switch to a duplex mode by controlling the 3P3T switch to connect the top P port to the middle T port, which couples the PA and Nx filter path and the sixth antenna port 6 so that a second downlink RF signal can be communicated from the first antenna port 1 to the sixth antenna port 6.).
Yang fails to disclose, but Toyomura teaches wherein the donor antenna port is configured to be coupled to a donor antenna; and the fourth antenna port is combined with the donor antenna port to provide a new combined donor antenna port (Fig 1 & [0031] & [0033] discloses a duplexer 16 that combines a transmit signal Tx1 and a receive signal Rx1 or separates the transmit signal Tx1 and the receive signal Rx1 from each other, and the combined duplexed port 181 is configured to be coupled to an antenna (i.e. a donor antenna).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a repeater that can communicate in an uplink direction with a fourth antenna port and can communicate in a downlink direction with a donor antenna port, as disclosed by Yang, wherein the donor antenna port is configured to be coupled to a donor antenna; and the fourth antenna port is combined with the donor antenna port to provide a new combined donor antenna port, as taught by Toyomura. The motivation to do so would be to reduce the number of long cables required to connect a radio frequency system, providing separate transmit and receive ports, to an antenna on an antenna tower for repeating transmit and receive signals between a base station and a UE in order to save cable costs.
Regarding claim 26, Yang in view of Toyomura disclose the repeater of claim 25.
Yang discloses further comprising the second server antenna configured to be coupled to the second server antenna port and configured to receive the second UL RF signal and transmit the second DL RF signal (Fig 2A & [0097] disclose that sixth external port 6 may be configured to connect to an antenna (i.e. a second server antenna). [0015] discloses that a processing unit controls a receiving path (i.e. uplink path) between a receiving port (i.e. sixth external port 6) and an antenna of a target antenna group to receive UL RF signals through the antenna (i.e. receive a second UL RF signal). [0013] discloses that a transmission path (i.e. a second DL path) between a transmission port (i.e. sixth external port 6) and an antenna of a target antenna group can be controlled to transmit DL RF signals through the antenna for SRS transmission polling (i.e. transmit a second DL RF signal).).
Regarding claim 28, Yang in view of Toyomura disclose the repeater of claim 15.
Yang further comprising additional antenna ports that are configured to be communicatively coupled to the one or more downlink amplification and filtering paths when the repeater is switched to the simplex mode (Fig 3A and [0094], [0121] & [0163] disclose additional eighth and ninth antenna ports, that connect to receiving modules that include transmit/receive antennas, that can be communicatively coupled to the PA and Nx filter path (i.e. a downlink amplification and filtering path) to support a simplex mode by controlling the 3P3T switch to have the top P port connected to the bottom T port and the middle P port connected to the top T port, and controlling a 4P3T switch to have the top P port connected to the middle or bottom T ports, and controlling a DP3T switch in the receiving modules to have the left P port connected to the Left T port, and controlling a DP4T switch in the receiving module to have either P port connected to the left T port.).
Claims 6, 7, 20 & 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 108880600)(herein after “Yang”) in view of Toyomura et al. (US 2020/0153398)(herein after “Toyomura”), as applied to claims 4 & 18, and further in view of Hau et al. (US 8598951)(herein after “Hau”) and Bergsma et al. (US 2018/0138877)(herein after “Bergsma”) and Rauwolf et al. (US 2020/0284745)(herein after “Rauwolf”) and Sharma et al. (US 2018/0131453)(herein after “Sharma”).
Regarding claim 6, Yang in view of Toyomura disclose the repeater of claim 4.
Yang fails to disclose but Hau further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: disable the one or more second direction amplification and filtering paths by: turning off one or more amplifiers in the second direction amplification and filtering path (Fig 3 & col 9, lines 49-63 disclose disabling a power amplification path by turning off power amplifiers connected in the power amplifier path.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the repeater of claim 4, as disclosed by Yang in view of Toyomura, wherein the controller is further configured to: disable the one or more second direction amplification and filtering paths by: turning off one or more amplifiers in the second direction amplification and filtering path, as further taught by Hau. The motivation to do so would be to disable a power amplification path to a first antenna in a radio frequency system by turning off a power amplifier in the power amplifier path, while enabling a different power amplifier path to a second antenna in order to support SRS transmission polling.
Yang fails to disclose but Bergsma further teaches wherein the disabling is by: reducing an amplification level of the one or more amplifiers in the second direction amplification and filtering path (Figs 5 & 10 and [0101] discloses disabling a variable gain amplifier by reducing a reference current (i.e. to reduce an amplification level).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the repeater of claim 4, wherein the controller is further configured to: disable the one or more second direction amplification and filtering paths, as disclosed by Yang in view of Toyomura and Hau, wherein the disabling is by: reducing an amplification level of the one or more amplifiers in the second direction amplification and filtering path, as further taught by Bergsma. The motivation to do so would be to disable a power amplification path to a first antenna in a radio frequency system by reducing a reference current that disables a variable gain amplifier in the power amplification path, while enabling a different power amplifier path to a second antenna in order to support SRS transmission polling.
Yang fails to disclose but Rauwolf further teaches wherein the disabling is by: increasing an amount of attenuation in the second direction amplification and filtering path (Fig 1 & [0033] disclose disabling a power amplifier operation by increasing an attenuation in a moisture compensation circuit at the input of the power amplifier.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the repeater of claim 4, wherein the controller is further configured to: disable the one or more second direction amplification and filtering paths, as disclosed by Yang in view of Toyomura and Hau, wherein the disabling is by: increasing an amount of attenuation in the second direction amplification and filtering path, as further taught by Rauwolf. The motivation to do so would be to disable a power amplification path to a first antenna in a radio frequency system by increasing the attenuation in a circuit at the input to an amplifier in the power amplification path, while enabling a different power amplifier path to a second antenna in order to support SRS transmission polling.
Yang fails to disclose but Sharma further teaches wherein the disabling is by: shunting one or more signals in the one or more second direction amplification and filtering paths to a ground (Fig 8E & [0092] disclose disabling a circuit path by switching amplifiers to OFF by switching in shunt connections between circuit ground and one or more locations in the circuit path.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the repeater of claim 4, wherein the controller is further configured to: disable the one or more second direction amplification and filtering paths, as disclosed by Yang in view of Toyomura and Hau, wherein the disabling is by: shunting one or more signals in the one or more second direction amplification and filtering paths to a ground, as further taught by Sharma. The motivation to do so would be to disable a power amplification path to a first antenna in a radio frequency system by shunting a connection between circuit ground and one or more locations in a circuit in the power amplification path, while enabling a different power amplifier path to a second antenna in order to support SRS transmission polling.
Regarding claim 7, Yang in view of Toyomura disclose the repeater of claim 4.
Yang fails to disclose but Hau further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: disable the one or more first direction amplification and filtering paths by: turning off one or more amplifiers in the first direction amplification and filtering path (Fig 3 & col 9, lines 49-63 disclose disabling a power amplification path by turning off power amplifiers connected in the power amplifier path.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the repeater of claim 4, as disclosed by Yang in view of Toyomura, wherein the controller is further configured to: disable the one or more first direction amplification and filtering paths by: turning off one or more amplifiers in the first direction amplification and filtering path, as further taught by Hau. The motivation to do so would be to disable an LNA path from a first antenna in a radio frequency system by turning off an LNA in the LNA path, while enabling a different LNA path from a second antenna in order to support receive antenna switching diversity in the radio frequency system.
Yang fails to disclose but Bergsma further teaches wherein the disabling is by: reducing an amplification level of the one or more amplifiers in the first direction amplification and filtering path (Figs 5 & 10 and [0101] discloses disabling a variable gain amplifier by reducing a reference current (i.e. to reduce an amplification level).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the repeater of claim 4, wherein the controller is further configured to: disable the one or more first direction amplification and filtering paths, as disclosed by Yang in view of Toyomura and Hau, wherein the disabling is by: reducing an amplification level of the one or more amplifiers in the first direction amplification and filtering path, as further taught by Bergsma. The motivation to do so would be to disable an LNA path from a first antenna in a radio frequency system by reducing a reference current that disables a variable gain LNA in the LNA path, while enabling a different LNA path to a second antenna in order to support receive antenna switching diversity in the radio frequency system.
Yang fails to disclose but Rauwolf further teaches wherein the disabling is by: increasing an amount of attenuation in the first direction amplification and filtering path (Fig 1 & [0033] disclose disabling a power amplifier operation by increasing an attenuation in a moisture compensation circuit at the input of the power amplifier.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the repeater of claim 4, wherein the controller is further configured to: disable the one or more first direction amplification and filtering paths, as disclosed by Yang in view of Toyomura and Hau, wherein the disabling is by: increasing an amount of attenuation in the first direction amplification and filtering path, as further taught by Rauwolf. The motivation to do so would be to disable an LNA path from a first antenna in a radio frequency system by increasing the attenuation in a circuit at the input to an LNA in the LNA path, while enabling a different LNA path to a second antenna in order to support receive antenna switching diversity in the radio frequency system.
Yang fails to disclose but Sharma further teaches wherein the disabling is by: shunting one or more signals in the one or more first direction amplification and filtering paths to a ground (Fig 8E & [0092] disclose disabling a circuit path by switching amplifiers to OFF by switching in shunt connections between circuit ground and one or more locations in the circuit path.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the repeater of claim 4, wherein the controller is further configured to: disable the one or more first direction amplification and filtering paths, as disclosed by Yang in view of Toyomura and Hau, wherein the disabling is by: shunting one or more signals in the one or more first direction amplification and filtering paths to a ground, as further taught by Sharma. The motivation to do so would be to disable an LNA path to a first antenna in a radio frequency system by shunting a connection between circuit ground and one or more locations in a circuit in the LNA path, while enabling a different LNA path to a second antenna in order to support receive antenna switching diversity in the radio frequency system.
Regarding claim 20, Yang in view of Toyomura disclose the repeater of claim 18.
Yang fails to disclose but Hau further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: disable the one or more downlink amplification and filtering paths by: turning off one or more amplifiers in the downlink amplification and filtering path (Fig 3 & col 9, lines 49-63 disclose disabling a power amplification path by turning off power amplifiers connected in the power amplifier path.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the repeater of claim 18, as disclosed by Yang in view of Toyomura, wherein the controller is further configured to: disable the one or more downlink amplification and filtering paths by: turning off one or more amplifiers in the downlink amplification and filtering path, as further taught by Hau. The motivation to do so would be to disable a downlink power amplification path to a first antenna in a radio frequency system by turning off a power amplifier in the downlink power amplifier path, while enabling a different downlink power amplifier path to a second antenna in order to support SRS transmission polling.
Yang fails to disclose but Bergsma further teaches wherein the disabling is by: reducing an amplification level of the one or more amplifiers in the downlink amplification and filtering path (Figs 5 & 10 and [0101] discloses disabling a variable gain amplifier by reducing a reference current (i.e. to reduce an amplification level).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the repeater of claim 18, wherein the controller is further configured to: disable the one or more downlink amplification and filtering paths, as disclosed by Yang in view of Toyomura and Hau, wherein the disabling is by: reducing an amplification level of the one or more amplifiers in the downlink amplification and filtering path, as further taught by Bergsma. The motivation to do so would be to disable a downlink power amplification path to a first antenna in a radio frequency system by reducing a reference current that disables a variable gain amplifier in the downlink power amplification path, while enabling a different downlink power amplifier path to a second antenna in order to support SRS transmission polling.
Yang fails to disclose but Rauwolf further teaches wherein the disabling is by: increasing an amount of attenuation in the downlink amplification and filtering path (Fig 1 & [0033] disclose disabling a power amplifier operation by increasing an attenuation in a moisture compensation circuit at the input of the power amplifier.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the repeater of claim 18, wherein the controller is further configured to: disable the one or more downlink amplification and filtering paths, as disclosed by Yang in view of Toyomura and Hau, wherein the disabling is by: increasing an amount of attenuation in the downlink amplification and filtering path, as further taught by Rauwolf. The motivation to do so would be to disable a downlink power amplification path to a first antenna in a radio frequency system by increasing the attenuation in a circuit at the input to an amplifier in the downlink power amplification path, while enabling a different downlink power amplifier path to a second antenna in order to support SRS transmission polling.
Yang fails to disclose but Sharma further teaches wherein the disabling is by: shunting one or more signals in the one or more downlink amplification and filtering paths to a ground (Fig 8E & [0092] disclose disabling a circuit path by switching amplifiers to OFF by switching in shunt connections between circuit ground and one or more locations in the circuit path.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the repeater of claim 18, wherein the controller is further configured to: disable the one or more downlink amplification and filtering paths, as disclosed by Yang in view of Toyomura and Hau, wherein the disabling is by: shunting one or more signals in the one or more downlink amplification and filtering paths to a ground, as further taught by Sharma. The motivation to do so would be to disable a downlink power amplification path to a first antenna in a radio frequency system by shunting a connection between circuit ground and one or more locations in a circuit in the downlink power amplification path, while enabling a different downlink power amplifier path to a second antenna in order to support SRS transmission polling.
Regarding claim 21, Yang in view of Toyomura disclose the repeater of claim 18.
Yang fails to disclose but Hau further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: disable the one or more uplink amplification and filtering paths by: turning off one or more amplifiers in the uplink direction amplification and filtering path (Fig 3 & col 9, lines 49-63 disclose disabling a power amplification path by turning off power amplifiers connected in the power amplifier path.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the repeater of claim 18, as disclosed by Yang in view of Toyomura, wherein the controller is further configured to: disable the one or more uplink amplification and filtering paths by: turning off one or more amplifiers in the uplink amplification and filtering path, as further taught by Hau. The motivation to do so would be to disable an LNA path from a first antenna in a radio frequency system by turning off an LNA in the LNA path, while enabling a different LNA path from a second antenna in order to support receive antenna switching diversity in the radio frequency system.
Yang fails to disclose but Bergsma further teaches wherein the disabling is by: reducing an amplification level of the one or more amplifiers in the uplink amplification and filtering path (Figs 5 & 10 and [0101] discloses disabling a variable gain amplifier by reducing a reference current (i.e. to reduce an amplification level).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the repeater of claim 18, wherein the controller is further configured to: disable the one or more uplink amplification and filtering paths, as disclosed by Yang in view of Toyomura and Hau, wherein the disabling is by: reducing an amplification level of the one or more amplifiers in the uplink amplification and filtering path, as further taught by Bergsma. The motivation to do so would be to disable an LNA path from a first antenna in a radio frequency system by reducing a reference current that disables a variable gain LNA in the LNA path, while enabling a different LNA path to a second antenna in order to support receive antenna switching diversity in the radio frequency system.
Yang fails to disclose but Rauwolf further teaches wherein the disabling is by: increasing an amount of attenuation in the uplink amplification and filtering path (Fig 1 & [0033] disclose disabling a power amplifier operation by increasing an attenuation in a moisture compensation circuit at the input of the power amplifier.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the repeater of claim 18, wherein the controller is further configured to: disable the one or more uplink amplification and filtering paths, as disclosed by Yang in view of Toyomura and Hau, wherein the disabling is by: increasing an amount of attenuation in the uplink amplification and filtering path, as further taught by Rauwolf. The motivation to do so would be to disable an LNA path from a first antenna in a radio frequency system by increasing the attenuation in a circuit at the input to an LNA in the LNA path, while enabling a different LNA path to a second antenna in order to support receive antenna switching diversity in the radio frequency system.
Yang fails to disclose but Sharma further teaches wherein the disabling is by: shunting one or more signals in the one or more uplink amplification and filtering paths to a ground (Fig 8E & [0092] disclose disabling a circuit path by switching amplifiers to OFF by switching in shunt connections between circuit ground and one or more locations in the circuit path.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the repeater of claim 18, wherein the controller is further configured to: disable the one or more uplink amplification and filtering paths, as disclosed by Yang in view of Toyomura and Hau, wherein the disabling is by: shunting one or more signals in the one or more uplink amplification and filtering paths to a ground, as further taught by Sharma. The motivation to do so would be to disable an LNA path to a first antenna in a radio frequency system by shunting a connection between circuit ground and one or more locations in a circuit in the LNA path, while enabling a different LNA path to a second antenna in order to support receive antenna switching diversity in the radio frequency system.
Claims 8, 9, 22 & 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 108880600)(herein after “Yang”) in view of Toyomura et al. (US 2020/0153398)(herein after “Toyomura”), as applied to claims 4 & 18, and further in view of Wojnar et al. (US 20210250095)(herein after “Wojnar”) and George et al. (US 20110116794)(herein after “George”).
Regarding claim 8, Yang in view of Toyomura disclose the repeater of claim 4.
Yang fails to disclose, but Wojnar further teaches further comprising: a first broadband fiber optic converter comprising: a first-direction simplex radio frequency (RF) port configured to be communicatively coupled to the second antenna port of the repeater to communicate the first first-direction RF signal (Fig 2 & [0029]-[0030] disclose a centralized hub device 122 (i.e. a first broadband fiber optic converter) comprising a first direction (i.e. from Device #1 to Block Up/Down Converter 212A) RF port on Block Up/Down Converter (BU/DC) 212A that is communicatively coupled to a port of Device #1 (i.e. a second antenna port of a repeater) to communicate RF signal 210 from Device #1 to BU/DC 212A (i.e. a first first-direction RF signal. [0030] discloses that the connection 210 between Device #1 and BU/DC 212A may be with RF waveguides (i.e. the ports on BU/DC 212A would be simplex).);
a second-direction simplex RF port configured to be communicatively coupled to the third antenna port of the repeater to communicate the first second-direction RF signal (Fig 2 & [0029]-[0030] disclose that centralized hub device 122 (i.e. a first broadband fiber optic converter) comprises a second direction (i.e. from BU/CD 212C to Device #3) RF port on BU/DC 212C that is communicatively coupled to a port of Device #2 (i.e. a third antenna port of a repeater) to communicate RF signal 210 from BU/DC 212C to Device #3 (i.e. a first second-direction RF signal. [0030] discloses that the connection 210 between Device #3 and BU/DC 212C may be with RF waveguides (i.e. the ports on BU/DC 212C would be simplex).); and
a fiber optic port configured to communicate a first-direction optical signal comprising the first first-direction RF signal on a first optical fiber (Fig 2 & [0029]-[0031] disclose a fiber optic port 204 configured to communicate a first direction optical carrier signal (i.e. a first direction optical signal), based on converting the RF signal 210 from Device #1 to BU/DC 212A to an optical carrier signal, over a first optical fiber 216 from BU/DC 212A through Multiplexer/Demultiplexer (MD) 214 and to optical cable 120.) and
a second-direction optical signal comprising the first second-direction RF signal on a second optical fiber (Fig 2 & [0029]-[0031] disclose that fiber optic port 204 is configured to communicate a second direction optical carrier signal (i.e. a second direction optical signal), from optical cable 120 through Multiplexer/Demultiplexer (MD) 214 to BU/DC 212C over a second optical fiber 216, that comprises the RF signal 210 from BU/DC 212C to Device #3 after converting the second direction optical carrier signal to an RF signal.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the repeater of claim 4, as disclosed by Yang in view of Toyomura, further comprising: a first broadband fiber optic converter comprising: a first-direction radio frequency (RF) port configured to be communicatively coupled to the second antenna port of the repeater to communicate the first first-direction RF signal; a second-direction RF port configured to be communicatively coupled to the third antenna port of the repeater to communicate the first second-direction RF signal; and a fiber optic port configured to communicate a first-direction optical signal comprising the first first-direction RF signal on a first optical fiber and a second-direction optical signal comprising the first second-direction RF signal on a second optical fiber, as further taught by Wojnar. The motivation to do so would have been to have a centralized hub device for an airplane, connected to an antenna external to the airplane, with two ports to communicate UL and DL direction RF signals received or transmitted by the external antenna to an antenna hub device within the airplane by converting the DL RF signal to a DL optical signal communicated over a first fiber from the centralized hub to the antenna hub and converting an UL optical signal, communicated over a second fiber from the antenna hub to the centralized hub, to the UL RF signal, so that the antenna hub can communicate the UL and DL RF signals to devices located on the airplane.
Yang fails to disclose, but George further teaches wherein the first optical fiber and the second optical fiber are simplex optical fibers (Fig 2 & [0033] discloses an ICU 34 with optical fiber cable ports for carrying up to 36 DL optical fibers (i.e. a first simplex optical fiber for the DL direction) and 36 UL optical fibers (i.e. a second simplex optical fiber for the UL direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the repeater of claim 4, as disclosed by Yang in view of Toyomura, wherein the first optical fiber and the second optical fiber are simplex optical fibers, as further taught by George. The motivation to do so would have been to save cost in transporting UL and DL signals between a centralized hub device and an antenna hub device on an airplane by using less expensive simplex fibers, one for UL and one for DL, than using more expensive 2-way fiber.
Regarding claim 9, Yang in view of Toyomura and Wojnar and George disclose the repeater of claim 8.
Yang fails to disclose, but Wojnar further teaches further comprising: a second broadband fiber optic converter comprising: a fiber optic port configured to be coupled to the fiber optic port of the first broadband fiber optic converter and communicate the first-direction optical signal in the optical fiber comprising the first first-direction RF signal (Figs 2 & 3 and [0035]-[0037] discloses an antenna hub device 124 (i.e. a second broadband fiber optic converter) comprising a fiber optic port 304 configured to be coupled to fiber optic port 204 of the centralized hub device (i.e. the first fiber optic converter) that communicates the first direction optical carrier signal in the first optical fiber comprising the RF signal 210 from Device #1 to BU/DC 212A (i.e. the first direction RF signal) through fiber cable 316 between MD 314 and Optical/Electrical converter 312A.) and
the second-direction optical signal in the second optical fiber comprising the first second-direction RF signal (Figs 2 & 3 and [0035]-[0037] discloses that antenna hub device 124 (i.e. a second broadband fiber optic converter) comprising a fiber optic port 304 is configured to be coupled to fiber optic port 204 of the centralized hub device (i.e. the first fiber optic converter) that communicates the second direction optical carrier signal in the second optical fiber comprising the RF signal 210 from BU/DC 212C to Device #3 (i.e. the second direction RF signal) through fiber cable 316 between MD 314 and Electrical/Optical converter 312C.);
a first-direction RF port configured to be communicatively coupled to the second antenna to communicate the first first-direction RF signal (Fig 3 & [0038] disclose a port on housing 302 for relaying RF signals from O/E converter 312A to a first antenna (i.e. the second antenna) to communicate the RF signal 310 from Optical/Electrical converter 312A (i.e. the first direction RF signal).); and
a second-direction RF port configured to be communicatively coupled to the third antenna to communicate the first second-direction RF signal (Fig 3 & [0038] disclose a port on housing 302 for relaying RF signals from a first antenna (i.e. the third antenna) to E/O converter 312C to communicate the RF signal 310 from Optical/Electrical converter 312C (i.e. the second direction RF signal).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the repeater of claim 4, as disclosed by Yang in view of Toyomura and Wojnar and George, further comprising: a second broadband fiber optic converter comprising: a fiber optic port configured to be coupled to the fiber optic port of the first broadband fiber optic converter and communicate the first-direction optical signal in the optical fiber comprising the first first-direction RF signal and the second-direction optical signal in the second optical fiber comprising the first second-direction RF signal; a first-direction RF port configured to be communicatively coupled to the second antenna to communicate the first first-direction RF signal; and
a second-direction RF port configured to be communicatively coupled to the third antenna to communicate the first second-direction RF signal, as further taught by Wojnar. The motivation to do so would have been to have an antenna hub device for an airplane with two ports to communicate UL and DL direction RF signals with a centralized hub device connected to an antenna external to the airplane, by converting a DL optical carrier signal communicated over a first fiber from the centralized hub to a DL RF signal that can be transmitted by a first antenna connected to one port of the antenna hub, and converting an UL RF signal, received by a second antenna connected to a second port of the antenna hub, to an UL optical carrier signal on a second fiber to the centralized hub, so that the antenna hub can communicate UL and DL RF signals from devices located on the airplane to the centralized hub.
Regarding claim 22, Yang in view of Toyomura disclose the repeater of claim 18.
Yang fails to disclose, but Wojnar further teaches further comprising: a first broadband fiber optic converter comprising: an uplink simplex radio frequency (RF) port configured to be communicatively coupled to the first server antenna port of the repeater to communicate the first uplink RF signal (Fig 2 & [0029]-[0030] disclose a centralized hub device 122 (i.e. a first broadband fiber optic converter) comprising an uplink (i.e. from Device #1 to Block Up/Down Converter 212A) RF port on Block Up/Down Converter (BU/DC) 212A that is communicatively coupled to a port of Device #1 (i.e. a first server antenna port of a repeater) to communicate RF signal 210 from Device #1 to BU/DC 212A (i.e. a first uplink RF signal. [0030] discloses that the connection 210 between Device #1 and BU/DC 212A may be with RF waveguides (i.e. the ports on BU/DC 212A would be simplex).);
a downlink RF port configured to be communicatively coupled to the second server antenna port of the repeater to communicate the first downlink RF signal (Fig 2 & [0029]-[0030] disclose that centralized hub device 122 (i.e. a first broadband fiber optic converter) comprises a downlink (i.e. from BU/CD 212C to Device #3) RF port on BU/DC 212C that is communicatively coupled to a port of Device #2 (i.e. a second server antenna port of a repeater) to communicate RF signal 210 from BU/DC 212C to Device #3 (i.e. a first downlink RF signal.); and
a fiber optic port configured to communicate an uplink optical signal comprising the first uplink RF signal on a first optical fiber (Fig 2 & [0029]-[0031] disclose a fiber optic port 204 configured to communicate an uplink optical carrier signal (i.e. an uplink optical signal), based on converting the RF signal 210 from Device #1 to BU/DC 212A to an optical carrier signal, over a first optical fiber 216 from BU/DC 212A through Multiplexer/Demultiplexer (MD) 214 and to optical cable 120.) and
a downlink optical signal comprising the first downlink RF signal on a second optical fiber (Fig 2 & [0029]-[0031] disclose that fiber optic port 204 is configured to communicate a downlink optical carrier signal (i.e. a downlink optical signal), from optical cable 120 through Multiplexer/Demultiplexer (MD) 214 to BU/DC 212C over a second optical fiber 216, that comprises the RF signal 210 from BU/DC 212C to Device #3 after converting the downlink optical carrier signal to an RF signal.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the repeater of claim 18, as disclosed by Yang in view of Toyomura, further comprising: a first broadband fiber optic converter comprising: an uplink radio frequency (RF) port configured to be communicatively coupled to the first server antenna port of the repeater to communicate the first uplink RF signal; a downlink RF port configured to be communicatively coupled to the second server antenna port of the repeater to communicate the first downlink RF signal; and a fiber optic port configured to communicate an uplink optical signal comprising the first uplink RF signal on a first optical fiber and a downlink optical signal comprising the first downlink RF signal on a second optical fiber, as further taught by Wojnar. The motivation to do so would have been to have a centralized hub device for an airplane, connected to an antenna external to the airplane, with two ports to communicate UL and DL direction RF signals received or transmitted by the external antenna to an antenna hub device within the airplane by converting the DL RF signal to a DL optical signal communicated over a first fiber from the centralized hub to the antenna hub and converting an UL optical signal, communicated over a second fiber from the antenna hub to the centralized hub, to the UL RF signal, so that the antenna hub can communicate the UL and DL RF signals to devices located on the airplane.
Yang fails to disclose, but George further teaches wherein the first optical fiber and the second optical fiber are simplex optical fibers (Fig 2 & [0033] discloses an ICU 34 with optical fiber cable ports for carrying up to 36 DL optical fibers (i.e. a first simplex optical fiber for the DL direction) and 36 UL optical fibers (i.e. a second simplex optical fiber for the UL direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the repeater of claim 18, as disclosed by Yang in view of Toyomura, wherein the first optical fiber and the second optical fiber are simplex optical fibers, as further taught by George. The motivation to do so would have been to save cost in transporting UL and DL signals between a centralized hub device and an antenna hub device on an airplane by using less expensive simplex fibers, one for UL and one for DL, than using more expensive 2-way fiber.
Regarding claim 23, Yang in view of Toyomura and Wojnar and George disclose the repeater of claim 22.
Yang fails to disclose, but Wojnar further teaches further comprising: a second broadband fiber optic converter comprising: a fiber optic port configured to be coupled to the fiber optic port of the first broadband fiber optic converter and communicate the uplink optical signal in the optical fiber comprising the first uplink RF signal (Figs 2 & 3 and [0035]-[0037] discloses an antenna hub device 124 (i.e. a second broadband fiber optic converter) comprising a fiber optic port 304 configured to be coupled to fiber optic port 204 of the centralized hub device (i.e. the first fiber optic converter) that communicates the uplink optical carrier signal in the first optical fiber comprising the RF signal 210 from Device #1 to BU/DC 212A (i.e. the uplink RF signal) through fiber cable 316 between MD 314 and Optical/Electrical converter 312A.) and
the downlink optical signal in the second optical fiber comprising the first downlink RF signal (Figs 2 & 3 and [0035]-[0037] discloses that antenna hub device 124 (i.e. a second broadband fiber optic converter) comprising a fiber optic port 304 is configured to be coupled to fiber optic port 204 of the centralized hub device (i.e. the first fiber optic converter) that communicates the downlink optical carrier signal in the second optical fiber comprising the RF signal 210 from BU/DC 212C to Device #3 (i.e. the downlink RF signal) through fiber cable 316 between MD 314 and Electrical/Optical converter 312C.);
an uplink RF port configured to be communicatively coupled to the first server antenna to communicate the first uplink RF signal (Fig 3 & [0038] disclose a port on housing 302 for relaying RF signals from O/E converter 312A to a first antenna (i.e. the first server antenna) to communicate the RF signal 310 from Optical/Electrical converter 312A (i.e. the first uplink RF signal).); and
a downlink RF port configured to be communicatively coupled to the second server antenna to communicate the first downlink RF signal (Fig 3 & [0038] disclose a port on housing 302 for relaying RF signals from a first antenna (i.e. the second server antenna) to E/O converter 312C to communicate the RF signal 310 from Optical/Electrical converter 312C (i.e. the downlink RF signal).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the repeater of claim 18, as disclosed by Yang in view of Toyomura and Wojnar and George, further comprising: a second broadband fiber optic converter comprising: a fiber optic port configured to be coupled to the fiber optic port of the first broadband fiber optic converter and communicate the uplink optical signal in the optical fiber comprising the first uplink RF signal and the downlink optical signal in the second optical fiber comprising the first downlink RF signal; an uplink RF port configured to be communicatively coupled to the first server antenna to communicate the first uplink RF signal; and a downlink RF port configured to be communicatively coupled to the second server antenna to communicate the first downlink RF signal, as further taught by Wojnar. The motivation to do so would have been to have an antenna hub device for an airplane with two ports to communicate UL and DL direction RF signals with a centralized hub device connected to an antenna external to the airplane, by converting a DL optical carrier signal communicated over a first fiber from the centralized hub to a DL RF signal that can be transmitted by a first antenna connected to one port of the antenna hub, and converting an UL RF signal, received by a second antenna connected to a second port of the antenna hub, to an UL optical carrier signal on a second fiber to the centralized hub, so that the antenna hub can communicate UL and DL RF signals from devices located on the airplane to the centralized hub.
Claims 13 & 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 108880600)(herein after “Yang”) in view of Toyomura et al. (US 2020/0153398)(herein after “Toyomura”), as applied to claims 1 & 15 respectively, and further in view of Braun et al. (US 2022/0345193).
Regarding claims 13 & 27, Yang in view of Toyomura disclose the repeaters of claims 1 & 15.
Yang fails to disclose, but Braun further teaches wherein the repeater is a frequency division duplex (FDD) repeater that is configured for FDD signals or the repeater is a time division duplex (TDD) repeater that is configured for TDD signals (Fig 9 & [0068]-[0069] disclose a switchable repeater wherein when the repeater is operating in TDD mode, filters in the repeater are switched to TDD band filters to pass TDD RF signals and when the repeater is operating in FDD mode, filters in the repeater are switched to FDD band filters to pass FDD RF signals.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the repeater of claims 1 or 15, as disclosed by Yang in view of Toyomura, wherein the repeater is a frequency division duplex (FDD) repeater that is configured for FDD signals or the repeater is a time division duplex (TDD) repeater that is configured for TDD signals, as further taught by Braun. The motivation to do so would have been have a repeater that can support FDD signals or TDD signals in order to provide coverage extension solutions for 5G systems that utilize FDD and TDD.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ghannouchi et al. (US 11606142) discloses a Radio Access Network Using Radio Over Fiber.
Fumika et al. (JP H1093466) discloses a Radio Repeater and Radio Communication System Using the Same.
Zhou et al. (CN 114567361) discloses an FDD/TDD Double-mode Microwave Repeater Station.
Ashworth et al. (CA 3066158 A1) discloses a Time Division Duplex (TDD) Repeater Configured to Communicate with a Spectrum Access System (SAS)
Ashworth et al. (CA 3077930) discloses a Carrier-Aggregation Repeater.
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469