DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 11243023 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed to a method of forming an insulating structure for an appliance, including shaping and mullion wall (60), attaching a first and/or second vacuum to the perimeter of the wall; and filling the mullion cavity with insulating material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over in view of US Patent No.: 9441779 (“Alshourbagy et al.”) in view of US Pub No.:20100264782 (“Betto et al.”) in view of US Pub No.: 20140015394 (“CHA et al.”)
Regarding Claim 1, Alshourbagy et al. discloses a method of forming an insulating structure for an appliance, the method comprising steps of:
shaping a rigid perimeter wall to define a mullion wall (60) , an upper (62) and a lower (64) that define a mullion cavity therein,
attaching a first vacuum insulated structure (20) to the upper (62) of the rigid perimeter wall to define a first refrigerating compartment;
attaching a second vacuum insulated structure (40) to the lower (64) of the rigid perimeter wall to define a second refrigerating compartment, wherein the rigid perimeter wall separates the first vacuum insulated structure (20) from the second vacuum insulated structure (40);
disposing a mechanical fixture (68) within the mullion cavity; and filling the mullion cavity with an insulating material, wherein the mechanical fixture (68) is at least partially contained within the insulating material, and wherein the insulating material is fully contained between a first edge proximate the upper (62) and a second edge proximate the lower (64).
Alshourbagy et al. does not disclose the mullion wall having an upper and lower wall but does not disclose attaching the first vacuum to the upper flange and the second vacuum to the lower flange, and the hinge support is defined within a front portion of the rigid perimeter wall.
Betto et al. discloses a similar modular appliance having a mullion wall (41, see Figs. 1-5 and 17) with an upper flange and lower secured to a first vacuum structure and a lower structure, respectively. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have mullion wall configured with an upper and lower flange, similar to the mullion taught by Betto et al, to provide a modular refrigerator that can be easily assembled and dissembled, while maintaining structural integrity and sealing for thermal insulation ([0027-0037]
CHA et al. demonstrates it is known in the art to provide a mullion (110) of refrigeration with the hinge support defined within a front portion of the rigid perimeter wall (as seen in Fig.1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the hinge supports mounted on the mullion of the refrigerator to provide a simple means for supporting the double doors, as is well known in the art to one having skill in the art.
The combination disclose the structure of the claimed invention but does not expressly teach the method steps as set forth in claim 1.It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that to form and assemble the insulated structure as set forth in claim 1 above, since the combination discloses the claimed invention of claim 1 such method steps would occur during the ordinary course of forming and assembling an insulated structure for an appliance. see MPEP 2112.02.
Regarding Claims 3-7 , the combination discloses (Alshourbagy et al.) Claim 3- comprising the step of: disposing an aesthetic covering (18) around the first and second vacuum insulated structures (20, 40) and the rigid perimeter wall to define an appliance cabinet Claim 4-the aesthetic covering is a metallic outer wrapper (18); Alshourbagy et al does not expressly discloses the outer wrapper is metallic, but it is well known in the art to sue aesthetically appealing outer wrapper, like stainless steel, to forma an attractive insulated appliance; Claim 5- wherein the mechanical fixture (68) is at least one of an ice maker and a water filtration mechanism; Claim 6- wherein the step of filling the mullion cavity occurs after the first vacuum insulated structure (20) is attached to the upper flange (62) of the rigid perimeter wall; Claim 7- wherein the step of filling the mullion cavity occurs after the first vacuum insulated structure (20) is attached to the upper flange (62) and after the second vacuum insulated structure (40) is attached to the lower flange (64) of the rigid perimeter wall.
Regarding Claim 8, Alshourbagy et al. discloses A method of forming an appliance, the method comprising steps of:
shaping a rigid perimeter wall to define a mullion wall (60), an upper (62), and a lower (64) that define a mullion cavity;
attaching a first vacuum insulated structure (20) to the upper (62) of the rigid perimeter wall to define a first refrigerated compartment, wherein the mullion wall (60) and a portion of the first vacuum insulated structure (20) are co-planar;
filling the mullion cavity with an insulating material (as seen in Figs. 2-8); and
attaching a door (as seen in Fig. 1) to the at least one hinge support, wherein structural support for the door is supplied by the rigid perimeter wall and wherein the door and the first vacuum insulated structure (20) are each supported by the rigid perimeter wall.
Alshourbagy et al. does not disclose the mullion wall having an upper and lower wall but does not disclose attaching the first vacuum to the upper flange and the second vacuum to the lower flange, and the hinge support is defined within a front portion of the rigid perimeter wall.
Betto et al. discloses a similar modular appliance having a mullion wall (41, see Figs. 1-5 and 17) with an upper flange and lower secured to a first vacuum structure and a lower structure, respectively. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have mullion wall configured with an upper and lower flange, similar to the mullion taught by Betto et al, to provide a modular refrigerator that can be easily assembled and dissembled, while maintaining structural integrity and sealing for thermal insulation ([0027-0037]
CHA et al. demonstrates it is known in the art to provide a mullion (110) of refrigeration with the hinge support defined within a front portion of the rigid perimeter wall (as seen in Fig.1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the hinge supports mounted on the mullion of the refrigerator to provide a simple means for supporting the double doors, as is well known in the art to one having skill in the art.
The combination disclose the structure of the claimed invention but does not expressly teach the method steps as set forth in claim 1.It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that to form and assemble the insulated structure as set forth in claim 1 above, since the combination discloses the claimed invention of claim 1 such method steps would occur during the ordinary course of forming and assembling an insulated structure for an appliance. see MPEP 2112.02.
Regarding Claims 9-14, the combination discloses (Alshourbagy et al.) CLAIM 9- further comprising the steps of: attaching a second vacuum insulated structure (40) to the lower flange (64) of the rigid perimeter wall to define a second refrigerated compartment, and wherein the rigid perimeter wall divides the first and second refrigerated compartments; CLAIM 10- wherein the mullion wall (60) and a portion of the second vacuum insulated structure (40) are co-planar; Claim 11- further comprising the step of: disposing an aesthetic covering (18) around the first and second vacuum insulated structures (40) and the rigid perimeter wall to define an appliance cabinet; Claim 12-the aesthetic covering is a metallic outer wrapper (18); Alshourbagy et al does not expressly discloses the outer wrapper is metallic, but it is well known in the art to sue aesthetically appealing outer wrapper, like stainless steel, to forma an attractive insulated appliance; Claim 13-further comprising the step of: disposing at least one mechanical fixture (68) within the mullion cavity before filling the mullion cavity with the insulating material, wherein the at least one mechanical fixture (68) is at least partially contained within the insulating material; Claim 14- wherein the mullion wall (60) is co-planar with an outer surface of the first vacuum insulated structure (20) and an outer surface of the second vacuum insulated structure (40).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-20 are allowed over the prior at al., when Double Patenting rejection is overcome.
Claims 2 and 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims; when Double Patenting rejection is overcome.
As to claims 2, 15, and 16-20 the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As demonstrated above, the closest art demonstrates method of forming an appliance, the method comprising steps of: shaping a rigid perimeter wall to define a mullion wall, an upper flange that extends from a top edge of the mullion wall and a lower flange that extends from a lower edge of the mullion wall, wherein the mullion wall, the upper flange, and the lower flange define a mullion cavity; forming at least one hinge support within a front portion of the mullion wall; attaching a first vacuum insulated structure to the upper flange to define a first refrigerating compartment, wherein the top edge of the mullion wall aligns with a lower edge of the first vacuum insulated structure; filling the mullion cavity with an insulating material.
The closest art, alone or in combination does not expressly disclose insulating material is injected through an insulation port defined within the rigid perimeter wall.
Conclusion
/KIMBERLEY S WRIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637