Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6-10, 14, 15, 17, 19, & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Agiwal et al (2020/0260500).
Regarding claim 1, Agiwal discloses
a transceiver (FIG. 20 transceiver) configured to receive a first message including configuration information for performing a random access channel-less handover (RACH-less HO) to a target cell (Paragraph [0202]: a UE 1701 receives an RRCReconfiguration message from a source cell 1703 (e.g., a gNB) in step 1710. spCellConfig in the RRCReconfiguration message includes reconfigurationWithSync. Information (e.g. an indication to skip RACH) in reconfigurationWithSync IE indicates that the UE 1701 shall skip RACH towards a target cell 1705), wherein the configuration information includes a configured grant (CG) configuration (Paragraph [0202]: a UE 1701 receives an RRCReconfiguration message from a source cell 1703 (e.g., a gNB) in step 1710. spCellConfig in the RRCReconfiguration message includes reconfigurationWithSync. Information (e.g. an indication to skip RACH) in reconfigurationWithSync IE indicates that the UE 1701 shall skip RACH towards a target cell 1705. The RRCReconfiguration message includes a pre-allocated UL grant configuration (parameters indicate periodically occurring UL grants)) or a beam indication (¶ [0168] RACH Less Handover or Reconfiguration Paragraph [0169]: For PDCCH beam indication, a set of TCI states are RRC configured per CORESET; Paragraph [0344]: The UL grant may either be pre-configured in the RRCReconfiguration message or if not pre-configured then provided on the PDCCH in the target cell);
and a processor operably coupled with the transceiver (Paragraph [0353]: the terminal 2000 includes a transceiver 2010, a controller 2020 … The controller 2020 may refer to circuitry, an ASIC, or at least one processor), the processor (FIG. 20 controller) configured to:
determine whether the configuration information includes the CG configuration (Paragraph [0202]: a UE 1701 receives an RRCReconfiguration message from a source cell 1703 (e.g., a gNB) in step 1710. spCellConfig in the RRCReconfiguration message includes reconfigurationWithSync. Information (e.g. an indication to skip RACH) in reconfigurationWithSync IE indicates that the UE 1701 shall skip RACH towards a target cell 1705. The RRCReconfiguration message includes a pre-allocated UL grant configuration (parameters indicate periodically occurring UL grants)) or the beam indication (Paragraph [0169]: For PDCCH beam indication, a set of TCI states are RRC configured per CORESET; Paragraph [0344]: The UL grant may either be pre-configured in the RRCReconfiguration message or if not pre-configured then provided on the PDCCH in the target cell),
identify a CG physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) occasion (¶ [0208]: Transmit ReconfigurationComplete in UL grant (amongst the pre-allocated UL grants) corresponding to selected SSB/CSI-RS (1750); Paragraphs [0247], [0250]: UE skip RACH towards the target cell … Transmit ReconfigurationComplete in UL grant (amongst the pre-allocated UL grants) corresponding to selected SSB/CSI-RS (1880); Note: Agiwal repeatedly uses “pre‑allocated/periodic UL grants” in the RRCReconfiguration for RACH‑less HO. In NR, that is the functional equivalent of configured‑grant PUSCH occasions (pre‑configured UL transmission opportunities not requiring per‑transmission DCI)) based on a determination that the configuration information includes the CG configuration (Paragraph [0202]: a UE 1701 receives an RRCReconfiguration message from a source cell 1703 (e.g., a gNB) in step 1710. spCellConfig in the RRCReconfiguration message includes reconfigurationWithSync. Information (e.g. an indication to skip RACH) in reconfigurationWithSync IE indicates that the UE 1701 shall skip RACH towards a target cell 1705. The RRCReconfiguration message includes a pre-allocated UL grant configuration (parameters indicate periodically occurring UL grants)), or
identify a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state identifier (ID) or a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) index based on a determination that the configuration information includes the beam indication (Paragraph [0168] RACH Less Handover or Reconfiguration; ¶ [0169]: For PDCCH beam indication, a set of TCI states are RRC configured per CORESET. One TCI state amongst these based on which UE determines the PDCCH beam is indicated by a MAC CE; Paragraph [0344]: The UL grant may either be pre-configured in the RRCReconfiguration message or if not pre-configured then provided on the PDCCH in the target cell),
wherein the transceiver is further configured to: transmit, to the target cell, an uplink signal including a second message in response to the first message at the identified CG PUSCH occasion (¶ [0208]: Transmit ReconfigurationComplete in UL grant (amongst the pre-allocated UL grants) corresponding to selected SSB/CSI-RS (1750); Paragraphs [0247], [0250]: UE skip RACH towards the target cell … Transmit ReconfigurationComplete in UL grant (amongst the pre-allocated UL grants) corresponding to selected SSB/CSI-RS (1880) when the configuration information includes the CG configuration (¶ [0202]: a UE 1701 receives an RRCReconfiguration message from a source cell 1703 (e.g., a gNB) in step 1710. spCellConfig in the RRCReconfiguration message includes reconfigurationWithSync. Information (e.g. an indication to skip RACH) in reconfigurationWithSync IE indicates that the UE 1701 shall skip RACH towards a target cell 1705. The RRCReconfiguration message includes a pre-allocated UL grant configuration (parameters indicate periodically occurring UL grants)), or transmit, to the target cell, the uplink signal including a second message (Paragraph [0197]: transmitting UL data) in response to the first message based on an uplink grant received in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Paragraph [0344]: The UL grant may either be pre-configured in the RRCReconfiguration message or if not pre-configured then provided on the PDCCH in the target cell), the PDCCH being monitored based on the beam indication when the configuration information includes the beam indication (Paragraph [0169]: For PDCCH beam indication, a set of TCI states are RRC configured per CORESET. One TCI state amongst these based on which UE determines the PDCCH beam is indicated by a MAC CE).
Regarding claim 2, Agiwal teaches the UE according to claim 1. Agiwal teaches wherein: the configuration information further comprises a timing advance (N_TA) set to zero or a value of N_TA of a serving cell; (Paragraph [0197]: For UL transmission in a target cell, a handover command also indicates whether to apply timing advanced of source cell or TA equals zero.)
and the processor is further configured to: apply the value of N_TA to a timing advance group (TAG) of the target cell, and start a timer associated with the TAG. (Paragraph [0329]: The information also indicates that the target timing advance (i.e., a targetTA) (i.e., a TA of a primary timing advance group (PTAG) or a secondary timing advance group (STAG) in the source gNB), that the UE should use for a UL transmission in the PTAG at the target gNB.) (Paragraph [0330]: The UE initializes the TAT timer of the PTAG to a remaining value of TAT timer of the targetTA.)
Regarding claim 6, Agiwal teaches the UE according to claim 1. Agiwal teaches wherein: the first message is a radio resource reconfiguration (RRCReconfiguration) message and the second message is a radio resource reconfiguration complete (RRCReconfigurationComplete) message; (Paragraph [0221]: If fallback Indication is set to TRUE in RRCReconfiguration message, UE fallbacks to random access procedure i.e. it initiates random access procedure (1760). [0222]: ReconfigurationComplete is transmitted in UL grant received in RAR.)
and the processor is further configured to: control a retransmission timer for a time duration after a transmission on the CG PUSCH for a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process of the transmission of the uplink signal for the RACH-less HO, (Paragraph [0104]: Upon transmitting the msgA payload in the UL grant received in the msgB, if the UE 801 receives a PDCCH addressed to a C-RNTI for an HARQ process zero with an NDI not toggled, the UE 801 performs an HARQ retransmission.) (Paragraph [0345]: the validity of the UL grant may be based on a timer (specified in number of radio frames) provided in RRCReconfiguration message. [0346] If such a timer is configured, then the start of the timer at the UE is a system frame number (SFN) in which it receives the RRCReconfiguration message.) (Examiner’s Notes: Fig 19 illustrates handling during RACH-less embodiment according to embodiment)
and prohibit a retransmission of the HARQ process in the time duration. (Paragraph [0076]: the UE 301 receives the PDCCH addressed to the C-RNTI, the random access procedure is completed. Upon completion of the random access procedure, buffers and/or HARQ buffers used for the MsgA are discarded.)(Paragraph [0345]: the validity of the UL grant may be based on a timer (specified in number of radio frames) provided in RRCReconfiguration message. [0346] If such a timer is configured, then the start of the timer at the UE is a system frame number (SFN) in which it receives the RRCReconfiguration message.)
Regarding claim 7, Agiwal teaches the UE according to claim 6. Agiwal teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: start or restart the retransmission timer for the HARQ process at a beginning instance of a first symbol of the CG PUSCH; (Paragraph [0327]: The handover command indicates to use TA of a source cell for UL transmission in a target cell. A TAT timer remaining in the source cell at the time the handover command is received is X ms (e.g. 10 ms). The TA of the source cell may become invalid during handover execution if RACH-less handover is not completed within X ms.)
and stop the retransmission timer for the HARQ process when an uplink grant has been received on the PDCCH addressed to a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI). (Paragraph [0061]: While the contention resolution timer is running, if the UE receives a PDCCH addressed to a C-RNTI included in the Msg3, contention resolution is considered successful, the contention resolution timer is stopped and the RA procedure is completed. While the contention resolution timer is running, if the UE receives a contention resolution MAC CE including the UE's contention resolution identity (first X bits of common control channel (CCCH) service data unit (SDU) transmitted in the Msg3), contention resolution is considered successful, the contention resolution timer is stopped and the RA procedure is completed.) (Paragraph [0076]: the UE 301 receives the PDCCH addressed to the C-RNTI, the random access procedure is completed. Upon completion of the random access procedure, buffers and/or HARQ buffers used for the MsgA are discarded.)
Regarding claim 8, Agiwal teaches wherein: the transceiver is further configured to receive the PDCCH addressed to a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) with a downlink assignment after the transmission of the uplink signal for the RACH-less HO; (Paragraph [0076]: the UE 301 receives the PDCCH addressed to the C-RNTI, the random access procedure is completed. Upon completion of the random access procedure, buffers and/or HARQ buffers used for the MsgA are discarded.)
and the processor is further configured to: indicate, to a higher layer, a completion of the RACH-less HO when the RACH- less HO is active, and stop a timer (T304). (Paragraph [0076]: Upon completion of the random access procedure, buffers and/or HARQ buffers used for the MsgA are discarded.) (Paragraph [0084]: If the msgB does not include the C-RNTI and the UL grant is not received in the msgB, the UE 501 retransmits the msgA payload in a subsequent UL grant using an HARQ process zero upon receiving a PDCCH addressed to a C-RNTI for an HARQ process zero with an NDI not toggled wherein the UE 501 performs an HARQ retransmission.) (Paragraph [0202]: The RRCReconfiguration message includes a pre-allocated UL grant configuration (parameters indicate periodically occurring UL grants). This configuration is provided for at least a UL BWP indicated by a firstActiveUplinkBWP-Id. The RRCReconfiguration message also includes information (i.e., SSB ID/CSI-RS ID) about an SSB/CSI-RS(s) associated with the pre-allocated UL grants.) (Paragraph [0332]: If the TAT timer expires and if the RACH-less handover is not completed (e.g., the UE has not received the MAC CE indicating confirmation of completion of the RACH-less handover): [0333] The UE falls back to a random access procedure i.e., the UE initiates a random access procedure.)
Regarding claim 9, Agiwal teaches A method of user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving a first message including configuration information for performing a random access channel-less handover (RACH-less HO) to a target cell (Paragraph [0202]: a UE 1701 receives an RRCReconfiguration message from a source cell 1703 (e.g., a gNB) in step 1710. spCellConfig in the RRCReconfiguration message includes reconfigurationWithSync. Information (e.g. an indication to skip RACH) in reconfigurationWithSync IE indicates that the UE 1701 shall skip RACH towards a target cell 1705),
wherein the configuration information includes a configured grant (CG) configuration (Paragraph [0202]: a UE 1701 receives an RRCReconfiguration message from a source cell 1703 (e.g., a gNB) in step 1710. spCellConfig in the RRCReconfiguration message includes reconfigurationWithSync. Information (e.g. an indication to skip RACH) in reconfigurationWithSync IE indicates that the UE 1701 shall skip RACH towards a target cell 1705. The RRCReconfiguration message includes a pre-allocated UL grant configuration (parameters indicate periodically occurring UL grants))
or a beam indication; (¶ [0168] RACH Less Handover or Reconfiguration Paragraph [0169]: For PDCCH beam indication, a set of TCI states are RRC configured per CORESET; Paragraph [0344]: The UL grant may either be pre-configured in the RRCReconfiguration message or if not pre-configured then provided on the PDCCH in the target cell);
determining whether the configuration information includes the CG configuration (Paragraph [0202]: a UE 1701 receives an RRCReconfiguration message from a source cell 1703 (e.g., a gNB) in step 1710. spCellConfig in the RRCReconfiguration message includes reconfigurationWithSync. Information (e.g. an indication to skip RACH) in reconfigurationWithSync IE indicates that the UE 1701 shall skip RACH towards a target cell 1705. The RRCReconfiguration message includes a pre-allocated UL grant configuration (parameters indicate periodically occurring UL grants))
or the beam indication(Paragraph [0169]: For PDCCH beam indication, a set of TCI states are RRC configured per CORESET; Paragraph [0344]: The UL grant may either be pre-configured in the RRCReconfiguration message or if not pre-configured then provided on the PDCCH in the target cell),
identifying:a CG physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) occasion (¶ [0208]: Transmit ReconfigurationComplete in UL grant (amongst the pre-allocated UL grants) corresponding to selected SSB/CSI-RS (1750); Paragraphs [0247], [0250]: UE skip RACH towards the target cell … Transmit ReconfigurationComplete in UL grant (amongst the pre-allocated UL grants) corresponding to selected SSB/CSI-RS (1880); Note: Agiwal repeatedly uses “pre‑allocated/periodic UL grants” in the RRCReconfiguration for RACH‑less HO. In NR, that is the functional equivalent of configured‑grant PUSCH occasions (pre‑configured UL transmission opportunities not requiring per‑transmission DCI))
based on a determination that the configuration information includes the CG configuration, (Paragraph [0202]: a UE 1701 receives an RRCReconfiguration message from a source cell 1703 (e.g., a gNB) in step 1710. spCellConfig in the RRCReconfiguration message includes reconfigurationWithSync. Information (e.g. an indication to skip RACH) in reconfigurationWithSync IE indicates that the UE 1701 shall skip RACH towards a target cell 1705. The RRCReconfiguration message includes a pre-allocated UL grant configuration (parameters indicate periodically occurring UL grants))
or a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state identifier (ID) or a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) index based on a determination that the configuration information includes the beam indication; (Paragraph [0168] RACH Less Handover or Reconfiguration; ¶ [0169]: For PDCCH beam indication, a set of TCI states are RRC configured per CORESET. One TCI state amongst these based on which UE determines the PDCCH beam is indicated by a MAC CE; Paragraph [0344]: The UL grant may either be pre-configured in the RRCReconfiguration message or if not pre-configured then provided on the PDCCH in the target cell),
and transmitting, to the target cell:an uplink signal including a second message in response to the first message at the identified CG PUSCH occasion (¶ [0208]: Transmit ReconfigurationComplete in UL grant (amongst the pre-allocated UL grants) corresponding to selected SSB/CSI-RS (1750); Paragraphs [0247], [0250]: UE skip RACH towards the target cell … Transmit ReconfigurationComplete in UL grant (amongst the pre-allocated UL grants) corresponding to selected SSB/CSI-RS (1880)
when the configuration information includes the CG configuration, (¶ [0202]: a UE 1701 receives an RRCReconfiguration message from a source cell 1703 (e.g., a gNB) in step 1710. spCellConfig in the RRCReconfiguration message includes reconfigurationWithSync. Information (e.g. an indication to skip RACH) in reconfigurationWithSync IE indicates that the UE 1701 shall skip RACH towards a target cell 1705. The RRCReconfiguration message includes a pre-allocated UL grant configuration (parameters indicate periodically occurring UL grants)),
or the uplink signal based on an uplink grant received in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Paragraph [0344]: The UL grant may either be pre-configured in the RRCReconfiguration message or if not pre-configured then provided on the PDCCH in the target cell), the PDCCH being monitored based on the beam indication when the configuration information includes the beam indication. (Paragraph [0169]: For PDCCH beam indication, a set of TCI states are RRC configured per CORESET. One TCI state amongst these based on which UE determines the PDCCH beam is indicated by a MAC CE).
Regarding claim 10, Agiwal teaches the method according to claim 9. Agiwal teaches applying a value of timing advance (N_TA) to a timing advance group (TAG) of the target cell; (Paragraph [0097]: If the msgB includes the NEW_TX bit set to 1 in the msgB, the UE 701 discards the msgA payload, i.e., discards the msgA buffer and an HARQ buffer used for msgA payload transmission.) (Paragraph [0098]: If the msgB includes the NEW_TX bit set to 0, the UE 701 retransmits the msgA payload in the UL grant received in the msgB.)
and starting a timer associated with the TAG, wherein the configuration information further comprises the timing advance (N_TA) setting to zero or the value of N_TA of a serving cell. (Paragraph [0330]: The UE initializes the TAT timer of the PTAG to a remaining value of TAT timer of the targetTA.)
Regarding claim 14, Agiwal teaches the method according to claim 9. Agiwal teaches controlling a retransmission timer for a time duration after a transmission on the CG PUSCH for a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process of the transmission of the uplink signal for the RACH-less HO; (Paragraph [0104]: Upon transmitting the msgA payload in the UL grant received in the msgB, if the UE 801 receives a PDCCH addressed to a C-RNTI for an HARQ process zero with an NDI not toggled, the UE 801 performs an HARQ retransmission.)
and prohibiting a retransmission of the HARQ process in the time duration, (Paragraph [0076]: the UE 301 receives the PDCCH addressed to the C-RNTI, the random access procedure is completed. Upon completion of the random access procedure, buffers and/or HARQ buffers used for the MsgA are discarded.)
wherein the first message is a radio resource reconfiguration (RRCReconfiguration) message and the second message is a radio resource reconfiguration complete (RRCReconfigurationComplete) message. (Paragraph [0221]: If fallback Indication is set to TRUE in RRCReconfiguration message, UE fallbacks to random access procedure i.e. it initiates random access procedure (1760). [0222] ReconfigurationComplete is transmitted in UL grant received in RAR.)
Regarding claim 15, Agiwal teaches the method according to claim 14. Agiwal teaches starting or restart the retransmission timer for the HARQ process at a beginning instance of a first symbol of the CG PUSCH; (Paragraph [0161]: the msgB-ResponseWindow for msgB reception starts at the first PDCCH occasion for msgB reception that is at least one symbol after the last symbol of the PUSCH occasion corresponding to the PUSCH transmission.)
and stopping the retransmission timer for the HARQ process when an uplink grant has been received on the PDCCH addressed to a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI). (Paragraph [0076]: the UE 301 receives the PDCCH addressed to the C-RNTI, the random access procedure is completed. Upon completion of the random access procedure, buffers and/or HARQ buffers used for the MsgA are discarded.)
Regarding claim 17, Agiwal teaches A base station (BS) in a wireless communication system, the BS comprising:
a processor configured to generate a first message including configuration information for performing a random access channel-less handover (RACH-less HO),
wherein the configuration information includes a configured grant (CG) configuration or a beam indication; (Paragraph [0172]: If a RACH-less handover is indicated in a reconfiguration message, an gNB indicates a single TCI state for a target cell.) (Paragraph [0198]: In a case of RACH-less handover, for beam alignment, pre-allocated UL grants signaled in a handover command may be associated with one or more SSB/CSI RS(s). A UE may select an SSB/CSI RS and then transmit in a UL grant corresponding to the selected SSB/CSI RS.)
and a transceiver operably coupled to the processor, the transceiver configured to transmit the first message that is used for performing a random access channel-less handover (RACH-less HO) to a target cell, (Paragraph [0172]: If a RACH-less handover is indicated in a reconfiguration message, an gNB indicates a single TCI state for a target cell.)
wherein whether the configuration information includes the CG configuration or the beam indication is determined, (Paragraph [0198]: In a case of RACH-less handover, for beam alignment, pre-allocated UL grants signaled in a handover command may be associated with one or more SSB/CSI RS(s). A UE may select an SSB/CSI RS and then transmit in a UL grant corresponding to the selected SSB/CSI RS.)
wherein a CG physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) occasion is identified (¶ [0208]: Transmit ReconfigurationComplete in UL grant (amongst the pre-allocated UL grants) corresponding to selected SSB/CSI-RS (1750); Paragraphs [0247], [0250]: UE skip RACH towards the target cell … Transmit ReconfigurationComplete in UL grant (amongst the pre-allocated UL grants) corresponding to selected SSB/CSI-RS (1880); Note: Agiwal repeatedly uses “pre‑allocated/periodic UL grants” in the RRCReconfiguration for RACH‑less HO. In NR, that is the functional equivalent of configured‑grant PUSCH occasions (pre‑configured UL transmission opportunities not requiring per‑transmission DCI)) based on a determination that the configuration information includes the CG configuration (Paragraph [0202]: a UE 1701 receives an RRCReconfiguration message from a source cell 1703 (e.g., a gNB) in step 1710. spCellConfig in the RRCReconfiguration message includes reconfigurationWithSync. Information (e.g. an indication to skip RACH) in reconfigurationWithSync IE indicates that the UE 1701 shall skip RACH towards a target cell 1705. The RRCReconfiguration message includes a pre-allocated UL grant configuration (parameters indicate periodically occurring UL grants)),
or a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state identifier (ID) or a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) is identified based on a determination that the configuration information includes the beam indication (Paragraph [0168] RACH Less Handover or Reconfiguration; ¶ [0169]: For PDCCH beam indication, a set of TCI states are RRC configured per CORESET. One TCI state amongst these based on which UE determines the PDCCH beam is indicated by a MAC CE; Paragraph [0344]: The UL grant may either be pre-configured in the RRCReconfiguration message or if not pre-configured then provided on the PDCCH in the target cell),
and wherein an uplink signal including a second message in response to the first message at the identified CG PUSCH occasion is received for the target cell (¶ [0208]: Transmit ReconfigurationComplete in UL grant (amongst the pre-allocated UL grants) corresponding to selected SSB/CSI-RS (1750); Paragraphs [0247], [0250]: UE skip RACH towards the target cell … Transmit ReconfigurationComplete in UL grant (amongst the pre-allocated UL grants) corresponding to selected SSB/CSI-RS (1880)
when the configuration information includes the CG configuration (¶ [0202]: a UE 1701 receives an RRCReconfiguration message from a source cell 1703 (e.g., a gNB) in step 1710. spCellConfig in the RRCReconfiguration message includes reconfigurationWithSync. Information (e.g. an indication to skip RACH) in reconfigurationWithSync IE indicates that the UE 1701 shall skip RACH towards a target cell 1705. The RRCReconfiguration message includes a pre-allocated UL grant configuration (parameters indicate periodically occurring UL grants)),
or the uplink signal based on an uplink grant received in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) is received for the target cell (Paragraph [0344]: The UL grant may either be pre-configured in the RRCReconfiguration message or if not pre-configured then provided on the PDCCH in the target cell), the PDCCH being monitored based on the beam indication when the configuration information includes the beam indication. (Paragraph [0169]: For PDCCH beam indication, a set of TCI states are RRC configured per CORESET. One TCI state amongst these based on which UE determines the PDCCH beam is indicated by a MAC CE).
Regarding claim 19, Agiwal teaches the BS of claim 17. Agiwal teaches wherein the first message is a radio resource reconfiguration (RRCReconfiguration) message and the second message is a radio resource reconfiguration complete (RRCReconfigurationComplete) message. (Paragraph [0221]: If fallback Indication is set to TRUE in RRCReconfiguration message, UE fallbacks to random access procedure i.e. it initiates random access procedure (1760). [0222] ReconfigurationComplete is transmitted in UL grant received in RAR.)
Regarding claim 20, Agiwal in view of Wang teaches the BS of claim 17. Agiwal teaches wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit the PDCCH addressed to a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) with a downlink assignment after the transmission of the uplink signal for the RACH-less HO. (Paragraph [0076]: the UE 301 receives the PDCCH addressed to the C-RNTI, the random access procedure is completed. Upon completion of the random access procedure, buffers and/or HARQ buffers used for the MsgA are discarded.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agiwal et al (2020/0260500) in view of Wang et al (2021/0377832).
Regarding claim 16, Agiwal teaches the method according to claim 9. Agiwal teaches receive the PDCCH addressed to a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) with a downlink assignment after the transmission of the uplink signal for the RACH-less HO; (Paragraph [0076]: the UE 301 receives the PDCCH addressed to the C-RNTI, the random access procedure is completed. Upon completion of the random access procedure, buffers and/or HARQ buffers used for the MsgA are discarded.) Agiwal does not teach indicating, to a higher layer, a completion of the RACH-less HO when the RACH-less HO is active; and stopping a timer (T304).
Wang et al from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches indicating, to a higher layer, a completion of the RACH-less HO when the RACH-less HO is active; and stopping a timer (T304). (Paragraph [0099]: there may be no qualified beam during the running of T304 (The timer is send to UE in the handover command to control the handover execution time). This may indicate that in this case, the UE can't access the target during T304. After T304 expires, the UE may initiate the RRC re-establishment procedure).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Agiwal’s random access procedure with the mobility enhancement of Wang. The motivation being to initiate re-establishment procedure to reduce interruption and perform random access to the target cell (paragraph [0099 & 0100]).
Claim(s) 3-5, 11-13, & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agiwal et al (2020/0260500) in view of Wang (2021/0377832) in further view of Yiu et al (DE 112017004034; English translation cited for claim mapping).
Regarding claim 3, Agiwal teaches the UE according to claim 1. Agiwal does not explicitly teach wherein the CG configuration includes at least one of: a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold for a SSB selection operation; a mapping between a SSB subset and CG PUSCHs; a number of SSBs per CG PUSCH; a retransmission timer value for a transmission of the uplink signal; a number of demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequences for the number of SSBs to the CG PUSCH mapping; a set of DMRS ports for the number of SSBs to the CG PUSCH mapping; and power control parameters including a value of PO and an alpha value for the transmission of the uplink signal.
Wang et al from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold for a SSB selection operation; (Paragraph [0098]: The UE may select a qualified beam (e.g. SSB/CSI-RS with RSRP above the configured threshold) and access the target via the associated UL grant.)
a mapping between a SSB subset and CG PUSCHs; (Paragraph [0098]: The target gNB can identify the DL beam (SSB or CSI-RS) according to the received PUSCH and the association between the UL grant and SSB/CSI-RS.)
a number of SSBs per CG PUSCH; a retransmission timer value for a transmission of the uplink signal; (Paragraph [0099]: there may be no qualified beam for a long time period. For example, in a case, there may be no qualified beam during the running of T304 (The timer is send to UE in the handover command to control the handover execution time). This may indicate that in this case, the UE can't access the target during T304. After T304 expires, the UE may initiate the RRC re-establishment procedure)
a number of demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequences for the number of SSBs to the CG PUSCH mapping; (Paragraph [0114]: the candidate cell in the listing of the one or more candidate cells includes at least one of an index for a candidate cell, an absolute frequency of a synchronization signal block (SSB), a physical cell identity (PCI), a position for a first demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) for downlink and uplink transmission)
a set of DMRS ports for the number of SSBs to the CG PUSCH mapping; (Paragraph [0036]: The CHO information for each candidate cell may include at least one of an index allocated for the candidate cell, an absolute Frequency of the SSB, i.e. the ARFCN of the SSB, a Physical Cell Identity (PCI), a position of (first) DM-RS for downlink and uplink (e.g. dmrs-TypeA-Position), a Subcarrier Spacing, and cell specific parameters.
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Agiwal’s random access procedure with the mobility enhancement of Wang. The motivation being the conditional information includes candidate cell selection information, wherein the candidate cell selection information includes at least one of a priority for each candidate cell in the listing of candidate cells, a cell type for each candidate cell in the listing of candidate cells, and a separate listing of candidate cells for each cell type (Paragraph [0115]). Wang teaches these configuration parameters without explicitly teaching power control parameters including a value of PO and an alpha value for the transmission of the uplink signal.
Yiu from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches power control parameters including a value of PO and an alpha value for the transmission of the uplink signal. (Paragraph [0008]: In the absence of the RACH procedure for the target eNB 112, the assignment of the UL grant in the target eNB 112 is required… The initial value of the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission power control may be based on a physical random access channel (PRACH) preamble power and total power slope. When the PRACH procedure is removed, the power control in the PUSCH may be modified.)
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of Agiwal’s communication system with Yiu’s handover preparation procedure. The motivation being to obtain the UL grant for the handover, the RRC connection reconfiguration complete message in a RACHless environment.
Regarding claim 4, Agiwal teaches the UE according to claim 3. Agiwal teaches when performing the transmission of the uplink signal for the RACH-less HO, the processor is further configured to: determine at least one SSB in the number of SSBs corresponding to the CG PUSCH with a synchronization signal-RSRP (SS-RSRP) beyond the RSRP threshold is available; (Paragraph [0204]: If there is at least one SSB/CSI-RS with SS-RSRP/CSI-RSRP above a configured ss-rsrp-threshold/csi-rsrp-threshold amongst the SSB(s)/CSI RS(s) associated with pre-allocated UL grant(s) that is available, the UE 1701 performs the following operation in step 1730)
select a SSB with the SS-RSRP beyond the RSRP threshold among the number of SSBs corresponding to the CG PUSCH; (Paragraph [0206]: Select an SSB/CSI-RS with SS-RSRP/CSI-RSRP above a configured ss-rsrp-threshold/csi-rsrp-threshold amongst the SSB(s)/CSI RS(s) associated with pre-allocated UL grant(s) (1740).)
indicate an index of the selected SSB to a lower layer; and identify that the CG PUSCH is valid. (paragraph [0177]: The gNB may indicate an activated TCI state based on an SSB ID/CSI RS ID of a target cell included in a last measurement report. As a result, the activated TCI state provided in a reconfiguration message may not be valid when the UE performs handover to the target cell.
(Paragraph [0212]: The ss-rsrp-threshold/csi-rsrp-threshold is signaled by the gNB 1703 in an RRCReconfiguration message.) (Paragraph [0351]: If a validity timer is not configured in the RRCReconfiguration message then pre-configured UL grants are valid until expiration of T304)
Regarding claim 5, Agiwal teaches the UE according to claim 4. Agiwal teaches wherein, when performing the transmission of the uplink signal for the RACH-less HO, the processor is further configured to perform a random access procedure for the target cell based on a determination that the at least one SSB in the number of SSBs corresponding to the CG configuration with the SS-RSRP beyond the RSRP threshold is unavailable. (Paragraph [0209]: If there is not any SSB/CSI-RS with an SS-RSRP/CSI-RSRP above a configured ss-rsrp-threshold/csi-rsrp-threshold amongst the SSB(s)/CSI RS(s) associated with the pre-allocated UL grant(s), the UE 1701 performs the following operation in step 1730: [0210] UE fallbacks to random access procedure i.e. it initiates random access procedure (1760)).
Regarding claim 11, Agiwal teaches the method according to claim 9. Agiwal does not explicitly teach wherein the CG configuration includes at least one of: a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold for a SSB selection operation; a mapping between a SSB subset and CG PUSCHs; a number of SSBs per CG PUSCH; a retransmission timer value for a transmission of the uplink signal; a number of demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequences for the number of SSBs to the CG PUSCH mapping; a set of DMRS ports for the number of SSBs to the CG PUSCH mapping; and power control parameters including a value of PO and an alpha value for the transmission of the uplink signal.
Wang et al from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold for a SSB selection operation; (Paragraph [0098]: The UE may select a qualified beam (e.g. SSB/CSI-RS with RSRP above the configured threshold) and access the target via the associated UL grant.)
a mapping between a SSB subset and CG PUSCHs; (Paragraph [0098]: The target gNB can identify the DL beam (SSB or CSI-RS) according to the received PUSCH and the association between the UL grant and SSB/CSI-RS.)
a number of SSBs per CG PUSCH; a retransmission timer value for a transmission of the uplink signal; (Paragraph [0099]: there may be no qualified beam for a long time period. For example, in a case, there may be no qualified beam during the running of T304 (The timer is send to UE in the handover command to control the handover execution time). This may indicate that in this case, the UE can't access the target during T304. After T304 expires, the UE may initiate the RRC re-establishment procedure)
a number of demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequences for the number of SSBs to the CG PUSCH mapping; (Paragraph [0114]: the candidate cell in the listing of the one or more candidate cells includes at least one of an index for a candidate cell, an absolute frequency of a synchronization signal block (SSB), a physical cell identity (PCI), a position for a first demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) for downlink and uplink transmission)
a set of DMRS ports for the number of SSBs to the CG PUSCH mapping; (Paragraph [0036]: The CHO information for each candidate cell may include at least one of an index allocated for the candidate cell, an absolute Frequency of the SSB, i.e. the ARFCN of the SSB, a Physical Cell Identity (PCI), a position of (first) DM-RS for downlink and uplink (e.g. dmrs-TypeA-Position), a Subcarrier Spacing, and cell specific parameters.
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Agiwal’s random access procedure with the mobility enhancement of Wang. The motivation being the conditional information includes candidate cell selection information, wherein the candidate cell selection information includes at least one of a priority for each candidate cell in the listing of candidate cells, a cell type for each candidate cell in the listing of candidate cells, and a separate listing of candidate cells for each cell type (Paragraph [0115]). Wang teaches these configuration parameters without explicitly teaching power control parameters including a value of PO and an alpha value for the transmission of the uplink signal.
Yiu from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches power control parameters including a value of PO and an alpha value for the transmission of the uplink signal. (Paragraph [0008]: In the absence of the RACH procedure for the target eNB 112, the assignment of the UL grant in the target eNB 112 is required… The initial value of the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission power control may be based on a physical random access channel (PRACH) preamble power and total power slope. When the PRACH procedure is removed, the power control in the PUSCH may be modified.)
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of Agiwal’s communication system with Yiu’s handover preparation procedure. The motivation being to obtain the UL grant for the handover, the RRC connection reconfiguration complete message in a RACHless environment.
Regarding claim 12, Agiwal teaches the method according to claim 11. Agiwal teaches determining at least one SSB in the number of SSBs corresponding to the CG PUSCH with a synchronization signal-RSRP (SS-RSRP) beyond the RSRP threshold is available; (Paragraph [0204]: If there is at least one SSB/CSI-RS with SS-RSRP/CSI-RSRP above a configured ss-rsrp-threshold/csi-rsrp-threshold amongst the SSB(s)/CSI RS(s) associated with pre-allocated UL grant(s) that is available, the UE 1701 performs the following operation in step 1730)
selecting a SSB with the SS-RSRP beyond the RSRP threshold among the number of SSBs corresponding to the CG PUSCH; ; (Paragraph [0206]: Select an SSB/CSI-RS with SS-RSRP/CSI-RSRP above a configured ss-rsrp-threshold/csi-rsrp-threshold amongst the SSB(s)/CSI RS(s) associated with pre-allocated UL grant(s) (1740).)
indicating an index of the selected SSB to a lower layer; and identifying that the CG PUSCH is valid. (Paragraph [0212]: The ss-rsrp-threshold/csi-rsrp-threshold is signaled by the gNB 1703 in an RRCReconfiguration message.) (Paragraph [0351]: If a validity timer is not configured in the RRCReconfiguration message then pre-configured UL grants are valid until expiration of T304)
Regarding claim 13, Agiwal teaches the method according to claim 12. Agiwal teaches performing a random access procedure for the target cell based on a determination that the at least one SSB in the number of SSBs corresponding to the CG configuration with the S-RSRP beyond the RSRP threshold is unavailable. (Paragraph [0209]: If there is not any SSB/CSI-RS with an SS-RSRP/CSI-RSRP above a configured ss-rsrp-threshold/csi-rsrp-threshold amongst the SSB(s)/CSI RS(s) associated with the pre-allocated UL grant(s), the UE 1701 performs the following operation in step 1730: [0210] UE fallbacks to random access procedure i.e. it initiates random access procedure (1760)).
Regarding claim 18, Agiwal teaches the BS of claim 17. Agiwal teaches the configuration information further comprises a timing advance (N_TA) set to zero or a value of N_TA of a serving cell; (Paragraph [0197]: For UL transmission in a target cell, a handover command also indicates whether to apply timing advanced of source cell or TA equals zero.) Agiwal does not explicitly teach a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold for a SSB selection operation; a mapping between a SSB subset and CG PUSCHs; a number of SSBs per CG PUSCH; a retransmission timer value for a transmission of the uplink signal; a number of demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequences for the number of SSBs to the CG PUSCH mapping; a set of DMRS ports for the number of SSBs to the CG PUSCH mapping.
Wang et al from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold for a SSB selection operation; (Paragraph [0098]: The UE may select a qualified beam (e.g. SSB/CSI-RS with RSRP above the configured threshold) and access the target via the associated UL grant.)
a mapping between a SSB subset and CG PUSCHs; (Paragraph [0098]: The target gNB can identify the DL beam (SSB or CSI-RS) according to the received PUSCH and the association between the UL grant and SSB/CSI-RS.)
a number of SSBs per CG PUSCH; a retransmission timer value for a transmission of the uplink signal; (Paragraph [0099]: there may be no qualified beam for a long time period. For example, in a case, there may be no qualified beam during the running of T304 (The timer is send to UE in the handover command to control the handover execution time). This may indicate that in this case, the UE can't access the target during T304. After T304 expires, the UE may initiate the RRC re-establishment procedure)
a number of demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequences for the number of SSBs to the CG PUSCH mapping; (Paragraph [0114]: the candidate cell in the listing of the one or more candidate cells includes at least one of an index for a candidate cell, an absolute frequency of a synchronization signal block (SSB), a physical cell identity (PCI), a position for a first demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) for downlink and uplink transmission)
a set of DMRS ports for the number of SSBs to the CG PUSCH mapping; (Paragraph [0036]: The CHO information for each candidate cell may include at least one of an index allocated for the candidate cell, an absolute Frequency of the SSB, i.e. the ARFCN of the SSB, a Physical Cell Identity (PCI), a position of (first) DM-RS for downlink and uplink (e.g. dmrs-TypeA-Position), a Subcarrier Spacing, and cell specific parameters.
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Agiwal’s random access procedure with the mobility enhancement of Wang. The motivation being the conditional information includes candidate cell selection information, wherein the candidate cell selection information includes at least one of a priority for each candidate cell in the listing of candidate cells, a cell type for each candidate cell in the listing of candidate cells, and a separate listing of candidate cells for each cell type (Paragraph [0115]). Wang teaches these configuration parameters without explicitly teaching power control parameters including a value of PO and an alpha value for the transmission of the uplink signal.
Yiu from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches power control parameters including a value of PO and an alpha value for the transmission of the uplink signal. (Paragraph [0008]: In the absence of the RACH procedure for the target eNB 112, the assignment of the UL grant in the target eNB 112 is required… The initial value of the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission power control may be based on a physical random access channel (PRACH) preamble power and total power slope. When the PRACH procedure is removed, the power control in the PUSCH may be modified.)
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of Agiwal’s communication system with Yiu’s handover preparation procedure. The motivation being to obtain the UL grant for the handover, the RRC connection reconfiguration complete message in a RACHless environment.
Conclusion
/ADEDAYO O FADEYI/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479