1. This communication is responsive to the Amendment filed 6/26/2025.
2. Claims 1-22 are pending in this application. Claims 1 and 11 are independent claims. In the instant Amendment, claims 1 and 11 were amended and claims 21-22 were added. This action is made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1-9, 11-19 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stading et al (“Stading” US 2017/0365021).
Regarding claim 1, Stading discloses an electronic device for editing personal information (see the Abstract; e.g., build and edit resume), comprising:
a display, configured to display a personal information display area (see paragraph [0100]; e.g., panel 702 contains personal data (e.g., name, address, telephone number)), a first template (see fig 7, 704 where categories “Experience” and “Education” are shown) and a second template (see fig 7, 704 where categories “Experience” and “Education” are shown), wherein the personal information display area is separated from the first item template and the second item template by a boundary (see fig 7 where the boundary between 702 and 704 is shown);
a processor, configured to:
receive the personal information including a first content (see paragraph [0100]; e.g., panel 702 contains personal data (e.g., name, address, telephone number)), wherein the first item template and the second item template do not present the first content of the personal information (see fig 7; e.g., panel 704 does not include name, address and telephone number);
receive a first input operation to move the first item template to the personal information display area over the boundary to generate a first information item corresponding to the first item template (see paragraphs [0100]-[0102]; e.g., “an “Add” button 710 (indicated by a button including an arrow) accessible by a user to add the data to the resume template.”); and
present, on the personal information display area, the first content of the personal information by the first information item after moving the first item template to the personal information display area over the boundary according to the first input operation (see paragraph [0104]; e.g., generate resume; also see fig 8, 818).
Regarding claim 2, Stading discloses wherein: the first item template has a first text box associated with the first content; the second item template has a second text box associated with a second content that is the same with the first content; and the processor is further configured to receive a second input operation to edit the first content presented by the first information item on the personal information display area. (see fig 7, where edit button 714 is shown; also see paragraphs [0035], [0097] and [0100]-[0105]).
Regarding claim 3, Stading discloses the first information item on the personal information display area includes a synchronization functional icon; and the processor is further configured to synchronously update the personal information and the second content based on a synchronization request when the synchronization functional icon is clicked (see paragraph [0100]; e.g., altering resume template).
Regarding claim 4, Stading discloses wherein the first information item has a first functional icon; and the processor is further configured to divide the personal information display area into a first column and a second column in response to receiving a third input operation corresponding to the first functional icon (see paragraph [0100]; e.g., altering resume template).
Regarding claim 5, Stading discloses wherein the display is further configured to display a third item template, and the processor is further configured to receive the first input operation to move the third item template to the personal information display area to generate a third information item corresponding to the third item template; and the first information item and the third information item are respectively disposed in the first column and the second column (see paragraph [0100]; e.g., altering resume template).
Regarding claim 6, Stading discloses wherein the first information item on the personal information display area comprises a second functional icon, the processor establishes a label corresponding to the first text box in the first item template in response to receiving a third input operation corresponding to the second functional icon, and the processor updates the content of the second text box of the second item template corresponding to the label according to the first text box (see paragraph [0100]; e.g., altering resume template).
Regarding claim 7, Stading discloses wherein the processor configures the label as a predetermined label in response to the first text box matching a predetermined text box (see paragraph [0100]; e.g., altering resume template).
Regarding claim 8, Stading discloses wherein the processor receives a fourth input operation in response to the first text box not matching a predetermined text box, and the processor establishes the label according to the fourth input operation (see paragraphs [0028], [0035], [0051], [0061], [0081], [0087] and [0096]; e.g., pre-populate resume with personal information regardless of text box/label).
Regarding claim 9, Stading discloses wherein the processor fills predetermined data into the first text box in the first item template in response to the personal information lacking data matching the first text box, and the predetermined data comprises at least one of predetermined text information and predetermined font format information (see paragraphs [0028], [0035], [0051], [0061], [0081], [0087] and [0096]; e.g., pre-populate resume with personal information regardless of text box/label).
Claims 11-19 are similar in scope to claims 1-9 respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 21, Stading discloses wherein: the personal information further includes a second content (see paragraph [0100]; e.g., panel 702 contains personal data (e.g., name, address, telephone number));
the first item template and the second item template do not present the second content of the personal information (see fig 7; e.g., panel 704 does not include name, address and telephone number), and
the method further comprises: receiving a second input operation to move the second item template to the personal information display area over the boundary to generate a second information item corresponding to the second item template (see paragraphs [0100]-[0102]; e.g., “an “Add” button 710 (indicated by a button including an arrow) accessible by a user to add the data to the resume template.”); and
presenting, on the personal information display area, the first content and the second content of the personal information by the first information item after moving the first item template and the second item template to the personal information display area over the boundary according to the second input operation (see paragraph [0104]; e.g., generate resume; also see fig 8, 818).
Claim 22 is similar in scope to claim 21 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stading in view of Ang et al (“Ang” US 2010/0257471).
Regarding claim 10, Stading does not expressly disclose wherein the processor displays a tip box corresponding to a first position in the personal information display area through the display in response to the first item template being moved to the first position of the personal information display area, wherein the processor displays the tip box through the display in response to the first portion of the first item template being moved over the boundary.
However, Ang discloses wherein the processor displays a tip box corresponding to a first position in the personal information display area through the display in response to the first item template being moved to the first position of the personal information display area, wherein the processor displays the tip box through the display in response to the first portion of the first item template being moved over the boundary (see fig 2, 214/216; also see paragraph [0042] “first region 210 depicts object 214 representing source data 236 of the source system, system 202. Second region 212 depicts object 216 representing target data 238 in the target system of system 204. Object 216 is shown as a dotted element indicated by dotted arrow 228 because the transfer operation has not occurred. The example illustrates the proposed transfer operation and intended result.”). It would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the present invention to include Ang’s teachings in Stading’s user interface in an effort to provide a more user-friendly interface that quickly and intuitively allows user to reposition objects.
Regarding claim 20, Stading does not expressly disclose displaying a tip box corresponding to a first position in the personal information display area through the display in response to the first item template being moved to the first position of the personal information display area, wherein displaying the tip box corresponding to the first position in the personal information display area through the display in response to the first item template being moved to the first position of the personal information display area comprises displaying the tip box through the display in response to the first portion of the first item template being moved over the boundary.
However, Ang discloses displaying a tip box corresponding to a first position in the personal information display area through the display in response to the first item template being moved to the first position of the personal information display area, wherein displaying the tip box corresponding to the first position in the personal information display area through the display in response to the first item template being moved to the first position of the personal information display area comprises displaying the tip box through the display in response to the first portion of the first item template being moved over the boundary (see fig 2, 214/216; also see paragraph [0042] “first region 210 depicts object 214 representing source data 236 of the source system, system 202. Second region 212 depicts object 216 representing target data 238 in the target system of system 204. Object 216 is shown as a dotted element indicated by dotted arrow 228 because the transfer operation has not occurred. The example illustrates the proposed transfer operation and intended result.”). It would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the present invention to include Ang’s teachings in Stading’s user interface in an effort to provide a more user-friendly interface that quickly and intuitively allows user to reposition objects.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant's arguments filed 6/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments concerning Stading failing to disclose a display, configured to display a personal information display area, a first template and a second template, wherein the personal information display area is separated from the first item template and the second item template by a boundary, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Stading discloses displaying a personal information display area (see paragraph [0100]; e.g., panel 702 contains personal data (e.g., name, address, telephone number)),
a first template (see fig 7, 704 where categories “Experience” and “Education” are shown) and a second template (see fig 7, 704 where categories “Experience” and “Education” are shown),
wherein the personal information display area is separated from the first item template and the second item template by a boundary (see fig 7 where the boundary between 702 and 704 is shown).
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Azeez et al (US 2025/0199669).
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RASHAWN N TILLERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174