Detailed Office Action
The communication dated 7/8/2026 has been entered and fully considered. Claim 11 is withdrawn from examination. Claims 1-11 remain pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-10) in the reply filed on 7/8/2026 is acknowledged. Claim 11 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6-9 recites the limitation "the printing medium" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WATANABE (US-2013/0051886; of record), hereinafter WATANABE. Note that the italicized text below are the instant claims.
Regarding claim 1, WATANABE discloses A plate data forming device {[abstract] note image is the data and sheet is the plate} comprising:
a processor {[0030]-[0031] note CPU} configured to:
form plate data of a pressure-bondable toner that indicate at least one of an amount of the pressure-bondable toner, which is formed on a printing medium, or a region, in which the pressure-bondable toner is formed on the printing medium {[abstract] note adhesive toner is the pressure-bondable toner, note pattern in a predetermined bonding that is indicative of the region, note number of color toner refers to the amount of the pressure-bondable toner, [0028] note application of pressure to the adhesive toner, [0039] note bonding position, [0009] note layer thickness of adhesive toner relates to its amount},
on the basis of a pressure-bondable toner formation condition indicating a condition for forming the pressure-bondable toner on the printing medium {[abstract] note bonding strength is the condition}.
Regarding claim 2, WATANABE discloses wherein the pressure-bondable toner formation condition is a binding condition relating to binding of the printing medium on which the pressure-bondable toner is formed {[abstract] note bonding strength is the bonding condition}.
Regarding claim 4, WATANABE discloses wherein the processor is configured to: determine the pressure-bondable toner formation condition in response to an instruction issued from a user {[0030] note input from a user, [0039] note user select bonding position that is a formation condition, [0040] note selection of binding conditions by user, [0043] note user can input data, [0059] note user can decide bonding strength depending on sheet type}.
Regarding claim 5, WATANABE discloses wherein the processor is configured to: form plate data of a color toner; and not change the plate data of the color toner, in accordance with change of the pressure-bondable toner formation condition {[0041] note prevention of overlapping of adhesive toner with the image so that the color toner of the plate data or image is not changed due to this potential undesired overlapping}.
Regarding claims 6-7 and 9, WATANABE discloses A pressure-bonding device that pressure-bonds pressure-bondable toner surfaces of a printing medium on which the pressure-bondable toner is formed on the basis of the plate data formed by the plate data forming device according to claim 1 (or 2 or 4), wherein the pressure-bondable toner surfaces of the printing medium are pressure-bonded to each other at a pressure which is determined on the basis of the pressure-bondable toner formation condition {[abstract] note stacking and binding together, note conditions are binding manner, number of pixels of the adhesive toner pattern, a toner area ratio, and layer thickness}.
Regarding claim 10, WATANABE discloses A plate data forming program causing a computer to execute a process {[abstract] also see claim 1 above, [0031] note program and execution of the program that execute the process} comprising:
forming plate data of a pressure-bondable toner that indicate at least one of an amount of the pressure-bondable toner, which is formed on a printing medium, or a region, in which the pressure-bondable toner is formed on the printing medium {[abstract] note adhesive toner is the pressure-bondable toner, note pattern in a predetermine bonding that is indicative of the region, note number of color toner refers to the amount of the pressure-bondable toner, [0028] note application of pressure to the adhesive toner, [0039] note bonding position, [0009] note layer thickness of adhesive toner relates to its amount},
on the basis of a pressure-bondable toner formation condition indicating a condition for forming the pressure-bondable toner on the printing medium {[abstract] note bonding strength is the condition}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WATANABE, in view of HASHIMOTO (US-2014/0072388; of record), hereinafter HASHIMOTO.
Regarding claim 3, WATANABE discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. WATANABE further discloses wherein the binding condition includes characteristics of the printing medium, and the processor is configured to: form the plate data of the pressure-bondable toner on the basis of the characteristics of the printing medium {[0005] note bonding strength is determined by sheet thickness which is a characteristic of the printing medium, [0057]-[0058] note sheet thickness determines the bonding strength or the amount of adhesive toner tht is applied base on this characteristic of the printing medium}.
WATANABE, however, is silent on this characteristics (or thickness) detected by a sensor.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to image forming and sheet binding, HASHIMOTO discloses detected by a sensor {[0127] note sheet thickness detection sensor}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to have included the sheet thickness sensor of HASHIMOTO in the device of WATANABE, since both WATANABE {[0057]-0058]} and HASHIMOTO {[0126]} disclose that knowing sheet thickness is important in determining the binding strength and time to impellent an effective bonding, thus having a thickness sensor in the WATANABE device is extremely beneficial.
Regarding claim 8, WATANABE discloses A pressure-bonding device that pressure-bonds pressure-bondable toner surfaces of a printing medium on which the pressure-bondable toner is formed on the basis of the plate data formed by the plate data forming device according to claim 3, wherein the pressure-bondable toner surfaces of the printing medium are pressure-bonded to each other at a pressure which is determined on the basis of the pressure-bondable toner formation condition {[abstract] note stacking and binding together, note conditions are binding manner, number of pixels of the adhesive toner pattern, a toner area ratio, and layer thickness}.
Conclusion
/S. BEHROOZ GHORISHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748