DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 12-28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner acknowledges claims 1-11 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-15, 17, 19-21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Oota (US 2016/0278224).
With regard to claim 12, Oota discloses an electronic apparatus (10) comprising:
an apparatus body (12);
an opening-closing member (13a) provided displaceably to an opened state in which the opening-closing member is opened relative to the apparatus body and a closed state in which the opening-closing member is closed relative to the apparatus body [Fig. 8A];
a cable (55) provided between the apparatus body and the opening-closing member [Fig. 8A]; and
a cable protecting unit (20) configured to protect the cable,
wherein the cable protecting unit includes
a base-portion member (15) [Fig. 1], and
a movable member (21) provided slidably relative to the base-portion member [Fig. 9],
when the opening-closing member is displaced from the closed state to the opened state, the movable member slides relative to the base-portion member to increase a length by which the movable member extends from the base-portion member [Fig. 9], and
the movable member includes a locking section (41a) configured to be locked with respect to a frame (21) of the apparatus body [Para. 0045; Fig. 1].
With regard to claims 13 and 20, further comprising:
a frame (31) provided at the opening-closing member and including an opening portion (S) into which the cable is inserted; and
a contact preventing member (55) provided at the opening portion [Fig. 9] and configured to help prevent the cable from coming into contact with the opening portion,
wherein the base-portion member is attached to the frame with the contact preventing member [Fig. 9].
With regard to claim 14, wherein the opening-closing member includes a cover (19) [waterproof seal; Para. 0043] covering a predetermined member [covering the edge of opening-closing member (13); Fig. 1] and the base-portion member is located between the cover and a frame (see Fig. 1 below) of the opening-closing member [Fig. 1].
With regard to claims 15 and 21, wherein the base portion member includes:
a first surface facing one surface of the movable member and
a second surface facing another surface of the movable member.
With regard to claims 17 and 23, wherein the opening-closing member is configured to rotate between the opened state and the closed state [Fig. 8A, Fig. 6A] and
the movable member includes a bent portion (52) bent in a convex shape toward a center of rotation of the opening-closing member [Fig. 9].
With regard to claim 19, Oota discloses an electronic apparatus (10) comprising:
an apparatus body (12);
an opening-closing member (13a) provided displaceably to an opened state in which the opening-closing member is opened relative to the apparatus body and a closed state in which the opening-closing member is closed relative to the apparatus body [Fig. 8A];
a cable (55) provided between the apparatus body and the opening-closing member [Fig. 8A]; and
a cable protecting unit (20) configured to protect the cable, wherein the cable protecting unit includes
a base-portion member (15) [Fig. 1], and
a movable member (21) provided slidably relative to the base-portion member [Fig. 9],
when the opening-closing member is displaced from the closed state to the opened state, the movable member slides relative to the base-portion member to increase a length by which the movable member extends from the base-portion member [Fig. 9], and the opening-closing member includes a cover (19) [waterproof seal; Para. 0043] covering a predetermined member [covering the edge of opening-closing member (13); Fig. 1] and the base-portion member is located between the cover and a frame (see Fig. 1 below) of the opening-closing member [Fig. 1].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oota (US 2016/0278224) as applied to claims 12 and 19 above, and further in view of Moriyama (JP 2014166893)
With regard to claims 18 and 24, Oota’s electronic apparatus discloses all the limitations of claim 12, but does not disclose wherein the apparatus body includes: a transport unit configured to transport a medium along a transport path and a recording unit configured to perform recording on the medium transported by the transport unit and the opening-closing member is configured to be displaced to the opened state in which the transport path is exposed to an outside and the closed state in which the transport path is closed. (103)
However, Moriyama teaches an apparatus body (2) [device body unit; Para. 0028; Fig. 1] includes: a transport unit [transport member; Para. 0014] configured to transport a medium (P) along a transport path (13) [conveying path; Para. 0015] and a recording unit (not shown) [ink cartridge mounting section; Para. 0030] configured to perform recording on the medium transported by the transport unit and an opening-closing member (41) [Para. 0044] is configured to be displaced to the opened state in which the transport path is exposed to an outside and the closed state in which the transport path is closed [Para. 044; Fig. 4].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the apparatus body with a transport unit, a recording unit and an opening-closing member exposing a transport path in an open state with a cable and cable protector for the purpose of processing media while keeping wire bundled.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The primary reason for indicating allowable subject matter of claims 16 and 22 is the inclusion of the limitations of an attachment section that is provided at the second surface facing the first surface and at which the movable member is attached. It is this limitation(s) found in the claims, as it is claimed in the combination of that has not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes these claims allowable over the prior art.
Claims 25-28 are allowed.
The primary reason for allowance of claims 25-28 is the inclusion of the limitations of an attachment section that is provided at the second surface facing the first surface and at which the movable member is attached. It is this limitation found in the claims, as it is claimed in the combination of that has not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes these claims allowable over the prior art.
Conclusion
/TRACEY M MCMILLION/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/RICARDO I MAGALLANES/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853