Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to amendment filed on 7/6/26. Claims 1-5 and 7-20 are pending.
Summary of the claimed system and the prior art
(See prior art rejection below for details)
Raphael discloses a structure used to identify metadata 406 that describes a particular information asset in information assets 306, (par. 107). This at least describes a structure, metadata, and particular information asset in information assets 306. The metadata includes any valuable information describing the data in a table (pars. 66-67). Raphael further describes that metadata 406 include pointers or links to information assets 306 (par. 107). This segment at least comprises a pointer/link to an asset. The link relates data information to the asset. In addition, Raphael discloses information assets comprise policy (par. 132). The asset information comprising metadata/attribute information about the relevant asset is used to store information about what asset class the asset belongs to (par. 134). Asset class can be interpreted as asset/object configured to be in different categories of execution, or machine types. This combination of information therefore at least comprises the asset configuration parameter, i.e., asset class, and identifies the asset using the metadata and pointers linking to the relevant asset.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,966,384. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim substantially the same subject matter using broader terminology.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raphael et al (USPN. 2021/0119970) in view of Greenan et al (USPN. 10,027,766).
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 18, Raphael discloses a method, system and a non-transitory computer medium comprising a processor and memory storing account and attributes associated with the accounts, the method comprising (figs. 2, 3 and 8, computer system 312, policy enforcement system 302 on assets, par. 144):
accessing, by a computer system, metadata associated with a plurality of data assets (figs. 3 and 5, Information assets and metadata, items 306, 308 and 326, policy engine 310, cloud network 504 and par. 66-67, X Product and Catalog);
identifying, by the computer system, based at least in part on the metadata, for each of at least a first data asset and a second data asset of the plurality of data assets,
one or more configuration parameters that uniquely identify the respective data asset (pars. 67 and 78, asset and asset name, wherein a pointer is used to point to the name of the asset “X Product Customer Data”), wherein the one or more configuration parameters for the second data asset are different from the one or more configuration parameters for the first data asset (par. 78, “asset type” of a customer and/or product);
identifying, by the computer system, and based at least in part on the metadata, for each data object associated with a respective data asset of the plurality of data assets one or more attributes of a data object that uniquely identify the data object associated with the data asset (pars. 78, asset and asset type being “Financial” account and par. 92, “connection context” such as user device, wherein this information is important to access/implement policies, for the asset name “X Product Customer Data”);
Raphael teaches or suggests generating, by the computer system, for each of the objects, a unique external object identifier for the data object associated with the respective data asset, the unique external object identifier for the data object comprising a set of portions, a first portion of the set of portions comprising the one or more configuration parameters that uniquely identify the respective data asset, a second portion of the set of portions comprising the data object associated with the respective data set and a third portion of the set of portions comprising the one or more attributes that uniquely identify a relationship between the respective data asset and the data object associated with the respective data asset (figs. 3 and 4, par. 107, metadata 406 includes a link to information asset which directly identifies the asset, and tracking changes includes changes to the actual data/attribute of the information asset that comprise configuration parameters, so that tracking is maintained, and par. 134, attribute 702 is predicated upon MD values and part of the link, note that the MD values and attribute 702 comprises portions of sets of portions, comprise the asset class, and include the structure of the asset Financial with customer subsections, see further pars. 66 and 67, wherein sets of information are related and attributes and metadata comprise any valuable data, they are related because data set is a collection of related sets of information that is composed of separate elements, par. 66), wherein a first unique external object identifier generated for a first data object associated with the first data asset is different from a second unique external object identifier generated for a second data object associated with the second data asset based at least in part on the one or more configuration parameters for the first data asset being different from the one or more configuration parameters for the second data asset, (par. 107, MD includes a link between different data objects, wherein multiple different links exist between sets of data objects).
Using unique identifiers is well known to the degree it is not explicitly stated by Raphael. Systems identify different elements of data to interrelate and search/match data of interest.
One such system, Greenan, teaches metadata storing a plurality of columns of data information, directory, policies and table having columns for store ID, store name, storage facility URL, path/directory location, a path, and other columns (fig. 4C, col. 12, lines 29-49, Greenan). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the field before the effective filing date to supplement Greenan column information data in Raphael computer system 312 by accounting for additional layers of interrelated data. One would have been motivated to store additional information in columns of data to interrelate additional schema information (fig. 4 C, schema tables, content, attributes and policy, Greenan).
Raphael in view of Greenan teach,
storing, by the computer system, the unique external object identifier for each of the data objects in a repository of the computer system (figs. 8 and 9, items 806 and 900-906, store the information asset with associations for identification/context, Raphael);
determining by the computer system, an update associated with a first data object, wherein the first data object is associated with the first data asset (fig. 5 and 7, par. 107 and 134, asset/attribute modification change and tracking changes via metadata, Raphael);
responsive to the determining, reconciling by the computer system, a state of the first data object in the repository using the unique external identifier generated for the first data object (fig. 5, pars. 124-128, change to policy descriptor is updated using descriptor timestamps and updating objects accordingly, Raphael); and
transmitting by the computer system, updated information related to the data object (pars. 128-131, policy enforcement points can send an asset identifier to policy engine an information asset for which enforcement of policies is desired, as a result access can be granted or data may be modified based on change, Raphael).
2. The method of claim 1 further comprising: Raphael in view of Greenan teach,receiving, by the computer system, a query related to the first data object (fig. 9 and pars. 146-147, search/request for assets, Raphael); responsive to the query, determining, by the computer system, based at least in part the metadata associated with the data object, that the data object is associated with the unique external object identifier (figs. 7-9, pars. 129 and 134, determine, enforce whether the policy descriptors are current and evaluate, and par. 147, object identifier may be built from metadata, Raphael); using, by the computer system, the first unique external identifier associated with the first data object to retrieve information related to the first data object and transmitting, by the computer system, the updated information related to the first data object to a user of an external system, wherein the data object associated with the first data asset is part of the external system (fig. 9, item 906, pars. 134, forming partially rules to information asset and pars. 147-148, asset is retrieved based on user context and access by user is allowed, Raphael).
3. The method of claim 2, Raphael in view of Greenan teach, wherein the information related to the first data object comprises one or more data values associated with the first data object, a description of the first data object, or a classification of the first data object within the data asset (figs. 1, 3 and 4, par. 52, items 50 and 308, plurality of assets, par. 107, metadata 406 includes a link to information asset which directly identifies the asset, and tracking changes includes changes to the actual data/attribute of the information asset that comprise configuration parameters, so that tracking is maintained on the data values associated with the data object, Raphael).
4. The method of claim 1, Raphael in view of Greenan teach,further comprising responsive to determining the update to the first data object, updating, by the computer system, the information related to the first data object using the unique external identifier for the first data object (figs. 8 and 9, item 808, pars. 116, 119 and 143, update/change to metadata associated with data assets, Raphael);
and transmitting, by the computer system, the updated information related to the first data object to a user of an external system, wherein the first data object associated with the data asset is part of the external system (fig. 9, item 906, pars. 134, forming partially rules to information asset and pars. 147-148, asset is retrieved based on user context and access by user is allowed, Raphael).
5. The method of claim 1, Raphael in view of Greenan teach, wherein the updated information related to the first data object comprises at least one of information related to a change in a name of the data object, information related to a time when the first data object was last accessed, modified or refreshed, or information related to the number of times the first data object was accessed (figs. 8 and 9, item 808, pars. 116, 119 and 143, update/change to metadata associated with data assets, based on timestamp difference, Raphael).
7. The method of claim 1, Raphael in view of Greenan teach, wherein the one or more configuration parameters comprise at least one of a hostname, a port identifier, an Internet Protocol (IP) address, a service name, a Universal Resource Locator (URL), a resource identifier, or a protocol type associated with the plurality of data assets (par. 51, security protection for data and resources, and user portal at least equated to port identifier, Raphael).
8. The method of claim 1, Raphael in view of Greenan teach, wherein the one or more attributes of the data object that uniquely identify the data object associated with the data asset comprise at least one of an object type, a folder type, a namespace, a path, or an internal identifier of the data object (figs. 5 and 7, par. 134, asset class and the type of attributes, Raphael).
9. The method of claim 1, Raphael in view of Greenan teach, further comprising:
Receiving a query related to the first data object (par. 133, input comprises policy descriptor and user context, Raphael); responsive to the query: determining, based at least in part on metadata associated with the first data object, that no first unique external identifier exists for the first data object (par. 129 and 134, determine, enforce whether the policy descriptors are current and evaluate, and par. 147, object identifier may be built from metadata); and based on the determining, transmitting a request to create the first unique external identifier for the data object (fig. 9, item 906, pars. 134, forming partially rules to information asset and pars. 147-148, asset is retrieved based on user context and access by user is allowed, Raphael).
10. The method of claim 1 Raphael in view of Greenan teach, further comprising: using, by the computer system, the first unique external identifier associated with the first data object to retrieve information related to the first data object (fig. 9, item 906, pars. 147-148, asset is retrieved based on user context and asset identifier, Raphael); and transmitting, by the computer system, the information related to the first data object to a user of an external system, wherein the first data object associated with the data asset is part of the external system (fig. 9, item 906, pars. 147-148, asset is retrieved based on user context and access by user is allowed, Raphael).
17. The system of claim 1, Raphael in view of Greenan teach, wherein the one or more attributes of the data object that uniquely identify the data object associated with the data asset comprise at least one of an object type, a folder type, a namespace, a path, or an internal identifier of the data object (figs. 5 and 7, par. 134, asset class and the type of attributes, see also paths, Raphael).
Regarding system claims 12-16 and medium claims 19 and 20, they comprise substantially the same subject matter as method claims 1-5, 7-10 and are therefore rejected to on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/6/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See comments below.
Applicant’s request to hold the Double Patenting rejection until all other issues are resolved is granted.
Applicant alleges “the one or more configuration parameters for the second data asset are different from the one or more configuration parameters for the first data asset” do not appear to be taught by the prior art.
Examiner disagrees. The claimed limitation merely claims two assets (par 67, X product customer data and Y product customer data) with different configurations (par. 78, “asset type” of a customer and/or product), Raphael. The asset types and configuration information differ. The claims fail to claim/require specific different schema/format.
Applicant alleges the amended aspect of the claim comprising updating and reconciling the updated information related to a first data object is novel.
Examiner disagrees. Updating objects and updating their dependencies is performed in repositories and relational databases. For example, the portion of the office action reads,
“determining by the computer system, an update associated with a first data object, wherein the first data object is associated with the first data asset (fig. 5 and 7, par. 107 and 134, asset/attribute modification change and tracking changes via metadata, Raphael);
responsive to the determining, reconciling by the computer system, a state of the first data object in the repository using the unique external identifier generated for the first data object (fig. 5, pars. 124-128, change to policy descriptor is updated using descriptor timestamps and updating objects accordingly, Raphael)”.
The changes to all attributes and data objects are noted by metadata of the system and tracked. Based on changes to data objects and policies, the changes are reflected in the related data objects, such as changes to user account amount.
As such, all allegations are believed moot.
Previous response:
Applicant alleges that the generated unique external object identifier and metadata is different than Raphael’s catalog.
In response, the updated office action, Raphael in view of Greenan teach an extended catalog table 404 as a data structure that stores/organizes metadata for information assets and includes links (par. 107). Metadata 406 includes a link to information asset which directly identifies the asset, and tracking changes includes changes to the actual data/attribute of the information asset that comprise configuration parameters, so that tracking is maintained. All the features of the claimed Identifier are present in Raphael structure comprising a link with any relevant metadata. In addition, Greenan accounts for many additional metadata columns information types which renders the claims obvious.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in the field of data processing:
USPN 2021/0297451 -> Abstract
USPN 2023/0195806 -> par. 27, catalogs and schema
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
October 7, 2026
/MARCIN R FILIPCZYK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2153