DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3, 16 and 18-19 have been amended, and claims 2, 17 and 20 has been cancelled. No claim has been newly added. The status of claims 1, 3-16 and 18-19 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on May 25, 2026 have been fully considered but they are
not persuasive.
The Applicant alleged that the combination of Wu et al (US20220393814A1, Priority Date: Jun 4, 2021) and Ganesan et al (US20240137173A1, PCT Pro 63153844 Priority Date: Feb 25, 2021) fails to teach or suggest "transmitting, by the terminal, the SL reference signal through the target transmission resource,
wherein the target transmission resource is determined according to a frequency domain resource bandwidth of the SL reference signal,
wherein the frequency domain resource bandwidth of the SL reference signal meets:
the frequency domain resource bandwidth is the same as a bandwidth of SL data or an SL physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)" in Claim 1.
In response the Examiner respectfully disagrees because Ganesan’173 discloses: PRS is transmitted using a pulse-based sequence spread across entire bandwidth of the resource pool. To occupy the entire bandwidth of a resource pool, the pulse length/duration of PRS type-3 in time domain needs to be (re)configured according to the resource pool bandwidth (par 0128). Therefore Ganesan’173 teaches: “transmitting, by the terminal, the SL reference signal through the target transmission resource,
wherein the target transmission resource is determined according to a frequency domain resource bandwidth of the SL reference signal”. Here pulse length/duration of PRS type-3 in time domain can be equated to target transmission resource.
Ganesan’173 further discloses: “a PRS configuration defined for a resource pool is equally applicable for a sidelink BWP and/or sidelink carrier”, “since a large bandwidth is required for the PRS transmission to achieve high accuracy, a positioning resource pool could be overlapped across one or more data resource pool(s) in a BWP”. Therefore Ganesan’173 teaches: wherein the frequency domain resource bandwidth of the SL reference signal meets:
the frequency domain resource bandwidth is the same as a bandwidth of SL data".
Therefore, the cited references teach the claimed limitations in question with adequate reasons and suggestions of combining the teachings. The same conclusion applies to claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 9, 11-13, 16, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu’814 in view of Ganesan et al (US20240137173A1, PCT Pro 63153844 Priority Date: Feb 25, 2021).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Wu’814 discloses a method for transmitting a reference signal (see, Fig. 1, wireless communications system supports reservation based sidelink reference signal transmission, par 0095), comprising:
determining, by a terminal (Fig. 2, UE can be equated to terminal, par 0099), a target transmission resource for transmitting a sidelink (SL) reference signal, wherein the SL reference signal comprises a reference signal for positioning (see, Fig. 2, UE selects resource for sidelink PRS transmission, par 0099); and
transmitting, by the terminal (Fig. 2, UE can be equated to terminal, par 0099), the SL reference signal through the target transmission resource (see, Fig. 2, UE 115-b transmits sidelink PRS through selected reservation resource to UE 115-c, par 0099).
Wu’814 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
transmitting, by the terminal, the SL reference signal through the target transmission resource,
wherein the target transmission resource is determined according to a frequency domain resource bandwidth of the SL reference signal,
wherein the frequency domain resource bandwidth of the SL reference signal meets:
the frequency domain resource bandwidth is the same as a bandwidth of SL data or an SL physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH).
However Ganesan’173 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, sidelink ranging for positioning reference signal types in wireless communication system, par 0045) discloses:
transmitting, by the terminal (Tx UE can be equated to terminal, par 0127), the SL reference signal through the target transmission resource (see, PRS transmitted by Tx UE using pulse-based sequence with pulse length/duration, par 0127-0128. Noted, pulse length/duration can be equated to target transmission resource, par 0128),
wherein the target transmission resource (pulse length/duration can be equated to target transmission resource, par 0128) is determined according to a frequency domain resource bandwidth of the SL reference signal (see, pulse length/duration of PRS type-3 in time domain (re)configured according to the resource pool bandwidth of PRS, par 0128. Noted, resource pool configuration for PRS transmission, abstract),
wherein the frequency domain resource bandwidth of the SL reference signal meets:
the frequency domain resource bandwidth is the same as a bandwidth of SL data or an SL physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (see, PRS resource pool overlapped across one data resource pool in bandwidth, par 0110. Noted, the examiner picks option to reject).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Ganesan’173 into that of Wu’814. The motivation would have been to implement procedures for sidelink ranging for positioning reference signal types (par 0004).
Regarding claim 3 (Currently Amended), Wu’814 discloses the method according to claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, wireless communications system supports reservation based sidelink reference signal transmission, par 0095).
Wu’814 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the frequency domain resource bandwidth of the SL reference signal further meets:
the frequency domain resource bandwidth is the same as an SL resource pool bandwidth.
However Ganesan’173 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, sidelink ranging for positioning reference signal types in wireless communication system, par 0045) discloses:
wherein the frequency domain resource bandwidth of the SL reference signal further meets:
the frequency domain resource bandwidth (bandwidth of resource pool of PRS can be equated to frequency domain resource bandwidth, par 0128) is the same as an SL resource pool bandwidth (see, PRS transmitted across entire bandwidth of the resource pool (SL carrier), par 0098, 0128).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Ganesan’173 into that of Wu’814. The motivation would have been to implement procedures for sidelink ranging for positioning reference signal types (par 0004).
Regarding claim 4 (Original), Wu’814 discloses the method according to claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, wireless communications system supports reservation based sidelink reference signal transmission, par 0095), wherein the target transmission resource comprises at least one of the following:
a resource predefined in a protocol;
a resource configured by a network side device;
a resource configured by the terminal or another terminal;
a resource indicated by the network side device;
a resource indicated by the terminal or the another terminal (see, Fig. 2, UE 115-b selects and indicates reserved resource for sidelink PRS transmission to UE 115-c, par 0099);
a resource determined according to a first mapping relationship between a first resource and a reserved resource;
a resource determined according to a second mapping relationship between the first resource and a candidate resource;
a resource determined according to a rule predefined in the protocol;
a resource determined according to a rule configured by the network side device;
a resource determined according to a rule configured by the terminal or the another terminal; or
a resource determined according to a rule indicated by the network side device,
wherein the first resource comprises at least one of the following:
a resource of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH);
a resource of a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH);
a candidate resource of the PSCCH; a candidate resource of the PSSCH;
a resource of a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH);
a candidate resource of the PSFCH;
a resource of a physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH);
a resource of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS);
a resource of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS); or
a resource of a phase-tracking reference signal (PTRS) (note, the examiner picks an option to reject).
Regarding claim 5 (Original), Wu’814 discloses the method according to claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, wireless communications system supports reservation based sidelink reference signal transmission, par 0095), wherein the target transmission resource is a periodic resource (see, PRS resource reservation indicates a set of periodic SPOs (sidelink PRS occasion) or a set of multiple periodic SPO windows, par 0100), or a semi-static resource, or an aperiodic resource (note, the examiner picks an option to reject).
Regarding claim 9 (Original), Wu’814 discloses the method according to claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, wireless communications system supports reservation based sidelink reference signal transmission, par 0095).
Wu’814 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein in a case that the SL reference signal is configured, a PSFCH is enabled;
wherein a time domain location of the enabled PSFCH is a candidate resource time domain location of the target transmission resource.
However Ganesan’173 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, sidelink ranging for positioning reference signal types in wireless communication system, par 0045) discloses:
wherein in a case that the SL reference signal is configured, a PSFCH is enabled (see, confidence level through PSFCH requested by initiator through one-bit confidence interval request when PRS configured, par 0104-0105);
wherein a time domain location (sidelink slot can be equated to time domain location, par 0111) of the enabled PSFCH is a candidate resource time domain location of the target transmission resource (see, requested PSFCH for PRS and sidelink PRS overlapped in same sidelink slot, par 0105, 0111. Noted, sidelink slot to transmit sidelink PRS can be equated to candidate resource time domain location of the target transmission resource, par 0111).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Ganesan’173 into that of Wu’814. The motivation would have been to implement procedures for sidelink ranging for positioning reference signal types (par 0004).
Regarding claim 11 (Original), Wu’814 discloses the method according to claim 4 (see, Fig. 1, wireless communications system supports reservation based sidelink reference signal transmission, par 0095), wherein the target transmission resource is determined according to at least one of the following:
a periodicity value of an SL reference signal resource;
a time interval of the SL reference signal resource (see, UE determines a set of resources for sidelink PRS transmission in a time interval, par 0094);
a number of times of transmission of the SL reference signal;
an index of the SL reference signal;
a sensing or measuring window of the SL reference signal;
a resource pool identifier;
a repetition factor;
an identifier parameter;
a priority of the SL reference signal;
a cyclic shift; or
transmit power (note, the examiner picks an option to reject).
Regarding claim 12 (Original), Wu’814 discloses the method according to claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, wireless communications system supports reservation based sidelink reference signal transmission, par 0095), wherein the target transmission resource is determined according to a sensing result (see, reserved PRS occasions based on LBT (energy sensing is performed prior to PRS transmission), par 0100), and when a resource determined through the sensing result meets a first condition, the resource determined through the sensing result is excluded, wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following:
an SL reference signal resource (SPO can be equated to SL reference signal resource, par 0106) indicated or reserved by SCI (see, Fig. 3, first UE 115 checks decoded control messages through SCI from other UEs in SPO (sidelink PRS occasion) sensing window for SPO reservation, and selects available resources other than reserved SPO by other UEs in SPO selection window, par 0106, 0120);
a resource whose RSRP is greater than or equal to an RSRP threshold; or
a reference signal resource whose resource overlapping degree with an occupied reference signal resource in a time domain unit meets a preset condition;
wherein the RSRP threshold is determined according to at least one of the following:
the threshold is a value that is predefined in a protocol, configured, or indicated;
the threshold is a value determined according to a priority mapping rule; or
the threshold is a value determined according to a data priority and an RSRP offset (note, the examiner picks an option to reject).
Regarding claim 13 (Original), Wu’814 discloses the method according to claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, wireless communications system supports reservation based sidelink reference signal transmission, par 0095), wherein the target transmission resource is determined according to a sensing result (see, UE reserves available PRS time interval in SPO sensing window according to decoding SCIs reserving PRS time interval from other UE, par 0106), and if a resource determined through the sensing result meets a second condition (see, SPO (sidelink PRS occasion) not reserved by SCI from other UEs, par 0106), the resource determined through the sensing result is selected (see, Fig. 3, UE selects available PRS time interval in SPO sensing window if PRS time interval not reserved according to SCIs from other UE, par 0106), wherein the second condition comprises at least one of the following:
a resource whose RSRP is less than or equal to an RSRP threshold;
a resource that is not reserved by DCI or SCI and that is in a time domain unit (see, Fig. 3, UE selects available PRS time interval in SPO sensing window if PRS time interval not reserved according to SCIs from other UE, par 0106. Noted, PRS time interval can be equated to time domain unit); or
a resource of a remaining resource element (RE), PRB, or subchannel in a time domain unit that a resource reserved by the DCI or the SCI is in (note, the examiner picks an option to reject).
Regarding claim 16 (Currently Amended), Claim 16 encompass limitations that are similar to limitations of claim 1, except comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and runnable on the processor, wherein the program or the instructions, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform.
Wu’814 discloses comprising a processor (see, Fig. 9, processor, par 0164), a memory (see, Fig. 9, memory, par 0164), and a program or instructions stored in the memory and runnable on the processor (see, Fig. 9, instructions stored in memory to be executed by processor, par 0167), wherein the program or the instructions, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform (see, Fig. 9, instructions stored in memory to be executed by processor and cause the device to perform various functions, par 0167). Thus, it is rejected with the same rationale applied against claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 18 (Currently Amended), Claim 18 encompass limitations that are similar to limitations of claim 3. Thus, it is rejected with the same rationale applied against claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 19 (Currently Amended), Claim 19 recites a non-transitory readable storage medium performs the steps recited in claim 16 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 16.
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu’814 in view of Ganesan’173 as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Nam et al (US20230052126A1, PCT Priority Date: Aug 13, 2021).
Regarding claim 6 (Original), Wu’814 modified by Ganesan’173 discloses the method according to claim 4 (see, Fig. 1, wireless communications system supports reservation based sidelink reference signal transmission, par 0095).
The combination of Wu’814 and Ganesan’173 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein a target transmission resource configured by the terminal or the another terminal overrides a target transmission resource configured by the network side device; and/or
a target transmission resource indicated through a medium access control control element (MAC CE), downlink control information (DCI), or sidelink control information (SCI) overrides a target transmission resource configured through radio resource control (RRC); or,
wherein the network side device configures at least one pattern of the target transmission resource for the terminal, a target pattern of the target transmission resource is indicated through a MAC CE sent by the network side device, indicated through DCI sent by the network side device, or indicated through SCI sent by the terminal, and the target pattern is a pattern in the at least one pattern.
However Nam’2126 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 3, sidelink sensing and positioning between UEs using slot format dedicated for SL-PRS, par 0093) discloses:
wherein a target transmission resource configured by the terminal or the another terminal (SL-PRS pattern indicated via current SCI can be equated to target transmission resource configured by the terminal or the another terminal, par 0122) overrides a target transmission resource configured by the network side device (see, UE indicates a pattern of SL-PRS if more than one pattern for SL-PRS is configured via previous SCI, MAC-CE or RRC, par 0122. Noted, pattern is configured via MAC-CE or RRC can be equated to target transmission resource configured by the network side device); and/or
a target transmission resource indicated through a medium access control control element (MAC CE), downlink control information (DCI), or sidelink control information (SCI) overrides a target transmission resource configured through radio resource control (RRC) (see, more than one pattern for SL-PRS is configured via previous SCI, MAC-CE or RRC, par 0122. Noted, the examiner picks options to reject); or,
wherein the network side device configures at least one pattern of the target transmission resource for the terminal, a target pattern of the target transmission resource is indicated through a MAC CE sent by the network side device, indicated through DCI sent by the network side device, or indicated through SCI sent by the terminal, and the target pattern is a pattern in the at least one pattern (see, more than one pattern for SL-PRS is configured via previous SCI, MAC-CE or RRC, par 0122. Noted, the examiner picks options to reject).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Nam’2126 into that of Wu’814 modified by Ganesan’173. The motivation would have been to provide methods for measurement and reporting procedures associated with SL-PRS (abstract).
Regarding claim 15 (Original), Wu’814 modified by Ganesan’173 discloses the method according to claim 6 (see, Fig. 1, wireless communications system supports reservation based sidelink reference signal transmission, par 0095).
The combination of Wu’814 and Ganesan’173 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
the SCI is first stage SCI or second stage SCI.
However Nam’2126 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 3, sidelink sensing and positioning between UEs using slot format dedicated for SL-PRS, par 0093) discloses:
the SCI is first stage SCI or second stage SCI (see, UE transmits indication of slot format/timing/pattern of SL-PRS through SCI including one or both of SCI-1 or SCI-2, par 0097).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Nam’2126 into that of Wu’814 modified by Ganesan’173. The motivation would have been to provide methods for measurement and reporting procedures associated with SL-PRS (abstract).
Claims 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu’814 in view of Ganesan’173 as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Zheng et al (US20240179667A1, PCT Priority Date: Aug 02, 2021).
Regarding claim 7 (Original), Wu’814 modified by Ganesan’173 discloses the method according to claim 4 (see, Fig. 1, wireless communications system supports reservation based sidelink reference signal transmission, par 0095).
The combination of Wu’814 and Ganesan’173 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein in a case that there is the first mapping relationship between the first resource and the reserved resource or there is the second mapping relationship between the first resource and the candidate resource, the target transmission resource is determined according to predefining and/or sensing.
However Zheng’667 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, method for first terminal to transmit a sidelink positioning reference signal, par 0041) discloses:
wherein in a case that there is the first mapping relationship between the first resource and the reserved resource (matching a mapping location of the SL PRS and/or a code division multiplexing manner used by the SL PRS with a resource mapping location of SL PRS request signaling transmitted by a second terminal, transmitting the SL PRS and at least one of a PSCCH, a PSSCH, and a PSPCH in the first preset dedicated resource set, par 0099) or there is the second mapping relationship between the first resource and the candidate resource, the target transmission resource is determined (Fig. 1 Step S102, determining a first resource for SL PRS transmission, par 0041) according to predefining and/or sensing (see, Fig. 1 Step S102, determining first resource for SL PRS transmission from the first preset dedicated resource set by matching mapping location of SL PRS with a resource mapping location of SL PRS request signaling transmitted by a second terminal or matching resource of SL PRS with PSCCH, PSSCH and PSPCH in the first preset dedicated resource set, par 0041, 0097, 0099).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Zheng’667 into that of Wu’814 modified by Ganesan’173. The motivation would have been to solve problem that positioning cannot be performed currently because no base station participates in scheduling and a physical layer channel structure form is different from a channel that has been known (par 0005).
Regarding claim 10 (Original), Wu’814 modified by Ganesan’173 discloses the method according to claim 4 (see, Fig. 1, wireless communications system supports reservation based sidelink reference signal transmission, par 0095).
The combination of Wu’814 and Ganesan’173 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein in a case that the first resource comprises the resource of the PSSCH and/or the resource of the PSCCH, or the first resource comprises the candidate resource of the PSSCH and/or the candidate resource of the PSCCH, the target transmission resource is determined according to at least one of sensing, the first mapping relationship, or the second mapping relationship.
However Zheng’667 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, method for first terminal to transmit a sidelink positioning reference signal, par 0041) discloses:
wherein in a case that the first resource comprises the resource of the PSSCH and/or the resource of the PSCCH (SL PRS and at least one of PSCCH and PSSCH transmitted in the first preset dedicated resource set can be equated to first resource comprises the resource of the PSSCH and/or the resource of the PSCCH, par 0099), or the first resource comprises the candidate resource of the PSSCH and/or the candidate resource of the PSCCH, the target transmission resource is determined according to at least one of sensing, the first mapping relationship, or the second mapping relationship (see, transmitting the SL PRS in the first preset dedicated resource set and transmitting at least one of a PSCCH and a PSSCH in a remaining resource set of a slot in which the SL PRS is located or in a first slot spaced from the first preset dedicated resource set by a preset quantity of time domain resources when SL PRS and at least one of PSCCH and PSSCH all transmitted in the first preset dedicated resource set, par 0099. Noted, transmitting at least one of a PSCCH and a PSSCH in a remaining resource set of a slot in which the SL PRS is located can be equated to first/second mapping relationship, par 0099. Noted further, frequency domain pattern configuration information of the SL PRS with start mapping RE location of each PRB of a start symbol and a mapping offset at an RE granularity on each symbol can be equated to second mapping relationship, par 0063).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Zheng’667 into that of Wu’814 modified by Ganesan’173. The motivation would have been to solve problem that positioning cannot be performed currently because no base station participates in scheduling and a physical layer channel structure form is different from a channel that has been known (par 0005).
Claims 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu’814 in view of Ganesan’173 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nam et al (US20230086126A1, PCT Priority Date: Sep 22, 2021).
Regarding claim 8 (Original), Wu’814 modified by Ganesan’173 discloses the method according to claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, wireless communications system supports reservation based sidelink reference signal transmission, par 0095).
The combination of Wu’814 and Ganesan’173 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the target transmission resource meets at least one of the following:
a lowest subchannel of the target transmission resource is a start location of the SL reference signal;
a lowest physical resource block (PRB) corresponding to the lowest subchannel of the target transmission resource is the start location of the SL reference signal;
a highest subchannel of the target transmission resource is an end location of the SL reference signal; or
a highest PRB corresponding to the highest subchannel of the target transmission resource is the end location of the SL reference signal.
However Nam’6126 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 2, a wireless communicate system supporting multiplexing sidelink PRS resources among UEs, par 0070) discloses:
wherein the target transmission resource meets at least one of the following:
a lowest subchannel of the target transmission resource is a start location of the SL reference signal (see, SCI in sidelink control block indicates configuration for SL-PRS burst including the starting sub-channel and the number of allocated sub-channels (therefore implied a lowest subchannel of the sub-channels is a start location of the SL-PRS), par 0083-0084);
a lowest physical resource block (PRB) corresponding to the lowest subchannel of the target transmission resource is the start location of the SL reference signal;
a highest subchannel of the target transmission resource is an end location of the SL reference signal (see, SCI in sidelink control block indicates configuration for SL-PRS burst including the starting sub-channel and the number of allocated sub-channels (therefore implied a highest subchannel of the sub-channels is an end location of the SL-PRS), par 0083-0084); or
a highest PRB corresponding to the highest subchannel of the target transmission resource is the end location of the SL reference signal (note, the examiner picks options to reject).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Nam’6126 into that of Wu’814 modified by Ganesan’173. The motivation would have been to provide methods to support multiplexing sidelink PRS resources (par 0003).
Regarding claim 14 (Original), Wu’814 modified by Ganesan’173 discloses the method according to claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, wireless communications system supports reservation based sidelink reference signal transmission, par 0095).
The combination of Wu’814 and Ganesan’173 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the SL reference signal meets at least one of the following:
an interval between the SL reference signal and an SL reference signal received by the terminal is indicated according to DCI or SCI, predefined in a protocol, or determined through an RRC configuration; or
an interval between the SL reference signal and the SCI received by the terminal is indicated according to the DCI or the SCI, predefined in a protocol, or determined through an RRC configuration;
wherein a resource used by the terminal to send the SL reference signal and a resource used by another terminal to receive the SL reference signal have different bandwidths.
However Nam’6126 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 2, a wireless communicate system supporting multiplexing sidelink PRS resources among UEs, par 0070) discloses:
wherein the SL reference signal meets at least one of the following:
an interval between the SL reference signal and an SL reference signal received by the terminal is indicated according to DCI or SCI, predefined in a protocol, or determined through an RRC configuration; or
an interval between the SL reference signal and the SCI received by the terminal is indicated according to the DCI or the SCI, predefined in a protocol, or determined through an RRC configuration (see, offset between the sidelink control block including SCI-1 and/or SCI-2 and SL-PRS burst indicated in SCI (to the receiving UE), par 0084);
wherein a resource used by the terminal to send the SL reference signal (sub-channel of different sub-channels for SL-PRS transmissions can be equated to resource used by the terminal to send the SL reference signal, par 0078) and a resource used by another terminal to receive the SL reference signal (wideband to receive SL-PRS from different sub-channels can be equated to resource used by another terminal to receive the SL reference signal, par 0078) have different bandwidths (see, receiving UE combines multiple SL-PRS transmissions from different sub-channels into wideband SL-PRS (and thus bandwidth of wideband is larger than each individual sub-channel for SL-PRS transmission), par 0078).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Nam’6126 into that of Wu’814 modified by Ganesan’173. The motivation would have been to provide methods to support multiplexing sidelink PRS resources (par 0003).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zheng et al (US20240179667A1, PCT For Priority Date: Aug 2, 2021) discloses:
transmitting and receiving a sidelink positioning reference signal, where the transmitting method applied to a first terminal includes: acquiring a time-frequency resource configuration parameter of the SL PRS; and determining a first resource, and transmitting, on the first resource, the SL PRS or the SL PRS and first indication information based on the time-frequency resource configuration parameter, where the first indication information is used to indicate transmission parameter information of the first resource (abstract);
transmitting a sidelink positioning reference signal SL PRS, the time-frequency resource configuration parameter includes at least one of the following:
…
first frequency domain bandwidth configuration information of the SL PRS, where a granularity of a first frequency domain bandwidth is a sub-channel or a PRB (par 0052);
transmitting the sidelink positioning reference signal SL PRS, when the first resource is determined from the PSSCH resource set, the first frequency domain bandwidth of the SL PRS meets at least one of the following conditions:
the first frequency domain bandwidth is the same as a third frequency domain bandwidth of the PSSCH resource set;
the first frequency domain bandwidth fully occupies a current resource pool (par 0108).
This applies to claim 1.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XUAN LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473