DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a spectroscopic element that disperses” “light receiving elements” in claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 10, & 13.
Applicant recites the spectroscopic element is a grating (claim 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 & 3-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. In regards to claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 10, & 13, the claimed subject matter “light receiving element” is rendered indefinite. Examiner notes the specification does not provide the structure for the “light receiving element” to perform the claimed functions. Applicant teaches light receiving elements for detecting light of each wavelength (0008). Based upon the specification there is no way to determine the metes and bounds of this limitation, since there are no limits imposed by structure, material or acts, and can therefore be performed by any means capable of performing the function, both known and unknown. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 & 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huth-Febre US 6542239.
With respect to claim 1, Huth-Febre teaches a spectrophotometer comprising:
a light source (fig 1, 1) that emits light to be applied to a sample (fig 1, 3);
a spectroscopic element (fig 1, 7) that disperses the light from the sample for each wavelength;
a light receiver (fig 1, 10) in which light receiving elements (fig 1, 9) for detecting light of each wavelength dispersed by the spectroscopic element are arranged; and
a filter layer (fig 1, 8) “Four different interference filters” (col 2, lines 45-49) provided on a light receiving surface of a first light receiving elements, which is for receiving light of a specific wavelength range “four wavelengths” (col 2, lines 49-50), of the light receiver and has having a wavelength selecting function “interference” (col 2, lines 45-49) of transmitting light of the specific wavelength range from the spectroscopic element and shielding light out of the specific wavelength range from the spectroscopic element,
wherein the filter layer is evaporated “vapour deposition” on the light receiving surface of the first light receiving elements “window of the quadrant photodiode” (col 2, lines 53-52).
With respect to claim 11 according to claim 1, Huth-Febre teaches the spectrophotometer wherein the light receiver is a photodiode array “one or more photodiodes” “quadrant photodiode” (col 2, lines 47-49).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huth-Febre US 6542239 in further view of Andy Popta, “Porous Nanostructured Optical Filters Rendered Insensitive to Humidity by Vapor-Phase Functionalization”, 2006 hereafter Popta.
With respect to claim 3 according to claim 1, Huth-Febre does not teach the filter layer has a surface in a shape reflecting a surface shape of the light receiver.
Popta, in the field of endeavor vapor deposition (col 1, pg.1331 ¶ 1, lines 1-5), implicitly teaches the filter layer has a surface layer reflecting the shape of the substrate surface (fig 3a). Examiner submits the substrate surface may be a glass surface which is typical a material for a window. At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary art to try to coat the combination’s filter on the surface of light receiver via vapor deposition to yield the predictable result of similar shapes.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huth-Febre US 6542239 in further view of Andy Popta, “Porous Nanostructured Optical Filters Rendered Insensitive to Humidity by Vapor-Phase Functionalization”, 2006 hereafter Popta in further view of Tang US 20220390082.
With respect to claim 4, Huth-Febre teaches a spectrophotometer comprising:
a light source (fig 1, 1) that emits light to be applied to a sample (fig 1, 3);
a spectroscopic element (fig 1, 7) that disperses the light from the sample for each wavelength;
a light receiver (fig 1, 10) in which light receiving elements (fig 1, 9) for detecting light of each wavelength dispersed by the spectroscopic element are arranged; and
a filter layer (fig 1, 8) “Four different interference filters” (col 2, lines 45-49) provided on a light receiving surface of a first light receiving elements, which is for receiving light of a specific wavelength range “four wavelengths” (col 2, lines 49-50), of the light receiver and has having a wavelength selecting function “interference” (col 2, lines 45-49) of transmitting light of the specific wavelength range from the spectroscopic element and shielding light out of the specific wavelength range from the spectroscopic element,
wherein the filter layer is evaporated “vapour deposition” on the light receiving surface of the first light receiving elements “window of the quadrant photodiode” (col 2, lines 53-52).
Huth-Febre the filter layer includes a first filter layer and a second filter layer.
Tang, in the field of endeavor of lights, teaches interference may comprise a first and second filter layer that provides a desired wavelength-dependent light transmission spectrum (0035, lines 15-20). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary art to select a first and second filter layer to provide a desired wavelength range.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 5, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious “the
first filter layer is formed on a light receiving surface of a light receiving element for receiving light having a wavelength of 320 nm or more among the light receiving elements of the light receiver”, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 5.
As to claim 7, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious “wherein the
second filter layer is formed to cover a light receiving surface of a light receiving element for receiving light having a wavelength of 480 nm or more among the light receiving elements of the light receiver”, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 7.
As to claim 9, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious “wherein the
film thickness of the first filter layer and the film thickness the second filter layer are each 10 μm or less”, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 9.
As to claim 10, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious “wherein the filter layer is formed only on a region on which high-order diffracted light is incident among the light receiving elements of the light receiver”, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 10.
As to claim 12, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious “the
spectroscopic element is a diffraction grating”, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 12.
As to claim 13, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious “condenser lens, a flow cell, a mirror, and an inlet slit”, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 13.
Conclusion
/MAURICE C SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2877