(DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Claim Interpretation
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. This application includes one or more claim limitations that uses the word “means,” and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
(i) holding part (claim 2),
(ii) objection detection unit (claims 3, 4),
(iii) temperature detection unit (claims 7, 8), because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim limitation
(i) holding part (claim 2),
(ii) objection detection unit (claims 3, 4),
(iii) temperature detection unit (claims 7, 8), has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim 1 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
(i) holding part (claim 2), US2024/0334559, figure 3, holding part 25, 0061, the holding part 25 is a portion that can be gripped by the operator. The holding part 25 is composed of an insulating member such as resin, but may be made of metal
(ii) objection detection unit (claims 3, 4), figures 5, 6, object detection unit 40, 0103, object detection unit 40 detects a contact of the contact surface 23 with the heating object; 0122, object detection unit 40 includes the first pressure sensor 40A and the second pressure sensor 40B
(iii) temperature detection unit (claims 7, 8), figures 5, 6, temperature detection unit 41, 0106, temperature detection unit 41 may be a temperature sensor
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Aizawa (US 2023/0254949) in view of Warren (US 2,783,349) and Yamamoto (JP2017050147). An English machine translation of Yamamoto (JP2017050147) is included with the Notice of Reference Cited (PTO-892).
With respect to the limitations of claim 1, Aizawa teaches a heating apparatus (title, abstract) comprising: a first electrode (Figs 1-4, first electrode 30, 0023); a second electrode disposed surrounding (second electrode 40, 0024) the first electrode in plan view from a first direction toward a heating object (substrate 110, 0028); a first conductor (Fig 2, first electric wire 75, 0024) including a coil (coil 50) and configured to electrically couple a transmission line (internal conductor 70, 0024) configured to transmit a high-frequency voltage (voltage application unit 80, 0024) and the first electrode (30); a second conductor (coupling member 43, 0024) configured to electrically couple the transmission line (70) and the second electrode (40); and a housing covering (Fig 1, case portion 300, top surface, 0020) at least a part of the first electrode and the second electrode, and at least a part of the first conductor and the second conductor (electrode unit 20, 0016), the first electrode and the second electrode are configured to heat the heating object by generating electromagnetic waves in response to application of a high-frequency voltage (0031, 0034), and a housing case (case portion 300, side surfaces).
Aizawa discloses the claimed invention except for the housing includes a contact part including a contact surface configured to come into contact with the heating object and a housing case constituting an inner space configured to house the first electrode and the second electrode together with the contact part, and the housing case has an insulating property.
However, Warren discloses the housing (Figs 1-3, tunnel 11a, Col 2) includes a contact part including a contact surface (Figs 1, 4, filler block 48a, Col 2) configured to come into contact with the heating object (wooden strips 19A, Col 2) and a housing case (tunnel 11a) constituting an inner space configured to house the first electrode and the second electrode (heating electrode 15a, platen electrode 16A, Col 2, Lines 51-63) together with the contact part (48a) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the heating apparatus of Yamamoto silent to a housing silent to the recited contact part with the housing includes a contact part including a contact surface configured to come into contact with the heating object and a housing case constituting an inner space configured to house the first electrode and the second electrode together with the contact part of Warren for the purpose of providing a known contact configuration that applies a lateral load to the heating object to allow the heating object to be held securely in place during heating (Col 2, Lines 67-70).
Additionally, Yamamoto disclose the housing case has an insulating property (Figs 1-3, support columns 22 made of insulating material, 0028) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the heating apparatus of Yamamoto in view of Warren having a housing silent to an insulating material with the housing case has an insulating property of Yamamoto for the purpose of using a known insulating material that is suitable for housing used in dielectric heating.
With respect to the limitations of claims 2, 3, 4, 6 and 7, Aizawa in view of Warren and Yamamoto discloses further comprising a holding part (Yamamoto, Fig 2, link 18, 0028) configured to be gripped by an operator (Yamamoto, robot arm 10, 0027), the holding part is coupled to the housing case, and insulated (Yamamoto, 0028, support columns 22 made of insulating material) from the housing case;
further comprising an object detection unit configured to detect a contact of the contact part with the heating object (Yamamoto, Fig 6, distance sensor 52, force sensor 51, 0027), wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are configured to heat the heating object by generating electromagnetic waves in response to the application of the high-frequency voltage when the object detection unit detects the contact of the contact part with the heating object (Yamamoto, 0034);
the object detection unit includes a temperature sensor (Yamamoto, Fig 6, temperature sensor 53, 0034) configured to detect a temperature of the heating object;
further comprising: a temperature detection unit configured to detect a temperature (Yamamoto, Fig 6, temperature sensor 53, 0034); and a control unit, wherein the control unit controls (Yamamoto, Fig 1, control device 61, 62, 0034) the generation of the electromagnetic waves by the first electrode and the second electrode based on a detection result of the temperature detection unit.
With respect to the limitations of claim 4, Aizawa teaches a heating apparatus (title, abstract) comprising: a first electrode (Figs 1-4, first electrode 30, 0023), a second electrode disposed surrounding (second electrode 40, 0024) the first electrode in plan view from a first direction toward the heating object (substrate 110, 0028); a first conductor (Fig 2, first electric wire 75, 0024) including a coil (coil 50) and configured to electrically couple a transmission line (internal conductor 70, 0024) configured to transmit a high-frequency voltage (voltage application unit 80, 0024) and the first electrode (30); a second conductor (coupling member 43, 0024) configured to electrically couple the transmission line (70) and the second electrode (40); the first electrode and the second electrode are configured to heat the heating object by generating electromagnetic waves in response to application of a high-frequency voltage (0031, 0034).
Aizawa discloses the claimed invention except for a contact part including a contact surface configured to come into contact with a heating object; a first electrode; and an object detection unit configured to detect a contact of the contact part with the heating object, wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are configured to heat the heating object by generating electromagnetic waves in response to application of a high-frequency voltage when the object detection unit detects the contact of the contact part with the heating object.
However, Warren discloses a contact part including a contact surface (Figs 1, 4, filler block 48a, Col 2) configured to come into contact with a heating object (wooden strips 19A, Col 2) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the heating apparatus of Yamamoto silent to the recited contact part with a contact part including a contact surface configured to come into contact with a heating object of Warren for the purpose of providing a known contact configuration that applies a lateral load to the heating object to allow the heating object to be held securely in place during heating (Col 2, Lines 67-70).
Additionally, Yamamoto discloses an object detection unit configured to detect a contact of the contact part (Fig 6, distance sensor 52, force sensor 51, 0027) with the heating object, the first electrode and the second electrode are configured to heat the heating object by generating electromagnetic waves in response to application of a high-frequency voltage when the object detection unit detects the contact of the contact part with the heating object (0034, changes its orientation so that it contacts the surface of the low-temperature area parallel to the surface with a predetermined pressure, based on the detection results of the distance sensor 52 and the force sensor 51, after this, the heating process will resume) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the heating apparatus of Aizawa in view of Warren silent to the recited object detection unit with the object detection unit configured to detect a contact of the contact part with the heating object, the first electrode and the second electrode are configured to heat the heating object by generating electromagnetic waves in response to application of a high-frequency voltage when the object detection unit detects the contact of the contact part with the heating object of Yamamoto for the purpose of using known contact sensor configurations that regulates heating based on proper contact with heating object.
With respect to the limitations of claim 5, Yamamoto discloses the object detection unit includes a first pressure sensor and the first pressure sensor (force sensor 51) is configured to detect the contact of the contact part with the heating object. Aizawa in view of Warren and Yamamoto discloses the claimed invention except for the object detection unit includes a second pressure sensor. However, It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to duplicate the first pressure sensor, since it has been held that a mere duplication working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04).
With respect to the limitations of claim 8, Aizawa teaches a heating apparatus (title, abstract) comprising: a first electrode (Figs 1-4, first electrode 30, 0023); a second electrode disposed surrounding (second electrode 40, 0024) the first electrode in plan view from a first direction toward the heating object (substrate 110, 0028); a first conductor (Fig 2, first electric wire 75, 0024) including a coil (coil 50) and configured to electrically couple a transmission line (internal conductor 70, 0024) configured to transmit a high-frequency voltage (internal conductor 70, 0024) and the first electrode (30); a second conductor (coupling member 43, 0024) configured to electrically couple the transmission line (70) and the second electrode (40); and a control unit (control unit 500, 0016), the first electrode and the second electrode are configured to heat the heating object by generating electromagnetic waves in response to application of a high-frequency voltage (0031, 0034) and the control unit controls the generation of the electromagnetic waves by the first electrode and the second electrode (0018).
Aizawa discloses the claimed invention except for comprising a contact part including a contact surface configured to come into contact with a heating object; a temperature detection unit configured to detect a temperature; the first electrode and the second electrode are configured to heat the heating object by generating electromagnetic waves in response to application of a high-frequency voltage and the control unit controls the generation of the electromagnetic waves by the first electrode and the second electrode based on a detection result of the temperature detection unit.
However, Warren discloses a contact part including a contact surface (Figs 1, 4, filler block 48a, Col 2) configured to come into contact with a heating object (wooden strips 19A, Col 2) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the heating apparatus of Yamamoto silent to the recited contact part with a contact part including a contact surface configured to come into contact with a heating object of Warren for the purpose of providing a known contact configuration that applies a lateral load to the heating object to allow the heating object to be held securely in place during heating (Col 2, Lines 67-70).
Additionally, Yamamoto discloses a temperature detection unit configured to detect a temperature (Fig 6, temperature sensor 53, 0034), the first electrode and the second electrode (Figs 1-3, first electrode 23, second electrode plate 31, 0028, 0029) are configured to heat the heating object by generating electromagnetic waves in response to application of a high-frequency voltage (high-frequency generation unit 40, 0026) and the control unit controls the generation of the electromagnetic waves by the first electrode and the second electrode based on a detection result of the temperature detection unit (temperature sensor 53, control device 61, 62, 0034) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the heating apparatus of Aizawa in view of Warren silent to the recited temperature detection unit with the temperature detection unit configured to detect a temperature, the first electrode and the second electrode are configured to heat the heating object by generating electromagnetic waves in response to application of a high-frequency voltage and the control unit controls the generation of the electromagnetic waves by the first electrode and the second electrode based on a detection result of the temperature detection unit of Yamamoto for the purpose of using a known temperature sensor configurations that regulates heating based on detected temperature of the heating object.
With respect to the limitations of claims 9, 10, 11, 12 and 13, Aizawa in view of Warren and Yamamoto discloses the temperature detection unit detects a temperature of the heating object (Yamamoto, temperature sensor 53, 0034);
the temperature detection unit (Yamamoto, temperature sensor 53) detects a temperature of the coil (Aizawa, coil 50);
the temperature detection unit (Yamamoto, temperature sensor 53, 0034) detects a temperature of an electromagnetic clamp (Yamamoto, Fig 12, clamping section 19, 0041) provided in the transmission line (Aizawa, internal conductor 70);
the control unit controls a high-frequency voltage to be applied to the first electrode and the second electrode based on the detection result of the temperature detection unit and the high-frequency voltage to be applied to the first electrode and the second electrode (Yamamoto, temperature sensor 53, 0034);
when a temperature detected by the temperature detection unit exceeds a threshold value, the control unit performs a control to stop the generation of the electromagnetic waves by the first electrode and the second electrode (Yamamoto, 0034, if there is a low-temperature area, it temporarily interrupts the heating operation).
Conclusion
/THIEN S TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 10/8/2026