DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 2 and 10-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/5/2026
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, it is unclear if the “two aerial vehicles” recited in claim 7 is the same as the “at least two aerial vehicle” recited in line 3.
Regarding claim 7, it is unclear if “the aerial vehicle” is the same as the at least two aerial vehicles recited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, it is unclear if “the aerial vehicle” is the same as the at least two aerial vehicles recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20160017450 to Lee in view of KR 20210030028 to Yoo and US 20140233099 to Stark et al. (Stark).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a system for displaying a light-emitting diode (LED) in midair. The system comprising a floating electronic display board (display frame 310 with a plurality of LED bars) using an aerial vehicle (unmanned aerial vehicle 320) capable of operating in an unmanned manner, the floating electronic display board (310) comprising: at least two aerial vehicles (320, figure 2) capable of operating in an unmanned manner, in which a communication module, a GPS, and a power supply device are mounted, configured to interwork with a user terminal (unmanned aerial vehicle remote controller 440) through the communication module and capable of moving up, down, left, and right in midair according to manipulation of a user through the user terminal or a preset flight path (The unmanned aerial vehicle remote controller 440 can control the operation of the unmanned aerial vehicle using wireless communication. At this time, basic operation information of the unmanned aerial vehicle such as altitude, operation pattern, speed, and time can be inputted through the unmanned aerial vehicle remote controller 440; ¶0042).
Lee does not teach a power supply unit installed in one region of the aerial vehicle to apply a power to the power supply device; or a display unit coupled to a lower portion of the aerial vehicle, electrically connected to the communication module of the aerial vehicle, and configured to receive an electric power from the power supply device to output content or a GPS in the UMV.
Yoo teaches a display apparatus using an unmanned aerial vehicle (10) to which a lattice-type LED module (LED module 20) is connected. Yoo teaches a power supply unit installed in one region of the aerial vehicle to apply a power to the power supply device; and a display unit (20) coupled to a lower portion of the aerial vehicle (10), electrically connected to the communication module of the aerial vehicle (10), and configured to receive an electric power from the power supply device to output content. Yoo teaches “[E]ach of the unmanned aerial vehicles 10 is controlled by wireless communication by a control unit on the ground. The unmanned aerial vehicle 10 includes a wing part 11, a main body part 12, and a landing gear 13, and the main body part 12 has a communication system (not shown) for wireless communication with a control unit (not shown) on the ground, and a power supply (not shown) for driving the wing portion 11 and driving the grid-type LED module 20 is located. Control for power supply and driving between the main body 12 and the grid type LED module 20 is performed through the cable 15.”
Stark teaches an unmanned aerial vehicle equipped with a GPS (¶0021 and 0060).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the unmanned aerial vehicle taught by Lee with power supply and communication means as taught by Yoo with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a means to power the display. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the unmanned aerial vehicle taught by Lee with a GPS as taught by Stark with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a means to maintain a designated position.
Regarding claim 9, Yoo teaches a user terminal (control unit on the ground, not shown) is configured to control the aerial vehicle (10) and the display unit (20) by communicating with the communication module mounted in the aerial vehicle, and the user terminal includes: a content control unit configured to perform control to transmit content data, which is to be output from the display unit, to the communication module; a power control unit configured to control a power of the display unit by controlling the power supply device mounted in the aerial vehicle; and a flight control unit configured to set a flight path and manipulate the flight path of the aerial vehicle in real time by controlling the GPS mounted in the aerial vehicle.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20160017450 to Lee in view of KR 20210030028 to Yoo and US 20140233099 to Stark et al. (Stark) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of US 20170337581 to Nozawa.
Lee does not teach a safety device provided on the aerial vehicle and the display unit to prevent a fall accident of at least one of the aerial vehicle and the display unit.
Nozawa teaches an in-store advertising system comprising an unmanned aerial vehicle (unmanned aircraft 11), an advertising paper sheet (advertising paper medium) 21 suspended from the UAV and a parachute not shown, in order to prevent an accident of falling down of the unmanned aircraft 11 due to battery exhaustion or the like.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct unmanned aerial vehicle of the system for displaying a light-emitting diode (LED) in midair taught by Lee with a parachute as taught by Nozawa with a reasonable expectation of success to provide to prevent an accident of falling down of the unmanned aircraft 11 due to battery exhaustion or the like.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest a display unit, in combination with the other limitations of the claim, comprising a display unit, wherein the display unit includes: a mesh member including a frame having a preset size, having a mesh structure in which a plurality of vertical lines and a plurality of horizontal lines having conductivity intersect each other at a preset interval within the frame, and including a plurality of grid points formed at points in which the vertical lines and the horizontal lines intersect each other; an LED module coupled to each of the grid points formed in the mesh member; and a control module connected to the communication module of the aerial vehicle, and configured to receive content data from the communication module to control output of the content data to the LED module.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest a display unit, in combination with the other limitations of the claim, comprising at least two aerial vehicle fastening parts formed on an upper portion of the mesh member at equidistant intervals based on an entire length of the upper portion of the mesh member such that a number of the aerial vehicle fastening parts corresponds to a number of the aerial vehicles, when two aerial vehicles are provided, the aerial vehicles are coupled to two aerial vehicle fastening parts formed at both ends of the upper portion of the mesh member, respectively, so that the display unit floats in the midair, and when more than two aerial vehicles are provided, the aerial vehicles are coupled to aerial vehicle fastening parts formed on the upper portion of the mesh member at equidistant intervals such that a number of the aerial vehicle fastening parts corresponds to the number of the aerial vehicles, respectively, so that the display unit floats in the midair.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest a display unit, in combination with the other limitations of the claim, comprising a safety device, wherein the safety device includes: a parachute compressed by an elastic device, and accommodated in a housing; an atmospheric pressure sensor configured to measure an altitude of the aerial vehicle or the display unit; and an acceleration sensor configured to measure an acceleration of the aerial vehicle or the display unit, and the safety device is configured to detect a fall of the aerial vehicle or the display unit through measurement values of the atmospheric pressure sensor and the acceleration sensor, and unfold the parachute when the altitude measured through the atmospheric pressure sensor reaches a preset altitude.
Conclusion
/CASSANDRA DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631