CTNF 18/614,859 CTNF 74901 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 2. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 3. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA 4. Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi et al. (US 2005/0243126) . Takahashi et al. disclose the following claimed limitations: * Re clm 1, a liquid ejecting head/printhead/3, 1100/ (Abst, figs 1-19); * a plurality of head chips/1006, 1005, 1004, 1003/ configured to eject a liquid, the head chips including one or a plurality of first head chips/1006, 1005/ and one or a plurality of second head chips/1004, 1003/ having a higher ejection ability/having more nozzles to eject ink/ than the first head chips/1006, 1005, having less nozzles to eject ink/ (para 0082-0083, fig 4) * Re clm 2, wherein the plurality of head chips/1006, 1005, 1004, 1003/ include a first chip group/10006, 1005/ including a plurality of head chips/1006, 1005/ that includes the first head chips/1006/ and have the same ejection ability/having the same number of nozzles/ as the first head chips/1006/ (see fig 4), * and a second chip group/1004,1003/ including a plurality of head chips/1004, 1003/ that includes the second head chips/1004, 1003/ and have the same ejection ability/having the same number of nozzles/ as the second head chips/1004, 1003/, (see fig 4), * the plurality of head chips in the first chip group/1006, 1005/ are arranged in a first direction, and adjacent head chips are disposed to partially overlap each other when viewed in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (paras 0089, 0090, see figs 4-5), * the plurality of head chips in the second chip group/1004, 1003/ are arranged in the first direction, and adjacent head chips are disposed to partially overlap each other when viewed in the second direction (paras 0089, 0090, see figs 4-5), * the first chip group/1006, 1005/ and the second chip group/1004, 1003/ are disposed to deviate from each other in the second direction (paras 0089, 0090-0095, figs 4-5), * Re clm 3, a first line head/3,1000/ that includes one or a plurality of the liquid ejecting heads/1100, 1200/ and has the first direction as a longitudinal direction, and (paras 0053-0056, figs 3- 4); * a transport unit/paper feed mechanism 5/ that transports a medium/paper P/ in a transport direction, wherein the first chip group/1100, 1006,1005/ in the liquid ejecting head/1100/ of the first line head/3, 1000/ is disposed on a downstream of the second chip group/1200/ in the transport direction (see figs 3-4), * the first chip group/1006, 1005/ in the liquid ejecting head//1100/ of the first line head/1000/ ejects an ink containing a coloring material/color ink chip 1100/ (para 0077, fig 4), * and the second chip group/1200/ in the liquid ejecting head/1200/ of the first line head/1000/ ejects a pre-treatment liquid/surface treated/ (paras 0069, 0077. 0110, figs 3-4). * Re clm 5, a third line head/141-144/ that is disposed between the first line head/131-134/ and the second line head/145-148/ in the transport direction, wherein one or a plurality of liquid ejecting heads constituting the third line head/141-144/ include a plurality of head chips/141-144/ having the same ejection ability as the first head chip/131-134/, and * the plurality of head chips in the liquid ejecting head of the third line head/141-144/ eject an ink containing a coloring material (para 0082, fig 15). * Re clm 11, wherein the first head chip/1006/ is compatible with the second head chip/1005/ (see fig 4). * Re clm 12, wherein the liquid ejecting head includes a first accommodation space that accommodates the first head chip/1006/ and a second accommodation space that accommodates the second head chip/1005/, the first head chip/1006/ is configured to be accommodated in the second accommodation space, and the second head chip/1005/ is configured to be accommodated in the first accommodation space (paras 0083-0087, see fig 4). * Re clm 13, wherein when the same type of liquid/ink/ is ejected by supplying the same drive waveform/pulse voltage/ to the first head chip/1006/ and the second head chip/1005/, a weight/standard ink density/ of a liquid ejected from a nozzle of the second head chip/1005 ejects magenta ink/ is more than a weight/standard ink density/ of a liquid ejected from a nozzle of the first head chip/1006 ejects cyan ink/ (paras.0054, 0085, fig 4). * Re clm 14, wherein in one recording cycle, a maximum ejection weight when one dot is formed at a medium by ejecting a liquid/magenta ink/ from one nozzle of the second head chip/1005 ejects magenta ink/ is more than a maximum ejection weight/standard ink density of magenta (1.50)/ when one dot is formed at the medium by ejecting a liquid/cyan ink/ from one nozzle of the first head chip/1006 ejects cyan ink/standard ink density of cyan (1.45)/ (paras 0006, 0085, see fig 4) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA 5. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA 6. Claim (s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US 2005/0243126) in view of Kodama et al, (US 20240034066), Takahashi et al. disclose the following claimed limitations: * Re clm 4, a second line head/141-144/ that includes one or a plurality of the liquid ejecting heads/141-144/ and has the first direction as a longitudinal direction, wherein the first line head/141/ is disposed on an upstream of the second line head/141-144/ in the transport direction, * the first chip group/141 of group 141-144/ in the liquid ejecting head/141-144 of the second line head/141-144/ is disposed on an upstream of the second chip group/142/ in the transport direction, * the first chip group/141-142/ in the liquid ejecting head/141-144/ of the second line head/141-144/ ejects an ink containing a coloring material, and (para 0082, fig 15), * the second chip group/143-144/ in the liquid ejecting head/143-144/ of the second line head/141-144/ ejects a liquid. Takahashi et al. does not disclose the following: Re clm 4, ejects a post-treatment liquid Kodama et al. disclose the following: * Re clm 4, ejects a post-treatment liquid/ejected from head unit 550/ (para 0042, fig 1). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize ejecting a post-treatment liquid, taught by Kodama et al. into Takahashi et al. for the purpose of improving/enhancing the fastness or quality of printed the images . 07-21-aia AIA 7. Claim (s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US 2005/0243126) in view of Shibata et al. (US 2005/0104917) . Takahashi et al. disclose the following claimed limitations: * Re clm 15, a liquid ejecting apparatus/ink jet printing apparatus/ including the liquid ejecting head/3/, the apparatus (Abst., paras 0052-0053, fig 1); * a first liquid ejecting head/3/ that is the liquid ejecting head (paras 0053-0054, fig 1); Takahashi et al. disclose all the claimed limitations except for the following: * Re clm 15, a second liquid ejecting head that is the liquid ejecting head; and * a carriage that holds the first liquid ejecting head and the second liquid ejecting head and reciprocates in a main scanning direction; * wherein the first liquid ejecting head and the second liquid ejecting head are disposed at the same position in a transport direction of a medium and are arranged in the main scanning direction, * the one or the plurality of first head chips in the first liquid ejecting head are located at a first position in the transport direction, * the one or the plurality of second head chips in the first liquid ejecting head are located at a second position different from the first position in the transport direction, * the one or the plurality of first head chips in the second liquid ejecting head are located at the second position in the transport direction, * the one or the plurality of second head chips in the second liquid ejecting head are located at the first position in the transport direction, * the plurality of first head chips in the first liquid ejecting head and the second liquid ejecting head eject a first liquid, and the plurality of second head chips in the first liquid ejecting head and the second liquid ejecting head eject a second liquid. Shibata et al. discloses the following claimed limiations: * Re clm 15, a liquid ejecting apparatus/ink jet printing apparatus/ including the liquid ejecting head/21-1 to21-4/, the apparatus (Abst., pata 0037, fig 1); * a first liquid ejecting head/21-1/ that is the liquid ejecting head; * a second liquid ejecting head/21-2/ that is the liquid ejecting head; and * a carriage/20/ that holds the first liquid ejecting head/21-1/ and the second liquid ejecting head/21-2/ and reciprocates in a main scanning direction (paras 0037-0038, fig 1); * wherein the first liquid ejecting head/21-1, 131-134/ and the second liquid ejecting head/21-2, 141-144/ are disposed at the same position in a transport direction of a medium and are arranged in the main scanning direction (paras 0004-0005, 0041, see fig 1, 15), * the one or the plurality of first head chips/131-134/ in the first liquid ejecting head/21-1/ are located at a first position/131-132/ in the transport direction, * the one or the plurality of second head chips/133-134/ in the first liquid ejecting head/21-1/ are located at a second position different from the first position/131-132/ in the transport direction, * the one or the plurality of first head chips/141-144/ in the second liquid ejecting head/21-2/ are located at the second position/141-144/ in the transport direction, * the one or the plurality of second head chips/141-144/ in the second liquid ejecting head/21-2/ are located at the first position/141-142/ in the transport direction, * the plurality of first head chips/131-134/ in the first liquid ejecting head/21-1/ and the second liquid ejecting head/21-2/ eject a first liquid/ink/, and the plurality of second head chips/133-134/ in the first liquid ejecting head/21-1/ and the second liquid ejecting head/21-2/ eject a second liquid/ink/. Conclusion 8. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KRISTAL FEGGINS whose telephone number is (571)272-2254. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 930-530pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ricardo Magallanes can be reached at 571-272-5960. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KRISTAL FEGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/614,859 Page 2 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/614,859 Page 3 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/614,859 Page 4 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/614,859 Page 5 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/614,859 Page 6 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/614,859 Page 7 Art Unit: 2853