Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rastegardoost et al. (US 2020/0314913).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Rastegardoost discloses
An electronic device comprising: at least one processor including processing circuitry; and memory storing instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to (¶ [0447]: a device such as, for example, a wireless device, off-network wireless device, a base station, and/or the like, may comprise one or more processors and memory):
receive a first message including configuration information for performing a random access channel-less handover (RACH-less HO) to a target cell, wherein the configuration information includes a type-1 configured grant (CG) configuration (¶ [0382]: When RACH-less handover is configured, the RRC reconfiguration message may comprise a timing adjustment indication (e.g., TA), and pre-allocated uplink grant for the wireless device to access the target base station. The pre-allocated uplink grant may be periodic. The per-allocated uplink grant configuration may comprise a scheduling offset and/or interval (e.g., configured grant type 1)); and
determine whether the configuration information includes the type-1 CG configuration (¶ [0382]: When RACH-less handover is configured, the RRC reconfiguration message may comprise a timing adjustment indication (e.g., TA), and pre-allocated uplink grant for the wireless device to access the target base station. The pre-allocated uplink grant may be periodic. The per-allocated uplink grant configuration may comprise a scheduling offset and/or interval (e.g., configured grant type 1));
identify a CG physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) occasion based on a determination that the configuration information includes the type-1 CG configuration (¶ [0382]: When RACH-less handover is configured, the RRC reconfiguration message may comprise a timing adjustment indication (e.g., TA), and pre-allocated uplink grant for the wireless device to access the target base station. The pre-allocated uplink grant may be periodic. The per-allocated uplink grant configuration may comprise a scheduling offset and/or interval (e.g., configured grant type 1); ¶ [0401]: the time and frequency resource of the PUSCH (PUSCH occasion); ¶ [0437]: The wireless device may be configured via he RRC reconfiguration message with parameters of one or more PRACH resources and/or one or more PUSCH resources (UL grants) of the target cell); and
transmit, to the target cell, an uplink signal including a second message (¶ [0415]: In the RACH-skip handover procedure, the wireless device may transmit to the target cell, one or more transport blocks via the one or more uplink channel resources. For example, the one or more transport blocks may comprise the RRC reconfiguration complete message) in response to the first message at the identified CG PUSCH occasion when the configuration information includes the type-1 CG configuration (¶ [0382]: When RACH-less handover is configured, the RRC reconfiguration message may comprise a timing adjustment indication (e.g., TA), and pre-allocated uplink grant for the wireless device to access the target base station. The pre-allocated uplink grant may be periodic. The per-allocated uplink grant configuration may comprise a scheduling offset and/or interval (e.g., configured grant type 1); ¶ [0401]: the time and frequency resource of the PUSCH (PUSCH occasion); ¶ [0437]: The wireless device may be configured via he RRC reconfiguration message with parameters of one or more PRACH resources and/or one or more PUSCH resources (UL grants) of the target cell).
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Rastegardoost discloses
wherein: the configuration information further comprises a timing advance (N_TA) set to zero or a value of N_TA of a serving cell (¶ [0380]: RACH-less handover may be used when the source cell may know the TA of the target cell, for example, in synchronous deployments, scenarios when the target cell TA is zero or negligible, or scenarios when the target cell TA is the same as the source cell TA); and
the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic apply the value of N_TA to a timing advance group (TAG) of the target cell, and start a timer associated with the TAG (¶ [0414]: The one or more RRC messages may indicate a timer value (e.g., T304). The wireless device may start a timer (a handover timer) in response to receiving the one or more RRC messages and for a duration indicated by the timer value. The one or more RRC messages may comprise a TA for the target cell that the wireless device may use for the target PTAG of handover. For example, the TA may be zero, and/or equal to the latest TA value of the PTAG associated with MCG, and/or equal to the latest TA value of the PTAG associated with SCG, and/or equal to the latest TA value of the MCG STAG indicated by the STAG Id, and/or equal to the latest TA value of the SCG STAG indicted by the STAG Id. The wireless device may synchronize in the UL direction to a timing of the target base station based on the TA).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Rastegardoost discloses
wherein the type-1CG configuration (¶ [0382]: When RACH-less handover is configured, the RRC reconfiguration message may comprise a timing adjustment indication (e.g., TA), and pre-allocated uplink grant for the wireless device to access the target base station. The pre-allocated uplink grant may be periodic. The per-allocated uplink grant configuration may comprise a scheduling offset and/or interval (e.g., configured grant type 1)) includes at least one of:
a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold for a SSB selection operation (¶ [0280]: an RSRP threshold for a selection of a SS block; ¶ [0413]: The one or more RRC messages may indicate one or more downlink reference signals (e.g., SSBs and/or CSI-RSs) of a second (target) base station (beams configured via dedicated signaling) … The one or more RRC messages may indicate a threshold. The wireless device may compare the RSRP of the one or more downlink reference signals with the threshold … the wireless device may select one of a RACH-skip procedure or a RACH procedure to access a target cell of the target base station; ¶ [0415]: In the RACH-skip handover procedure, the wireless device may transmit to the target cell, one or more transport blocks via the one or more uplink channel resources. For example, the one or more transport blocks may comprise the RRC reconfiguration complete message. The one or more uplink channel resources may be dedicated resources configured via RRC signaling and associated to the at least one downlink reference signal (e.g., SSB) whose received power is above the threshold);
a mapping between a SSB subset and CG PUSCHs (¶ [0382]: When RACH-less handover is configured, the RRC reconfiguration message may comprise a timing adjustment indication (e.g., TA), and pre-allocated uplink grant for the wireless device to access the target base station. The pre-allocated uplink grant may be periodic. The per-allocated uplink grant configuration may comprise a scheduling offset and/or interval (e.g., configured grant type 1); ¶ [0408]: the RACH-less resource allocation may be such that one or more PUSCH resources are associated with one or more SSBs; ¶ [0415]: In the RACH-skip handover procedure, the wireless device may transmit to the target cell, one or more transport blocks via the one or more uplink channel resources. For example, the one or more transport blocks may comprise the RRC reconfiguration complete message. The one or more uplink channel resources may be dedicated resources configured via RRC signaling and associated to the at least one downlink reference signal (e.g., SSB) whose received power is above the threshold; [0430] The one or more RRC messages may further comprise configuration parameters of one or more uplink channel resources associated with the downlink reference signal. The one or more uplink channel resources may be associated with the one or more random access channel resources and/or preambles. For example, the one or more RRC messages may comprise one or more parameters that indicate at least one mapping between an uplink channel resource (PUSCH occasion) and a RACH occasion (RO) and/or preamble. For example, single and/or multiple PUSCH occasions may be mapped to single and/or multiple ROs and/or preambles. For example, the one or more random access channel resources may be available/configured for 4-step RACH preamble (Msg1) transmissions. For example, the one or more uplink channel resources may be available/configured for RACH-less PUSCH transmissions);
a number of SSBs per CG PUSCH ¶ [0408]: the RACH-less resource allocation may be such that one or more PUSCH resources are associated with one or more SSBs);
a retransmission timer value for a transmission of the uplink signal (¶ [0385]: When a first PUSCH transmission in a RACH-less HO fails, the wireless device may perform power ramping and retransmit the PUSCH. For example, the RRC message comprising the HO command may indicate parameters of power ramping and resources for PUSCH retransmission. A timer and/or a counter may be running in the wireless device side to control PUSCH retransmissions. A RACH-less procedure may fail when, for example, the timer and/or the counter expires);
a number of demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequences for the number of SSBs to the CG PUSCH mapping;
a set of DMRS ports for the number of SSBs to the CG PUSCH mapping; or
power control parameters including a value of P0 and an alpha value for the transmission of the uplink signal.
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Rastegardoost discloses
wherein, when performing the transmission of the uplink signal for the RACH-less HO (¶ [0382]: When RACH-less handover is configured, the RRC reconfiguration message may comprise a timing adjustment indication (e.g., TA), and pre-allocated uplink grant for the wireless device to access the target base station), the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device configured to (¶ [0447]: a device such as, for example, a wireless device, off-network wireless device, a base station, and/or the like, may comprise one or more processors and memory:
determine at least one SSB in the number of SSBs corresponding to the CG PUSCH (¶ [0382]: When RACH-less handover is configured, the RRC reconfiguration message may comprise a timing adjustment indication (e.g., TA), and pre-allocated uplink grant for the wireless device to access the target base station. The pre-allocated uplink grant may be periodic. The per-allocated uplink grant configuration may comprise a scheduling offset and/or interval (e.g., configured grant type 1; ¶ [0408]: the RACH-less resource allocation may be such that one or more PUSCH resources are associated with one or more SSBs) with a synchronization signal-RSRP (SS-RSRP) beyond the RSRP threshold is available (¶ [0387]: The wireless device may select a first DL beam when, for example, the RSRP of the first DL beam is above a configured threshold. In the RACH-less procedure there is no PRACH transmission, and the UL to DL correspondence may be created via the PUSCH transmission. The PUSCH resource (UL grant) may be associated to a specific DL beam);
select a SSB (¶ [0382]: When RACH-less handover is configured, the RRC reconfiguration message may comprise a timing adjustment indication (e.g., TA), and pre-allocated uplink grant for the wireless device to access the target base station. The pre-allocated uplink grant may be periodic. The per-allocated uplink grant configuration may comprise a scheduling offset and/or interval (e.g., configured grant type 1; ¶ [0408]: the RACH-less resource allocation may be such that one or more PUSCH resources are associated with one or more SSBs) with the SS-RSRP beyond the RSRP threshold (¶ [0387]: The wireless device may select a first DL beam when, for example, the RSRP of the first DL beam is above a configured threshold. In the RACH-less procedure there is no PRACH transmission, and the UL to DL correspondence may be created via the PUSCH transmission. The PUSCH resource (UL grant) may be associated to a specific DL beam) among the number of SSBs corresponding to the CG PUSCH (¶ [0382]: When RACH-less handover is configured, the RRC reconfiguration message may comprise a timing adjustment indication (e.g., TA), and pre-allocated uplink grant for the wireless device to access the target base station. The pre-allocated uplink grant may be periodic. The per-allocated uplink grant configuration may comprise a scheduling offset and/or interval (e.g., configured grant type 1; ¶ [0408]: the RACH-less resource allocation may be such that one or more PUSCH resources are associated with one or more SSBs);
indicate an index of the selected SSB to a lower layer (¶ [0294]: Functions performed by a MAC entity may comprise mapping between logical channels and transport channels (e.g., in uplink or downlink), multiplexing (e.g. 1352 or 1362) of MAC SDUs from one or different logical channels onto transport blocks (TB) to be delivered to the physical layer on transport channels (e.g., in uplink); ¶ [0318]: the MAC entity may select the first downlink reference signal (e.g., a first SS/PBCH block (SSB)); and
identify that the CG PUSCH is valid (¶ [0387]: The wireless device may select a first DL beam when, for example, the RSRP of the first DL beam is above a configured threshold. In the RACH-less procedure there is no PRACH transmission, and the UL to DL correspondence may be created via the PUSCH transmission. The PUSCH resource (UL grant) may be associated to a specific DL beam; ¶ [0415]: In the RACH-skip handover procedure, the wireless device may transmit to the target cell, one or more transport blocks via the one or more uplink channel resources. For example, the one or more transport blocks may comprise the RRC reconfiguration complete message).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Rastegardoost discloses
wherein:
the first message is a radio resource reconfiguration (RRCReconfiguration) message (¶ [0382]: When RACH-less handover is configured, the RRC reconfiguration message may comprise a timing adjustment indication (e.g., TA), and pre-allocated uplink grant for the wireless device to access the target base station. The pre-allocated uplink grant may be periodic. The per-allocated uplink grant configuration may comprise a scheduling offset and/or interval (e.g., configured grant type 1)) and the second message is a radio resource reconfiguration complete (RRCReconfigurationComplete) message (¶ [0415]: In the RACH-skip handover procedure, the wireless device may transmit to the target cell, one or more transport blocks via the one or more uplink channel resources. For example, the one or more transport blocks may comprise the RRC reconfiguration complete message); and
the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to (¶ [0447]: a device such as, for example, a wireless device, off-network wireless device, a base station, and/or the like, may comprise one or more processors and memory):
control a retransmission timer for a time duration after a transmission on the CG PUSCH for a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process of the transmission of the uplink signal for the RACH-less HO, and prohibit a retransmission of the HARQ process in the time duration (¶ [0382]: When RACH-less handover is configured, the RRC reconfiguration message may comprise a timing adjustment indication (e.g., TA), and pre-allocated uplink grant for the wireless device to access the target base station. The pre-allocated uplink grant may be periodic. The per-allocated uplink grant configuration may comprise a scheduling offset and/or interval (e.g., configured grant type 1)); ¶ [0385]: When a first PUSCH transmission in a RACH-less HO fails, the wireless device may perform power ramping and retransmit the PUSCH. For example, the RRC message comprising the HO command may indicate parameters of power ramping and resources for PUSCH retransmission. A timer and/or a counter may be running in the wireless device side to control PUSCH retransmissions. A RACH-less procedure may fail when, for example, the timer and/or the counter expires).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Rastegardoost discloses
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to:
start or restart the retransmission timer for the HARQ process at a beginning instance of a first symbol of the CG PUSCH (¶ [0385]: The wireless device may determine that the RACH-less (PUSCH) transmission has failed, for example when it does not receive any downlink control information (e.g. PDCCH and/or HARQ) during a monitoring window and/or receives a NACK from the target base station (if HARQ is configured; When a first PUSCH transmission in a RACH-less HO fails, the wireless device may perform power ramping and retransmit the PUSCH; ¶ [0414]: The wireless device may start a timer (a handover timer) in response to receiving the one or more RRC messages and for a duration indicated by the timer value); and
stop the retransmission timer for the HARQ process when an uplink grant has been received on the a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) addressed to a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) (¶ [0415]: In the RACH-skip handover procedure, the wireless device may transmit to the target cell, one or more transport blocks via the one or more uplink channel resources. For example, the one or more transport blocks may comprise the RRC reconfiguration complete message; ¶ [0417] The wireless device may determine, based on the received downlink control information, that the handover procedure is successfully completed. For example, the MAC entity of the wireless device may indicate successful reception of the downlink control information addressed to the wireless device identifier. The wireless device may then stop the timer (the handover timer, e.g. T304) in response to receiving the downlink control information; ¶ [0419]: a wireless device identifier (e.g., C-RNTI, and/or RA-RNTI, and/or TC-RNTI). The one or more random access channel resources may comprise one or more time resources, and one or more frequency resources, and one or more preamble sequences. The one or more RRC messages may indicate a timer value (e.g., T304). The wireless device may start a timer (a handover timer) in response to receiving the one or more RRC messages and for a duration indicated by the timer value).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Rastegardoost discloses
wherein:
the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively,
further cause the electronic device to:
receive a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) addressed to a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) with a downlink assignment after the transmission of the uplink signal for the RACH-less HO; and indicate, to a higher layer, a completion of the RACH-less HO when the RACH-less HO is active, and stop a timer (T304) (¶ [0224]: a physical layer may provide one or more information transfer services to a MAC and/or one or more higher layers. For example, the physical layer may provide the one or more information transfer services to the MAC via one or more transport channels. An information transfer service may indicate how and with what characteristics data are transferred over the radio interface; ¶ [0415]: In the RACH-skip handover procedure, the wireless device may transmit to the target cell, one or more transport blocks via the one or more uplink channel resources. For example, the one or more transport blocks may comprise the RRC reconfiguration complete message; ¶ [0417] The wireless device may determine, based on the received downlink control information, that the handover procedure is successfully completed. For example, the MAC entity of the wireless device may indicate successful reception of the downlink control information addressed to the wireless device identifier. The wireless device may then stop the timer (the handover timer, e.g. T304) in response to receiving the downlink control information; ¶ [0419]: a wireless device identifier (e.g., C-RNTI, and/or RA-RNTI, and/or TC-RNTI). The one or more random access channel resources may comprise one or more time resources, and one or more frequency resources, and one or more preamble sequences. The one or more RRC messages may indicate a timer value (e.g., T304). The wireless device may start a timer (a handover timer) in response to receiving the one or more RRC messages and for a duration indicated by the timer value).
Regarding claim 17, Rastegardoost discloses
An method of a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising (¶ [0447]: a device such as, for example, a wireless device, off-network wireless device, a base station, and/or the like, may comprise one or more processors and memory):
generating a first message including configuration information for performing a random access channel-less handover (RACH-less HO) to a target cell, wherein the configuration information includes a type-1 configured grant (CG) configuration; and transmitting the first message is used for performing a random access channel-less handover (RACH-less HO) to a target cell (¶ [0382]: When RACH-less handover is configured, the RRC reconfiguration message may comprise a timing adjustment indication (e.g., TA), and pre-allocated uplink grant for the wireless device to access the target base station. The pre-allocated uplink grant may be periodic. The per-allocated uplink grant configuration may comprise a scheduling offset and/or interval (e.g., configured grant type 1)),
wherein whether the configuration information includes the type-1 CG configuration is determined (¶ [0382]: When RACH-less handover is configured, the RRC reconfiguration message may comprise a timing adjustment indication (e.g., TA), and pre-allocated uplink grant for the wireless device to access the target base station. The pre-allocated uplink grant may be periodic. The per-allocated uplink grant configuration may comprise a scheduling offset and/or interval (e.g., configured grant type 1));
wherein a CG physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) occasion is identified based on a determination that the configuration information includes the type-1 CG configuration (¶ [0382]: When RACH-less handover is configured, the RRC reconfiguration message may comprise a timing adjustment indication (e.g., TA), and pre-allocated uplink grant for the wireless device to access the target base station. The pre-allocated uplink grant may be periodic. The per-allocated uplink grant configuration may comprise a scheduling offset and/or interval (e.g., configured grant type 1); ¶ [0401]: the time and frequency resource of the PUSCH (PUSCH occasion); ¶ [0437]: The wireless device may be configured via he RRC reconfiguration message with parameters of one or more PRACH resources and/or one or more PUSCH resources (UL grants) of the target cell); and
wherein an uplink signal including a second message (¶ [0415]: In the RACH-skip handover procedure, the wireless device may transmit to the target cell, one or more transport blocks via the one or more uplink channel resources. For example, the one or more transport blocks may comprise the RRC reconfiguration complete message) in response to the first message at the identified CG PUSCH occasion is received for the target cell when the configuration information includes the type-1 CG configuration (¶ [0382]: When RACH-less handover is configured, the RRC reconfiguration message may comprise a timing adjustment indication (e.g., TA), and pre-allocated uplink grant for the wireless device to access the target base station. The pre-allocated uplink grant may be periodic. The per-allocated uplink grant configuration may comprise a scheduling offset and/or interval (e.g., configured grant type 1); ¶ [0401]: the time and frequency resource of the PUSCH (PUSCH occasion); ¶ [0437]: The wireless device may be configured via he RRC reconfiguration message with parameters of one or more PRACH resources and/or one or more PUSCH resources (UL grants) of the target cell).
Regarding claim 18, Rastegardoost discloses
wherein: the configuration information further comprises a timing advance (N_TA) set to zero or a value of N_TA of a serving cell (¶ [0380]: RACH-less handover may be used when the source cell may know the TA of the target cell, for example, in synchronous deployments, scenarios when the target cell TA is zero or negligible, or scenarios when the target cell TA is the same as the source cell TA); and
wherein the type-1CG configuration (¶ [0382]: When RACH-less handover is configured, the RRC reconfiguration message may comprise a timing adjustment indication (e.g., TA), and pre-allocated uplink grant for the wireless device to access the target base station. The pre-allocated uplink grant may be periodic. The per-allocated uplink grant configuration may comprise a scheduling offset and/or interval (e.g., configured grant type 1)) includes at least one of:
a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold for a SSB selection operation (¶ [0280]: an RSRP threshold for a selection of a SS block; ¶ [0413]: The one or more RRC messages may indicate one or more downlink reference signals (e.g., SSBs and/or CSI-RSs) of a second (target) base station (beams configured via dedicated signaling) … The one or more RRC messages may indicate a threshold. The wireless device may compare the RSRP of the one or more downlink reference signals with the threshold … the wireless device may select one of a RACH-skip procedure or a RACH procedure to access a target cell of the target base station; ¶ [0415]: In the RACH-skip handover procedure, the wireless device may transmit to the target cell, one or more transport blocks via the one or more uplink channel resources. For example, the one or more transport blocks may comprise the RRC reconfiguration complete message. The one or more uplink channel resources may be dedicated resources configured via RRC signaling and associated to the at least one downlink reference signal (e.g., SSB) whose received power is above the threshold);
a mapping between a SSB subset and CG PUSCHs (¶ [0382]: When RACH-less handover is configured, the RRC reconfiguration message may comprise a timing adjustment indication (e.g., TA), and pre-allocated uplink grant for the wireless device to access the target base station. The pre-allocated uplink grant may be periodic. The per-allocated uplink grant configuration may comprise a scheduling offset and/or interval (e.g., configured grant type 1); ¶ [0408]: the RACH-less resource allocation may be such that one or more PUSCH resources are associated with one or more SSBs; ¶ [0415]: In the RACH-skip handover procedure, the wireless device may transmit to the target cell, one or more transport blocks via the one or more uplink channel resources. For example, the one or more transport blocks may comprise the RRC reconfiguration complete message. The one or more uplink channel resources may be dedicated resources configured via RRC signaling and associated to the at least one downlink reference signal (e.g., SSB) whose received power is above the threshold; [0430] The one or more RRC messages may further comprise configuration parameters of one or more uplink channel resources associated with the downlink reference signal. The one or more uplink channel resources may be associated with the one or more random access channel resources and/or preambles. For example, the one or more RRC messages may comprise one or more parameters that indicate at least one mapping between an uplink channel resource (PUSCH occasion) and a RACH occasion (RO) and/or preamble. For example, single and/or multiple PUSCH occasions may be mapped to single and/or multiple ROs and/or preambles. For example, the one or more random access channel resources may be available/configured for 4-step RACH preamble (Msg1) transmissions. For example, the one or more uplink channel resources may be available/configured for RACH-less PUSCH transmissions);
a number of SSBs per CG PUSCH (¶ [0382]: When RACH-less handover is configured, the RRC reconfiguration message may comprise a timing adjustment indication (e.g., TA), and pre-allocated uplink grant for the wireless device to access the target base station. The pre-allocated uplink grant may be periodic. The per-allocated uplink grant configuration may comprise a scheduling offset and/or interval (e.g., configured grant type 1; ¶ [0408]: the RACH-less resource allocation may be such that one or more PUSCH resources are associated with one or more SSBs);
a retransmission timer value for a transmission of the uplink signal (¶ [0385]: When a first PUSCH transmission in a RACH-less HO fails, the wireless device may perform power ramping and retransmit the PUSCH. For example, the RRC message comprising the HO command may indicate parameters of power ramping and resources for PUSCH retransmission. A timer and/or a counter may be running in the wireless device side to control PUSCH retransmissions. A RACH-less procedure may fail when, for example, the timer and/or the counter expires);
a number of demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequences for the number of SSBs to the CG PUSCH mapping;
a set of DMRS ports for the number of SSBs to the CG PUSCH mapping; or
power control parameters including a value of P0 and an alpha value for the transmission of the uplink signal.
Regarding claim 19, Rastegardoost discloses
wherein the first message is a radio resource reconfiguration (RRCReconfiguration) message (¶ [0382]: When RACH-less handover is configured, the RRC reconfiguration message may comprise a timing adjustment indication (e.g., TA), and pre-allocated uplink grant for the wireless device to access the target base station. The pre-allocated uplink grant may be periodic. The per-allocated uplink grant configuration may comprise a scheduling offset and/or interval (e.g., configured grant type 1)) and the second message is a radio resource reconfiguration complete (RRCReconfigurationComplete) message (¶ [0415]: In the RACH-skip handover procedure, the wireless device may transmit to the target cell, one or more transport blocks via the one or more uplink channel resources. For example, the one or more transport blocks may comprise the RRC reconfiguration complete message).
Regarding claim 20, Rastegardoost discloses
further comprising transmitting a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) addressed to a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) with a downlink assignment after the transmission of the uplink signal for the RACH-less HO (¶ [0415]: In the RACH-skip handover procedure, the wireless device may transmit to the target cell, one or more transport blocks via the one or more uplink channel resources. For example, the one or more transport blocks may comprise the RRC reconfiguration complete message; ¶ [0417] The wireless device may determine, based on the received downlink control information, that the handover procedure is successfully completed. For example, the MAC entity of the wireless device may indicate successful reception of the downlink control information addressed to the wireless device identifier. The wireless device may then stop the timer (the handover timer, e.g. T304) in response to receiving the downlink control information; ¶ [0419]: a wireless device identifier (e.g., C-RNTI, and/or RA-RNTI, and/or TC-RNTI). The one or more random access channel resources may comprise one or more time resources, and one or more frequency resources, and one or more preamble sequences. The one or more RRC messages may indicate a timer value (e.g., T304). The wireless device may start a timer (a handover timer) in response to receiving the one or more RRC messages and for a duration indicated by the timer value).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegardoost et al. (US 2020/0314913) in view of Agiwal et al. (US 2020/0260500).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Rastegardoost discloses
wherein, when performing the transmission of the uplink signal for the RACH-less HO, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to perform a random access procedure for the target cell (¶ [0385]: When the RACH-less procedure fails, the wireless device may fallback to perform a random access (e.g., a contention-based and/or a contention-free random access) procedure in the target cell) based on a determination that the at least one SSB in the number of SSBs corresponding to the type-1 CG configuration with the SS-RSRP beyond the RSRP threshold … (¶ [0387]: The wireless device may select a first DL beam when, for example, the RSRP of the first DL beam is above a configured threshold. In the RACH-less procedure there is no PRACH transmission, and the UL to DL correspondence may be created via the PUSCH transmission. The PUSCH resource (UL grant) may be associated to a specific DL beam).
Rastegardoost discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein, when performing the transmission of the uplink signal for the RACH-less HO, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to perform a random access procedure for the target cell based on a determination that the at least one SSB in the number of SSBs corresponding to the … configuration with the SS-RSRP beyond the RSRP threshold is unavailable. Agiwal from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses wherein, when performing the transmission of the uplink signal for the RACH-less HO, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to perform a random access procedure for the target cell based on a determination that the at least one SSB in the number of SSBs corresponding to the … configuration with the SS-RSRP beyond the RSRP threshold is unavailable (¶ [0201]: [0201] FIG. 17 is a flowchart of a method of handling a fallback to random access during a random access channel less (RACH-less) handover according to an embodiment; ¶¶ [0220]-[0221]; If there is not any SSB/CSI-RS with an SS-RSRP/CSI-RSRP above a configured ss-rsrp-threshold/csi-rsrp-threshold amongst the SSB(s)/CSI RS(s) associated with the pre-allocated UL grant(s), the UE 1701 performs the following operation in step 1730: If fallback Indication is set to TRUE in RRCReconfiguration message, UE fallbacks to random access procedure i.e. it initiates random access procedure (1760)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching, i.e., fallback to perform a random access when the RACH-less procedure fails, of Rastegardoost by handling a fallback to random access during a RACH-less handover if there is not any SSB with an SS-RSRP above a configured ss-rsrp-threshold amongst the SSB(s). The motivation would have been to handle a fallback to random access during a random access channel less (RACH-less) handover to supporting higher data rates beyond a 4G communication system (¶¶ [0007] and [0201]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Agiwal et al. (US 202/0150975) discloses “If there is at least one SSB/CSI-RS with SS-RSRP/CSI-RSRP above a configured ss-rsrp-threshold/csi-rsrp-threshold amongst the SSB(s)/CSI RS(s) associated with pre-allocated UL grant(s) that is available, the UE 1701 performs the following operation in step 1730: [0205] UE skip RACH towards the target cell” (¶ [0204].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479