DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are pending and under consideration for this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 2-5, 7, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2: It is unclear what would be considered a “coarse distribution structure”. Neither the claim nor the instant specification provides a definition or explanation for what would be considered coarse. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as any structure that defines the flow direction at an angle of 60-120o along the surface of the active area region, based on [00045] of the instant specification.
Claim 7: It is unclear what would be considered a “fine distribution structure”. The claim does not provide a definition or explanation for what would be considered fine. The instant specification states “porous transport layer a fine distribution structure of fine-pored elements contacting the catalyst layer” (see [00055]). However, “fine-pored” is not anymore clear than “fine distribution” because the metes and bounds of what is considered fine has not been defined.
Claim 13: The limitation claiming “the ratio of length and width being: L/W=1/5…1/1” is unclear because the range has not been clearly shown nor defined.
Any claims dependent on the above claims are rejected for their dependence.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 6-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stuart et al (US 6187155 B1) in view of Stuart et al (US 6383347 B1, referred to as LaChance herein), Moon et al (US 20110048932 A1), and LaCroix (US 20170247800 A1).
Claim 1: Stuart discloses an electrolyzer to produce hydrogen (see e.g. col 1, lines 5-7), the electrolyzer comprising:
at least two electrolysis cells (see e.g. col 3, lines 16-20) arranged in at least two planes (see e.g. Fig 5), each of the at least two electrolysis cells having at least one anode and one cathode (see e.g. #114 and #116 on Fig 5); and
a membrane arranged between the anode and the cathode of each of the at least two electrolysis cells (see e.g. #64 on Fig 5), the membranes forming respective active area regions, wherein at least one electrolysis cell has at least two active area regions arranged substantially in a plane (see e.g. active electrode areas for each #110 on Fig 5); and
at least one tie rod extending substantially perpendicular with regard to the plane (see e.g. col 5, lines 61-65).
Stuart does not explicitly teach that the membrane is a proton exchange membrane. Stuart does not specify the type membrane used and a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention would therefore be motivated to find a suitable type of membrane for these cells. MPEP § 2144.07 states ‘The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)’. LaChance teaches an electrolyzer to produce hydrogen (see e.g. abstract; col 11, lines 26-30), making it analogous art (see MPEP § 2141.01(a) I). The electrolyzer of LaChance is substantially similar to that of Stuart (see e.g. Fig 2) and LaChance teaches that the membranes for these electrolyzers are proton exchange membranes (see e.g. claim 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use a proton exchange membrane.
Stuart does not explicitly teach that the at least one tie rod is arranged between active area regions. Stuart states “The use of a rigid structural element such as a rectangular tube used to form end box 44 with clamping bars 52 and tie rods and associated fasteners (not shown) provides an even load distributing surface to seal the stacks 22 at modest clamping pressures” (see e.g. see e.g. col 5, lines 61-65). Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention would be motivated to find suitable configurations for tie rods for these electrolyzers. Moon teaches an electrolyzer to produce hydrogen (see e.g. abstract), making it analogous art (see MPEP § 2141.01(a) I). The electrolyzer of Moon has tie rods that are arranged along the sides of the electrolyzer (see e.g. #17 on Fig 1). LaCroix teaches an electrolyzer to produce hydrogen (see e.g. abstract), making it analogous art (see MPEP § 2141.01(a) I). The electrolyzer of LaCroix has tie rods that are arranged in the middle of the electrolyzer (see e.g. #154 on Fig 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use the tire rod configurations shown in Moon and LaCroix with the electrolyzer of Stuart because Moon and LaCroix show suitable means of implementing the tie rods in an electrolyzer. This configurations along the sides and middles would have the tie rods arranged between active area regions.
Claim 6: Stuart in view of LaChance, Moon, and LaCroix teaches at least one electrolysis cell has at least three active area regions arranged essentially in a plane (see e.g. Stuart – multiple #110 per cell on Fig 5).
Claim 7: Stuart in view of LaChance, Moon, and LaCroix teaches that the proton exchange membrane has a fine distribution layer (the pores of the proton exchange membrane are considered to be fine, see e.g. LaChance - see e.g. claim 8).
Claim 8: Stuart in view of LaChance, Moon, and LaCroix teaches that the active area regions are arranged in a supporting element (frame, see e.g. Stuart - #64 on Fig 4).
Claim 9: Stuart in view of LaChance, Moon, and LaCroix teaches that the active area regions are embedded in the supporting element (see e.g. Stuart - #64 on Fig 4).
Claim 10: Stuart in view of LaChance, Moon, and LaCroix teaches that between at least two active area regions arranged adjacent in one plane, a receiving space is formed for receiving the medium in the electrode in a respective receiving space (see e.g. Stuart - spaces between electrodes on Fig 5).
Claim 11: Stuart in view of LaChance, Moon, and LaCroix teaches that at least one tie rod extends through at least one receiving space (for the tie rod in the middle, see e.g. LaCroix - #154 on Fig 2).
Claim 12: Stuart in view of LaChance, Moon, and LaCroix teaches that between at least two active area regions arranged adjacent in one plane, an outlet space is formed for discharging residual water and the oxygen produced from the cell (see e.g. Stuart – the different discharge ports at the top and bottom of each frame on Fig 4 and space between frames on Fig 5), and wherein the at least one tie rod extends through at least one outlet space (for the tie rod in the middle, see e.g. LaCroix - #154 on Fig 2).
Claim 13: Stuart in view of LaChance, Moon, and LaCroix teaches that active area regions have a length L and a width W, the ratio of length and width being: L/W < 1 (rectangular shaped, see e.g. #30 on Fig 4), overlapping with the claimed range of “1/5 … 1/1”. MPEP § 2144.05 I states ‘In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) ’.
Claim 14: Stuart in view of LaChance, Moon, and LaCroix teaches a method for producing hydrogen (see e.g. Stuart - col 1, lines 5-7),
providing an electrolyzer according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above);
supplying water to the anodes of the electrolysis cells (see e.g. Stuart - col 2, lines 26-27);
applying an electric voltage to the electrodes of the electrolysis cells (see e.g. Stuart - col 1, lines 14-17); and
withdrawing hydrogen from the cathodes of the electrolysis cells (see e.g. Stuart - #50 on Fig 4).
Claim 15: Stuart in view of LaChance, Moon, and LaCroix teaches that the active area regions are flowed by separate water volume flows (see e.g. Stuart – Flow windows for each frame #30 on Fig 4).
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stuart in view of LaChance, Moon, and LaCroix as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Reytier et al (US 20190348699 A1).
Claim 2: Stuart in view of LaChance, Moon, and LaCroix does not explicitly teach that at least one of cathode and anode comprise at least one coarse distribution structure for guiding a respective medium in the respective electrode along at least one active area region. Reytier teaches an electrolyzer to produce hydrogen (see e.g. [0005]), making it analogous art (see MPEP § 2141.01(a) I). The electrolyzer of Reytier teaches electrodes having a coarse distribution structure (for interpretation of this, see the rejection under 35 USC 112(b) above) for guiding a respective medium in the respective electrode along at least one active area region (see e.g. 90o of gas across the surface of the active area on Fig 7; [0142]). This structure has the benefit of improving the thermal homogeneity of each cell (see e.g. [0100]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the electrolyzer of Stuart to incorporate the flow design of Reytier, including the coarse distribution structure, to improve the thermal homogeneity of each cell
Claim 3: Stuart in view of LaChance, Moon, LaCroix, and Reytier teaches that at least one of the anode and cathode comprises a plate on its side facing away from the proton exchange membrane (see e.g. Stuart - #110 and 64 on Fig 5), and wherein the coarse distribution structure is at least partially formed by channels integrated into the plate (see e.g. Reytier – [0190]).
Claim 4: Stuart in view of LaChance, Moon, LaCroix, and Reytier teaches that both the cathode (see e.g. Reytier - [0142]) and the anode (see e.g. Reytier – [0145]) of an electrolysis cell form a coarse distribution structure, and in the respective active area regions of the electrodes, the coarse distribution structure defining a respective flow direction for the medium, conducted by the respective electrode, and wherein the flow directions of the areas of cathode and anode associated with a respective active area region run at an angle of 90° (see e.g. 90o of gas across the surface of the active area on Fig 7; [0142]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stuart in view of LaChance, Moon, LaCroix, and Reytier as applied to claim 4 above, and in further view of Haryu et al (US 20110147202 A1).
Claim 5: Stuart in view of LaChance, Moon, LaCroix, and Reytier teaches that for each of the at least two electrolysis cells there is at least one outlet device for discharging an outlet medium from the electrolysis cell (see e.g. Stuart - #50 on Fig 4), and wherein the inlet and outlet devices of a plurality of electrolysis cells are fluidically-connected to form a common inlet flow connection and a common outlet flow connection.
Although Stuart discloses supplying water in general to the electrolyzer, Stuart does not explicitly teach that for each of the at least two electrolysis cells there is at least one inlet device for feeding an inlet medium into the electrolysis cell, wherein the inlet and outlet devices of a plurality of electrolysis cells are fluidically-connected to form a common inlet flow connection and a common outlet flow connection. Haryu teaches an electrolyzer to produce hydrogen (see e.g. abstract; col 11, lines 26-30), making it analogous art (see MPEP § 2141.01(a) I). The electrolyzer of Haryu includes at least one inlet device for each cell (see e.g. [0045]), wherein the inlet and outlet devices of a plurality of electrolysis cells are fluidically-connected to form a common inlet flow connection and a common outlet flow connection (see e.g. #46, #48, and #50 on Fig 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the electrolyzer of Stuart to include that for each of the at least two electrolysis cells there is at least one inlet device for feeding an inlet medium into the electrolysis cell, wherein the inlet and outlet devices of a plurality of electrolysis cells are fluidically-connected to form a common inlet flow connection and a common outlet flow connection as taught in Haryu as a suitable means of supply reactants and removing products from the electrolyzer.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALEXANDER W KEELING whose telephone number is (571)272-9961. The examiner can normally be reached 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Luan Van can be reached at 571-272-8521. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALEXANDER W KEELING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795