DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
This action responds to application 18/614,809 filed on 03-25-2024. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-2 and 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a (1) as being anticipated by Onizuka et al. (US 2021/0289282).
Consider Claim 1, Onizuka teaches an earphone assembly, comprising: at least one earphone and a charging case(see fig. 1); wherein the charging case is configured to: charge the at least one earphone that are received in the charging case(see fig. 2); and detect an in-case state of the at least one earphone that is received in the charging case(see figs. 1-8 and paragraphs[0052]-[0096]}.
Consider Claim 2, Onizuka teaches the earphone assembly wherein, for each earphone of the at least one earphone, the charging case comprises a first power supply electrode, a second power supply electrode, a first microprocessor, a charging circuit, (see figs. 1-10 and paragraphs[0052]-[0096]} a communication circuit, and a switch circuit; the charging circuit is connected to the second power supply electrode via the switch circuit to charge the earphone received in the charging case via a charging loop formed by the first power supply electrode and the second power supply electrode; the first microprocessor controls the switch circuit to enable the charging circuit and the second power supply electrode to be conducted with or disconnected from each other intermittently; the first microprocessor is configured to control the communication circuit to communicate with the earphone via the second power supply electrode during a time period in which the charging circuit is disconnected from the second power supply electrode(see figs. 7-15 and paragraphs[0090]-[0163]}.
Consider Claims 9 and 10, Onizuka teaches the earphone assembly wherein the charging case comprises a first power supply electrode and a second power supply electrode to charge the earphone that is received in the charging case; the earphone comprises a battery portion, a body portion, an elastic connection portion, a first power-receiving electrode, and a second power-receiving electrode; the first power-receiving electrode and the second power-receiving electrode are disposed at an end of the battery portion and are spaced apart from each other; the elastic connection portion connects the body portion to the battery portion; when the earphone is received in the charging case, the first power-receiving electrode abuts against the first power supply electrode, and the second power-receiving electrode abuts against the second power supply electrode(see figs. 1-8 and paragraphs[0052]-[0096]}; and the earphone assembly wherein the charging case comprises a first housing assembly, the first housing assembly comprises a case body, a support plate, and a circuit board; an end of the case body has an opening, the support plate covers the end of the support plate having the opening, the circuit board is disposed between the support plate and the case body; the support plate defines a shape-matching groove for receiving the earphone, the first power supply electrode and the second power supply electrode are disposed on the circuit board; and a wall of the shape-matching groove defines two through holes, the first power supply electrode and the second power supply electrode are exposed from the two through holes respectively(see figs. 1-8 and paragraphs[0052]-[0096]).
Consider Claims 11 and 12, Onizuka teaches the earphone assembly wherein the shape-matching comprises a first shape-matching region, a second shape-matching region, and a third shape-matching region; the first shape-matching region receives the body portion of the earphone, the second shape-matching region receives the battery portion of the earphone, the third shape-matching region connects the first shape-matching region to the second shape-matching region and receives the elastic connection portion of the earphone; the two through holes are defined in the second shape-matching region(see figs. 1-8 and paragraphs[0052]-[0096]); and the earphone assembly wherein the first power-receiving electrode and the second power-receiving electrode are disposed at an end of the battery portion of the earphone away from the elastic connection portion; a length direction of the first power-receiving electrode and the second power-receiving electrode is parallel to a circumferential direction of the battery portion; and the first power-receiving electrode and the second power-receiving electrode are disposed in a same plane parallel to the circumferential direction of the battery portion. (see figs. 1-8 and paragraphs[0052]-[0096]).
Consider Claims 13 and 14, Onizuka teaches the earphone assembly wherein the first power supply electrode comprises a first support portion, a first abutting portion, and a first connection portion connecting the first support portion to the first abutting portion; the first support portion is fixed to the circuit board, the first abutting portion is exposed from the through hole; and the first abutting portion is arc or circular arc(see figs. 1-8 and paragraphs[0052]-[0096]); and the earphone assembly wherein the first connection portion extends from an end of the first connection portion connecting to the first support portion towards the first abutting portion and is arranged along a side wall of the support plate away from the second shape-matching region, so as to form a first cantilever(see figs. 1-8 and paragraphs[0052]-[0096]).
Consider Claims 15 and 16, Onizuka teaches the earphone assembly wherein the second power supply electrode comprises a second support portion, a second abutting portion, and a second connection portion connecting the second support portion to the second abutting portion; the second support portion is fixed to the circuit board, the second abutting portion is exposed from the through hole; and the second abutting portion is arc or circular arc(see figs. 1-8 and paragraphs[0052]-[0096]); and the earphone assembly wherein the second connection portion extends from an end of the second connection portion connecting to the second support portion towards the second abutting portion and is arranged along the side wall of the support plate away from the second shape-matching region, so as to form a second cantilever(see figs. 1-8 and paragraphs[0052]-[0096]).
Consider Claims 17 and 18, Onizuka teaches the earphone assembly wherein each of the first power supply electrode and the second power supply electrode is a resilient electrode; when the earphone is received in the charging case, the first power supply electrode is deformed, the second power supply electrode is deformed; a first angle between a direction in which a force is applied to the first power supply electrode and a direction perpendicular to an extending direction of the first cantilever is less than 45°; and a second angle between a direction in which a force is applied to the second power supply electrode and a direction perpendicular to an extending direction of the second cantilever is less than 45°(see figs. 1-8 and paragraphs[0052]-[0096]); and the earphone assembly wherein the earphone is arranged with a key and a second microprocessor, the key is configured to generate a key trigger signal in response to detecting a signal input by a user, the second microprocessor is configured to receive the key trigger signal; the second microprocessor is configured to detect an in-case state signal; the second microprocessor is configured to determine that the earphone is received in the charging case in response to detecting the in-case state signal and to determine that the earphone is not received in the charging case in response to not detecting the in-case state signal; the second microprocessor is configured to control the earphone to perform a first function in response to determining that the earphone is received in the charging case and in response to the key generating the key trigger signal; and the second microprocessor is configured to control the earphone to perform a second function in response to determining that the earphone is not received in the charging case and in response to the key generating the key trigger signal(see figs. 7-15 and paragraphs[0090]-[0163]}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 5, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Onizuka et al. (US 2021/0289282) in view of Yu et al. (US 2021/0320515).
Consider Claim 5, Onizuka does not explicitly teach the earphone assembly wherein, in response to a battery power level of the earphone fed back from the earphone reaches a predetermined power level threshold, the first microprocessor is further configured to control the communication circuit to send a shutdown signal to the earphone through the power supply electrode.
However, Yu teaches the earphone assembly wherein, in response to a battery power level of the earphone fed back from the earphone reaches a predetermined power level threshold, the first microprocessor is further configured to control the communication circuit to send a shutdown signal to the earphone through the power supply electrode(see figs. 2-6 and paragraphs[0011]-[0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the of claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Yu into Onizuka to provide obtaining a charging current for each of a plurality of loads, where each load includes a battery; and adjusting a charging voltage received by each load according to a variation of each charging current, in order to control the charging voltage to vary along with a battery voltage with a highest battery voltage of the plurality of loads in real time.
Consider Claim 6, Onizuka does not explicitly teach the earphone assembly wherein, the number of the at least one earphone is two; the charging case further comprises an earphone power level indicator; the first microprocessor is configured to: select a relatively lower battery power level from two battery power levels fed back from the two earphones; and control the earphone power level indicator based on the selected battery power level; and wherein, the charging case further comprises an outer housing and a charging case power indicator; the outer housing further comprises: a first housing assembly and a second housing assembly pivotally connected to the first housing assembly; the charging case power indicator is configured to be visible from an exterior of the outer housing; the earphone power level indicator is disposed in an interior of the outer housing and is configured to be visible when the second housing assembly is open with respect to the first housing assembly.
However, Yu teaches the earphone assembly wherein, the number of the at least one earphone is two; the charging case further comprises an earphone power level indicator; the first microprocessor is configured to: select a relatively lower battery power level from two battery power levels fed back from the two earphones; and control the earphone power level indicator based on the selected battery power level; and wherein, the charging case further comprises an outer housing and a charging case power indicator(see figs. 2-6 and paragraphs[0011]-[0030]); the outer housing further comprises: a first housing assembly and a second housing assembly pivotally connected to the first housing assembly; the charging case power indicator is configured to be visible from an exterior of the outer housing; the earphone power level indicator is disposed in an interior of the outer housing and is configured to be visible when the second housing assembly is open with respect to the first housing assembly(see figs. 2-6 and paragraphs[0011]-[0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the of claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Yu into Onizuka to provide obtaining a charging current for each of a plurality of loads, where each load includes a battery; and adjusting a charging voltage received by each load according to a variation of each charging current, in order to control the charging voltage to vary along with a battery voltage with a highest battery voltage of the plurality of loads in real time.
10. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Onizuka et al. (US 2021/0289282) in view of Liao (US 2022/0393495).
Consider Claim 7, Onizuka does not explicitly teach the earphone assembly wherein the earphone comprises a power-receiving electrode; the charging case further comprises a detection electrode and a detection circuit; when the earphone is received in the charging case, the power-receiving electrode simultaneously abuts against the detection electrode and the first power supply electrode to allow the detection electrode to be short-circuited to the first power supply electrode; and wherein the detection circuit detects a change in a voltage level of the detection electrode to generate a detection signal corresponding to the in-case state of the earphone; wherein, the earphone further comprises a second microprocessor, the charging case further comprises a communication circuit, the second microprocessor is configured to control the communication circuit to send the in-box state and a power level query signal to the first microprocessor.
However, Liao teaches the earphone assembly wherein the earphone comprises a power-receiving electrode; the charging case further comprises a detection electrode and a detection circuit; when the earphone is received in the charging case, the power-receiving electrode simultaneously abuts against the detection electrode and the first power supply electrode to allow the detection electrode to be short-circuited to the first power supply electrode; and wherein the detection circuit detects a change in a voltage level of the detection electrode to generate a detection signal corresponding to the in-case state of the earphone; wherein, the earphone further comprises a second microprocessor, the charging case further comprises a communication circuit, the second microprocessor is configured to control the communication circuit to send the in-box state and a power level query signal to the first microprocessor(see figs. 1B-2 and paragraphs[0026]-[0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the of claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Liao into Onizuka to provide a wearable earphone charger with automatic adjustment of positive and negative polarities includes a wearable bracket and two power supply seats disposed on the bracket. The bracket is provided with a power supply integrated control board and a power supply electrically connected to each other. Each of the two power supply seats is electrically connected to the power supply integrated control board, is provided with first and second power supply contacts that are used to supply power to an earphone, and is further provided with a detection contact. The power supply integrated control board is provided with a detection circuit used to detect whether the earphone is connected, and the detection circuit is electrically connected to the detection contact. The wearable earphone charger can realize automatic adjustment of positive and negative polarities of the wearable earphone charger, and thus is with high reliability and improved user experience.
Consider Claim 8, Onizuka does not explicitly teach the earphone assembly wherein, the charging case comprises a detection electrode, a first power supply electrode, a first microprocessor, and a detection circuit; the first microprocessor detects, through the detection circuit, the in-case state of the earphone that is received in the charging case; the earphone is arranged with a power-receiving electrode; when the earphone is received in the charging case, the power-receiving electrode simultaneously abuts against the detection electrode and the first power supply electrode to allow the detection electrode to be short-circuited to the first power supply electrode; the detection circuit is configured to detect a change in a voltage level of the detection electrode to generate an in-case state signal.
However, Liao teaches the earphone assembly wherein, the charging case comprises a detection electrode, a first power supply electrode, a first microprocessor, and a detection circuit; the first microprocessor detects, through the detection circuit, the in-case state of the earphone that is received in the charging case; the earphone is arranged with a power-receiving electrode; when the earphone is received in the charging case, the power-receiving electrode simultaneously abuts against the detection electrode and the first power supply electrode to allow the detection electrode to be short-circuited to the first power supply electrode; the detection circuit is configured to detect a change in a voltage level of the detection electrode to generate an in-case state signal(see figs. 1B-2 and paragraphs[0026]-[0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the of claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Liao into Onizuka to provide a wearable earphone charger with automatic adjustment of positive and negative polarities includes a wearable bracket and two power supply seats disposed on the bracket. The bracket is provided with a power supply integrated control board and a power supply electrically connected to each other. Each of the two power supply seats is electrically connected to the power supply integrated control board, is provided with first and second power supply contacts that are used to supply power to an earphone, and is further provided with a detection contact. The power supply integrated control board is provided with a detection circuit used to detect whether the earphone is connected, and the detection circuit is electrically connected to the detection contact. The wearable earphone charger can realize automatic adjustment of positive and negative polarities of the wearable earphone charger, and thus is with high reliability and improved user experience.
11. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Onizuka et al. (US 2021/0289282) in view of Song et al. (US 2019/0387304).
Consider Claim 19, Onizuka does not explicitly teach the earphone assembly wherein the first function comprises at least one of: pairing the earphone with a communication device; or restoring the earphone to default settings; and the second function comprises at least one of: pausing or playing an audio, fast forwarding or fast rewinding an audio, and switching songs.
However, Song teaches the earphone assembly wherein the first function comprises at least one of: pairing the earphone with a communication device; or restoring the earphone to default settings; and the second function comprises at least one of: pausing or playing an audio, fast forwarding or fast rewinding an audio, and switching songs(see figs. 1-7 and paragraphs[0033]-[0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the of claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Song into Onizuka to provide a hearing protection earphone, a hearing protection method and a computer program storage medium, comprising a sound control system including a wearing-status sensing module for monitoring a current wearing status of the hearing protection earphone, sending a first monitoring signal when it is determined that the hearing protection earphone is in a wearing state, and sending a second monitoring signal when it is determined that the hearing protection earphone is in a non-wearing state; and a main control module for enabling a play function corresponding to a play mode which is adapted to the hearing protection earphone currently when the first monitoring signal sent from the wearing-status sensing module is received, and counting a stand-by time of the protection earphone and turning off the hearing protection earphone after a preset stand-by time elapses when the second monitoring signal sent from the wearing-status sensing module is received.
12. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onizuka et al. (US 2021/0289282) as modified by Song et al. (US 2019/0387304) as applied to claims 1, 19 above and further in view of Baker et al. (US PAT. 9,438,181).
Consider Claim 20, Onizuka does not explicitly teach the earphone wherein the earphone further comprises an electrostatic protection circuit and an audio power amplifier, the audio power amplifier is connected to the second microprocessor, the electrostatic protection circuit is connected to the audio power amplifier and the second microprocessor, the electrostatic protection circuit is configured to convert an alternating current (AC) signal output from the audio power amplifier into a direct current (DC) signal; when a voltage value of the DC signal is less than a threshold voltage, the second microprocessor determines that the audio power amplifier is working abnormally and sends a reset signal to the audio power amplifier to reset the audio power amplifier.
However, Baker teaches the earphone wherein the earphone further comprises an electrostatic protection circuit and an audio power amplifier, the audio power amplifier is connected to the second microprocessor, the electrostatic protection circuit is connected to the audio power amplifier and the second microprocessor, the electrostatic protection circuit is configured to convert an alternating current (AC) signal output from the audio power amplifier into a direct current (DC) signal; when a voltage value of the DC signal is less than a threshold voltage, the second microprocessor determines that the audio power amplifier is working abnormally and sends a reset signal to the audio power amplifier to reset the audio power amplifier(see figs. 2-10 and col. Col. 8, lined, 36-col.11, line 67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the of claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Baker into Onizuka and Song to provide a BTL amplifier that outputs balanced audio signals and that has an output current capacity and a dynamic power capacity. Disclosed amplifiers include an audio amplifier with a dynamic power capacity and that amplifies the balanced audio signals and applies them to a load, at least one diode that receives audio signals and produces single-ended input power signals, and at least one regulator that converts the single-ended input power signal into a regulated power signal of a higher magnitude. The boost regulator presenting a variable input impedance to the BTL amplifier such that the output current capacity of the BTL amplifier is not exceeded. Disclosed amplifiers also include a DC power reservoir that stores power from the regulated power signal and supplies sufficient power that the dynamic output power capacity of the audio amplifier exceeds the dynamic power capacity of the BTL amplifier.
Allowable Subject Matter
13. Claims 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Feng et. al. (US 2022/0124424) is cited to show other related the EARPHONE ASSEMBLY.
15. Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Mail Stop ____(explanation, e.g., Amendment or After-final, etc.)
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Facsimile responses should be faxed to:
(571) 273-8300
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
should be directed to Lao,Lun-See whose telephone number is (571) 272-7501 The examiner
can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:00 to 5:30.
supervisor, Nguyen Duc M(SPE), can be reached on (571) 272-7503.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding
should be directed to the Technology Center 2600 whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/LUN-SEE LAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691 US Patent and Trademark Office
Knox
571-272-7501
Date 12-20-2025