DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I claims 1-17 in the reply filed on 4-29-2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that that a deep drawn part cannot be produced by another method and apparatus. This is not found persuasive because the product as claimed can be made by other methods and apparatus in sheet metal working such as incremental forming using a stylus or rolling ball to draw a sheet metal workpiece into a die and produce a drawn part.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Switzerland on 3-24-2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CH000327/2023 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-4,7 and 10 claim “wave-like indentations and/or”, it is not clear what a scope of wave-like is since the term “like” does not adequately set forth a specified shape and the Examiner reads wave-like as any possible curved surface (wavy). The language “and/or” does not clearly set forth what is required by the claim and what is not, it should be amended to --and-- or --or--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7,11 and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frankenberg (3,695,201). Regarding claims 1 and 15, Frankenberg discloses a deep drawing device (Figs. 6 and 10) and method comprising a drawing punch (30) and a drawing die (31) having a drawing edge where a die wall (34) and a die face (32) of the drawing die (31) meet and interface as shown in Fig. 7 where (34) is pointing. The drawing edge (32,34; interface), sheet metal holder (28) and the die (31) define a flange feed zone of the deep drawing device. The deep drawing device operates in a working direction (vertically, Fig. 10; col. 5, lines 24-27) when the drawing punch (30) is actuated. The deep drawing device is constructed for the production of a thin-walled deep drawn part (110) comprising a wall (114; Fig. 13) inclined toward the working direction from a sheet metal blank (40). Frankenberg discloses that a plurality of wrinkle generation means (35) are provided along the drawing edge (32,34; col. 4, lines 38-40) of the drawing die (31; Figs. 7 and 10) wherein the wrinkle generation means (35) comprise a plurality of oblong, radially running recesses (grooves; 35; Fig. 7) positioned in the flange feed zone.
Regarding claim 2, the oblong, radially running recesses (35; Fig. 7) are on a surface of the drawing die (31) which faces the sheet metal holder (28) and extend up to the drawing edge (interface between 32,34).
Regarding claims 3-5, the oblong, radially running recesses (35) are evenly spaced from one another (Fig. 7) with at least five recesses across a wall segment with an enclosing angle of 90 degrees, wherein the recesses are arranged along an entire circumference of the flange feed zone on the face (32) of the die (31).
Regarding claim 6, the wrinkle generation means (35) are arranged at least in sections of the flange feed zone which are curved parallel to the working direction axially along the die throat comprising die wall (34) as illustrated in (Figs. 10 and 11; col. 4, line 41).
Regarding claim 7, an edge radius of the drawing edge variates since the recesses (35; Fig. 8) are a wave (curved) groove (Fig. 10) which varies in depth and width (Fig. 8) along the drawing edge (32,34; Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 11, the oblong recesses (35) form a uniformly wavy surface (Fig. 8) wherein all the recesses are uniform along a circumference of the die (31).
Regarding claim 14, the drawn part (110) has a bottom (where 110 is pointing, Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 16, the process is a single stage process (Fig. 10) using a drawing punch (30) and a drawing die (31).
Regarding claim 17, at least one forming stage (Fig. 6) compresses wrinkles by double sided tool contact between the die (31) on a bottom side of the blank (40) and the punch (30) and blank holder (28) contacting a top side of the blank.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frankenberg (3,695,201) in view of Hubball (6,968,724). Frankenberg does not explicitly recite a drawing edge radius of between 0.2-2.5 mm. Hubball teaches (col. 4, lines 35-38) that a drawing edge radius (R1) is 0.055-0.0080 inches (1.397-2.032 mm) for a blank thickness of 0.0088 inches or less. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the die drawing edge radius of Frankenberg to be between 0.2-2.5 mm as taught by Hubball in order to create a tight drawing radius while taking into account a workpiece blank thickness.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frankenberg (3,695,201) in view of Hubball (6,968,724) and further in view of Hibbs et al. (2016/0129494). Frankenberg does not disclose that the wave (curved recesses, 35) form a uniform wavy line. Hibbs teaches that a drawing edge radius (R1; Fig. 5C) is comprised of different radii (R1,R2,R3, Fig. 5E; [0069], lines 6-10). The different radii (R1,R2,R3) are curved edges equally spaced around a circumference [0070]. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date to modify the drawing edge of the drawing die of Frankenberg to include different radii in order to produce a uniform curved (wavy) drawing edge radius as taught by Hibbs around a circumference of the drawing die.
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frankenberg (3,695,201) in view of Herten (4,386,514). Frankenberg does not explicitly recite that the wall is inclined at an angle between 5 and 15 degrees. Herten teaches a deep drawing device (Figs. 1a and 1b) comprising a drawing punch (3), a drawing die (1) and a blank holder (4) where the drawing die (1) has an angle between 3-60° (col. 3, lines 35-37). It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the wall of the drawing die of Frankenberg to be inclined between 5-15 degrees as taught by Herten so as to form deep drawn parts which are conical. It is an obvious experimentation to experiment with die angles between 3-60 degrees as taught by Herten.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/EDWARD T TOLAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725