DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/15/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
For claim 1, Applicant argues:
a) “Yuan addresses the problem of high signaling overhead …”, and cited [0039] and [0087]-[0091] for supporting the statement.
b) “Wu's goal is to determine which time-frequency resource a UE should use for transmitting Uplink
Control Information (UCI) when it conflicts with a data transmission to a different TRP. A person of ordinary
skill in the art, when faced with Yuan's teaching on frequency-selective precoding, would have no reason to
look to Wu's solution for TRP resource conflict. The problems are unrelated. It appears that the rejection
based on Yuan lacked an "antenna port group" and the Office plucked one from Wu. That is using
Applicant's claims as a roadmap, which is impermissible hindsight”.
c) Yuan fails to address all limitations. For example, “scaling value” and “phase value” are not addressed (p9-10).
In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
a) Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because the Sections [0039] and [0087]-[0091] of Yuan cited in the arguments were not cited OA, hence is not relevant. Furthermore, the sections cited in the OA (such as [0058]-[0060) were not addressed by the Applicant.
b) Wu specifically recites “antenna port group”, which is equivalent to “antenna panel” in Yuan, which “may include a plurality of antenna ports” ([0058] of Yuan). Therefore, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
c) “scaling value” and “phase value” are addressed by Yuan at least in “[0059] … the UE 215 may perform precoding to generate the beams 212.sub.a and 212.sub.b based on a codebook. The codebook may be in the form of a matrix or matrices, which may include the selection of beams, the selection of weights for scaling amplitudes and/or phases at antenna elements of the UE 215 and/or at the antenna ports of the UE 215. …” as cited by OA.
Applicant’s arguments on claims 2 and 12, 4 and 14 are not persuasive. For example, FIG. 2 clearly shown a port group of port may be has two ports. There is not prevent OOSA from choosing 1 port, or 3 ports as a group. Furthermore, these claims have been amended and addressed accordingly.
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. Examiner maintains rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103.
. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (US 20230040860 A1) in view of Wu (US 20220338184 A1).
For claim 1, Yuan discloses a method implemented in a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (FIG. 2, UE), the method comprising:
sending, to a network, first information indicating a set of one or more antenna groups, wherein each antenna group, of the set of one or more antenna groups, is associated with at least one transmitting antenna of the WTRU (FIGs. 1-15 and the associated text, such as “[0058] … each of the BSs 205 and the UE 215 may have an array of antenna elements and may apply beamforming techniques to communicate with each other. The antenna array may be in the form of a single panel or multiple panels. Each antenna panel may include a plurality of antenna ports or elements in a vertical dimension and a plurality of antenna ports or elements in a horizontal dimension. … [0059] In the illustrated example of FIG. 2, the best beams 212 from the UE 215 to the BS 210 may correspond to the beam 212.sub.a and the beam 212.sub.b (shown by the pattern-filled beams). …”; note that each antenna panel is interpreted as an antenna group);
receiving, from the network, second information indicating at least one set of precoders (FIGs. 1-15 and the associated text, such as “[0060] To determine a plurality of subband precoders for a plurality of subbands, the UE 215 may utilize information provided by the BS 205. ...”);
receiving, from the network, third information indicating a precoder of the at least one set of precoders, a scaling value associated with at least one antenna group of the set of one or more antenna groups, and a phase value associated with the at least one antenna group (FIGs. 1-15 and the associated text, such as [0059] … the UE 215 may perform precoding to generate the beams 212.sub.a and 212.sub.b based on a codebook. The codebook may be in the form of a matrix or matrices, which may include the selection of beams, the selection of weights for scaling amplitudes and/or phases at antenna elements of the UE 215 and/or at the antenna ports of the UE 215. … [0060] … the BS 205 may transmit an UL scheduling grant 220 to the UE 115. The UL scheduling grant 220 may indicate subband precoding information 222 and a resource allocation 226 spanning the plurality of subbands”); and
sending, to the network via at least one transmitting antenna element associated with the at least one antenna group, a transmission having at least one symbol based on the precoder, the scaling value associated with the at least one antenna group and the phase value associated with the at least one antenna group (FIGs. 1-15 and the associated text, such as “[0004] … The UE may apply a precoder to symbols that are mapped to a plurality of subbands. … the UE may apply a plurality of precoders for a plurality of subbands across the PUSCH assignment.” note that PUSCH suggests sending to the network a transmission; and “[0058] … each of the BSs 205 and the UE 215 may have an array of antenna elements and may apply beamforming techniques to communicate with each other. … Each antenna panel may include a plurality of antenna ports or elements in a vertical dimension and a plurality of antenna ports or elements in a horizontal dimension. …. [0059] … the UE 215 may perform precoding to generate the beams 212.sub.a and 212.sub.b based on a codebook. The codebook may be in the form of a matrix or matrices, which may include the selection of beams, the selection of weights for scaling amplitudes and/or phases at antenna elements of the UE 215 and/or at the antenna ports of the UE 215. …”).
Yuan is silent but Wu, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication, discloses antenna port groups (FIG. 10, in view of “[0397] FIG. 10 illustrates two antenna port groups, namely, antenna port group#0 and antenna port group#1. Herein, the antenna port group#0 consists of antenna group #0, and the antenna port group#1 consists of antenna group#1 and antenna group#2. …). OOSA would have been motivated to apply the teaching of Wu above to the antenna groups to yield a predictable result of achieving desired performance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to OOSA before the effective filing date of the application to combine Yuan and Wu for the benefit of achieving desired performance ([0397] of Wu).
Claim 11 is rejected because it is a claim of a generic WTRU that performs the method of claim 1 and has same subject matter.
As to claims 2 and 12, Yuan in view Wu discloses claims 1 and 11, and further discloses wherein the set of one or more antenna port groups, comprises one of the following:
(1) a first antenna port group associated with 3 transmit antennas of the WTRU (This would have been obvious to OOSA because it is a design choice according to MPEP 2143(F) in view of Yuan: FIGs. 2, 5, 11-12 and the associated text, such as choosing 3 beams in FIG. 2; or n=3 in FIG. 5; and Wu: “[0397] FIG. 10 illustrates two antenna port groups, namely, antenna port group#0 and antenna port group#1. Herein, the antenna port group#0 consists of antenna group #0, and the antenna port group#1 consists of antenna group#1 and antenna group#2. …);
(2) a first antenna port group associated with 2 transmit antennas of the WTRU and a second antenna port group associated with 1 transmit antenna of the WTRU (Yuan: FIGs. 2, 5, 11-12 and the associated text, such as “[0058] … the BS 205 may have multi-panel antennas and the UE 215 may have a single-panel antenna. In some other examples, the BS 205 and the UE 215 may each have multi-panel antennas. In the illustrated example of FIG. 2, the UE 215 may form beams 212 in an array of angular directions by weighting signal phases and amplitudes at the antenna elements. The UE 215 may utilize the best beam to communicate with the BS 205. …” and Wu: “[0397] FIG. 10 illustrates two antenna port groups, namely, antenna port group#0 and antenna port group#1. Herein, the antenna port group#0 consists of antenna group #0, and the antenna port group#1 consists of antenna group#1 and antenna group#2. …); or
(3) a first antenna port group associated with 1 transmit antenna of the WTRU, a second antenna port group associated with 1 transmit antenna of the WTRU, and a third antenna port group associated with 1 transmit antenna of the WTRU (This would have been obvious to OOSA because it is a design choice according to MPEP 2143(F) in view of Yuan: FIGs. 2, 5, 11-12 and the associated text, such as “[0058] … the BS 205 may have multi-panel antennas and the UE 215 may have a single-panel antenna. In some other examples, the BS 205 and the UE 215 may each have multi-panel antennas. In the illustrated example of FIG. 2, the UE 215 may form beams 212 in an array of angular directions by weighting signal phases and amplitudes at the antenna elements. The UE 215 may utilize the best beam to communicate with the BS 205. …” and Wu: “[0397] FIG. 10 illustrates two antenna port groups, namely, antenna port group#0 and antenna port group#1. Herein, the antenna port group#0 consists of antenna group #0, and the antenna port group#1 consists of antenna group#1 and antenna group#2. …).
The motivation of combining Yuan and Wu is same as stated in the parent claim.
As to claims 3 and 13, Yuan in view Wu discloses claims 1 and 11, Yuan further discloses:
receiving, from the network, fourth information indicating at least one reference signal resource (FIGs. 1-15 and the associated text, such as “[0049] … Reference signals are predetermined signals that facilitate the communications between the BSs 105 and the UEs 115. For example, a BS 105 may transmit cell specific reference signals (CRSs) and/or channel state information—reference signals (CSI-RSs) to enable a UE 115 to estimate a DL channel. …”), wherein at least one reference signal resource is associated with at least one transmit antenna of the WTRU (FIG. 2 shows all the signals are sent by the WTRU antennas); and
sending, to the network, at least one reference signal via the least one transmit antenna of the WTRU, wherein the precoder is based on a channel estimate of an uplink channel, and wherein a channel estimate of the uplink channel is based on the at least one reference signal (FIG. 1 and the associated text, such as “[0049] … a UE 115 may transmit sounding reference signals (SRSs) to enable a BS 105 to estimate a UL channel Control information may include resource assignments and protocol controls. …”), wherein at least one reference signal resource is associated with at least one transmit antenna of the WTRU (FIG. 2 shows all the signals are sent by the WTRU antennas).
As to claims 4 and 14, Yuan in view Wu discloses claims 1 and 11, Wu further discloses: wherein the second information indicates a first set of precoders for N transmit antennas (Number of antennas of the antenna port groups#1), and wherein a second set of precoders for M transmit antennas (Number of antennas of the antenna port groups#0), and wherein M is inferior to N (This is obvious to OOSA because choosing M is inferior/smaller to N is a design choice according to MPEP 2143(F)).
The motivation of combining Yuan and Wu is same as stated in the parent claim.
As to claims 5 and 15, Yuan in view Wu discloses claims 4 and 14, Yuan further discloses:
wherein on condition that the precoder corresponds to one of the second set of precoders, and on condition that the set of one or more antenna port groups comprises a first antenna port group associated with M transmit antennas (see the parent claims), the method further comprises:
sending, to the network, the transmission via at least one transmit antenna element associated with the first antenna port group, using the precoder, a scaling value associated with the first antenna port group and a phase value associated with the first antenna port group (FIGs. 1-15 and the associated text, such as [0059] … the UE 215 may perform precoding to generate the beams 212.sub.a and 212.sub.b based on a codebook. The codebook may be in the form of a matrix or matrices, which may include the selection of beams, the selection of weights for scaling amplitudes and/or phases at antenna elements of the UE 215 and/or at the antenna ports of the UE 215. …” in view of the parent claims).
As to claims 6 and 16, Yuan in view Wu discloses claims 4 and 14, Yuan further discloses:
wherein on condition that the precoder corresponds to one of the second set of precoders, and on condition that the set of one or more antenna port groups lacks an antenna port group associated with M transmit antennas (This is obvious to OOSA because choosing M is inferior/smaller to N is a design choice according to MPEP 2143(F)), the method further comprises:
determining a subset of M transmit antennas from the N transmit antennas (see parent claims);
determining, based on the subset of M transmit antennas and based on the third information, a scaling value associated with the subset and a phase value associated with the subset (FIGs. 1-15 and the associated text, such as [0059] … the UE 215 may perform precoding to generate the beams 212.sub.a and 212.sub.b based on a codebook. The codebook may be in the form of a matrix or matrices, which may include the selection of beams, the selection of weights for scaling amplitudes and/or phases at antenna elements of the UE 215 and/or at the antenna ports of the UE 215. …” in view of the parent claims); and
sending, to the network, the transmission via at least one transmit antenna element associated with the subset, using the precoder, the scaling value associated with the subset and the phase value associated with the subset (FIGs. 1-15 and the associated text, such as [0059] … the UE 215 may perform precoding to generate the beams 212.sub.a and 212.sub.b based on a codebook. The codebook may be in the form of a matrix or matrices, which may include the selection of beams, the selection of weights for scaling amplitudes and/or phases at antenna elements of the UE 215 and/or at the antenna ports of the UE 215. …” in view of the parent claims).
As to claims 7 and 17, Yuan in view Wu discloses claims 1 and 11, Yuan further discloses:
receiving, from the network, fifth information comprising a number L of transmission repetition (FIGs. 1-15 and the associated text, such as “[0107] FIG. 10 is an illustration of beam cycling on the frequency domain in UL according to one or more aspects of the present disclosure. In the example illustrated in FIG. 10, L=4, N.sub.2=1: p.sub.1∈{0,1,2,3}; p.sub.2=0, where N.sub.2=1 represents a one-dimensional (1D) antenna port layout. Accordingly, the UE 915 may determine four beams (e.g., 1006.sub.a, 1006.sub.b, 1006.sub.c, and 1006.sub.d) indicated by the wideband precoding information, where the four beams are adjacent to each other. …”); and
sending, to the network, L transmission via the at least one transmit antenna element associated with the at least one antenna port group, using the precoder, the scaling value associated with the at least one antenna port group and the phase value associated with the at least one antenna port group (FIGs. 1-15 and the associated text, such as “[0107] … the UE 915 may determine four beams (e.g., 1006.sub.a, 1006.sub.b, 1006.sub.c, and 1006.sub.d) indicated by the wideband precoding information, where the four beams are adjacent to each other. …”).
As to claims 8 and 18, Yuan in view Wu discloses claims 1 and 11, Yuan further discloses: wherein the third information indicates a scheduling of the transmission (FIGs. 1-15 and the associated text, such as “[0053] … The BS 105 may transmit UL and/or DL scheduling grants to the UE 115 via a PDCCH. The scheduling grants may be transmitted in the form of DL control information (DCI). The BS 105 may transmit a DL communication signal (e.g., carrying data) to the UE 115 via a PDSCH according to a DL scheduling grant. The UE 115 may transmit an UL communication signal to the BS 105 via a PUSCH and/or PUCCH according to an UL scheduling grant. …”).
As to claims 9 and 19, Yuan in view Wu discloses claims 1 and 11, Yuan further discloses:
wherein a plurality of transmit antennas of the at least one antenna port group comprises one or more of: a same polarization, a same location at the WTRU, a same panel, and a same coherent state (“[0058] … each of the BSs 205 and the UE 215 may have an array of antenna elements and may apply beamforming techniques to communicate with each other. … Each antenna panel may include a plurality of antenna ports or elements in a vertical dimension and a plurality of antenna ports or elements in a horizontal dimension. …. [0059] … the UE 215 may perform precoding to generate the beams 212.sub.a and 212.sub.b based on a codebook. The codebook may be in the form of a matrix or matrices, which may include the selection of beams, the selection of weights for scaling amplitudes and/or phases at antenna elements of the UE 215 and/or at the antenna ports of the UE 215. …”).
As to claims 10 and 20, Yuan in view Wu discloses claims 1 and 11, Yuan further discloses: wherein each antenna port groups of the set of one or more antenna port groups is associated with a disjoint subset of transmit antennas of the WTRU (FIGs. 9-10 and the associated text, such as “[0107] FIG. 10 is an illustration of beam cycling on the frequency domain in UL … the UE 915 may determine four beams (e.g., 1006.sub.a, 1006.sub.b, 1006.sub.c, and 1006.sub.d) indicated by the wideband precoding information, where the four beams are adjacent to each other. …”; note that each beam of four is associated a transmit antenna of the WTRU that is disjoint to other antennas).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIANYE WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462