CTNF 18/614,800 CTNF 87656 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-fti AIA The present application is being examined under the pre-AIA first to invent provisions. Double Patenting 08-33 AIA The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg , 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman , 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi , 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum , 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel , 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington , 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP § 2146 et seq. for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The filing of a terminal disclaimer by itself is not a complete reply to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection. A complete reply requires that the terminal disclaimer be accompanied by a reply requesting reconsideration of the prior Office action. Even where the NSDP rejection is provisional the reply must be complete. See MPEP § 804, subsection I.B.1. For a reply to a non-final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.111(a). For a reply to final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.113(c). A request for reconsideration while not provided for in 37 CFR 1.113(c) may be filed after final for consideration. See MPEP §§ 706.07(e) and 714.13. The USPTO Internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The actual filing date of the application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA/25, or PTO/AIA/26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer. 08-34 AIA Claim s 12-47 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim s 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,964,491 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cartridge of the ‘491 patent also claims especially in claims 1-5 , the terminal connection structure detachably mountable to a printing apparatus, assuming that three orthogonal spatial directions respectively are an X axis direction, a Y axis direction, and a Z axis direction, positive directions along the X axis direction, the Y axis direction, and the Z axis direction are a +X direction, a +Y direction, and a +Z direction, negative directions along the X axis direction, the Y axis direction, and the Z axis direction are a -X direction, a -Y direction, and a -Z direction, the printing apparatus including an apparatus side terminal unit being movable in the X axis direction and the Z axis direction, the apparatus side terminal unit having an apparatus side terminal group, and a first positioning portion and a second positioning portion provided on both sides of the apparatus side terminal group in the X axis direction, the terminal connection structure is configured to be mounted to the printing apparatus by moving from the +Y axis direction to the -Y axis direction, the terminal connection structure comprising: a terminal connection portion configured to be connected to the apparatus side terminal unit when the terminal connection structure is mounted to the printing apparatus, the terminal connection portion including: a tilted surface tilted in a direction including the -Y axis direction component and the +Z axis direction component and provided with a terminal connection structure side terminal group which is configured to contact the apparatus side terminal group in a mounted state in which the terminal connection structure is mounted to the printing apparatus; a first restriction portion provided on the +X side of the terminal connection structure side terminal group; and a second restriction portion provided on the -X side of the terminal connection structure side terminal group, wherein: the first restriction portion and the second restriction portion configured to receive the first positioning portion and the second positioning portion, respectively, from the -Y axis direction to the +Y axis direction, and restrict the apparatus side terminal unit from moving in the X axis direction and the Z axis direction in the mounted state; and terminal connection structure detachably mountable to a printing apparatus, assuming that three orthogonal spatial directions respectively are an X axis direction, a Y axis direction, and a Z axis direction, positive directions along the X axis direction, the Y axis direction, and the Z axis direction are a +X direction, a +Y direction, and a +Z direction, negative directions along the X axis direction, the Y axis direction, and the Z axis direction are a -X direction, a -Y direction, and a -Z direction, the printing apparatus including an apparatus side terminal unit being movable in the X axis direction and the Z axis direction, the apparatus side terminal unit having an apparatus side terminal group, and a first positioning portion and a second positioning portion provided on both sides of the apparatus side terminal group in the X axis direction, the terminal connection structure is configured to be mounted to the printing apparatus by moving from the +Y axis direction to the -Y axis direction, the terminal connection structure comprising: a terminal connection portion configured to be connected to the apparatus side terminal unit when the terminal connection structure is mounted to the printing apparatus, the terminal connection portion including: a tilted surface tilted in a direction including the -Y axis direction component and the +Z axis direction component and provided with a terminal connection structure side terminal group which is configured to contact the apparatus side terminal group in a mounted state in which the terminal connection structure is mounted to the printing apparatus; a first restriction portion provided on the +X side of the terminal connection structure side terminal group; and a second restriction portion provided on the -X side of the terminal connection structure side terminal group, wherein: the first restriction portion and the second restriction portion configured to receive the first positioning portion and the second positioning portion, respectively, from the -Y axis direction to the +Y axis direction, and restrict the apparatus side terminal unit from moving in the Z axis direction in the mounted state; and cartridge detachably mountable to a printing apparatus, assuming that three orthogonal spatial directions respectively are an X axis direction, a Y axis direction, and a Z axis direction, positive directions along the X axis direction, the Y axis direction, and the Z axis direction are a +X direction, a +Y direction, and a +Z direction, negative directions along the X axis direction, the Y axis direction, and the Z axis direction are a -X direction, a -Y direction, and a -Z direction, the printing apparatus including an apparatus side terminal unit being movable in the X axis direction and the Z axis direction, the apparatus side terminal unit having an apparatus side terminal group, and a first positioning portion and a second positioning portion provided on both sides of the apparatus side terminal group in the X axis direction, the cartridge is configured to be mounted to the printing apparatus by moving from the +Y axis direction to the -Y axis direction, the cartridge comprising:a terminal connection portion configured to be connected to the apparatus side terminal unit when the cartridge is mounted to the printing apparatus, the terminal connection portion including: a tilted surface tilted in a direction including the -Y axis direction component and the +Z axis direction component and provided with a cartridge side terminal group which is configured to contact the apparatus side terminal group in a mounted state in which the cartridge is mounted to the printing apparatus; a first restriction portion provided on the +X side of the cartridge side terminal group; and a second restriction portion provided on the -X side of the cartridge side terminal group, wherein:the first restriction portion and the second restriction portion configured to receive the first positioning portion and the second positioning portion, respectively, from the -Y axis direction to the +Y axis direction, and restrict the apparatus side terminal unit from moving in the Z axis direction in the mounted state . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 12-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. 2004/0174418 (“Toba”) in view of U.S. Patent Pub. 2006/0290722 (“Kitagawa”) . Claim 12 Toba discloses a terminal connection structure detachably mountable to a printing apparatus, assuming that three orthogonal spatial directions respectively are an X axis direction, a Y axis direction, and a Z axis direction, positive directions along the X axis direction, the Y axis direction, and the Z axis direction are a +X direction, a +Y direction, and a +Z direction, negative directions along the X axis direction, the Y axis direction, and the Z axis direction are a -X direction, a -Y direction, and a -Z direction, the printing apparatus including an apparatus side terminal unit being movable in the X axis direction and the Z axis direction, the apparatus side terminal unit having an apparatus side terminal group, and a first positioning portion and a second positioning portion provided on both sides of the apparatus side terminal group in the X axis direction, the terminal connection structure is configured to be mounted to the printing apparatus by moving from the +Y axis direction to the -Y axis direction (Fig. 13), the terminal connection structure comprising: a terminal connection portion configured to be connected to the apparatus side terminal unit when the terminal connection structure is mounted to the printing apparatus (Fig. 13), the terminal connection portion including: a first restriction portion provided on the +X side of the terminal connection structure side terminal group (first positioning portion 190); and a second restriction portion provided on the -X side of the terminal connection structure side terminal group (second positioning portion 192), wherein: the first restriction portion and the second restriction portion configured to receive the first positioning portion and the second positioning portion, respectively, from the -Y axis direction to the +Y axis direction, and restrict the apparatus side terminal unit from moving in the X axis direction and the Z axis direction in the mounted state (Fig. 13, bump 202; Fig. 14, notch B, shown below). PNG media_image1.png 580 568 media_image1.png Greyscale Toba does not appear to explicitly disclose a tilted surface tilted in a direction including the -Y axis direction component and the +Z axis direction component and provided with a terminal connection structure side terminal group which is configured to contact the apparatus side terminal group in a mounted state in which the terminal connection structure is mounted to the printing apparatus. Kitagawa discloses a tilted surface to contact an apparatus side terminal group (Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a tilted surface tilted in a direction including the -Y axis direction component and the +Z axis direction component and provided with a terminal connection structure side terminal group which is configured to contact the apparatus side terminal group in a mounted state in which the terminal connection structure is mounted to the printing apparatus, as disclosed by Kitagawa , into the device of Toba , for the purpose of reducing an abutting force during installation and removal at the incline position ( Kitagawa , paragraph [0091]). Claim 13 Toba in view of Kitagawa discloses the terminal connection structure according to claim 12 wherein the first restriction portion and the second restriction portion include a +Z axis direction side contact surface which is configured to contact a +Z axis direction end portion of a respective one of the first positioning portion and the second positioning portion in the mounted state ( Toba , Fig. 14, notch B). Claim 14 Toba in view of Kitagawa discloses the terminal connection structure according to claim 12 wherein the first restriction portion and the second restriction portion include a -Z axis direction side contact surface which is configured to contact a -Z axis direction end portion of the respective one of the first positioning portion and the second positioning portion in the mounted state ( Toba , Fig. 13, bump 202). Claim 15 Toba in view of Kitagawa discloses the terminal connection structure according to claim 12, wherein the first restriction portion and the second restriction portion include a +Y axis direction side contact surface which is configured to contact a +Y axis direction end portion of a respective one of the first positioning portion and the second positioning portion in the mounted state ( Toba , Fig. 13). Claim 16 Toba in view of Kitagawa discloses the terminal connection structure according to claim 12, wherein the first restriction portion and the second restriction portion include: an entrance part which extends toward the +Y axis direction side from an opening provided at an end portion on the -Y axis direction side, wherein a length of the entrance part in the Z axis direction at a -Y axis direction side is longer than the length of the entrance part in the Z axis direction at a +Y axis direction side; and a contact part which extends toward the +Y axis direction side from an end portion of the entrance part at the +Y axis direction side of the entrance part, has a constant length in the Z axis direction, and is configured to contact a respective one of the first positioning portion and the second positioning portion in the mounted state ( Toba , Figs. 13 and 14). Claim 17 Toba in view of Kitagawa discloses the terminal connection structure according to claim 16, wherein the opening is closer to the -Y axis direction side than the terminal connection structure side terminal group ( Toba , Fig. 13). Claim 18 Toba in view of Kitagawa discloses the terminal connection structure according to claim 16, wherein the opening is positioned such that the opening receives at least a portion of a respective one of the first and second positioning portions before the terminal connection structure side terminal group contacts the apparatus side terminal ( Toba , Fig. 13). Claim 19 Toba in view of Kitagawa discloses the terminal connection structure according to claim 16, wherein the opening is closer to the -Y axis direction side than a contact portion in the terminal connection structure side terminal group which is configured to contact the apparatus side terminal group ( Toba , Fig. 13). Claim 20 Toba in view of Kitagawa discloses the terminal connection structure according to claim 12, wherein the terminal connection portion includes a first side wall provided in a +X axis direction from the tilted surface and a second side wall provided in a -X axis direction from the tilted surface, the first restriction portion comprises a groove recessed in the +X axis direction from the first side wall, the second restriction portion comprises a groove recessed in the -X axis direction from the second side wall ( Toba , Fig. 13). Claim 21 Toba in view of Kitagawa discloses the terminal connection structure according to claim 12, wherein the terminal connection portion includes a first side wall provided in a +X axis direction from the tilted surface and a second side wall provided in a -X axis direction from the tilted surface, the first restriction portion comprises a protrusion portion that protrudes in the -X axis direction from the first side wall, and the second restriction portion comprises a protrusion portion that protrudes in the +X axis direction from the second side wall ( Toba , Fig. 13). Claim 22 Toba in view of Kitagawa discloses the terminal connection structure according to claim 12, wherein, in the mounted state, the +Z axis direction is opposite a gravity direction ( Toba , Fig. 13). Claim 23 Toba in view of Kitagawa discloses the terminal connection structure according to claim 12, wherein the terminal connection portion is provided in a recessed portion configured to receive the apparatus side terminal unit ( Toba , Fig. 13). Claim 24 Toba discloses a terminal connection structure detachably mountable to a printing apparatus, assuming that three orthogonal spatial directions respectively are an X axis direction, a Y axis direction, and a Z axis direction, positive directions along the X axis direction, the Y axis direction, and the Z axis direction are a +X direction, a +Y direction, and a +Z direction, negative directions along the X axis direction, the Y axis direction, and the Z axis direction are a -X direction, a -Y direction, and a -Z direction, the printing apparatus including an apparatus side terminal unit being movable in the X axis direction and the Z axis direction, the apparatus side terminal unit having an apparatus side terminal group, and a first positioning portion and a second positioning portion provided on both sides of the apparatus side terminal group in the X axis direction, the terminal connection structure is configured to be mounted to the printing apparatus by moving from the +Y axis direction to the -Y axis direction (Fig. 13), the terminal connection structure comprising: a terminal connection portion configured to be connected to the apparatus side terminal unit when the terminal connection structure is mounted to the printing apparatus (Fig. 13), the terminal connection portion including: a first restriction portion provided on the +X side of the terminal connection structure side terminal group (first positioning portion 190); and a second restriction portion provided on the -X side of the terminal connection structure side terminal group (second positioning portion 192), wherein: the first restriction portion and the second restriction portion configured to receive the first positioning portion and the second positioning portion, respectively, from the -Y axis direction to the +Y axis direction, and restrict the apparatus side terminal unit from moving in the Z axis direction in the mounted state (Fig. 13, bump 202; Fig. 14, notch B, shown below). PNG media_image1.png 580 568 media_image1.png Greyscale Toba does not appear to explicitly disclose a tilted surface tilted in a direction including the -Y axis direction component and the +Z axis direction component and provided with a terminal connection structure side terminal group which is configured to contact the apparatus side terminal group in a mounted state in which the terminal connection structure is mounted to the printing apparatus. Kitagawa discloses a tilted surface to contact an apparatus side terminal group (Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a tilted surface tilted in a direction including the -Y axis direction component and the +Z axis direction component and provided with a terminal connection structure side terminal group which is configured to contact the apparatus side terminal group in a mounted state in which the terminal connection structure is mounted to the printing apparatus, as disclosed by Kitagawa , into the device of Toba , for the purpose of reducing an abutting force during installation and removal at the incline position ( Kitagawa , paragraph [0091]). Claim 25 Toba in view of Kitagawa discloses the terminal connection structure according to claim 24, wherein the first restriction portion and the second restriction portion include a +Z axis direction side contact surface which is configured to contact a +Z axis direction end portion of a respective one of the first positioning portion and the second positioning portion in the mounted state ( Toba , Fig. 14, notch B). Claim 26 Toba in view of Kitagawa discloses the terminal connection structure according to claim 24, wherein the first restriction portion and the second restriction portion include a -Z axis direction side contact surface which is configured to contact a -Z axis direction end portion of the respective one of the first positioning portion and the second positioning portion in the mounted state ( Toba , Fig. 13). Claim 27 Toba in view of Kitagawa discloses the terminal connection structure according to claim 24, wherein the first restriction portion and the second restriction portion include a +Y axis direction side contact surface which is configured to contact a +Y axis direction end portion of a respective one of the first positioning portion and the second positioning portion in the mounted state ( Toba , Fig. 13). Claim 28 Toba in view of Kitagawa discloses the terminal connection structure according to claim 24, wherein the first restriction portion and the second restriction portion include: an entrance part which extends toward the +Y axis direction side from an opening provided at an end portion on the -Y axis direction side, wherein a length of the entrance part in the Z axis direction at a -Y axis direction side is longer than the length of the entrance part in the Z axis direction at a +Y axis direction side; and a contact part which extends toward the +Y axis direction side from an end portion of the entrance part at the +Y axis direction side of the entrance part, has a constant length in the Z axis direction, and is configured to contact a respective one of the first positioning portion and the second positioning portion in the mounted state ( Toba , Figs. 13 and 14). Claim 29 Toba in view of Kitagawa discloses the terminal connection structure according to claim 28, wherein the opening is closer to the -Y axis direction side than the terminal connection structure side terminal group ( Toba , Fig. 13). Claim 30 Toba in view of Kitagawa discloses the terminal connection structure according to claim 28, wherein the opening is positioned such that the opening receives at least a portion of a respective one of the first and second positioning portions before the terminal connection structure side terminal group contacts the apparatus side terminal ( Toba , Fig. 13). Claim 31 Toba in view of Kitagawa discloses the terminal connection structure according to claim 28, wherein the opening is closer to the -Y axis direction side than a contact portion in the terminal connection structure side terminal group which is configured to contact the apparatus side terminal group ( Toba , Fig. 13). Claim 32 Toba in view of Kitagawa discloses the terminal connection structure according to claim 24, wherein the terminal connection portion includes a first side wall provided in a +X axis direction from the tilted surface and a second side wall provided in a -X axis direction from the tilted surface, the first restriction portion comprises a groove recessed in the +X axis direction from the first side wall, the second restriction portion comprises a groove recessed in the -X axis direction from the second side wall ( Toba , Fig. 13). Claim 33 Toba in view of Kitagawa discloses the terminal connection structure according to claim 24, wherein the terminal connection portion includes a first side wall provided in a +X axis direction from the tilted surface and a second side wall provided in a -X axis direction from the tilted surface, the first restriction portion comprises a protrusion portion that protrudes in the -X axis direction from the first side wall, and the second restriction portion comprises a protrusion portion that protrudes in the +X axis direction from the second side wall ( Toba , Fig. 13). Claim 34 Toba in view of Kitagawa discloses the terminal connection structure according to claim 24, wherein, in the mounted state, the +Z axis direction is opposite a gravity direction ( Toba , Fig. 13). Claim 35 Toba in view of Kitagawa discloses the terminal connection structure according to claim 24, wherein the terminal connection portion is provided in a recessed portion configured to receive the apparatus side terminal unit ( Toba , Fig. 13). Claim 36 Toba discloses a cartridge detachably mountable to a printing apparatus, assuming that three orthogonal spatial directions respectively are an X axis direction, a Y axis direction, and a Z axis direction, positive directions along the X axis direction, the Y axis direction, and the Z axis direction are a +X direction, a +Y direction, and a +Z direction, negative directions along the X axis direction, the Y axis direction, and the Z axis direction are a -X direction, a -Y direction, and a -Z direction, the printing apparatus including an apparatus side terminal unit being movable in the X axis direction and the Z axis direction, the apparatus side terminal unit having an apparatus side terminal group, and a first positioning portion and a second positioning portion provided on both sides of the apparatus side terminal group in the X axis direction, the cartridge is configured to be mounted to the printing apparatus by moving from the +Y axis direction to the -Y axis direction (Fig. 13), the cartridge comprising: a terminal connection portion configured to be connected to the apparatus side terminal unit when the cartridge is mounted to the printing apparatus (Fig. 13), the terminal connection portion including: a first restriction portion provided on the +X side of the cartridge side terminal group (first positioning portion 190); and a second restriction portion provided on the -X side of the cartridge side terminal group (second positioning portion 192), wherein: the first restriction portion and the second restriction portion configured to receive the first positioning portion and the second positioning portion, respectively, from the -Y axis direction to the +Y axis direction, and restrict the apparatus side terminal unit from moving in the Z axis direction in the mounted state (Fig. 13, bump 202; Fig. 14, notch B, shown below). PNG media_image1.png 580 568 media_image1.png Greyscale Toba does not appear to explicitly disclose a tilted surface tilted in a direction including the -Y axis direction component and the +Z axis direction component and provided with a cartridge side terminal group which is configured to contact the apparatus side terminal group in a mounted state in which the cartridge is mounted to the printing apparatus. Kitagawa discloses a tilted surface to contact an apparatus side terminal group (Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a tilted surface tilted in a direction including the -Y axis direction component and the +Z axis direction component and provided with a cartridge side terminal group which is configured to contact the apparatus side terminal group in a mounted state in which the cartridge is mounted to the printing apparatus, as disclosed by Kitagawa , into the device of Toba , for the purpose of reducing an abutting force during installation and removal at the incline position ( Kitagawa , paragraph [0091]). Claim 37 Toba in view of Kitagawa discloses the terminal connection structure according to claim 36, wherein the first restriction portion and the second restriction portion include a +Z axis direction side contact surface which is configured to contact a +Z axis direction end portion of a respective one of the first positioning portion and the second positioning portion in the mounted state ( Toba , Fig. 14, notch B). Claim 38 Toba in view of Kitagawa discloses the terminal connection structure according to claim 36, wherein the first restriction portion and the second restriction portion include a -Z axis direction side contact surface which is configured to contact a -Z axis direction end portion of the respective one of the first positioning portion and the second positioning portion in the mounted state ( Toba , Fig. 13, bump 202). Claim 39 Toba in view of Kitagawa discloses the terminal connection structure according to claim 36, wherein the first restriction portion and the second restriction portion include a +Y axis direction side contact surface which is configured to contact a +Y axis direction end portion of a respective one of the first positioning portion and the second positioning portion in the mounted state ( Toba , Fig. 13). Claim 40 Toba in view of Kitagawa discloses the terminal connection structure according to claim 36, wherein the first restriction portion and the second restriction portion include: an entrance part which extends toward the +Y axis direction side from an opening provided at an end portion on the -Y axis direction side, wherein a length of the entrance part in the Z axis direction at a -Y axis direction side is longer than the length of the entrance part in the Z axis direction at a +Y axis direction side; and a contact part which extends toward the +Y axis direction side from an end portion of the entrance part at the +Y axis direction side of the entrance part, has a constant length in the Z axis direction, and is configured to contact a respective one of the first positioning portion and the second positioning portion in the mounted state ( Toba , Figs. 13 and 14). Claim 41 Toba in view of Kitagawa discloses the terminal connection structure according to claim 40, wherein the opening is closer to the -Y axis direction side than the cartridge side terminal group ( Toba , Fig. 13). Claim 42 Toba in view of Kitagawa discloses the terminal connection structure according to claim 40, wherein the opening is positioned such that the opening receives at least a portion of a respective one of the first and second positioning portions before the cartridge side terminal group contacts the apparatus side terminal ( Toba , Fig. 13). Claim 43 Toba in view of Kitagawa discloses the terminal connection structure according to claim 40, wherein the opening is closer to the -Y axis direction side than a contact portion in the cartridge side terminal group which is configured to contact the apparatus side terminal group ( Toba , Fig. 13). Claim 44 Toba in view of Kitagawa discloses the terminal connection structure according to claim 36, wherein the terminal connection portion includes a first side wall provided in a +X axis direction from the tilted surface and a second side wall provided in a -X axis direction from the tilted surface, the first restriction portion comprises a groove recessed in the +X axis direction from the first side wall, the second restriction portion comprises a groove recessed in the -X axis direction from the second side wall ( Toba , Fig. 13). Claim 45 Toba in view of Kitagawa discloses the terminal connection structure according to claim 36, wherein the terminal connection portion includes a first side wall provided in a +X axis direction from the tilted surface and a second side wall provided in a -X axis direction from the tilted surface, the first restriction portion comprises a convex portion that protrudes in the -X axis direction from the first side wall, and the second restriction portion comprises a convex portion that protrudes in the +X axis direction from the second side wall ( Toba , Fig. 13). Claim 46 Toba in view of Kitagawa discloses the terminal connection structure according to claim 36, wherein in the mounted state, the +Z axis direction is opposite a gravity direction ( Toba , Fig. 13). Claim 47 Toba in view of Kitagawa discloses the terminal connection structure according to claim 36, wherein the terminal connection portion is provided in a concave portion configured to receive the apparatus side terminal unit ( Toba , Fig. 13). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ERICA S Y LIN whose telephone number is (571)270-7911. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8-4, TW M,W. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Douglas X Rodriguez can be reached at (571) 431-0716. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ERICA S LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/614,800 Page 2 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/614,800 Page 3 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/614,800 Page 4 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/614,800 Page 5 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/614,800 Page 6 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/614,800 Page 7 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/614,800 Page 8 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/614,800 Page 9 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/614,800 Page 10 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/614,800 Page 11 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/614,800 Page 12 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/614,800 Page 13 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/614,800 Page 14 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/614,800 Page 15 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/614,800 Page 16 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/614,800 Page 17 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/614,800 Page 18 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/614,800 Page 19 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/614,800 Page 20 Art Unit: 2853