DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/15/2026 has been placed in record and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,6-12, 14, 185, and 190-197 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won (US 2013/0070074 hereinafter Won) in view of Lee et al. (US 9,063,594 hereinafter Lee), and Adelson et al. (US 2021/0215474 hereinafter Adelson).
Referring 1, Won discloses a system for geometric surface characterization ([0192]; geometrical deformation measurement indicating the relative displacement between points on an object.), comprising:
a. a deformable transmissive layer (Fig. 1; 110.2) coupled to a mounting structure (Fig. 1; tactile sensor 100 includes mounting structure is presented but not shown) and to an interface membrane (Fig. 1; 110.1), wherein the interface membrane (Fig. 1; 110.1) is interfaced against at least one aspect of an interfaced object (Fig. 1; 150) having a surface to be characterized ([0126-0127]; second layer 110.2 is a deformable transmissive layer coupled to interface membrane 110.1, wherein the interface membrane 110.1 is interfaced against at least one aspect interface object 150…. and “surface to be characterized” The light sensor 130 generates signals that are communicated to the controller 160. The controller 160 is configured to take the signals and generate an image 180 of the object 150, which the controller 160 displays on the display 170.);
b. a first illumination source (Fig. 1; 120) operatively coupled to the deformable transmissive layer (Fig. 1; 110.2) and configured to emit first illumination light (Fig. 1; 192/194.1/194.2/196) into the deformable transmissive layer (Fig. 1; 110.2) at a known first illumination orientation relative to the deformable transmissive layer (Fig. 1; 110.2), such that at least a portion of the first illumination light interacts with the deformable transmissive layer (Fig. 1; 110.2) ([0126-0127, 0134], Fig. 1; the light source 120 operatively coupled to the deformable transmissive layer 110.2 and configured to emit light 192 into the deformable transmissive layer 110.2 at sideway critical angle orientation next to the layer 110.2, such that at least a portion of the illumination light 192/194.1/194.2/196 from light source 120 interacts with the deformable transmissive layer 110.2);
c. a detector (Fig. 1; 130) configured to detect light from within at least a portion of the deformable transmissive layer (Fig. 1; 110.2) ([0126]; The scattered light 196 strikes the light sensor 130. The light sensor 130 generates signals that are communicated to the controller 160. The controller 160 is configured to take the signals and generate an image 180 of the object 150, which the controller 160 displays on the display 170.);
d. a computing system (Fig. 1; 160) configured to operate the detector (Fig. 1; 130) to detect at least a portion of light directed from the deformable transmissive layer (Fig. 1; 110.2) ([0126]; The scattered light 196 strikes the light sensor 130. The light sensor 130 generates signals that are communicated to the controller 160. The controller 160 is configured to take the signals and generate an image 180 of the object 150, which the controller 160 displays on the display 170.), to determine surface orientations pertaining to positions along the interface membrane (Fig. 1; 110.1) based at least in part upon interaction of the first illumination light with the deformable transmissive layer (Fig. 1; 110.2), and to utilize the determined surface orientations to characterize a geometric profile of the surface of the object (Fig. 1; 150) as interfaced against the interface membrane (Fig. 1; 110.1) ([0126]; The scattered light 196 strikes the light sensor 130. The light sensor 130 generates signals that are communicated to the controller 160. The controller 160 is configured to take the signals and generate an image 180 of the object 150, which the controller 160 displays on the display 170…. and [0192]; geometrical deformation measurement indicating the relative displacement between points on an object.);
an interfaced object (Fig. 1; 150) having a surface to be characterized ([0126-0127]; The light sensor 130 generates signals that are communicated to the controller 160. The controller 160 is configured to take the signals and generate an image 180 of the object 150, which the controller 160 displays on the display 170.);
wherein the deformable transmissive layer comprises an elastomeric material (Won- [0131]; The waveguide 110 shape and size may vary according to the application. For example, in embodiments, a large 20 cm by 20 cm waveguide may be used for breast cancer screening. In embodiments, the waveguide 110 is from 2 millimeters to 3 centimeters wide by a similar sized length. In embodiments, the waveguide is larger than the object. In embodiments, the waveguide 110 is from 2 millimeters to 50 centimeters wide by a similar sized length. In embodiments, the optical waveguide is composed of PDMS having a chemical formula of CH3[Si(CH3) 2O]nSi(CH3)3, which is a high performance silicone elastomer.).
However, Won does not specifically disclose wherein the deformable transmissive layer is configured to be controllably expanded relative to the mounting structure such that the interface membrane is controllably urged against the against at least one aspect of an interfaced object; wherein the deformable transmissive layer comprises a composite having a pigment material distributed within an elastomeric matrix, the pigment material configured to provide an illumination reflectance which is greater than that of elastomer matrix; and wherein pigment material comprises a metal oxide.
In an analogous art, Lee discloses wherein the deformable transmissive layer (Fig. 7A-7B; deformable layers 259/255a/258) is configured to be controllably expanded relative to the mounting structure (Fig. 5; haptic module with mounting structure) such that the interface membrane (Fig. 7A-7B; deformable layer 259) is controllably urged against the against at least one aspect of an interfaced object (Lee- Col. 11 lines 19-29; referring to FIGS. 7A and 7B, when the touch sensor 251c senses the touch input, the power supply 257 supplies power to the area corresponding to the touch point. The electro-active film 258 is expanded by electric energy so that at least the outermost OCA film 255a protrudes. Therefore, the ductile member 255, and in particular the OCA film 255a, may be formed of a material having large elasticity like a silicon based material. When the power supply from the power supply 257 is stopped, the electro-active film 258 returns to an original state so that the ductile member 255 also returns to the original state.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Lee to the system of Won in order to provide an electro-active material is accommodated in the chamber and configured to contract and expand in response to power supplied by power supply device, so that the structure of the electronic device is improved.
However, Won in view of Lee does not specifically disclose wherein the deformable transmissive layer comprises a composite having a pigment material distributed within an elastomeric matrix, the pigment material configured to provide an illumination reflectance which is greater than that of elastomer matrix; and wherein pigment material comprises a metal oxide.
In an analogous art, Adelson discloses wherein the deformable transmissive layer comprises a composite having a pigment material distributed within an elastomeric matrix, the pigment material configured to provide an illumination reflectance which is greater than that of elastomer matrix; and wherein pigment material comprises a metal oxide (Adelson- [0050]; As shown in step 804, the method 800 may include forming a deformable layer on the substrate, such as a 2.33 micron layer of deformable material including a red iron oxide pigment, or any of the other deformable layer materials described herein, such as a deformable material that non-directionally reflects light passing through the substrate and incident on a surface of the substrate adjacent to the deformable layer. The deformable layer may be formed, e.g., by spin coating the deformable material onto the substrate or otherwise disposing a layer of the deformable material onto the substrate, or by molding the substrate onto a pre-formed layer of the deformable material. The deformable layer may also or instead be coated with a 1 micron layer of antiabrasion thermoplastic elastomer (on the side opposing the substrate), which usefully provides a tacky surface for adhering microspheres or other particles.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Adelson to the system of Won in view of Lee in order to increase accuracy and provide additional information about occluded surface, which improve the quantitative accuracy of reconstructed three-dimensional images.
Referring to claim 6, Won discloses wherein the first illumination source comprises a light emitting diode (Won- [0134]; The light source 120 may be a light-emitting diode
(LED).).
Referring to claim 7, Won discloses wherein the detector is a photodetector (Won-
[0135]; The light sensor 130 may be a charged-coupled device (CCD), photodetectors, or a complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) imager such as is commonly used in digital camera.).
Referring to claim 8, Won discloses wherein the detector is an image capture device (Won- [0135]; The light sensor 130 may be a charged-coupled device (CCD),
photodetectors, or a complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) imager such as
is commonly used in digital camera. The light sensor 130 generates signals, for example,
electrical signals, to indicate an intensity of scattered light 196 that strikes pixels of the
light sensor 130. The light sensor 130 may comprise a two dimensional pattern of pixels
where each pixel has an intensity that indicates the intensity of light 196 that is striking
the light sensor 130 at that pixel. For example, the light sensor 130 may comprise 1392.
times.1042 pixels, each pixel having a value indicating the intensity of light 196 striking
the pixel. In embodiments, the light sensor 130 may generate about 80 frames per second
of the intensity of light 196 striking each of the pixels of the light sensor 130.).
Referring to claim 9, Won discloses wherein the image capture device is a CCD or CMOS device (Won- [0135]; The light sensor 130 may be a charged-coupled device (CCD),
photodetectors, or a complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) imager such as
is commonly used in digital camera.).
Referring to claim 10, Won discloses further comprising a lens (Won- Fig. 1; 135) operatively coupled between the detector (Won- Fig. 1; 130) and the deformable transmissive layer (Won- Fig. 1; 110.2) (Won- Fig. 1; a lens 135 operatively coupled between detector 130 and the deformable transmissive layer 110.2).
Referring to claim 11, Won discloses wherein the computing system (Won- Fig. 1; 160) is operatively coupled to the detector (Won- Fig. 1; 130) and configured to receive information from the detector (Won- Fig. 1; 130) pertaining to light detected by the detector (Won- Fig. 1; 130) from within the deformable transmissive layer (Won- Fig. 1; 110.2) (Won- [0126]; The
scattered light 196 strikes the light sensor 130. The light sensor 130 generates signals
that are communicated to the controller 160. The controller 160 is configured to take the
signals and generate an image 180 of the object 150, which the controller 160 displays on
the display 170).
Referring to claim 12, Won discloses wherein the computing system (Won- Fig. 1; 160) is operatively coupled to the first illumination source (Won- Fig. 1; 120) and is configured to control emissions from the first illumination source (Won- [0134] The light source 120 may be
a light-emitting diode (LED). The light source 120 emits light into the optical waveguide
110. The light source 120 may be coupled to the optical waveguide 110 by direct
coupling, prism coupling, grating coupling, or tapered coupling. In embodiments there
are multiple light sources 120 that may be coupled to the waveguide 110 in different
places of the waveguide 110. The light source 120 may have a spatial radiation pattern
with all angle that defines the angle in which the light source 120 emits light 192.).
Referring to claim 14, Won discloses wherein the elastomeric material is selected from the group consisting of: silicone, urethane, polyurethane, thermoplastic elastomer (TPE), thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU), plastisol, natural rubber, polyvinyl chloride, polyisoprene, and fluoroelastomer (Won- [0131]; The waveguide 110 shape and size may vary according to the application. For example, in embodiments, a large 20 cm by 20 cm waveguide may be used for breast cancer screening. In embodiments, the waveguide 110 is from 2 millimeters to 3 centimeters wide by a similar sized length. In embodiments, the waveguide is larger than the object. In embodiments, the waveguide 110 is from 2 millimeters to 50 centimeters wide by a similar sized length. In embodiments, the optical waveguide is composed of PDMS having a chemical formula of CH3[Si(CH3) 2O]nSi(CH3)3, which is a high performance silicone elastomer.).
Referring 185, Won discloses a system for geometric surface characterization ([0192]; geometrical deformation measurement indicating the relative displacement between points on an object.), comprising:
a. a deformable transmissive layer (Fig. 1; 110.2) coupled to a mounting structure (Fig. 1; tactile sensor 100 includes mounting structure is presented but not shown) and to an interface membrane (Fig. 1; 110.1), wherein the interface membrane (Fig. 1; 110.1) is interfaced against at least one aspect of an interfaced object (Fig. 1; 150) having a surface to be characterized ([0126-0127]; second layer 110.2 is a deformable transmissive layer coupled to interface membrane 110.1, wherein the interface membrane 110.1 is interfaced against at least one aspect interface object 150…. and “surface to be characterized” The light sensor 130 generates signals that are communicated to the controller 160. The controller 160 is configured to take the signals and generate an image 180 of the object 150, which the controller 160 displays on the display 170.);
b. a first illumination source (Fig. 1; 120) operatively coupled to the deformable transmissive layer (Fig. 1; 110.2) and configured to emit first illumination light (Fig. 1; 192/194.1/194.2/196) into the deformable transmissive layer (Fig. 1; 110.2) at a known first illumination orientation relative to the deformable transmissive layer (Fig. 1; 110.2), such that at least a portion of the first illumination light interacts with the deformable transmissive layer (Fig. 1; 110.2) ([0126-0127, 0134], Fig. 1; the light source 120 operatively coupled to the deformable transmissive layer 110.2 and configured to emit light 192 into the deformable transmissive layer 110.2 at sideway critical angle orientation next to the layer 110.2, such that at least a portion of the illumination light 192/194.1/194.2/196 from light source 120 interacts with the deformable transmissive layer 110.2);
c. a detector (Fig. 1; 130) configured to detect light from within at least a portion of the deformable transmissive layer (Fig. 1; 110.2) ([0126]; The scattered light 196 strikes the light sensor 130. The light sensor 130 generates signals that are communicated to the controller 160. The controller 160 is configured to take the signals and generate an image 180 of the object 150, which the controller 160 displays on the display 170.);
d. a computing system (Fig. 1; 160) configured to operate the detector (Fig. 1; 130) to detect at least a portion of light directed from the deformable transmissive layer (Fig. 1; 110.2) ([0126]; The scattered light 196 strikes the light sensor 130. The light sensor 130 generates signals that are communicated to the controller 160. The controller 160 is configured to take the signals and generate an image 180 of the object 150, which the controller 160 displays on the display 170.), to determine surface orientations pertaining to positions along the interface membrane (Fig. 1; 110.1) based at least in part upon interaction of the first illumination light with the deformable transmissive layer (Fig. 1; 110.2), and to utilize the determined surface orientations to characterize a geometric profile of the surface of the object (Fig. 1; 150) as interfaced against the interface membrane (Fig. 1; 110.1) ([0126]; The scattered light 196 strikes the light sensor 130. The light sensor 130 generates signals that are communicated to the controller 160. The controller 160 is configured to take the signals and generate an image 180 of the object 150, which the controller 160 displays on the display 170…. and [0192]; geometrical deformation measurement indicating the relative displacement between points on an object.);
an interfaced object (Fig. 1; 150) having a surface to be characterized ([0126-0127]; The light sensor 130 generates signals that are communicated to the controller 160. The controller 160 is configured to take the signals and generate an image 180 of the object 150, which the controller 160 displays on the display 170.);
wherein the deformable transmissive layer comprises an elastomeric material (Won- [0131]; The waveguide 110 shape and size may vary according to the application. For example, in embodiments, a large 20 cm by 20 cm waveguide may be used for breast cancer screening. In embodiments, the waveguide 110 is from 2 millimeters to 3 centimeters wide by a similar sized length. In embodiments, the waveguide is larger than the object. In embodiments, the waveguide 110 is from 2 millimeters to 50 centimeters wide by a similar sized length. In embodiments, the optical waveguide is composed of PDMS having a chemical formula of CH3[Si(CH3) 2O]nSi(CH3)3, which is a high performance silicone elastomer.).
However, Won does not specifically disclose wherein the deformable transmissive layer is configured to be controllably expanded relative to the mounting structure such that the interface membrane is controllably urged against the against at least one aspect of an interfaced object; wherein the deformable transmissive layer comprises a composite having a pigment material distributed within an elastomeric matrix, the pigment material configured to provide an illumination reflectance which is greater than that of elastomer matrix; and wherein pigment material comprises a metal nanoparticle.
In an analogous art, Lee discloses wherein the deformable transmissive layer (Fig. 7A-7B; deformable layers 259/255a/258) is configured to be controllably expanded relative to the mounting structure (Fig. 5; haptic module with mounting structure) such that the interface membrane (Fig. 7A-7B; deformable layer 259) is controllably urged against the against at least one aspect of an interfaced object (Lee- Col. 11 lines 19-29; referring to FIGS. 7A and 7B, when the touch sensor 251c senses the touch input, the power supply 257 supplies power to the area corresponding to the touch point. The electro-active film 258 is expanded by electric energy so that at least the outermost OCA film 255a protrudes. Therefore, the ductile member 255, and in particular the OCA film 255a, may be formed of a material having large elasticity like a silicon based material. When the power supply from the power supply 257 is stopped, the electro-active film 258 returns to an original state so that the ductile member 255 also returns to the original state.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Lee to the system of Won in order to provide an electro-active material is accommodated in the chamber and configured to contract and expand in response to power supplied by power supply device, so that the structure of the electronic device is improved.
However, Won in view of Lee does not specifically disclose wherein the deformable transmissive layer comprises a composite having a pigment material distributed within an elastomeric matrix, the pigment material configured to provide an illumination reflectance which is greater than that of elastomer matrix; and wherein pigment material comprises a metal nanoparticle.
In an analogous art, Adelson discloses wherein the deformable transmissive layer comprises a composite having a pigment material distributed within an elastomeric matrix, the pigment material configured to provide an illumination reflectance which is greater than that of elastomer matrix; and wherein pigment material comprises a metal nanoparticle (Adelson- [0050]; As shown in step 804, the method 800 may include forming a deformable layer on the substrate, such as a 2.33 micron layer of deformable material including a red iron oxide pigment, or any of the other deformable layer materials described herein, such as a deformable material that non-directionally reflects light passing through the substrate and incident on a surface of the substrate adjacent to the deformable layer. The deformable layer may be formed, e.g., by spin coating the deformable material onto the substrate or otherwise disposing a layer of the deformable material onto the substrate, or by molding the substrate onto a pre-formed layer of the deformable material. The deformable layer may also or instead be coated with a 1 micron layer of antiabrasion thermoplastic elastomer (on the side opposing the substrate), which usefully provides a tacky surface for adhering microspheres or other particles. Thus, the red iron pigment is frequently produced and utilized in nanoparticle form, with sizes often ranging from approximately 19nm to 150 nm; Reference to “AI Overview’).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Adelson to the system of Won in view of Lee in order to increase accuracy and provide additional information about occluded surface, which improve the quantitative accuracy of reconstructed three-dimensional images.
Referring to claim 190, Won discloses wherein the first illumination source comprises a light emitting diode (Won- [0134]; The light source 120 may be a light-emitting diode
(LED).).
Referring to claim 191, Won discloses wherein the detector is a photodetector (Won-
[0135]; The light sensor 130 may be a charged-coupled device (CCD), photodetectors, or a complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) imager such as is commonly used in digital camera.).
Referring to claim 192, Won discloses wherein the detector is an image capture device (Won- [0135]; The light sensor 130 may be a charged-coupled device (CCD),
photodetectors, or a complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) imager such as
is commonly used in digital camera. The light sensor 130 generates signals, for example,
electrical signals, to indicate an intensity of scattered light 196 that strikes pixels of the
light sensor 130. The light sensor 130 may comprise a two dimensional pattern of pixels
where each pixel has an intensity that indicates the intensity of light 196 that is striking
the light sensor 130 at that pixel. For example, the light sensor 130 may comprise 1392.
times.1042 pixels, each pixel having a value indicating the intensity of light 196 striking
the pixel. In embodiments, the light sensor 130 may generate about 80 frames per second
of the intensity of light 196 striking each of the pixels of the light sensor 130.).
Referring to claim 193, Won discloses wherein the image capture device is a CCD or CMOS device (Won- [0135]; The light sensor 130 may be a charged-coupled device (CCD),
photodetectors, or a complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) imager such as
is commonly used in digital camera.).
Referring to claim 194, Won discloses further comprising a lens (Won- Fig. 1; 135) operatively coupled between the detector (Won- Fig. 1; 130) and the deformable transmissive layer (Won- Fig. 1; 110.2) (Won- Fig. 1; a lens 135 operatively coupled between detector 130 and the deformable transmissive layer 110.2).
Referring to claim 195, Won discloses wherein the computing system (Won- Fig. 1; 160) is operatively coupled to the detector (Won- Fig. 1; 130) and configured to receive information from the detector (Won- Fig. 1; 130) pertaining to light detected by the detector (Won- Fig. 1; 130) from within the deformable transmissive layer (Won- Fig. 1; 110.2) (Won- [0126]; The
scattered light 196 strikes the light sensor 130. The light sensor 130 generates signals
that are communicated to the controller 160. The controller 160 is configured to take the
signals and generate an image 180 of the object 150, which the controller 160 displays on
the display 170).
Referring to claim 196, Won discloses wherein the computing system (Won- Fig. 1; 160) is operatively coupled to the first illumination source (Won- Fig. 1; 120) and is configured to control emissions from the first illumination source (Won- [0134] The light source 120 may be
a light-emitting diode (LED). The light source 120 emits light into the optical waveguide
110. The light source 120 may be coupled to the optical waveguide 110 by direct
coupling, prism coupling, grating coupling, or tapered coupling. In embodiments there
are multiple light sources 120 that may be coupled to the waveguide 110 in different
places of the waveguide 110. The light source 120 may have a spatial radiation pattern
with all angle that defines the angle in which the light source 120 emits light 192.).
Referring to claim 197, Won discloses wherein the elastomeric material is selected from the group consisting of: silicone, urethane, polyurethane, thermoplastic elastomer (TPE), thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU), plastisol, natural rubber, polyvinyl chloride, polyisoprene, and fluoroelastomer (Won- [0131]; The waveguide 110 shape and size may vary according to the application. For example, in embodiments, a large 20 cm by 20 cm waveguide may be used for breast cancer screening. In embodiments, the waveguide 110 is from 2 millimeters to 3 centimeters wide by a similar sized length. In embodiments, the waveguide is larger than the object. In embodiments, the waveguide 110 is from 2 millimeters to 50 centimeters wide by a similar sized length. In embodiments, the optical waveguide is composed of PDMS having a chemical formula of CH3[Si(CH3) 2O]nSi(CH3)3, which is a high performance silicone elastomer.).
Claims 2-5 and 186-189 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won (US 2013/0070074 hereinafter Won) in view of Lee et al. (US 9,063,594 hereinafter Lee), Adelson et al. (US 2021/0215474 hereinafter Adelson), and Virgili et al. (US 2018/0267640 hereinafter Virgili).
Referring to claim 2, Won in view of Lee, and Adelson as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein the deformable transmissive layer is configured to be controllably inflated from a collapsed form to an expanded form with infusion of pressure to expand an operatively coupled bladder with a fluid.
In an analogous art, Virgili discloses wherein the deformable transmissive layer is configured to be controllably inflated from a collapsed form to an expanded form with infusion of pressure to expand an operatively coupled bladder (Fig. 23A-23B; 242) with a fluid (Virgili; [0122-0123]; deforms the deformable region 231 within bladder 242 when fluid pressure within the fluid channel 213B changes pressure via displacement device 240).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Virgili to the system of Won in view of Lee, and Adelson in order to utilize the cover layer that exhibit characteristics including optically clarity, and/or durability so that the material can be compressed and stretched (e.g. up to 150%-200% of original size).
Referring to claim 3, Won as modified by Virgili discloses wherein the fluid is selected from the group consisting of: air, inert gas, water, and saline (Virgili- [0129]; For example, the working fluid 250 can be water, an alcohol, or an oil).
Referring to claim 4, Won as modified by Virgili discloses wherein the bladder (Virgili-Fig. 23A-23B; 242) is an elastomeric bladder intercoupled between the deformable transmissive layer (Virgili- Fig. 23A-23B; 230) and the mounting structure (Virgili- Fig. 23A-23B; 240) (Virgili- [0122], Fig. 23A-23B; the bladder 242 can be of any other elastic or elastomeric material and can be fluidly coupled to mounting structure 240 and deformable layer 230).
Referring to claim 5, Won in view of Lee, and Adelson as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein the deformable transmissive layer is configured to be controllably expanded with insertion of a mechanical dilator member relative to the mounting structure.
In an analogous art, Virgili discloses wherein the deformable transmissive layer is configured to be controllably expanded with insertion of a mechanical dilator member (Virgili- Fig. 23A-23B; 242) relative to the mounting structure (Virgili- [0122-0123]; deforms the deformable region 231 within bladder 242 when fluid pressure within the fluid channel 213B changes pressure via displacement device 240).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Virgili to the system of Won in view of Lee, and Adelson in order to utilize the cover layer that exhibit characteristics including optically clarity, and/or durability so that the material can be compressed and stretched (e.g. up to 150%-200% of original size).
Referring to claim 186, Won in view of Lee, and Adelson as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein the deformable transmissive layer is configured to be controllably inflated from a collapsed form to an expanded form with infusion of pressure to expand an operatively coupled bladder with a fluid.
In an analogous art, Virgili discloses wherein the deformable transmissive layer is configured to be controllably inflated from a collapsed form to an expanded form with infusion of pressure to expand an operatively coupled bladder (Fig. 23A-23B; 242) with a fluid (Virgili; [0122-0123]; deforms the deformable region 231 within bladder 242 when fluid pressure within the fluid channel 213B changes pressure via displacement device 240).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Virgili to the system of Won in view of Lee, and Adelson in order to utilize the cover layer that exhibit characteristics including optically clarity, and/or durability so that the material can be compressed and stretched (e.g. up to 150%-200% of original size).
Referring to claim 187, Won as modified by Virgili discloses wherein the fluid is selected from the group consisting of: air, inert gas, water, and saline (Virgili- [0129]; For example, the working fluid 250 can be water, an alcohol, or an oil).
Referring to claim 188, Won as modified by Virgili discloses wherein the bladder (Virgili-Fig. 23A-23B; 242) is an elastomeric bladder intercoupled between the deformable transmissive layer (Virgili- Fig. 23A-23B; 230) and the mounting structure (Virgili- Fig. 23A-23B; 240) (Virgili- [0122], Fig. 23A-23B; the bladder 242 can be of any other elastic or elastomeric material and can be fluidly coupled to mounting structure 240 and deformable layer 230).
Referring to claim 189, Won in view of Lee, and Adelson as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein the deformable transmissive layer is configured to be controllably expanded with insertion of a mechanical dilator member relative to the mounting structure.
In an analogous art, Virgili discloses wherein the deformable transmissive layer is configured to be controllably expanded with insertion of a mechanical dilator member (Virgili- Fig. 23A-23B; 242) relative to the mounting structure (Virgili- [0122-0123]; deforms the deformable region 231 within bladder 242 when fluid pressure within the fluid channel 213B changes pressure via displacement device 240).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Virgili to the system of Won in view of Lee, and Adelson in order to utilize the cover layer that exhibit characteristics including optically clarity, and/or durability so that the material can be compressed and stretched (e.g. up to 150%-200% of original size).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won (US
2013/0070074 hereinafter Won) in view of Lee et al. (US 9,063,594 hereinafter Lee), Adelson et al. (US 2021/0215474 hereinafter Adelson), and Wang Chia (CA 3112438 A1 hereinafter Wang).
Referring to claim 17, Won in view of Lee, and Adelson as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein the metal oxide is selected from the group consisting of: iron oxide, zinc oxide, aluminum oxide, and titanium dioxide.
In an analogous art, Wang discloses wherein the metal oxide is selected from the group consisting of: iron oxide, zinc oxide, aluminum oxide, and titanium dioxide (Wang-see attachment highlighted section; The disclosed coating composition may also contain auxiliaries or additives such as abrasion resistance improvers, absorbents, rheological modifiers, plasticizers, antifoaming agents, antifouling agents, thixotropic agents, pigments, fillers, additional aggregate, fungicides, mildewcides, biocides, extenders, reinforcing agents, flow control agents, catalysts, wetting agents, adhesion promoters, thickening agents, flame-retarding agents, antioxidants, elastomers, anti-settling agents, diluents, UV light stabilizers, air release agents, solvents, dispersing aids, and mixtures thereof Suitable pigments may be selected from organic and inorganic color pigments which may include titanium dioxide, carbon black, lampblack, zinc oxide, natural and synthetic red, yellow, brown and black iron oxides, toluidine and benzidine yellow, phthalocyanine blue and green, and carbazole violet, and extender pigments including ground and crystalline silica, barium sulfate, magnesium silicate, calcium silicate, mica, micaceous iron oxide, calcium carbonate, zinc powder, aluminum and aluminum silicate, aluminum paste, gypsum, feldspar and the like. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Wang to the system of Won in view of Lee, and Adelson in order to provide methods of making the coating and coating a substrate with the coating composition to provide a slip- or skid-resistant coating on a surface of a substrate.
Claim 198 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won (US 2013/0070074 hereinafter Won) in view of Lee et al. (US 9,063,594 hereinafter Lee), Adelson et al. (US 2021/0215474 hereinafter Adelson), and Behm et al. (US 2012/0267888 hereinafter Behm).
Referring to claim 198, Won in view of Lee, and Adelson as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein the metal oxide is selected from the group consisting of: a silver nanoparticle and an aluminum nanoparticle.
In an analogous art, Behm discloses wherein the metal oxide is selected from the group consisting of: wherein the metal oxide is selected from the group consisting of: a silver nanoparticle and an aluminum nanoparticle (Behm- [0036]; When employing nanoparticles in SOC secured documents, the large surface area of nano particles tends to create inks that are ideally suited for providing opacity. The extremely small size, surface area, and leafing (i.e., overlaying) characteristics of nanoparticle based inks allow the pigments to effectively plug microscopic holes in the homogeneous particle dispersion thereby blocking any light path through the smallest of orifices. When nanoparticle based metal pigments (e.g., aluminum, silver, etc.) are employed for optical blocking, the light blocking characteristics of metal allow the particles to stop light transfer, while at the same time not providing as dark (and consequently low contrast) background as more traditional carbon based pigmented inks with a much larger particle size. If nanoparticle-sized pigments are coated or covered with a white pigment source (e.g., titanium dioxide) in a secondary process, the opacity layer can appear white or light gray to an observer, creating a high contrast background as well as a suitable pallet for process color indicia. Additionally, since the surface area and leafing of nanoparticle sized pigments are much larger, greater levels of opacity can be achieved with thinner ink film applications (e.g., 2.0 to 3.84 BCM--Billion Cubic Microns), with the reduced material in thinner ink films being a desirable characteristic unto itself--i.e., scratch-off coatings tend to be cleaner.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Behm to the system of Won in view of Lee, and Adelson in order to allow the indicia to be defined by micro printing such that micro printing can be used to help thwart forgeries and resolve conflicts that arise in lottery ticket visual redemption, thus avoiding attacks and enhancing readability of a properly played SOC secure document.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 199-242 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Referring to claim 199, the prior art of record does not teach, disclose or suggest the claimed limitations of (in combination with all other limitations in the claim), “A system for geometric surface characterization, comprising:
a. a deformable transmissive layer coupled to a mounting structure and to an interface membrane, wherein the interface membrane is interfaced against at least one aspect of an interfaced object having a surface to be characterized;
b. a first illumination source operatively coupled to the deformable transmissive layer and configured to emit first illumination light into the deformable transmissive layer at a known first illumination orientation relative to the deformable transmissive layer, such that at least a portion of the first illumination light interacts with the deformable transmissive layer;
c. a detector configured to detect light from within at least a portion of the deformable transmissive layer; and
d. a computing system configured to operate the detector to detect at least a portion of light directed from the deformable transmissive layer, to determine surface orientations pertaining to positions along the interface membrane based at least in part upon interaction of the first illumination light with the deformable transmissive layer, and to utilize the determined surface orientations to characterize a geometric profile of the surface of the object as interfaced against the interface membrane;
wherein the deformable transmissive layer is configured to be controllably expanded relative to the mounting structure such that the interface membrane is controllably urged against the against at least one aspect of an interfaced object having a surface to be characterized; wherein the deformable transmissive layer comprises an elastomeric material; wherein the deformable transmissive layer comprises a composite having a pigment material distributed within an elastomeric matrix, the pigment material configured to provide an illumination reflectance which is greater than that of the elastomer matrix; wherein the pigment material comprises a metal nanoparticle; and wherein the computer system is configured to gather two or more geometric profiles of two or more portions of the surface of the object as interfaced against the interface membrane and determine a position and an orientation pertaining to the two or more geometric profiles relative to each other in the global coordinate system.”.
Referring to claim 205, the prior art of record does not teach, disclose or suggest the claimed limitations of (in combination with all other limitations in the claim), “A system for geometric surface characterization, comprising:
a. a deformable transmissive layer coupled to a mounting structure and to an interface
membrane, wherein the interface membrane is interfaced against at least one aspect of an
interfaced object having a surface to be characterized;
b. a first illumination source operatively coupled to the deformable transmissive layer and configured to emit first illumination light into the deformable transmissive layer at a known first illumination orientation relative to the deformable transmissive layer, such that at least a portion of the first illumination light interacts with the deformable transmissive layer;
c. a detector configured to detect light from within at least a portion of the deformable
transmissive layer; and
d. a computing system configured to operate the detector to detect at least a portion of light directed from the deformable transmissive layer, to determine surface orientations pertaining to positions along the interface membrane based at least in part upon interaction of the first illumination light with the deformable transmissive layer, and to utilize the determined surface orientations to characterize a geometric profile of the surface of the object as interfaced against the interface membrane;
wherein the deformable transmissive layer is configured to be controllably expanded relative to the mounting structure such that the interface membrane is controllably urged against the against at least one aspect of an interfaced object having a surface to be characterized; wherein the deformable transmissive layer comprises an elastomeric material; wherein the deformable transmissive layer comprises a composite having a pigment material distributed within an elastomeric matrix, the pigment material configured to provide an illumination reflectance which is greater than that of the elastomer matrix; wherein the pigment material comprises a metal nanoparticle; wherein the metal nanoparticle is selected from the group consisting of: a silver nanoparticle and an aluminum nanoparticle; and wherein the computing system is configured to provide a three-dimensional mapping pertaining to the two or more geometric profiles relative to each other in the global coordinate system.”.
Referring to claim 221, the prior art of record does not teach, disclose or suggest the claimed limitations of (in combination with all other limitations in the claim), “A system for geometric surface characterization, comprising:
a. a deformable transmissive layer coupled to a mounting structure and to an interface membrane, wherein the interface membrane is interfaced against at least one aspect of an interfaced object having a surface to be characterized;
b. a first illumination source operatively coupled to the deformable transmissive layer and configured to emit first illumination light into the deformable transmissive layer at a known first illumination orientation relative to the deformable transmissive layer, such that at least a portion of the first illumination light interacts with the deformable transmissive layer;
c. a detector configured to detect light from within at least a portion of the deformable transmissive layer; and
d. a computing system configured to operate the detector to detect at least a portion of light directed from the deformable transmissive layer, to determine surface orientations pertaining to positions along the interface membrane based at least in part upon interaction of the first illumination light with the deformable transmissive layer, and to utilize the determined surface orientations to characterize a geometric profile of the surface of the object as interfaced against the interface membrane;
wherein the deformable transmissive layer is configured to be controllably expanded relative to the mounting structure such that the interface membrane is controllably urged against the against at least one aspect of an interfaced object having a surface to be characterized; wherein the interface membrane comprises an elastomeric material; and wherein the computing system is configured to stitch geometrically adjacent geometric profiles together using interpolation of the geometric profiles and relative positions and orientations thereof.”.
Referring to claims 200-204, 206-220, and 222-242 are allowable based upon dependent on independent claims 199, 205, and 221.
Conclusion
/SCOTT D AU/Examiner, Art Unit 2624