DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/25/24, 11/01/24, and 11/26/25 was considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 03/25/24.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” “of the present disclosure”, etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it does not appear to capture the essence of the disclosed/claimed invention. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. It does not appear to capture the essence of the disclosed/claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kurita 2013/0149583.
As to claims 1-3, 9-13:
Kurita discloses that it is known in the art to make a battery system (i.e., an energy storage apparatus) comprising an accommodation casing/housing 3 including a cover and a plurality of layered accommodating spaces/portions including apertures/holes/gaps communicating with the outside, a plurality of electrical cells 2 in thermal contact therewith, and a cooling fan 4; an internal passage/pathway or channel through which a fluid A1/A2 passes (Abstract; 0003; 0009-0010; 0029-0030; 0040-0048; 0051-0055; 0066-0072; 0142-0154; see CLAIMS 1-5; see Figures 2a-b, 3a-b, 6d, 7a, 9, 10b & 11a).
Figures 2a-b, 3a-b, 6d, 7a, 9, 10b & 11a, infra, depict the structure of the battery system:
As to claims 4-6:
Figures 9, 10b and 11a of Kurita illustrate battery cells including a surface including a terminal/tab protruding 14, 32 therefrom and from a different surface in thermal contact with the battery cell (0040-0048; 0051-0055; 0066-0072; 0142-0154; see Figures 9, 10b & 11a).
As to claims 7-8:
Figures 2-3, 7a, 9 and 11a of Kurita also illustrate resin-based layered portions 14, 32 on an inner wall (0058; see Figures 2-3, 7a, 9 & 11a).
As to claims 14-16:
Figures 2a-b, 3a-b, 6d, 7a, 9, 10b & 11a of Kurita depict a heat-conductive partition wall (i.e., wall 9a can be taken to represent applicant’s broadly claimed partition wall) positioned between the accommodating spaces/portions and in direct contact with battery cells (see Figures 2a-b, 3a-b, 6d, 7a, 9, 10b & 11a). Kurita disclose the accommodating body/space made of a metallic/steel based material (0058; 0139). Note that the present claims fail to define the specific heat conductive degree, as such, it can be fairly asserted that the partition wall of Kurita satisfies the requirement of conducting heat to certain degree as broadly claimed.
Thus, the present claims are anticipated.
(at least) Claims 1 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Oshiba et al 9859533.
As to claims 1 and 16:
Oshiba et al discloses that it is known in the art to make a battery system (i.e., an energy storage apparatus) comprising an accommodation casing/housing including a cover and a plurality of layered accommodating spaces/portions including apertures/holes/gaps communicating with the outside, a plurality of electrical cells in thermal contact therewith, an internal passage/pathway or channel through which a fluid passes (Abstract; COL 6, line 32 to COL 7, line 40; COL 10, line 15 to COL 11, line 30; see 1st/2nd Modified Embodiments; see Figures 3 & 6-7, 11 & 14). ). Oshiba et al disclose the accommodating body/space can be made of a metallic/steel based material (COL 8, lines 37-46).
Thus, the present claim is anticipated.
(at least) Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Fujii 2008/0026284.
As to claims 1-3:
Fujii discloses that it is known in the art to make a battery system (i.e., an energy storage apparatus) comprising an accommodation casing/housing including a cover and a plurality of layered accommodating spaces/portions including apertures/holes/gaps communicating with the outside, a plurality of electrical cells in thermal contact therewith, and a cooling fan 8; an internal passage/pathway or channel through which a fluid passes (Abstract; 0037-0041; 0049-0057; see CLAIMS 1-4; see Figures 1 & 3-8).
Thus, the present claims are anticipated.
Conclusion
/RAYMOND ALEJANDRO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1752