DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11, 13-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeong (US 20160065719 A1)
Regarding Claims 1, 8, Jeong discloses:
An electronic device comprising: a transceiver and a processor operatively coupled to the transceiver; ([0122]-[0127], Fig. 12, Mobile beacon transmitter with communication unit, control unit, and beacon generator);
a transceiver configured to receive information related to an action request or rule;
([0055]-[0070]; Device receives authentication/service info from server);
the processor configured to: determine that the action is location based;
([0058]-[0062], [0099]-[0117]System triggers services based on device location);
identify a zone within which the electronic device is located, wherein the identification is based on at least one of: a first reception by the transceiver of at least one signal indicative of a location of the electronic device; and a second reception by the transceiver of at least one response to a transmission of a signal indicative of a location of the electronic device;
([0058], [0069] The beacon receiver may receive the beacon signal, add a unique identifier thereof to the beacon signal, and transmits the beacon signal to the beacon service server. The unique identifier of the beacon receiver is offered to allow the beacon service server to identify the beacon receiver and recognize a geographical location of the beacon receiver. Meanwhile, the beacon service server may verify the mobile beacon transmitter and a user by using the UUID and the OTP key contained in the beacon signal, and also transmit service information associated with the geographical location of the beacon receiver based on subscriber information stored therein.;
and trigger an action based on the action request or rule and the identified zone, (the computation of the parameters related to the identification of the appliances may be carried out at the remote central computer server 106. That is, the steps of FIG. 5A may be performed by the server 106 and the result list database of the appliances may be stored in the memory of the central computer 106. In this example, the UE device provides the computed LoS, position coordinates of the UE device and other control parameters to the central server 106; ([0099]-[0115] service information or control message sent based on location/distance).
Regarding Claims 2, 9, Jeong discloses:
the processor is further configured to: determine, based on at least one of the first reception and the second reception, that assistance is needed; generate a request, based on the determination that assistance is needed, for zone identification assistance from at least one of: a control unit; and a user of the electronic device; receive, via the transceiver, assistance information corresponding to the request, wherein the zone is identified based on the assistance information; and update a proximity inference model based on the assistance information; ([0051]-[0052], [0062], [0111]) the user can join/select services, register devices, and set preferences; device/server can update service information with beacon signal with a unique identification information of the user’s location and/or appliance location.
Regarding Claims 3, 10, Jeong discloses:
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein to identify the zone, the processor is further configured to: evaluate, based on a proximity inference model, at least one of the first reception and the second reception; and identify the zone based on a result of the evaluation. ([0085] Referring to FIG. 5, a mobile beacon transmitter 500 and a beacon receiver 510 are illustrated, where the mobile beacon transmitter 500 may transmit a beacon signal by varying transmission (Tx) power of the beacon signal. A reachable distance of the beacon signal may be varied depending on the transmission power of the beacon signal.)
Regarding Claims 4, 11, Jeong discloses:
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein a signal indicative of the location of the electronic device is one of: an ultrasound signal; and a radio frequency (RF) signal; ([0052] The mobile beacon transmitter 200 may transmit a signal that is reachable to a certain distance. A signal generated by the mobile beacon transmitter 200 has no limitations in type, size and form. Additionally, this signal may be transmitted using wireless communication technologies such as infrared, frequency, or Bluetooth. A description in this disclosure is made on the assumption that a beacon signal is transmitted using Bluetooth.)
Regarding Claims 6, 13, Jeong discloses:
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein to trigger the action, the processor is further configured to: determine whether the action is executable; if the action is executable, initiate execution of the action; and if the action is not executable, initiate a recommendation operation or a feedback operation; ([0104] the beacon service is used to operate a nearby appliance based on distance of the beacon and appliance. Meanwhile, a distance between the mobile beacon transmitter and the beacon receiver according to the transmission power of the mobile beacon transmitter may use a predetermined value. However, considering the occurrence of errors due to a communication environment, such a distance depending on transmission power may be resettable by a user. The user interface shown in FIG. 8 includes an item for resetting a transmission distance of the mobile beacon transmitter according to transmission power.)
Regarding Claims 7, 14, Jeong discloses:
The electronic device of claim 6, wherein to determine whether the action is executable, the processor is further configured to: evaluate, based on an action list and rules database, the action request and the identified zone, wherein the determination whether the action is executable is based on a result of the evaluation; ([0058]-[0062], [0099]-[0117]User can set preferences/services; server/device uses stored info to determine action.)
Regarding Claim 15, Jeong discloses:
A non-transitory computer readable medium embodying a computer program, the computer program comprising program code that, ([0142] Various aspects of the present disclosure can also be embodied as computer readable code on a non-transitory computer readable recording medium. A non-transitory computer readable recording medium is any data storage device that can store data which can be thereafter read by a computer system. Examples of the non-transitory computer readable recording medium include Read-Only Memory (ROM), Random-Access Memory (RAM), CD-ROMs, magnetic tapes, floppy disks, and optical data storage devices. The non-transitory computer readable recording medium can also be distributed over network coupled computer systems so that the computer readable code is stored and executed in a distributed fashion. Also, functional programs, code, and code segments for accomplishing the present disclosure can be easily construed by programmers skilled in the art to which the present disclosure pertains.)
when executed by a processor of a device, causes the device to: receive information related to an action request or rule; ([0055]-[0070]; Device receives authentication/service info from server),
determine that the action is location based; identify a zone within which the device is located, wherein the identification is based on at least one of: a first reception of at least one signal indicative of a location of the device; and a second reception of at least one response to a transmission of a signal indicative of a location of the device; ([0058], [0069] The beacon receiver may receive the beacon signal, add a unique identifier thereof to the beacon signal, and transmits the beacon signal to the beacon service server. The unique identifier of the beacon receiver is offered to allow the beacon service server to identify the beacon receiver and recognize a geographical location of the beacon receiver. Meanwhile, the beacon service server may verify the mobile beacon transmitter and a user by using the UUID and the OTP key contained in the beacon signal, and also transmit service information associated with the geographical location of the beacon receiver based on subscriber information stored therein.;
and trigger an action based on the action request or rule and the identified zone, ([0099]-[0115] service information or control message sent based on location/distance).
Regarding Claim 16, Jeong discloses:
The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 15, wherein to identify the zone, the computer program further comprises program code that, when executed by the processor, causes the device to: determine, based on at least one of the first reception and the second reception, that assistance is needed; generate a request, based on the determination that assistance is needed, for zone identification assistance from at least one of: a control unit; and a user of the device; receive assistance information corresponding to the request, wherein the zone is identified based on the assistance information; and update a proximity inference model based on the assistance information, ([0051]-[0052], [0062], [0111]) the user can join/select services, register devices, and set preferences; device/server can update service information with beacon signal with a unique identification information of the user’s location and/or appliance location.
Regarding Claim 17, Jeong discloses:
The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 15, wherein to identify the zone, the computer program further comprises program code that, when executed by the processor, causes the device to: evaluate, based on a proximity inference model, at least one of the first reception and the second reception; and identify the zone based on a result of the evaluation, ([0085] Referring to FIG. 5, a mobile beacon transmitter 500 and a beacon receiver 510 are illustrated, where the mobile beacon transmitter 500 may transmit a beacon signal by varying transmission (Tx) power of the beacon signal. A reachable distance of the beacon signal may be varied depending on the transmission power of the beacon signal.)
Regarding Claim 18, Jeong discloses:
The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 15, wherein a signal indicative of the location of the device is one of: an ultrasound signal; and a radio frequency (RF) signal, ([0052] The mobile beacon transmitter 200 may transmit a signal that is reachable to a certain distance. A signal generated by the mobile beacon transmitter 200 has no limitations in type, size and form. Additionally, this signal may be transmitted using wireless communication technologies such as infrared, frequency, or Bluetooth. A description in this disclosure is made on the assumption that a beacon signal is transmitted using Bluetooth.)
Regarding Claim 20, Jeong discloses:
The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 15, wherein to trigger the action, the computer program further comprises program code that, when executed by the processor, causes the device to: determine whether the action is executable; if the action is executable, initiate execution of the action; and if the action is not executable, initiate a recommendation operation or a feedback operation, ([0104] the beacon service is used to operate a nearby appliance based on distance of the beacon and appliance. Meanwhile, a distance between the mobile beacon transmitter and the beacon receiver according to the transmission power of the mobile beacon transmitter may use a predetermined value. However, considering the occurrence of errors due to a communication environment, such a distance depending on transmission power may be resettable by a user. The user interface shown in FIG. 8 includes an item for resetting a transmission distance of the mobile beacon transmitter according to transmission power.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 12, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/DAVETTA W GOINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2689