DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 2-4, 8-15, 17-18, and 20-23 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11937793. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim(s) substantially anticipate(s) the identified claim(s) of this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Examiner notes: for brevity, economy, and clarity of reading, select of the claims are addressed jointly herein when instances of limitations with verbatim or near-verbatim similarity are recited in the body of differently numbered claims and/or when multiple different limitations are clearly addressed by a same/similar citation to/within a reference.
Claim(s) 2-18, and 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vetter (US 20150057573 A1) in view of Anderson (US 6086543 A) and Mallaby (US 5249583 A).
For claim(s) 2 and 24, Vetter teaches A soft tissue biopsy device [entire disclosure – see at least abstract] (and a method of its use) comprising:
an elongated flexible [¶62] shaft [11] having an internal lumen and a distal end, [Fig. 3]
wherein said elongated flexible shaft is shaped and sized to be introduced via a working channel of an endoscope into a body; [optional length and flexibility of ¶¶62-63 constitute(s), under BRI, a form of a shaft ‘shaped and sized’ for introduction through an endoscope (i.e., Examiner interprets ‘shaped and sized’ to mean capable of such a function — cf. alternate § 103 rejection below)]
a distal hollow sampling portion [11 with cutting beak of 13] coupled to said elongated flexible shaft distal end,
wherein said distal hollow sampling portion comprises an internal sampling lumen and an opening into said internal sampling lumen. [helix 472 and distal portion of lumen of 11 in ¶62 constitute(s), under BRI, a form of an ‘internal lumen’ with a ‘distal cylindrical sampling portion’ and ‘distal opening’ attached to a distal end of 11 (i.e., the portion of 11 proximal to what’s shown in Fig. 2)]
For claim(s) 2, 4, and 24, Vetter fails to teach the device having a stylet.
Anderson a biopsy device [Fig. 7] comprising a sharp stylet [720] shaped and sized to be advanced and retracted within an internal lumen [col. 12 l. 40 – col. 13 l. 20] of a shaft. [704]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of Vetter to incorporate the stylet of Anderson (i.e., to place the stylet of Anderson into the lumen of the device of Vetter) in order to further aid in tissue sample acquisition. As motivated by Anderson col. 12 ll. 55-60 and Vetter ¶63.
Vetter in view of Anderson makes obvious most of claim(s) 24 as detailed with claim(s) 2 jointly above.
For claim(s) 2, 5-7 and 24, Vetter in view of Anderson is silent regarding a stylet detector sensor configured to detect a longitudinal position of said stylet relative to said elongated flexible shaft and to distinguish between a plurality of different stylet positions and lock.
Mallaby teaches a biopsy device [abstract] comprising a stylet position sensor [121] that interacts with a stylet lock [55] to sense whether a stylet is in a given extended or retracted position relative to an elongated shaft to distinguish between a pluralioty of different stylet positions and interacts with the camming stylet lock. [end of col. 6 and throughout cols. 7-8]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify the biopsy device of Vetter in view of Anderson to further incorporate the stylet sensor and lock of Mallaby in order to improve stylet and sampling motion accuracy and efficiency. As motivated by Mallaby col. 2 ll. 40-68.
For claim 3, Vetter teaches A biopsy device according to claim 2,
wherein said opening of said hollow sampling portion is a distal front opening. helix 472 and distal portion of lumen of 11 in ¶62 constitute(s), under BRI, a form of an ‘internal lumen’ with a ‘distal cylindrical sampling portion’ and ‘distal opening’ attached to a distal end of 11 (i.e., the portion of 11 proximal to what’s shown in Fig. 2)]
For claim 8, Vetter teaches A biopsy device according to claim 2,
wherein said distal hollow sampling portion is configured to cut through soft body tissue while penetrating into said soft body tissue, and to apply forces on tissue positioned inside said internal lumen of said distal hollow sampling portion that are sufficient to separate tissue inside said internal lumen from the soft body tissue outside said distal hollow sampling portion. , [penetration and cutting of sample tissue at target site is/are central inventive feature(s) detailed throughout the majority (if not the entirety) of the disclosure of Vetter – see esp. abstract, ¶¶62-63]
For claim(s) 9-10, Vetter teaches
wherein said distal hollow sampling portion comprises a cutting edge surrounding said distal front opening; wherein said cutting edge is shaped and sized to form a cut in a soft body tissue when penetrating into said soft body tissue; wherein said cutting edge is a circumferential cutting edge surrounding said distal front opening and is shaped and sized to form a round cut in said soft body tissue when penetrating into said soft body tissue. [top and bottom beveled edges of beak 13 constitute(s), under BRI, a form of a ‘circumferential cutting leading edge’ in that the edges of beak 13 are curved and arcuate thus constituting a ‘circumferential’ shape — detailed at length throughout Figs. 4-14]
For claim 11, Vetter teaches A biopsy device according to claim 10,
wherein said circumferential cutting edge is a tapered circumferential cutting edge having an external and/or an internal circumferential tapered region. [sharpened tip ‘scoopula’ and ‘beak’ in ¶¶73-74]
For claim 12, Vetter teaches A biopsy device according to claim 9, comprising:
a driving unit [motor 613/636 and associated gearing of Figs. 23-26] functionally coupled to said elongated flexible shaft configured to rotate said elongated flexible shaft and said distal hollow sampling portion comprising said cutting edge, [rotation and advancement in ¶¶66-67, ¶74 via electrical powering in ¶64, ¶173]
wherein the rotation of the distal hollow sampling portion separates a tissue sample from the soft body tissue. [¶¶61-65]
For claim 13, Vetter teaches A biopsy device according to claim 12,
wherein said driving unit is configured to rotate said elongated flexible shaft and said sampling portion with a speed of at least 100 revolutions-per-minute (RPM) while said sampling portion axially advances into said soft body tissue. [¶77]
For claim 14, Vetter teaches A biopsy device according to claim 12, comprising a gear unit configured to engage said driving unit with said elongated flexible shaft. [gear configurations with DC motor in ¶¶114-131 esp. ¶131 in Fig. 26]
For claim 15, Vetter teaches A biopsy device according to claim 12,
wherein said driving unit is configured to axially advance said distal hollow sampling portion into the tissue in synchronization with said rotation. [¶¶61-65]
For claim(s) 16, Vetter fails to teach two motors. However, such a feature would be an obvious matter of a mere duplication of parts according to one of ordinary skill. See MPEP § 2144.04.
For claim 17, Vetter teaches A biopsy device according to claim 12,
wherein said driving unit comprises a gear motor configured to rotate and axially advance said sampling portion according to a selected ratio between rotation velocity and axial advancement velocity. [rotation and advancement in middle of ¶66 and middle of ¶73 and ¶74 must have at least some form of ratio (i.e., such a value exists regardless of 1:1 rotation to advancement or total advancement before any rotation which would then be a 0:1 ratio — and any and all possible values in between)]
For claim 18, Vetter teaches A biopsy device according to claim 2,
comprising a handle [12] configured to allow manual advancement of said sampling portion. [¶62]
For claim 20, Vetter teaches A biopsy device according to claim 2,
wherein said distal hollow sampling portion is cylindrical and wherein said cutting edge is a circumferential cutting edge surrounding said distal front opening. [sharpened tip ‘scoopula’ and ‘beak’ in ¶¶73-74]
For claim 21, Vetter teaches A biopsy device according to claim 20,
wherein said distal hollow sampling portion is shaped and sized for both coring and tissue separation. [¶¶62-63]
For claim 22, Vetter teaches A biopsy device according to claim 20,
wherein said distal end is flat. [a cross section of distal end of 11 is flat]
For claim 23, Vetter teaches A biopsy device according to claim 2,
wherein an external surface of said distal hollow sampling portion is covered at least partly with a low-friction layer configured to reduce friction with tissue surrounding said sampling portion during movement of said sampling portion. [¶173]
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vetter in view of Anderson, Mallaby, and Mugan (US 20100121218 A1).
For claim(s) 19, Vetter fails to teach an endoscope lock. However, consider that Vetter does teach in ¶62 that the shaft is generally sufficiently flexible to navigate around sensitive structures and tissues.
Mugan teaches an endoscope lock [100-200] for a biopsy device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of Vetter to incorporate the endoscope lock of Mugan in order to aid in sampling difficult to reach anatomies. As motivated by Mugan ¶¶3-7, ¶¶14-19 and Vetter ¶62.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's 3/26/26 arguments with respect to the prior art have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in remarks p. 10-12 that Mallaby’s teachings do not then (in combination) make obvious the amended claim(s) 2 in that Mallaby does not teach a stylet sensor to detect a longitudinal position of a stylet relative to a lumen / shaft. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Mallaby teaches esp. at the end of col. 6 and then throughout col. 7 that
“ In the ready-to-fire position, which is the proper initial position for operation of the device, the stylet and cannula are both retracted and the circuit is in a reset or standby mode. In this mode the outputs (Q1) of all three JK flip-flops are low (logic "0"), thus disabling sensor 1, enabling sensor 2 and enabling the fire button and fire latch U3/A.
(14) Once the fire button is pressed, the output of U3/A goes high (logic "1"), turning on the LEDs in sensors 1 and 2 through transistor Q5 and forward biasing MOSFET Q4, thereby connecting one terminal of the drive motor to ground. U1/C and U1/D are both held low at this time by the low levels on the Q outputs of JK flip-flops U2 and U3/A. Thus, MOSFET Q2 is on, enabling motor drive current to flow from VCC through Q2, the motor, and Q4 to ground.
(15) Therefore, in response to actuation of the fire button, the drive motor begins turning and, through the planetary gear box, causes the drive shaft to rotate clockwise (CW) as viewed from the rear of the instrument. This causes the slotted disc to rotate clockwise from its initial position, in which the slot is adjacent to sensor 1 which is located directly below the drive shaft. Sensor 2, located 120.degree. counterclockwise from sensor 1 as viewed from the rear of the instrument, detects the passage of the slot after approximately 230.degree. of clockwise shaft rotation, and, in response, generates an output pulse which passes through U1/B, enabled at this time by a high state output on the Q output of U3/B, and clocks U3/B, thereby disabling sensor 2 and enabling sensor 1. The motor continues to drive the rotary cam and slotted disc clockwise until the slot returns to a point adjacent sensor 1, which responds by clocking U2 through U1/A. U2 goes high in response, resetting U3/A and thereby stopping the motor. The low output from U3/A not only turns off Q4 and thereby deenergizes the motor, but also turns on Q1 to connect both terminals of the motor to VCC, thereby providing dynamic braking. The motor stops with the stylet and cannula in their extended positions.
(16) The high output from U2 is also supplied to one contact of each of the stylet and cannula retract switches as an enabling signal. With U3/B reset at this time, only the cannula retract switch is actually enabled, because the low Q output of U3/B prevents any pulse from the stylet retract switch from passing through U1/D. When the cannula retract button is pressed, the output of U1/C goes high, turning on transistor Q3 and completing a circuit from VCC through Q1, the motor and Q3 to ground, whereby the motor reverses direction and causes the rotary cam and slotted disc to rotate counterclockwise. It should be noted, perhaps, that both optoelectronic sensors are disabled whenever the motor is deenergized. Once cannula retraction begins, however, both sensor LEDs are again turned on through Q5, although only sensor 2 is enabled because U1/A is disabled at this time. Thus, sensor 2 is the first sensor to respond to the passage of the slot in the slotted disc, and it responds by clocking U3/B, thereby disabling sensor 2 and the cannula retract button and enabling sensor 1 and the stylet retract button. The motor stops in response to the resulting low state at the output of U1/C.
(17) The final step in the cycle is actuation of the stylet retract button. Pressing this button with U1/D enabled re-enables the drive, causing the cam and slotted disc to resume counterclockwise rotation and resulting in sensor 1 clocking U2 and resetting U3/B through U1/A. This disables the stylet retract button and re-enables the fire latch, thereby completing the full cycle.”
Accordingly, Mallaby teaches at least some form of the stylet position sensor as claimed. Notably, in the embodiment of Mallaby col. 7, the cam position sensor then directly and linearly connects to the linear position of the stylet itself during the firing and operation of the motor. As such, the sensing of the cam / disc position then translates to a specific position determination of the stylet that rotatably connects to it. Examiner respectfully submits that the cam position is not independent and irrelevant to the stylet position, to determine one is to determine the other as is the express purpose of the drive design of Mallaby in order to ensure discrete positioning between the three firing positions: (1) cannula and stylet fire forward, (2) cannula retracted, and (3) stylet retracted as in col. 6 ll. 25-45.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN S MELHUS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791