DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, corresponding to Claims 1-3, in the reply filed on March 4, 2026 is acknowledged. Claim 4 is withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “the precursor is calcined under a pressure lower than a normal pressure” in line 2. The phrase “normal pressure” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite, as it is not defined by the claim, and the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining what is considered to be normal. Is “normal pressure” a typical pressure under which calcination typically takes place? If so, what is the value of such a typical pressure in the calcination process? Is “normal pressure” considered to be the standard atmospheric pressure? If not, what quantity of pressure is to be applied for a pressure to be considered normal? The scope of Claim 3 is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0295108 to Nishii et al. (“Nishii”).
With regard to Claim 1, Nishii discloses “a carbon nanostructure including: carbon containing rod-shaped materials and/or carbon containing sheet-shaped materials which are bound three-dimensionally; and graphene multilayer membrane walls which are formed in the rod-shaped materials and/or the sheet-shaped materials; wherein air-sac-like pores, which are defined by the graphene multilayer membrane walls, are formed in the rod-shaped materials and/or the sheet-shaped materials.” Abstract; see entire document. The air-sac-like pores of Nishii provide hollowed portions to the rod-shaped materials because the pores branch several times such that adjacent pores are communicated with one another. Paragraph [0015]. Nishii discloses the carbon sheet has mesoporosity with first pores having a diameter of 1 nm to 20 nm and second pores having a diameter of 10 nm to 80 nm. Paragraphs [0037] and [0038]. Nishii discloses that a solution containing copper methylacetylide is agitated to entangle rod-shaped structures to form the carbon sheet, paragraphs [0059] to [0063], followed by calcination at a temperature of 1100 degrees C. to remove the copper and form multilayer walls of graphene. Paragraphs [0064] and [0065]. With regard to Claim 3, Nishii discloses the calcination is performed under vacuum atmosphere. Paragraphs [0049] and [0064].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishii in view of Japanese Patent Application Publication No. 2018-12627 to Takashi et al. (an English translation obtained from the PE2E database is referenced herein) (“Takashi”).
With regard to Claim 2, Nishii does not disclose adding phenol resin to the precursor sheet. Takashi is also related to the manufacture of porous carbon material using copper methylacetylide. See, e.g., Abstract, entire document. Takashi discloses that phenol resin can be added prior to calcination without any undue burden. Page 11. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to add phenol resin to the precursor sheet disclosed by Nishii prior to calcination in order to provide a functionalized resin to the calcined, porous carbon sheet, as shown to be well within the purview of the person having ordinary skill in the art by Takashi.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 18/614,995 (“the ‘995 Application”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘995 Application also claims a process for making a porous carbon sheet comprising agitating a solution comprising copper methylacetylide to form wire-shaped structures that are entangled, forming the precursor into a sheet-shape by adding it to a base sheet, and calcining the precursor sheet at a temperature in the range of 1000 to 1200 degrees C. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 2 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of the ‘995 Application in view of Takashi. Although the ‘995 Application does not claim the step of adding phenol resin to the sheet-shaped precursor prior to calcination, Takashi renders obvious such a step to be well known in the art of manufacturing porous carbon materials.
Conclusion
JEREMY R. PIERCE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1789
/JEREMY R PIERCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789