DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the strap attachment being removable (claims 1 and 13) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. See the Section 112(a) rejection below for more discussion.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 13 are objected to because they should read “the at least one strap attachment” to align with the first recitation of this element.
Claim 12 is objected to because it should read “attachment is [[be]] affixed”.
Claim 13 is objected to because it should read “eight strap attachment slots” in lines 14 and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1 and 4-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, the disclosure fails to describe the strap attachment as removable. The strap attachment (see applicant’s 1010 – Fig. 3) is attached to the rear panel in a non-removable way (see stitching in Fig. 3, for example). Nothing in the drawings or original specification/claims indicates that the connection is removable. For purposes of the prior art rejection, it will be assumed that the claim reads that the strap is removable.
Claims 4-10 and 12-15 depend from the above claim(s) and are rejected for the above reason as they do not cure the deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 1,648,565 to Primley in view of US Patent 7,275,729 to Sherman.
Regarding claim 1, Primley discloses a personal carrier, comprising: a flexible front side panel (Fig. 1 – front panel) and a flexible rear side panel (Fig. 1 – rear panel) forming at least a first compartment (Fig. 1 – main compartment); the flexible rear side panel extending beyond the flexible front side panel forming a closure flap (6) extending over at least a portion of the front side panel to secure and protect items placed in the at least one compartment; the rear side panel including at least one strap attachment (15) including at least two strap attachment slots (right slot and left slot forming sleeve to accept 13 – Fig. 3) for receiving at least one strap (13) used to secure the personal carrier to a user in multiple body placement orientations and/or configurations (the strap and slots can be used to secure the carrier to multiple locations on the user, including many different orientations and configurations); wherein the at least one strap attachment is removable (Figs. 1, 3 – strap can be slid out of the strap attachment 15). Primley fails to disclose four strap attachment slots. However, Sherman discloses a strap attachment including eight slots (Fig. 2 – 20a-h), wherein two of the strap attachment slots allow for the at least one strap attachment to hold a strap in a horizontal orientation (slots 20c, g) and wherein two of the strap attachment slots allow for the at least one strap attachment to hold a strap in a vertical orientation (slots 20a, e) in which the strap is held in a vertical orientation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have included multiple slots for the straps (Sherman Fig. 2, 3A), which would allow for holding the carrier at multiple angles, as desired.
Regarding claims 4-5, the combination from claim 1 discloses holding the strap in a left hand diagonal orientation and a right hand diagonal orientation (Sherman Figs. 2, 3A).
Regarding claim 6, Primley discloses wherein the first compartment is generally sized for carrying a notebook (the main compartment is capable of holding a small notebook).
Regarding claim 7, Primley discloses a second compartment (9) generally sized for carrying a phone/small notebook (the compartment is capable of this function).
Regarding claim 8, Primley discloses one or more slots (11, 12) configured for carrying pens and/or pencils (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Primley discloses wherein the closure flap includes a closure element (7) to releasably secure the closure flap to the front side panel (via engagement with 10).
Regarding claim 10, Primley discloses wherein the closure flap includes at least two strap receiving slots (slots on either side of channel 8) for securing the personal carrier to a user with a strap via an open closure flap (the slots are capable of receiving a belt (belt 13, for example) in the claimed orientation).
Regarding claim 11, Primley discloses using leather for the carrier (Col. 1, lines 35-36).
Regarding claim 12, the combination from claim 1 discloses wherein the at least one strap attachment is affixed to the personal carrier rear side panel via thread (Primley Fig. 3). The combination fails to disclose the carrier being made from fabric. However, Sherman discloses using fabric in a carrier (Col. 4, lines 55-56). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have used fabric in the carrier because the modification only involves choosing from a finite number of predictable materials to use in a carrier. The combination fails to disclose the claimed size of the compartment. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the carrier within the claimed size range, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 13, Primley as modified by Sherman discloses a personal carrier, comprising: a flexible front side panel (Primley Fig. 1 – front panel) and a flexible rear side panel (Primley Fig. 1 – rear panel) forming at least a first compartment (Primley Fig. 1 – main compartment); the flexible rear side panel extending beyond the flexible front side panel forming a closure flap (6 – Primley) extending over at least a portion of the front side panel to secure and protect items placed in the at least one compartment; the rear side panel including at least one strap attachment (Primley 15/Sherman Figs. 2, 3A) including at least eight strap attachment slots (20a-h – Sherman) for receiving at least one strap (13 – Primley) used to secure the personal carrier to a user in multiple body placement orientations and/or configurations (via 20a-h – Sherman), wherein two of the at least eight strap attachment slots (20c, g – Sherman) allow for the at least strap attachment to hold a strap in a horizontal orientation, and wherein two of the at least eight strap attachment slots (20a, e – Sherman) allow for the at least one strap attachment to hold a strap in a vertical orientation, wherein two of the at least eight strap attachment slots holds a strap in a left hand diagonal orientation, wherein two of the at least eight strap attachment slots holds a strap in a right hand diagonal orientation (20b, d, f, h – Sherman Figs. 2, 3A), and wherein the at least one strap attachment is removable (Primley Figs. 1, 3 – strap can be slid out of the strap attachment).
Regarding claim 14, the combination from claim 13 discloses wherein the first compartment is generally sized for carrying a personal computer, such as a notebook (the compartment is capable of holding a small personal computer). To the extent there is any doubt about the capability of the compartment holding a computer, modifying the compartment to be capable of receiving a computer would have been an obvious matter of design choice, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 15, the combination from claim 13 discloses a second compartment (9 – Primley) generally sized for carrying a phone (the pocket is capable of holding a phone), and one or more slots (11, 12 – Primley) configured for carrying pens and/or pencils.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Primley and Sherman, further in view of US Patent 8,899,458 to Heien.
Regarding claim 10, although Primley discloses the claimed subject matter (see above), in the spirit of forming a rejection based not only on the claimed invention, but also based on the disclosed invention, Heien discloses a carrier wherein the closure flap includes at least two strap receiving slots (Fig. 2 – slots accepting belt 34) for securing the personal carrier to a user with a strap via an open closure flap (Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have included slots in the closure flap because it would provide an alternative carrying orientation as desired).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to applicant’s argument that the prior art fails to disclose the claimed elements (pages 7-9), the Primley/Sherman combination discloses the carrier with attachment slots as claimed.
As to applicant’s argument regarding the attributes of the strap attachment system (page 9), the Primley/Sherman combination discloses all of the elements of the strap attachment system recited in the claims.
As to applicant’s argument that there is no motivation to combine the prior art (page 9), see the above rejection, which provides proper motivation for each prior art modification.
As to applicant’s argument that there is no reasonable expectation of success in making the combination (page 9), it is well within the capabilities of one having skill in this art to modify Primley’s carrier to have multiple strap slots.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCOTT T MCNURLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734