DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the communication filed on June 23, 2026. Claims 1 and 6-9 remain pending and claims 4-5 have been cancelled in this application. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Priority
Applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) based on application filed in Japan on April 12, 2023 has been acknowledged and considered by Examiner. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) that are placed on record in the application file.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims 1, 8 and 9 in the Remarks section (pages 8-10) have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current combination of references being used in the current rejection.
U.S. Patent Publication 2015/0235346 A1 by Kim et al. (“Kim”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0062341A1 A1 by Duan, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2009/0295832 A1 by Takasuka et al. (“Takasuka,”) address the limitations set forth in the amended claims as the new grounds for rejection.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered with respect to 6-7 in the Remarks section (pages 10-11) but they are not persuasive as the claims depend upon the features recited in the amended independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2015/0235346 A1 by Kim in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0062341A1 A1 by Duan, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2009/0295832 A1 by Takasuka.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a display system (Fig. 1, display apparatus 100) comprising: a transparent display device (Fig. 1, transparent display unit 110); and a control device which controls display of images in the display device (Kim Fig. 1, controller 120 [0045], The display apparatus 100 may include a transparent display unit 110, a controller 120), wherein the display device is transparent to a background on one side when viewed from another side and is transparent to a background on the other side when viewed from the one side (Kim Fig 2; [0046] and [0070], The transparent display unit 110 may display content including a first part and a second part on the basis of a first direction in which a first user is located where the first user 10 and the second user 20 view the same content positioned on opposite sides and second parts 32b are further viewable backgrounds),
the control device detects a position of a person with respect to the display device based on a first image containing the person obtained by a device which captures the person ([0015], The sensor unit may include a gaze sensor configured to sense gaze of the first user), and displays a second image containing an object on the display device based on the detected position ([0046], The transparent display unit 110 may display content… on the basis of a first direction in which a first user is located), the detected position includes an angle at which the person is positioned with respect to the display device (Figs. 2-4), and
the second image is generated from the data of the object based on the angle (Fig. 4; [0046]-[0047] and [0071], The transparent display unit 110 may display content including a first part and a second part on the basis of a first direction in which a first user is located. The gaze sensor 133 may receive gaze information of the first user 10 and gaze information of the second user 20. The controller of the display apparatus may determine a display direction of each second part based on input gaze information. That is, the controller may maintain a display direction of the text “habitat” 34 to which the gaze of the first user 10 is directed at an angle toward the text. The controller may implement mirror flipping on the text “whale” 35 a to which the gaze of the second user 20 is directed at an angle.)
However, Kim did not teach how the transparent display was implemented, or including a pair of transparent substrates and a polymer dispersed liquid crystal layer held between the pair of transparent substrates, wherein the display device was viewed from one side of the transparent substrates, and viewed from another side of the transparent substrates, and that a gaze sensor is an image capturing device. Kim did not teach the control device includes a storage device which stores three-dimensional image data of an object, the second image is generated from the three-dimensional image data.
In the analogous art of multi-user large-scale transparent display devices, Duan teaches a naked-eye 3D screen can be typically configured to display a 3D image based on a light barrier 3D technology. An implementation method of the light barrier 3D technology can include using a switch liquid crystal display, a polarization film, and a polymer liquid crystal layer and producing perpendicular stripes with a direction of 90° using the liquid crystal layer and the polarization film. A switch/switching liquid crystal display technology as in the prior art was switching a scattering state of a polymer dispersed liquid crystal between a first substrate and a second substrate as in U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0350257 A1 by Muramoto paragraph [0003]. The stripes can be several tens of micrometers wide. Light passing through the stripes can form a perpendicular grating pattern, which can be referred to as a parallax barrier. In this technology, by using the parallax barrier that is arranged between the backlight module and the LCD panel, in a 3D display mode, when the image that should be seen by the left eye is displayed on the liquid crystal screen, a non-transparent stripe can block a right eye. Similarly, when the image that should be seen by the right eye is displayed on the liquid crystal screen, the non-transparent stripe can block the left eye. By separating the viewable images of the left eye and the right eye, the user can see the 3D image (Duan [0003] and [0057]).
Thus, in some embodiments, when the target screen is the naked-eye 3D screen, each user can only see the rendered image corresponding to the user on the target screen. Thus, each user can only see the augmented reality content or mixed image related to the user and may not need to care about the augmented reality content or the mixed images of the other users. Position information of multiple eyes of a plurality of users relative to a target screen in space is obtained, and the position information includes spatial coordinate information and angle information by a camera including information about the eyes of the user relative to the target screen an image of the target screen can be collected by the camera (Duan [0018], [0023], and [0057]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have presented content was 3-dimensional to multiple users using polymer liquid crystal shutters. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have each user can only see the augmented reality content or mixed image related to the user and may not need to care about the augmented reality content or the mixed images of the other users in large scale holographic transparent screens (Duan [0003] and [0057]).
Kim in view of Duan does not teach the second image represents a state in which the object is viewed from the angle.
In the analogous art of display processing based on user detection, Takasuka teaches a display processing device includes a camera unit, a position/angle change detecting unit detecting a change in the position of the user's face image and a change in the face angle, and a display control unit that displays a predetermined image on a display unit, moves the position of the display image in accordance with a change in the position of the detected user's face image, the change occurring in the X-axis direction and the Y-axis direction performs rotating processing in accordance with a change in the face angle so that an image viewed from the face angle is obtained, and displays the obtained image on the display unit (Takasuki [0008]). It would have been obvious before the effective date to have modified the display device of Kim in view of Selan to have interpreted position/angle change of the user to rotate a displayed object i.e., text, as taught by Takasuki. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have the displayed object take into account the viewing direction of the user as the user moves in a vertical direction and a horizontal direction, or an upward slanting direction and a downward slanting direction (Takasuki Figs. 7A-7C; [0008] and [0069]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim of the combination of references further teaches the display system of claim 1, wherein the capturing device acquires a first capture containing the person by capturing the person in front of or behind the display device (Fig. 4; [0068], Referring to FIG. 4(1), the sensor unit of the display apparatus may include a gaze sensor 133 to sense the gaze of the first user 10 and the gaze of the second user 20. In this case, the gaze sensor 133 may include a first sensor to sense the gaze of the first user 10 located in a first direction and a second sensor to sense the gaze of the second user 20 located in a second direction opposite to device);
the control device displays a second image containing a first side of the object when the first image contains the person present in front of the display device, and displays a second image containing a second side of the object when the first image contains the person present behind the display device, the second side being a side opposite to the first side (Fig. 4; [0046]-[0047] and [0071], The transparent display unit 110 may display content including a first part and a second part on the basis of a first direction in which a first user is located. The gaze sensor 133 may receive gaze information of the first user 10 and gaze information of the second user 20. The controller of the display apparatus may determine a display direction of each second part based on input gaze information. That is, the controller may maintain a display direction of the text “habitat” 34 to which the gaze of the first user 10 is directed at an angle toward the text. The controller may implement mirror flipping on the text “whale” 35 a to which the gaze of the second user 20 is directed at an angle.)
Kim does not teach the image capturing device acquires a first image.
In the analogous art of multi-user large-scale transparent display devices, Duan teaches a naked-eye 3D screen can be typically configured to display a 3D image based on a light barrier 3D technology. An implementation method of the light barrier 3D technology can include using a switch liquid crystal display, a polarization film, and a polymer liquid crystal layer and producing perpendicular stripes with a direction of 90° using the liquid crystal layer and the polarization film. A switch/switching liquid crystal display technology as in the prior art was switching a scattering state of a polymer dispersed liquid crystal between a first substrate and a second substrate as in U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0350257 A1 by Muramoto paragraph [0003]. The stripes can be several tens of micrometers wide. Light passing through the stripes can form a perpendicular grating pattern, which can be referred to as a parallax barrier. In this technology, by using the parallax barrier that is arranged between the backlight module and the LCD panel, in a 3D display mode, when the image that should be seen by the left eye is displayed on the liquid crystal screen, a non-transparent stripe can block a right eye. Similarly, when the image that should be seen by the right eye is displayed on the liquid crystal screen, the non-transparent stripe can block the left eye. By separating the viewable images of the left eye and the right eye, the user can see the 3D image (Duan [0003] and [0057]).
Thus, in some embodiments, when the target screen is the naked-eye 3D screen, each user can only see the rendered image corresponding to the user on the target screen. Thus, each user can only see the augmented reality content or mixed image related to the user and may not need to care about the augmented reality content or the mixed images of the other users. Position information of multiple eyes of a plurality of users relative to a target screen in space is obtained, and the position information includes spatial coordinate information and angle information by a camera including information about the eyes of the user relative to the target screen an image of the target screen can be collected by the camera (Duan [0018], [0023], and [0057]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have presented content was 3-dimensional to multiple users using polymer liquid crystal shutters. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have each user can only see the augmented reality content or mixed image related to the user and may not need to care about the augmented reality content or the mixed images of the other users in large scale holographic transparent screens (Duan [0003] and [0057]).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches a display device (Fig. 1, transparent display unit 110 of display apparatus 100); and a control device which controls display of images in the display device (Kim Fig. 1, controller 120 [0045], The display apparatus 100 may include a transparent display unit 110, a controller 120), wherein the display device is transparent to a background on one side when viewed from another side and is transparent to a background on the other side when viewed from the one side (Kim Fig 2; [0046] and [0070], The transparent display unit 110 may display content including a first part and a second part on the basis of a first direction in which a first user is located where the first user 10 and the second user 20 view the same content positioned on opposite sides and second parts 32b are further viewable backgrounds), and
the control device detects a position of a person with respect to the display device based on a first image containing the person obtained by a device which captures the person ([0015], The sensor unit may include a gaze sensor configured to sense gaze of the first user), and displays a second image containing an object on the display device based on the detected position ([0046], The transparent display unit 110 may display content… on the basis of a first direction in which a first user is located), wherein the position of the person with respect to the display device includes an angle at which the person is positioned with respect to the display device (Figs. 2-4), and
the second image is generated from the data of the object based on the angle containing an object directed in accordance with the angle at which the person is positioned with respect to the display device (Fig. 4; [0046]-[0047] and [0071], The transparent display unit 110 may display content including a first part and a second part on the basis of a first direction in which a first user is located. The gaze sensor 133 may receive gaze information of the first user 10 and gaze information of the second user 20. The controller of the display apparatus may determine a display direction of each second part based on input gaze information. That is, the controller may maintain a display direction of the text “habitat” 34 to which the gaze of the first user 10 is directed at an angle toward the text. The controller may implement mirror flipping on the text “whale” 35 a to which the gaze of the second user 20 is directed at an angle.)
However, Kim did not teach how the transparent display was implemented, or including a pair of transparent substrates and a polymer dispersed liquid crystal layer held between the pair of transparent substrates, wherein the display device was viewed from one side of the transparent substrates, and viewed from another side of the transparent substrates, and that a gaze sensor is an image capturing device. Kim did not teach the control device includes a storage device which stores three-dimensional image data of an object, the second image is generated from the three-dimensional image data.
In the analogous art of multi-user large-scale transparent display devices, Duan teaches a naked-eye 3D screen can be typically configured to display a 3D image based on a light barrier 3D technology. An implementation method of the light barrier 3D technology can include using a switch liquid crystal display, a polarization film, and a polymer liquid crystal layer and producing perpendicular stripes with a direction of 90° using the liquid crystal layer and the polarization film. A switch/switching liquid crystal display technology as in the prior art was switching a scattering state of a polymer dispersed liquid crystal between a first substrate and a second substrate as in U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0350257 A1 by Muramoto paragraph [0003]. The stripes can be several tens of micrometers wide. Light passing through the stripes can form a perpendicular grating pattern, which can be referred to as a parallax barrier. In this technology, by using the parallax barrier that is arranged between the backlight module and the LCD panel, in a 3D display mode, when the image that should be seen by the left eye is displayed on the liquid crystal screen, a non-transparent stripe can block a right eye. Similarly, when the image that should be seen by the right eye is displayed on the liquid crystal screen, the non-transparent stripe can block the left eye. By separating the viewable images of the left eye and the right eye, the user can see the 3D image (Duan [0003] and [0057]).
Thus, in some embodiments, when the target screen is the naked-eye 3D screen, each user can only see the rendered image corresponding to the user on the target screen. Thus, each user can only see the augmented reality content or mixed image related to the user and may not need to care about the augmented reality content or the mixed images of the other users. Position information of multiple eyes of a plurality of users relative to a target screen in space is obtained, and the position information includes spatial coordinate information and angle information by a camera including information about the eyes of the user relative to the target screen an image of the target screen can be collected by the camera (Duan [0018], [0023], and [0057]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have presented content was 3-dimensional to multiple users using polymer liquid crystal shutters. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have each user can only see the augmented reality content or mixed image related to the user and may not need to care about the augmented reality content or the mixed images of the other users in large scale holographic transparent screens (Duan [0003] and [0057]).
Kim in view of Duan does not teach the second image represents a state in which the object is viewed from the angle.
In the analogous art of display processing based on user detection, Takasuka teaches a display processing device includes a camera unit, a position/angle change detecting unit detecting a change in the position of the user's face image and a change in the face angle, and a display control unit that displays a predetermined image on a display unit, moves the position of the display image in accordance with a change in the position of the detected user's face image, the change occurring in the X-axis direction and the Y-axis direction performs rotating processing in accordance with a change in the face angle so that an image viewed from the face angle is obtained, and displays the obtained image on the display unit (Takasuki [0008]). It would have been obvious before the effective date to have modified the display device of Kim in view of Selan to have interpreted position/angle change of the user to rotate a displayed object i.e., text, as taught by Takasuki. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have the displayed object take into account the viewing direction of the user as the user moves in a vertical direction and a horizontal direction, or an upward slanting direction and a downward slanting direction (Takasuki Figs. 7A-7C; [0008] and [0069]).
Regarding claim 9, the above rejection of the display system in claim 1 stands for the corresponding method claimed.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2015/0235346 A1 by Kim in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0062341A1 A1 by Duan and U.S. Patent Publication 2009/0295832 A1 by Takasuki, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0265232 A1 by Yun et al. (“Yun.”)
Regarding claim 7, Kim in view of Duan and Takasuki does not teach the display system of claim 1, wherein when the first image contains a plurality of persons, the control device detects a position of one of the plurality of persons with respect to the display device, whose distance from the display device is a closest among the plurality of persons.
However, in the analogous art of a transparent display apparatus and method for displaying information thereon, Yun teaches sensing a position of an object, sensing a position of a user, determining an area of the transparent display through which the object is viewable by the user, and displaying the information on the transparent display based on the area (Yun Abstract). If two people are determined to view the transparent display apparatus 100, a closest viewer may be prioritized or viewers within an effective space of the transparent display apparatus 100 may be prioritized (Yun [0224]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have prioritized closer users for the orienting of second part as modified by Duan. One having ordinary skill would have motivated to have prioritized a user and utilized effective space at which information is viewable based on size of font, or a space in which both information and a product behind the transparent display apparatus 100 may be accurately viewed (Yun [0224]).
Conclusion
/MAHEEN I JAVED/Examiner, Art Unit 2621
/AMR A AWAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2621