DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 9, 13, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang et al (US 2024/0,031,938; hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claim 1, 17, and 20, Yang disclose a method for controlling a power for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission, a terminal (1200; Fig. 12), comprising a processor (1204), a memory (1212), and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform, and a non-transitory readable storage medium, wherein a program or instructions are stored in the non-transitory readable storage medium, and the program or instructions, when executed by a processor of a terminal (the processors 1204 may include any type of circuitry or processor circuitry that executes or otherwise operates computer-executable instructions, such as program code, software modules, or functional processes from memory 1212 to cause the UE 1200 to perform operations; paragraphs [0202], [0017]-[0020]), causes the terminal to perform:
determining, by a terminal (e.g. UE 102, 1200), first uplink control information (UCI) and second UCI multiplexed on one PUCCH for transmission, wherein a priority of the first UCI is a first priority, a priority of the second UCI is a second priority, and the first priority is higher than the second priority (for PUCCH resource set selection, the payload for high priority (HP) & low priority (LP) UCIs are converted into equivalent HP payload size, where the UCIs for HP and LP are enumerated in UCI part I, which may be referred to as a first UCI part, and UCI Part II, which may be referred to as a second UCI part, a multiplexed UCI 108 that may be transmitted from the UE 102 to the base station 104, the multiplexed UCI 108 may include a first UCI part, which may be referred to as a UCI part I, and a second UCI part, which may be referred to as UCI part II, the UE 102 may transmit the multiplexed UCI 108 via a PUCCH associated with the base station 104; paragraphs [0029], [0040]);
and determining, by the terminal, a power for the PUCCH transmission based on a first bit number, wherein the first bit number is determined based on a bit number of the first UCI and/or a bit number of the second UCI (the UE 102 may determine a particular PUCCH transmission power with which the multiplexed UCI 108 is to be transmitted to the base station 104, the UE 102 may determine the PUCCH transmission power based on a number of composite UCI bits within the multiplexed UCI, in some instances, e.g., the UE 102 may take into account the number of composite UCI bits within the multiplexed UCI when the PUCCH transmission in which multiplexed UCI is to be transmitted in PUCCH format 2, PUCCH format 3, or PUCCH format 4; paragraphs [0041]-[0042]).
Regarding claim 2 and 18, Yang disclose the method and terminal according to claim 1 and 17 respectively, wherein the determining, by the terminal, a power for the PUCCH transmission based on a first bit number comprises:
determining, by the terminal, a PUCCH transmission power adjustment factor for the PUCCH based on the first bit number (the UE 102 may determine the PUCCH transmission power adjustment component for the multiplexed UCI 108 based on the bit number of the first UCI part or the bit number of the second UCI part; ¶ [0043]); and determining the power for the PUCCH transmission based on the PUCCH transmission power adjustment factor (in some embodiments, the UE 102 may determine the PUCCH transmission power for the multiplexed UCI 108 based on the equation:
where i is the PUCCH transmission occasion, PCMAX,f,c(i) is the UE configured maximum output power, P
O
P
U
C
C
H
b,f,c(qu) is a parameter composed of PO_NOMINAL_PUCCH and PO_UE_PUCCH(qu) which may be provided to the UE as well known in the field, MRB,b,f,cPUCCH(i) is a bandwidth of a PUCCH resource assignment, PLb,f,c(qd) is a downlink pathloss, Δ
F
P
U
C
C
H
(F) is a value based on PUCCH format, ΔTF,b,f,c(i) is a PUCCH transmission power adjustment component, and gb,f,c (i, l) is a current PUCCH power control adjustment state (¶ [0041]).
Regarding claim 3 and 19, Yang disclose the method according to claim 2 and 18 respectively, wherein the determining, by the terminal, a PUCCH transmission power adjustment factor for the PUCCH based on the first bit number comprises: in a case that the first bit number is less than or equal to a threshold (e.g. 11), determining, by the terminal, the PUCCH transmission power adjustment factor ΔTF,b,f,c(i) in the following manner:
nHARQ-ACK(i) is a second bit number, wherein the second bit number is determined based on a bit number of first hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) of the first priority transmitted over the PUCCH and/or a bit number of second HARQ-ACK of the second priority transmitted over the PUCCH; OSR(i) is a third bit number, wherein the third bit number is determined based on a bit number of a first scheduling request (SR) of the first priority transmitted over the PUCCH and/or a bit number of a second SR of the second priority transmitted over the PUCCH; OCSI(i) is a fourth bit number, wherein the fourth bit number is determined based on a bit number of first channel state information (CSI) of the first priority transmitted over the PUCCH and/or a bit number of second CSI of the second priority transmitted over the PUCCH; and NRE(i) is a number of first resource elements (REs), wherein the number of the first REs is determined based on a number of REs occupied by the first UCI and/or a number of REs occupied by the second UCI (paragraphs [0031]-[0032]).
Regarding claim 7, Yang disclose the method according to claim 2, wherein the determining, by the terminal, a PUCCH transmission power adjustment factor for the PUCCH based on the first bit number comprises: in a case that the first bit number is greater than a threshold, determining, by the terminal, the PUCCH transmission power adjustment factor ΔTF,b,f,c(i) in the following manner:
wherein OACK(i) is a second bit number, wherein the second bit number is determined based on a bit number of first hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) of the first priority transmitted over the PUCCH and/or a bit number of second HARQ-ACK of the second priority transmitted over the PUCCH; OSR(i) is a third bit number, wherein the third bit number is determined based on a bit number of a first SR of the first priority transmitted over the PUCCH and/or a bit number of a second SR of the second priority transmitted over the PUCCH; OCSI(i) is a fourth bit number, wherein the fourth bit number is determined based on a bit number of first channel state information (CSI) of the first priority transmitted over the PUCCH and/or a bit number of second CSI of the second priority transmitted over the PUCCH; OCRC(i) is a fifth bit number, wherein the fifth bit number is determined based on a bit number of first cyclic redundancy check (CRC) of the first priority transmitted over the PUCCH and/or a bit number of second CRC of the second priority transmitted over the PUCCH; and NRE(i) is a number of first REs, wherein the number of the first REs is determined based on a number of REs occupied by the first UCI and/or a number of REs occupied by the second UCI (paragraphs [0034]-[0036]).
Regarding claim 9, Yang disclose the method according to claim 3, wherein the threshold is 11 (¶ [0032]).
Regarding claim 13, Yang disclose the method according to claim 3, wherein a format of the PUCCH comprises one of the following: PUCCH format 2, PUCCH format 3, and PUCCH format 4 (¶ [0032]).
Regarding claim 14, Yang disclose the method according to claim 2, wherein the terminal determines the PUCCH transmission power adjustment factor ΔTF,b,f,c(i) in the following manner (¶ [0150]):
in a case that a format of the PUCCH is PUCCH format 0,
N
r
e
f
P
U
C
C
H
= third predetermined value (e.g. 2), and alternatively, in a case that the format of the PUCCH is PUCCH format 1,
N
r
e
f
P
U
C
C
H
=
N
s
y
m
b
s
l
o
t
, wherein
N
s
y
m
b
s
l
o
t
is a number of symbols in one slot (paras. [0152]-[0153]; and
in a case that the format of the PUCCH is the PUCCH format 0, ΔUCI (i) = 0; alternatively, in a case that the format of the PUCCH is the PUCCH format 1, ΔUCI(i) = 10log10 (OUCI(i)), wherein OUCI(i) is the first bit number (paragraphs [0150]-[0155]).
Regarding claim 15, Yang disclose the method according to claim 14, wherein the format of the PUCCH comprises one of the following: the PUCCH format 0 and the PUCCH format 1 (paras. [0150]-[0155]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al (US 2024/0,031,938) in view of Li et al (US 2023/0,076,577; hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 16, Yang disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein Yang do not disclose the first bit number is:
In the same field of endeavor, Li disclose the equivalent total number of bits is N = N1 + α * N2 + β * N3, wherein α and β are respectively parameters for equivalently converting the number of bits of the second category of UCI and the number of bits of the third category of UCI into the first category of UCI, α and β may be configured by higher layer signaling or defined in advance (¶ [0061]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to perform the power control or determine the power for the PUCCH transmission according to the equivalent total number of bits based on the requirement of the category of UCI (Li; ¶ [0061]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 8, and 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, Yang disclose the method according to claim 3, wherein the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the second bit number nHARQ-ACK(i) is determined in the following manner: α1 *
n
H
A
R
Q
-
A
C
K
H
P
+ β1 *
n
H
A
R
Q
-
A
C
K
L
P
, wherein
n
H
A
R
Q
-
A
C
K
H
P
is the bit number of the first HARQ-ACK,
n
H
A
R
Q
-
A
C
K
L
P
is the bit number of the second HARQ-ACK, 0≤α1≤1, and 0≤β1≤1.
Regarding claim 5, the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the method according to claim 4, wherein the bit number
n
H
A
R
Q
-
A
C
K
H
P
of the first HARQ-ACK is determined in the following manner:
in a case that no HARQ-ACK codebook is configured for HARQ-ACK of the first priority of the terminal and the first HARQ-ACK is transmitted over the PUCCH,
n
H
A
R
Q
-
A
C
K
H
P
=1;
in a case that no first HARQ-ACK is transmitted over the PUCCH,
n
H
A
R
Q
-
A
C
K
H
P
=0; and
in a case that the first HARQ-ACK is transmitted over the PUCCH,
n
H
A
R
Q
-
A
C
K
H
P
is the bit number of the first HARQ-ACK determined in a predetermined manner.
Regarding claim 6, the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the method according to claim 4, wherein the bit number
n
H
A
R
Q
-
A
C
K
L
P
of the second HARQ-ACK is determined in the following manner:
in a case that no HARQ-ACK codebook is configured for HARQ-ACK of the second priority of the terminal and that the second HARQ-ACK is transmitted over the PUCCH,
n
H
A
R
Q
-
A
C
K
L
P
=1;
in a case that no second HARQ-ACK is transmitted over the PUCCH,
n
H
A
R
Q
-
A
C
K
L
P
=0;
and in a case that a HARQ-ACK codebook is configured for the HARQ-ACK of the second priority of the terminal and the second HARQ-ACK is transmitted over the PUCCH,
n
H
A
R
Q
-
A
C
K
L
P
is the bit number of the second HARQ-ACK determined in a predetermined manner.
Regarding claim 8, Yang disclose the method according to claim 7, wherein the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the fifth bit number OCRC(i) is:
α2 *
n
C
R
C
H
P
+ β2 *
n
C
R
C
L
P
,wherein
n
C
R
C
H
P
is the bit number of the first CRC,
n
C
R
C
L
P
is the bit number of the second CRC, 0≤α2≤1, and 0≤β2≤1.
Regarding claim 10, Yang disclose the method according to claim 3, wherein the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the third bit number OSR(i) is:
α3 *
n
S
R
H
P
+ β3 *
n
S
R
L
P
, wherein
n
S
R
H
P
is the bit number of the first SR of the first priority,
n
S
R
L
P
is the bit number of the second SR of the second priority, 0≤α3≤1, and 0≤β3≤1.
Regarding claim 11, Yang disclose the method according to claim 3, wherein the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the fourth bit number OCSI(i) is:
Regarding claim 12, Yang disclose the method according to claim 3, wherein the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the number of the first REs NRE(i) is:
Conclusion
/LANA N LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648