DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-16, drawn to a resin molded product (i.e., the bracket structure per se, classified in B60K2360/84.
II. Claim 17, drawn to an in-vehicle information device including the resin molded product in combination with additional components (display panel and main body portion), classified in B60K35/22.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Group I is directed to a manufacture (resin molded product per se).
Group II is directed to a combination/system (in-vehicle information device including the bracket).
Further, the combination of Group II requires additional elements (display panel and main body portion) that are not required by Group I. Conversely, the bracket of Group I can be made and used independently of the in-vehicle device of Group II.
Examination of both groups would require a search in different fields of classification, for example:
Group I: molded structural components / mechanical features (e.g., positioning pins, ribs, chamfer geometry)
Group II: vehicle-mounted display systems / electronic device assemblies
Thus, there would be a serious search and examination burden if restriction were not required
Aan oral election without traverse of claims 1-16 was made during a telephone call with Tiffany Dewey on April 13, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated ISEKI Pub. No.: US 20110141590 (Hereinafter “ISEKI”).
Regarding Claim 1, ISEKI discloses a resin molded product (see paragraph [0039]) comprising:
a first surface (see fig.1: base 32); and
a first positioning pin extending from the first surface in a first direction (see paragraph [0059]), wherein the first positioning pin includes chamfered portions chamfered at two positions facing each other on an outer peripheral surface of the first positioning pin when viewed from the first direction, and a parting line is formed in the chamfered portions (see paragraphs [0054], [0056], [0058], [0061]).
Regarding Claim 2, ISEKI discloses the resin molded product as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. ISEKI further discloses wherein the first positioning pin includes reinforcing ribs each extending in a cross direction from a central axis to form the outer peripheral surface as an arc-shaped outer periphery when viewed from the first direction (see paragraphs [0054], [0056], [0058], [0061]).
Regarding Claim 3, ISEKI discloses the resin molded product as discussed in the rejection of claim 2. ISEKI further discloses wherein the chamfered portions are disposed on the arc-shaped outer periphery of the reinforcing ribs (see paragraphs [0042], [0061]).
Regarding Claim 4, ISEKI discloses the resin molded product as discussed in the rejection of claim 2. ISEKI further discloses wherein the chamfered portions are formed by chamfering a pair of corners of two adjacent reinforcing ribs that are in contact with the outer peripheral surface into a planar shape when viewed from the first direction (see paragraphs [0054], [0056], [0058], [0061]).
Regarding Claim 5, ISEKI discloses the resin molded product as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. ISEKI further discloses a second positioning pin extending in a second direction from a second surface different from the first surface, wherein the first direction and the second direction are different from each other (see paragraphs [0042], [0044], [0057], [0061]).
Regarding Claim 6, ISEKI discloses the resin molded product as discussed in the rejection of claim 2. ISEKI further discloses a second positioning pin extending in a second direction from a second surface different from the first surface, wherein the first direction and the second direction are different from each other (see paragraphs [0054], [0056], [0058], [0061]).
Regarding Claim 7, ISEKI discloses the resin molded product as discussed in the rejection of claim 3. ISEKI further discloses a second positioning pin extending in a second direction from a second surface different from the first surface, wherein the first direction and the second direction are different from each other (see paragraphs [0054], [0056], [0058], [0061]).
Regarding Claim 8, ISEKI discloses the resin molded product as discussed in the rejection of claim 4. ISEKI further discloses a second positioning pin extending in a second direction from a second surface different from the first surface, wherein the first direction and the second direction are different from each other (see paragraphs [0054], [0056], [0058], [0061]).
Regarding Claim 9, ISEKI discloses the resin molded product as discussed in the rejection of claim 5. ISEKI further discloses wherein the second positioning pin extends from the second surface positioned on a back side of the first surface, wherein the first positioning pin is positioned with respect to a first device, and wherein the second positioning pin is positioned with respect to a second device (see paragraphs [0054], [0056], [0058], [0061]).
Regarding Claim 10, ISEKI discloses the resin molded product as discussed in the rejection of claim 6. ISEKI further discloses wherein the second positioning pin extends from the second surface positioned on a back side of the first surface, wherein the first positioning pin is positioned with respect to a first device, and wherein the second positioning pin is positioned with respect to a second device (see paragraphs [0054], [0056], [0058], [0061]).
.
Regarding Claim 11, ISEKI discloses the resin molded product as discussed in the rejection of claim 7. ISEKI further discloses wherein the second positioning pin extends from the second surface positioned on a back side of the first surface, wherein the first positioning pin is positioned with respect to a first device, and wherein the second positioning pin is positioned with respect to a second device (see paragraphs [0054], [0056], [0058], [0061]).
Regarding Claim 12, ISEKI discloses the resin molded product as discussed in the rejection of claim 7. ISEKI further discloses wherein the second positioning pin extends from the second surface positioned on a back side of the first surface, wherein the first positioning pin is positioned with respect to a first device, and wherein the second positioning pin is positioned with respect to a second device (see paragraphs [0054], [0056], [0058], [0061]).
Regarding Claim 13, ISEKI discloses the resin molded product as discussed in the rejection of claim 9. ISEKI further discloses wherein the first device is a display panel, and the second device is a main body portion that controls the display panel (see fig.1 and paragraph [0041]).
Regarding Claim 14, ISEKI discloses the resin molded product as discussed in the rejection of claim 10. ISEKI further discloses wherein the first device is a display panel, and the second device is a main body portion that controls the display panel (see fig.1 and paragraph [0041]).
Regarding Claim 15, ISEKI discloses the resin molded product as discussed in the rejection of claim 11. ISEKI further discloses wherein the first device is a display panel, and the second device is a main body portion that controls the display panel (see fig.1 and paragraph [0041]).
Regarding Claim 16, ISEKI discloses the resin molded product as discussed in the rejection of claim 10. ISEKI further discloses wherein the first device is a display panel, and the second device is a main body portion that controls the display panel (see fig.1 and paragraph [0041]).
Conclusion
/ALAZAR TILAHUN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2424
/A.T/April 17, 2026