DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
the reference characters in Fig. 1 and fig. 2 are not fit for reproduction. 37 CFR 1.84(p)(1) says “Reference characters (numerals are preferred), sheet numbers, and view numbers must be plain and legible” (emphasis added). The reference characters are pixelated and their font size should be increased.
Claim Objections
Claim 1-10 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2-7 were submitted as one paragraph. 37 CFR 1.75(i) says “Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation”. MPEP 608.01(m) says ”There may be plural indentations to further segregate subcombinations or related steps.” The clean copy of the marked-up claim set should use indentations.
Claim 2, line 27 of pg. 1, uses the word “L-shape”, a noun. The context provided by the sentence indicates that this word should be in the form of an adjective. The word should be written as – L-shaped –
Claim 3 uses the limitation “bending connection part (126)” on pg. 3, line 11. However, the specification uses the term “bent connection part 126” [0041] and Fig. 4 shows a bent connection part 126. For the purposes of examination, the broadest reasonable interpretation of “bending connection part (126)” will encompass a bent connection part.
Claim 5, line 24 of pg. 1, uses the word “a support”. To clarify that this support is not the “sliding support”, Applicant should amend “a support” to have a unique identifier such as – first support --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“battery cell clamping mechanism” in claim 1. Corresponding structure is provided in paragraph 35 of the specification (“The battery cell clamping mechanism 40 includes a clamping cylinder 41, a support block 43, and a clamping block 42 that cooperates with the support block 43 to clamp the battery cell. The clamping cylinder 41 is provided on the frame 100, a telescopic rod of the clamping cylinder 41 is connected to the clamping block 42, the clamping block 42 faces to the support block 43. The battery cell clamping mechanism 40 limits a movement of the battery cell in the vertical plane to coordinate with the flattening process of the electrode tab”)
“flattening mechanism” in claim 1. Corresponding structure is found in paragraph 6 and 30 of the specification. (“the flattening mechanism in this embodiment includes a flattening component 103, a rotating component 104, and a movable component 102” [0030])
“first drive mechanism” in claim 1. Corresponding structure is found in paragraph 9 and 32 of the specification. (“first drive mechanism includes a first motor, a first belt transmission component, a transmission threaded rod, and a transmission shaft,” [0009])
“second drive mechanism” in claim 1. Corresponding structure is found in paragraph 10 and 33 of the specification. (“second drive mechanism includes a second motor, a second belt transmission component, and a third belt transmission component;” [0010])
“third drive mechanism” in claim 1. Corresponding structure is found in paragraph 11 and 34 of the specification. (“third drive mechanism includes a third motor, an adjustment threaded rod, and the adjustment plate,” [0011])
“flattening component” in claim 2. Corresponding structure is found in paragraph 8 and 31 of the specification. (“flattening component 103 includes a flattening motor 131 and a flattening cone wheel 132” [0031])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 line 25 of pg. 1, says the connection rod “is twisted with” the sliding sleeve. It is unclear what applicant means by “twisted”, how one part could be twisted with another part, and the figures don’t show how the connection rod is twisted with the sliding sleeve. Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term. For the purposes of examination, any connection between parts is to be twisted.
The term “L-shape” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “L-shape” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. There is no uniform shape of an L. First, different fonts show L as different shapes. Second, fonts usually have fundament differences in shape between an uppercase L and a lowercase l.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the other end" in claim 2, line 28 of pg. 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the other end" in claim 2, line 28 of pg. 1. It is unclear what “other” means, whether it claims a relationship between “one end face” and “other end” and what that relationship is.
The term “far away” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “far away” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “is far” in claim 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “is far” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 3, line 10 of pg. 2, claims a “sealing end”. This term renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear in what way is the end “sealing”, how does a “sealing end” differ from a normal “end” and what structural limitation is meant by the “sealing end”.
The term “corresponding side” in claim 6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “corresponding” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purpose of examination, all sides are corresponding sides.
The term “away from an adjustment plate” in claim 6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “away” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purpose of examination, everything is away from an adjustment plate.
Claim 9, line 25 of pg. 3, claims “the arc-shaped notch is sleeved on the annular groove (127) and rotatably connected to the outer wall of the sliding sleeve (121)”. It is unclear how a notch can be sleeved on a groove and how a notched can be rotatably connected to a sleeve.
The term “faces to” in claim 10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “faces to” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purpose of examination, everything faces everything else.All claims dependent on rejected claims are likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ran et al. (CN107394248 B), hereinafter referred to as Ran.
Re Claim 1, Ran discloses a device for flattening a battery cell electrode tab, comprising:
a frame (see Fig. 1, illustrated below ),
a battery cell clamping mechanism (cell clamping device 200) provided on the frame (Fig. 2), and
a flattening unit (see Fig. 1, illustrated below) provided on two sides of the battery cell clamping mechanism (Fig. 2);
wherein the flattening unit comprises:
a guide rail (slide rail 410),
a sliding support (sliding seat 310),
a flattening mechanism (see Fig. 1, illustrated below),
a first drive mechanism (drive unit 400), configured to drive the sliding support (sliding seat 310) to move along the guide rail (slide rail 410) to approach or move away from the battery cell clamping mechanism (“the flattening device 300 of the present invention includes a sliding seat 310 , a spinning die head 320 and a spinning motor 330. The sliding seat 310 is slidably installed on the frame 100 and can be relatively flattened. The device 300 moves back and forth, and the spinning motor 320 is installed on the sliding seat 310” Pg. 3, Line 58 – Pg. 4, Line 1 and “the rack 100 of the present invention is further provided with a driving unit 400 and a sliding rail 410 , the sliding seat 310 cooperates with the sliding rail 410 , and the driving unit 400 and the sliding seat 310 drive is connected. The cooperation between the sliding rail 410 and the sliding seat 310 is used to ensure the stable movement of the sliding seat 310 , and at the same time, the automatic movement of the sliding seat 310 is coordinated with the function of the driving unit 400” Pg. 5, Lines 26-30);
a second drive mechanism (flattening device 300 comprising spinning die head 320 and spinning motor 30), configured to drive a rotation shaft to rotate and drive a flattening mechanism to rotate (“When the spinning motor 330 is working, the output shaft of the spinning motor 330 drives the spinning die 320 to rotate” Pg. 4, Lines 4-5);
a third drive mechanism (“driving cylinder” Pg. 4, Line 51), configured to drive a sliding sleeve (mounting seat 324) to move along the rotation shaft (base 321) to adjust an angle of the flattening mechanism (“Preferably, in the present invention, in order to further improve the automation of the equipment, a driving cylinder is also installed on the base 321 , and the telescopic rod of the driving cylinder is connected with the mounting seat 324 to drive the mounting seat 324 to slide on the base 321” Pg. 4, Lines 51-53);
wherein
the first drive mechanism (drive unit 400) is connected to the sliding support (sliding support 310), the sliding support is slidably connected (“sliding seat 310 cooperates with the sliding rail 410 , and the driving unit 400 and the sliding seat 310 drive is connected” Pg. 5, Lines 27-28) to the guide rail (slide rail 430),
the second drive mechanism is provided on the sliding support and connected to the flattening mechanism (“The device 300 moves back and forth, and the spinning motor 330 is installed on the sliding seat 310.” Pg 3, Line 60 - Pg. 4, Line 1).
Fig. 1 of Ran, illustrated
Re Claim 10, Ran discloses the device for flattening a battery cell electrode tab according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 by Ran above), and Ran further discloses that
the battery cell clamping mechanism (cell clamping device 200) comprises
a clamping cylinder (cylinder body 210),
a support block (one of the two clamping jaws 220), and
a clamping block (other of the two clamping jaws 220) that cooperates with the support block (one of the two clamping jaws 220) to clamp the battery cell (“When in use, the slewing motor drives the slewing support to rotate, and drives the cylinder body 210 installed on the slewing support to rotate, so as to realize the automatic steering action of the cells between the two clamping jaws 220 on the cylinder body 210, so as to improve its use efficiency;” Pg. 5, Lines 20-23),
the clamping cylinder is provided on the frame (Fig. 1),
a telescopic rod of the clamping cylinder is connected to the clamping block (“the clamping jaws 220 are installed on the telescopic rod of the cylinder body 210” Pg. 5, Lines 15-16),
the clamping block faces to the support block (“When in use, the slewing motor drives the slewing support to rotate, and drives the cylinder body 210 installed on the slewing support to rotate, so as to realize the automatic steering action of the cells between the two clamping jaws 220 on the cylinder body 210, so as to improve its use efficiency;” Pg. 5, Lines 20-23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oohashi (KR20110011527A) in view of Ran et al. (CN107394248), hereinafter referred to “Ran”.
Re Claim 1, Oohashi discloses a device for flattening a battery cell electrode tab,
comprising:
a frame (base frame 60),
a battery cell clamping mechanism (unnamed part labelled 70 in Fig. 1), and
a flattening unit (see Fig. 1, illustrated below);
wherein the flattening unit comprises:
a guide rail (see Fig. 1, illustrated below),
a sliding support (piston 14a),
a flattening mechanism (see Fig. 1, illustrated below),
a first drive mechanism (secondary cylinder 14), configured to drive the sliding support (piston 14a) to move along the guide rail (see Fig. 1, illustrated below) to approach or move away from the battery cell clamping mechanism (Fig. 2);
a second drive mechanism (motor 40), configured to drive a rotation shaft (part of rotating bracket 10 surrounding guide slot 13) to rotate and drive a flattening mechanism to rotate (“The bracket rotating member 11 connected to the bracket rotating gear 43 rotates by the rotation of the driving motor 40 and the part of rotating bracket 10 surrounding guide slot 13 rotates” [0024]);
a third drive mechanism (primary cylinder 12), configured to drive a sliding sleeve (Oohasi discloses a sliding rod, arm support shaft 22, but the primary cylinder 12, which is configured to drive the sliding rod, would also be configured to drive a sliding rod) to move along the rotation shaft (part of rotating bracket 10 surrounding guide slot 13) to adjust an angle of the flattening mechanism (Fig. 3);
wherein
the first drive mechanism (secondary cylinder 14) is connected to the sliding support (piston 14a), the sliding support is slidably connected to the guide rail (Fig. 2),
the second drive mechanism is provided on the sliding support (Fig. 2) and connected to the flattening mechanism (see Fig. 1, illustrated below).
Oohashi does not disclose that the flattening unit is provided on two sides of the battery cell clamping mechanism.
Fig. 1 of Oohashi, illustrated
Ran teaches a flattening unit provided on two sides of the battery cell clamping mechanism (Fig. 2) in order to treat both end faces of the workpiece (Fig. 1);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oohashi to incorporate the teachings of Ran by having a flattening unit provided on both ends of the clamping mechanism to yield the predictable result of being able to work on both ends of the workpiece. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oohashi, in view of Ran, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Little et al. (GB145914), hereinafter referred to as “Little”.
Re Claim 2, Oohashi, in view of Ran, discloses the device for flattening a battery cell electrode tab according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 by Oohashi, in view of Ran above), and Oohashi further discloses:
wherein the flattening mechanism comprises
a flattening component (conical roller primary cylinder 12),
a rotating component (rotating bracket 10), and
a movable component (arm movement control shaft 21, arm support shaft 22, arm 20, shaft attachment portion 24, conical roller primary cylinder 12, roller support portion 31, bracket 32) configured to adjust an angle of the flattening component (conical roller primary cylinder 12);
the rotating component (rotating bracket 10) comprises
the rotation shaft (part of rotating bracket 10 surrounding guide slot 13) and
a connection plate (part of rotating bracket 10 surrounding pivot 33),
the movable component (arm movement control shaft 21, arm support shaft 22, arm 20, shaft attachment portion 24, conical roller primary cylinder 12, roller support portion 31, bracket 32) comprises
the sliding rod (arm support shaft 22),
a connection rod (arm 20), and
an adjustment block (shaft attachment portion 24, conical roller primary cylinder 12, roller support portion 31, bracket 32),
the sliding rod (arm support shaft 22) is movably slotted on the rotation shaft (part of rotating bracket 10 surrounding guide slot 13), one end of the connection rod (arm 20) is twisted with an outer wall of the sliding rod (arm support shaft 22);
the third drive mechanism (primary cylinder 12) is connected (Fig. 3c) to the sliding rod (arm support shaft 22),
the connection plate (part of rotating bracket 10 surrounding pivot 33) and the adjustment block (shaft attachment portion 24, conical roller primary cylinder 12, roller support portion 31, bracket 32) are both L-shape;
one side of the connection plate (part of rotating bracket 10 surrounding pivot 33) is connected to one end face of the rotation shaft (part of rotating bracket 10 surrounding guide slot 13), the other end of the rotation shaft (part of rotating bracket 10 surrounding guide slot 13) is connected to the second drive mechanism (20), a U-shaped opening is provided on the other side of the connection plate (part of rotating bracket 10 surrounding pivot 33);
the adjustment block (shaft attachment portion 24, conical roller 30, roller support portion 31, bracket 32) comprises a bottom plate (roller support portion 31) and a side plate (bracket 32);
one end of the side plate (bracket 32) that is far away from the bottom plate (roller support portion 31) is hinged with the other end of the connection rod (arm 20), two sides of the bottom plate (roller support portion 31) that are connected to the side plate (bracket 32) are rotationally connected to two inner walls of the U-shaped opening, the flattening component (conical roller 30) passes through the U-shaped opening and is installed on the bottom plate (roller support portion 31) of the adjustment block (shaft attachment portion 24, conical roller 30, roller support portion 31, bracket 32).
Oohasi, in view of Ran, does not disclose a sliding sleeve, wherein the sliding sleeve (arm support shaft 22) is movably sleeved on the rotation shaft (part of rotating bracket 10 surrounding guide slot 13).
Little teaches a sliding sleeve (race of pulley part f), wherein the sliding sleeve is movably sleeved (“the degree of the grip of the arms g on the tube a is regulated by means of the race or pulley part f which can be moved to and fro on the mandril c” Col. 4, Lines 77-81) on the rotation shaft (mandril c).
Oohashi, in view of Ran, and Little include each element claimed with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single reference. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Oohashi, in view of Ran, and Little by attaching a pulley part of Little to the arm control shaft of Oohashi such that the pulley part of Little is sleeved around the rotation shaft of Oohashi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the result of the combination was predictable.
Re Claim 3, Oohashi, in view of Ran and Little, discloses the device for flattening a battery cell electrode tab according to the claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above), and Oohashi further discloses:
wherein the connection rod (arm 20) is a U-shaped connection rod, two sides of an end of the side plate (bracket 32) that is far from the bottom plate (roller support portion 31) are rotatably connected to two inner walls of an opening end of the U-shaped connection rod, respectively (Fig. 3);
an outer wall of a sealing end of the U-shaped connection rod is provided with a bending connection part (Fig. 3 shows that the connection rod is bent) that is hinged with the outer wall of the sliding sleeve (arm support shaft 22).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oohashi, in view of Ran in view of Little, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of He (CN106270087).
Re Claim 4, Oohashi, in view of Ran and Little, discloses the device for flattening a battery cell electrode tab according to claim 2, and Oohashi further discloses:
wherein the flattening component (conical roller 30) comprises a flattening top (see Fig. 4d, illustrated below) and a flattening cone wheel (see Fig. 4d, illustrated below), a base of the flattening top is fixedly provided on the bottom plate (Fig. 4d), an output shaft of the flattening top (see Fig. 4d, illustrated below) passes through the bottom plate (roller support portion 31) and is connected to the flattening cone wheel (Fig. 4).
Fig. 4 of He, illustrated
Oohashi, in view of Ran and Little, does not disclose that:
wherein the flattening component comprises a flattening motor (131), a base of the flattening motor (131) is fixedly provided on the bottom plate (bracket 32), an output shaft of the flattening motor (131) passes through the bottom plate (roller support portion 31) and is connected to the flattening cone wheel (132).
He teaches that the flattening component comprises a flattening motor (forming roller motor 8), an output shaft of the flattening motor (see Fig. 1, illustrated below) is connected to the flattening cone wheel (forming roller 14).
Fig. 1 of He, illustrated
Oohashi, in view of Ran iand Little, differs from the claimed invention by not having a flattening motor. He teaches a motor that is connected to the roller to turn rotate the roller. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oohashi, in view of Ran in view of Little, to incorporate the teachings of He by substituting the flattening top of Oohasi, in view of Ran in view of Little, with the motor of He to yield the predictable result of rotating the roller
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oohashi, in view of Ran and Little, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Small (US 2,545,976).
Re Claim 5, Oohashi, in view of Ran and Little, discloses the device for flattening a battery cell electrode tab according to claim 2, and Oohashi further discloses:
wherein the first drive mechanism comprises
a transmission shaft (bracket movement control shaft 11a),
two ends of the transmission shaft (bracket movement control shaft 11a) are connected to a support on the frame (see Fig. 1, illustrated above);
the sliding support (piston 14a) is movably sleeved on the transmission shaft (piston 14a is connected to bracket movement control shaft 11a via bearing 53).
Oohashi, in view of Ran and Little, fails to disclose:
wherein the first drive mechanism comprises
a first motor,
a first belt transmission component,
a transmission threaded rod, and
a base of the first motor is provided on the frame,
an output shaft of the first motor is connected to a pulley at one end of the first belt transmission component,
a pulley at the other end of the first belt transmission component is fixedly connected to one end of the transmission threaded rod,
the transmission shaft is parallel to the transmission threaded rod,
the sliding support is thread connection to the transmission threaded rod;
Ran also teaches:
wherein the first drive mechanism comprises
a first motor (drive unit 400),
a transmission threaded rod (“the output end of the drive motor is provided with a screw rod” Pg. 5, Line 37), and
a base of the first motor (drive unit 400) is provided (Fig. 2) on the frame (frame 100),
the transmission shaft is parallel to the transmission threaded rod,
the sliding support (sliding seat 310) is thread connection to the transmission threaded rod (“a nut 430 is mounted on the bottom of the sliding seat 310, and the nut 430 is sleeved on the screw rod” Pg. 5, Lines 37-38);
Ran teaches using a motor to push the sliding support to move the flattening mechanism relative to the workpiece (“During operation, the driving motor drives the screw rod to rotate, and the rotation motion is converted into linear motion by the cooperation of the screw rod and the nut 430, so as to drive the movement of the sliding seat 310 installed on the nut 430, so as to realize the movement of the flattening device 300 relative to the battery core.” Pg. 5, Lines 38-41). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oohashi, in view of Ran in view of Little, to incorporate further teachings of Ran by using the drive unit of Ran to push the piston of Oohashi, via the screw rod of Ran in a way that the screw rod of Ran would be parallel to the bracket movement control shaft of Oohashi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized a reasonable expectation of success.
Oohashi, in view of Ran and Little, does not disclose that the first drive mechanism comprises a first belt transmission component, an output shaft of the first motor is connected to a pulley at one end of the first belt transmission component, a pulley at the other end of the first belt transmission component is fixedly connected to one end of the transmission threaded rod.
Small teaches that the first drive mechanism comprises a first belt transmission component, an output shaft of the first motor (motor 6) is connected to a pulley at one end of the first belt transmission component (see Fig. 3, illustrated below), a pulley at the other end of the first belt transmission component (see Fig. 3, illustrated below) is fixedly connected to one end of the transmission threaded rod (transmission rod 13)
Fig. 3 of Smalls, illustrated
Smalls teaches using a system of pulleys and belts in order to have the motor be placed vertically in relation to the transmission rod (“These uprights also support a platform 5 on which, in the form illustrated in Figures 1, 2, and 3, driving motor 6 is mounted” Col. 2, Lines 37-39). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oohashi, in view of Ran and Little, to incorporate the teachings of Smalls by connecting the threaded rod to the motor via a belt transmission component and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that there was a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: .
Re Claim 6, the prior art of record fails to disclose a transmission shaft that passes through a support and is connected to a pulley at the other end of the second belt transmission component, inter alia, in combination with the limitations of claim 5, such as the sliding support being movably sleeved on the transmission shaft
Re Claims 7-9¸ those claims are allowed due to their dependency on an allowed claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ogawa (US20060162410) teaches rollers that rotate.
/W.D.D./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725