DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
Application amendment, filed on 05/21/2026, has been received and made of record. Claims 2 and 14 are canceled. Claims 1, 10 and 19 are amended. Claims 3-9, 11-13, 15-18 and 20 are original. Claim 21 is new. Currently, claims 1, 3-13, and 15-21 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure statements
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted and filed on 03/25/2024 and 07/27/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/21/2026, with respect to claims 1, 10 and 19 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alnas et al (US 2022/0078605) in view of Soldati et al (US 2024/0259837) and further in view of Tran (US 2024/0115202).
Regarding claim 1, Alnas et al discloses first access network device (fig.1 item 20, first access node), comprising:
a transceiver (fig. 2 item 2, transceiver), configured to transmit first indication information to a core network element, wherein the first indication information is used for indicating a capability of the first network device (access node 20 transmits capability request message 62 comprising one or more capability IDs 512,522,532,542 (first indication information) to a core network node (core network element), wherein the IDs 512,522,532,542 (first indication information) is used for identifying (indicating) a capability of said UE1 (first network device), [0126], lines 1-3).
Alnas et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the first indication information is used for indicating a sensing capability of the first access network device.
However, Soldati et al specifically teaches concept of wherein the first indication information is used for indicating a sensing capability of the first access network device (first network node indicates to the second network node the detection of a capacity issue is associated to the identity of a serving cell; thus is seen as first network node indicates to the second network node that the identity (first indication information) of a serving cell indicates the detection (sensing) capacity issue of a serving cell (first access network device), [0122], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Alnas et al with concept of wherein the first indication information is used for indicating a sensing capability of the first access network device of Soldati et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve providing communication of indications of requested configurations and updates between network nodes, (Soldati et al, [0007], lines 1-2).
Alnas et al and Soldati et al do not specifically disclose concept of wherein the sensing capability comprises at least one of: whether to support sensing, or a sensing type supported.
However, Tran specifically teaches concept of wherein the sensing capability comprises at least one of: whether to support sensing, or a sensing type supported (devices 8, 10 and 40 register with the base station 20 and provide information regarding the capabilities of the device, including, for example, device type (EKG, EMG, blood pressure sensor, etc.) (sensing type supported) memory size, processing capacity, and supported protocols and connectivity, [0094], lines 1-3).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Alnas et al with concept of wherein the first indication information is used for indicating a sensing capability of the first access network device of Soldati et al and concept of wherein the sensing capability comprises at least one of: whether to support sensing, or a sensing type supported of Tran. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve motion sensor coupled to the processor for a system which includes a cellular, WiFi, or and Bluetooth transceiver coupled to the processor, (Tran, [0003], line 1).
Regarding claim 3, Alnas et al discloses first access network device (fig.1 item 20, first access node), wherein the first indication information is carried by an access network device setup message or an access network device configuration update message (access node 20 transmits capability request message 62 comprising one or more capability IDs 512,522,532,542 (first indication information) to a core network node (core network element), wherein the IDs 512,522,532,542 (first indication information) is used for identifying (indicating) a capability of said UE1 (first network device), [0126], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 4, Alnas et al discloses first access network device (fig.1 item 20, first access node), wherein the transceiver (fig. 2 item 2, transceiver) is further configured to:
receive first response information for the first indication information from the core network element (ID is allocated to a certain set of capabilities by the network 200 where the UE 1 is registered. Then, when the UE 1 has sent the capabilities to the network 200 it will receive an ID in response which can be used as long as the UE 1 is within the PLMN, [0063], lines 3-5).
Regarding claim 5, Alnas et al discloses first access network device (fig.1 item 20, first access node),
Alnas et al and Tran do not specifically disclose concept of wherein the first response information is further used for indicating a sensing capability of the core network element.
However, Soldati et al specifically teaches concept of wherein the first response information is further used for indicating a sensing capability of the core network element (first network node indicates to the second network node the detection of a capacity issue is associated to the identity of a serving cell; thus is seen as first network node indicates to the second network node that the identity (first indication information) of a serving cell indicates the detection (sensing) capacity issue of a serving cell (first access network device), [0122], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Alnas et al with concept of wherein the first response information is further used for indicating a sensing capability of the core network element of Soldati et al and concept of wherein the sensing capability comprises at least one of: whether to support sensing, or a sensing type supported of Tran. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve motion sensor coupled to the processor for a system which includes a cellular, WiFi, or and Bluetooth transceiver coupled to the processor, (Tran, [0003], line 1).
Regarding claim 6, Alnas et al discloses first access network device (fig.1 item 20, first access node), wherein the transceiver (fig. 2 item 2, transceiver) is further configured to:
receive second indication information from the core network element, wherein the second indication information is used for indicating a capability of the core network element (UE 1 may transmit UE capability information, e.g. stored in memory 6, to the access network 200. This may e.g. be accomplished by transmitting a bitmap (second indication information) to indicate its capabilities to the wireless communication network, [0061], lines 1-2).
Alnas et al and Tran do not specifically disclose concept of sensing capability of the network.
However, Soldati et al specifically teaches concept of sensing capability of the network (first network node indicates to the second network node the detection of a capacity issue is associated to the identity of a serving cell; thus is seen as first network node indicates to the second network node that the identity (first indication information) of a serving cell indicates the detection (sensing) capacity issue of a serving cell (first access network device), [0122], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Alnas et al with concept of sensing capability of the network of Soldati et al and concept of wherein the sensing capability comprises at least one of: whether to support sensing, or a sensing type supported of Tran. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve motion sensor coupled to the processor for a system which includes a cellular, WiFi, or and Bluetooth transceiver coupled to the processor, (Tran, [0003], line 1).
Regarding claim 7, Alnas et al discloses first access network device (fig.1 item 20, first access node), wherein the second indication information is carried by a core network configuration update message (core network node may store 619 any data block received from the access node 20, e.g. in a data memory 128, where it is associated with the corresponding capability ID as received 608. Furthermore, it is in various embodiments possible to keep existing message size and fit single UE Radio capability block into each one message. In the event of e.g. a software upgrade with only few UE radio capabilities changed, then only the data block including the subset of UE capability information that has changed needs to be transferred and updated. This also allows a flexible solution that allows any implementation to add/change capabilities, [0130], lines 1-2 and [0131], lines 4-7).
Regarding claim 8, Alnas et al discloses first access network device (fig.1 item 20, first access node), wherein the transceiver (fig. 2 item 2, transceiver) is further configured to:
transmit a second response message for the second indication information to the core network element (current filtered mechanism is defined so that the network 200, and specifically the access node 20 sending the capability enquiry message, will send detailed filter information to the UE 1 so the UE 1 knows exactly what capabilities that should be excluded in the response message and that the response message contains high level information on how the filter was performed, [0064], lines 6-9).
Regarding claim 9, Alnas et al discloses first access network device (fig.1 item 20, first access node), wherein the second response message is further used for indicating the capability of the first access network device (current filtered mechanism is defined so that the network 200, and specifically the access node 20 sending the capability enquiry message, will send detailed filter information to the UE 1 so the UE 1 knows exactly what capabilities that should be excluded in the response message and that the response message contains high level information on how the filter was performed. When the network 200 performs a handover to a second access node 30 for the UE 1, a UE context that is transferred to the new access node 30 contains the UE capabilities, [0064], lines 6-10).
Alnas et al and Tran do not specifically disclose concept of sensing capability of the network.
However, Soldati et al specifically teaches concept of sensing capability of the network (first network node indicates to the second network node the detection of a capacity issue is associated to the identity of a serving cell; thus is seen as first network node indicates to the second network node that the identity (first indication information) of a serving cell indicates the detection (sensing) capacity issue of a serving cell (first access network device), [0122], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Alnas et al with concept of sensing capability of the network of Soldati et al and concept of wherein the sensing capability comprises at least one of: whether to support sensing, or a sensing type supported of Tran. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve motion sensor coupled to the processor for a system which includes a cellular, WiFi, or and Bluetooth transceiver coupled to the processor, (Tran, [0003], line 1).
Regarding claim 10, Alnas et al discloses core network element (fig.1 item 20, first access node), comprising:
a transceiver (fig. 2 item 2, transceiver), configured to transmit first indication information to an access network device, wherein the first indication information is used for indicating a capability of a network element (access node 20 transmits capability request message 62 comprising one or more capability IDs 512,522,532,542 (first indication information) to a core network node (access network device), wherein the IDs 512,522,532,542 (first indication information) is used for identifying (indicating) a capability of said UE1 (network element), [0126], lines 1-3).
Alnas et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the first indication information is used for indicating a sensing capability of the core network element.
However, Soldati et al specifically teaches concept of wherein the first indication information is used for indicating a sensing capability of the core network element (first network node indicates to the second network node the detection of a capacity issue is associated to the identity of a serving cell; thus is seen as first network node indicates to the second network node that the identity (first indication information) of a serving cell indicates the detection (sensing) capacity issue of a serving cell (core network element), [0122], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Alnas et al with concept of wherein the first indication information is used for indicating a sensing capability of the core network element of Soldati et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve providing communication of indications of requested configurations and updates between network nodes, (Soldati et al, [0007], lines 1-2).
Alnas et al and Soldati et al do not specifically disclose concept of wherein the sensing capability comprises at least one of: whether to support sensing, or a sensing type supported.
However, Tran specifically teaches concept of wherein the sensing capability comprises at least one of: whether to support sensing, or a sensing type supported (devices 8, 10 and 40 register with the base station 20 and provide information regarding the capabilities of the device, including, for example, device type (EKG, EMG, blood pressure sensor, etc.) (sensing type supported) memory size, processing capacity, and supported protocols and connectivity, [0094], lines 1-3).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Alnas et al with concept of wherein the first indication information is used for indicating a sensing capability of the first access network device of Soldati et al and concept of wherein the sensing capability comprises at least one of: whether to support sensing, or a sensing type supported of Tran. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve motion sensor coupled to the processor for a system which includes a cellular, WiFi, or and Bluetooth transceiver coupled to the processor, (Tran, [0003], line 1).
Regarding claim 11, Alnas et al discloses core network element (fig.1 item 20, first access node), wherein the first indication information is carried by a core network configuration update message (access node 20 transmits capability request message 62 comprising one or more capability IDs 512,522,532,542 (first indication information) to a core network node (core network element), wherein the IDs 512,522,532,542 (first indication information) is used for identifying (indicating) a capability of said UE1 (first network device), [0126], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 12, Alnas et al discloses core network element (fig.1 item 20, first access node), wherein the transceiver (fig. 2 item 2, transceiver) is further configured to:
receive first response information for the first indication information from the access network device (ID is allocated to a certain set of capabilities by the network 200 where the UE 1 is registered. Then, when the UE 1 has sent the capabilities to the network 200 it will receive an ID in response which can be used as long as the UE 1 is within the PLMN, [0063], lines 3-5).
Regarding claim 13, Alnas et al discloses core network element (fig.1 item 20, first access node),
Alnas et al and Tran do not specifically disclose concept of wherein the first response information is further used for indicating a sensing capability of the access network device.
However, Soldati et al specifically teaches concept of wherein the first response information is further used for indicating a sensing capability of the access network device (first network node indicates to the second network node the detection of a capacity issue is associated to the identity of a serving cell; thus is seen as first network node indicates to the second network node that the identity (first indication information) of a serving cell indicates the detection (sensing) capacity issue of a serving cell (first access network device), [0122], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Alnas et al with concept of wherein the first response information is further used for indicating a sensing capability of the access network device of Soldati et al and concept of wherein the sensing capability comprises at least one of: whether to support sensing, or a sensing type supported of Tran. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve motion sensor coupled to the processor for a system which includes a cellular, WiFi, or and Bluetooth transceiver coupled to the processor, (Tran, [0003], line 1).
Regarding claim 15, Alnas et al discloses core network element (fig.1 item 20, first access node), wherein the transceiver (fig. 2 item 2, transceiver) is further configured to:
receive second indication information from the access network device, wherein the second indication information is used for indicating a capability of the access network device (UE 1 may transmit UE capability information, e.g. stored in memory 6, to the access network 200. This may e.g. be accomplished by transmitting a bitmap (second indication information) to indicate its capabilities to the wireless communication network, [0061], lines 1-2).
Alnas et al and Tran do not specifically disclose concept of sensing capability of the network.
However, Soldati et al specifically teaches concept of sensing capability of the network (first network node indicates to the second network node the detection of a capacity issue is associated to the identity of a serving cell; thus is seen as first network node indicates to the second network node that the identity (first indication information) of a serving cell indicates the detection (sensing) capacity issue of a serving cell (first access network device), [0122], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Alnas et al with concept of sensing capability of the network of Soldati et al and concept of wherein the sensing capability comprises at least one of: whether to support sensing, or a sensing type supported of Tran. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve motion sensor coupled to the processor for a system which includes a cellular, WiFi, or and Bluetooth transceiver coupled to the processor, (Tran, [0003], line 1)..
Regarding claim 16, Alnas et al discloses core network element (fig.1 item 20, first access node), wherein the second indication information is carried by an access network device setup message or an access network device configuration update message (core network node may store 619 any data block received from the access node 20, e.g. in a data memory 128, where it is associated with the corresponding capability ID as received 608. Furthermore, it is in various embodiments possible to keep existing message size and fit single UE Radio capability block into each one message. In the event of e.g. a software upgrade with only few UE radio capabilities changed, then only the data block including the subset of UE capability information that has changed needs to be transferred and updated. This also allows a flexible solution that allows any implementation to add/change capabilities, [0130], lines 1-2 and [0131], lines 4-7).
Regarding claim 17, Alnas et al discloses core network element (fig.1 item 20, first access node), wherein the transceiver (fig. 2 item 2, transceiver) is further configured to:
transmit second response information for the second indication information to the access network device (current filtered mechanism is defined so that the network 200, and specifically the access node 20 sending the capability enquiry message, will send detailed filter information to the UE 1 so the UE 1 knows exactly what capabilities that should be excluded in the response message and that the response message contains high level information on how the filter was performed, [0064], lines 6-9).
Regarding claim 18, Alnas et al discloses core network element (fig.1 item 20, first access node), wherein the second response information is further used for indicating the capability of the core network element (current filtered mechanism is defined so that the network 200, and specifically the access node 20 sending the capability enquiry message, will send detailed filter information to the UE 1 so the UE 1 knows exactly what capabilities that should be excluded in the response message and that the response message contains high level information on how the filter was performed. When the network 200 performs a handover to a second access node 30 for the UE 1, a UE context that is transferred to the new access node 30 contains the UE capabilities, [0064], lines 6-10).
Alnas et al and Tran do not specifically disclose concept of sensing capability of the network.
However, Soldati et al specifically teaches concept of sensing capability of the network (first network node indicates to the second network node the detection of a capacity issue is associated to the identity of a serving cell; thus is seen as first network node indicates to the second network node that the identity (first indication information) of a serving cell indicates the detection (sensing) capacity issue of a serving cell (first access network device), [0122], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Alnas et al with concept of sensing capability of the network of Soldati et al and concept of wherein the sensing capability comprises at least one of: whether to support sensing, or a sensing type supported of Tran. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve motion sensor coupled to the processor for a system which includes a cellular, WiFi, or and Bluetooth transceiver coupled to the processor, (Tran, [0003], line 1)...
Regarding claim 19, Alnas et al discloses first terminal (fig.1 item 20, first access node), comprising:
a transceiver (fig. 2 item 2, transceiver), configured to transmit first indication information to a first core network element, wherein the first indication information is used for indicating at least one of a capability of a terminal or grant information for a terminal (access node 20 transmits capability request message 62 comprising one or more capability IDs 512,522,532,542 (first indication information) to a core network node (first core network element), wherein the IDs 512,522,532,542 (first indication information) is used for identifying (indicating) a capability of said UE1 (terminal), [0126], lines 1-3).
Alnas et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the first indication information is used for indicating at least one of a sensing capability of the first terminal or sensing grant information for the first terminal.
However, Soldati et al specifically teaches concept of wherein the first indication information is used for indicating at least one of a sensing capability of the first terminal or sensing grant information for the first terminal (first network node indicates to the second network node the detection of a capacity issue is associated to the identity of a serving cell; thus is seen as first network node indicates to the second network node that the identity (first indication information) of a serving cell indicates the detection (sensing) capacity issue of a serving cell (first terminal), [0122], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Alnas et al with concept of wherein the first indication information is used for indicating at least one of a sensing capability of the first terminal or sensing grant information for the first terminal of Soldati et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve providing communication of indications of requested configurations and updates between network nodes, (Soldati et al, [0007], lines 1-2)
Alnas et al and Soldati et al do not specifically disclose concept of wherein the sensing capability comprises at least one of: whether to support sensing, or a sensing type supported.
However, Tran specifically teaches concept of wherein the sensing capability comprises at least one of: whether to support sensing, or a sensing type supported (devices 8, 10 and 40 register with the base station 20 and provide information regarding the capabilities of the device, including, for example, device type (EKG, EMG, blood pressure sensor, etc.) (sensing type supported) memory size, processing capacity, and supported protocols and connectivity, [0094], lines 1-3).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Alnas et al with concept of wherein the first indication information is used for indicating a sensing capability of the first access network device of Soldati et al and concept of wherein the sensing capability comprises at least one of: whether to support sensing, or a sensing type supported of Tran. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve motion sensor coupled to the processor for a system which includes a cellular, WiFi, or and Bluetooth transceiver coupled to the processor, (Tran, [0003], line 1).
Regarding claim 20, Alnas et al discloses first terminal (fig.1 item 20, first access node), wherein the first indication information is carried by a terminal registration request message (In 3GPP terminology, a UE capability report is sent over the radio interface from the UE 1 to the RAN node of the serving cell, such as access node 20, when the UE 1 registers to the network 200. The network 200 requests the UE 1 to send the relevant capabilities in the message “UE Capability Enquiry”, [0062], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 21, Alnas et al discloses first access network device (fig.1 item 20, first access node),
Alnas et al and Soldati et al do not specifically disclose concept of wherein the sensing type comprises: environmental imaging, weather monitoring, breath recognition and gesture recognition for terminal users, and measurement of terminal moving speed.
However, Tran specifically teaches concept of wherein the sensing type comprises: environmental imaging, weather monitoring, breath recognition and gesture recognition for terminal users, and measurement of terminal moving speed (During installation or while no live person in the scene, each camera will capture its own environment objects (environmental imaging) and store it as background images. Appliances 8 in the mesh network can include home temperature control devices (weather monitoring). Microphone can be attached to throat and used in sleep diagnostic recordings for detecting breathing (breath recognition). Confirmatory signal is a patient gesture. The patient can nod his or her head to request help and can shake the head to cancel the help request. Alternatively, the patient can use a plurality of hand gestures to signal to the server 20 the actions that the patient desires. Module 54 monitors patient activity and generates a warning if the patient has fallen. In one implementation, the system detects the speed of center of mass movement, [0077], lines 3-4, [0080], lines 9-10, [00150], lines 1-2, [0197], lines 1-3, [0237], lines 1-2).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Alnas et al with concept of wherein the first indication information is used for indicating a sensing capability of the first access network device of Soldati et al and concept of wherein the sensing type comprises: environmental imaging, weather monitoring, breath recognition and gesture recognition for terminal users, and measurement of terminal moving speed of Tran. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve motion sensor coupled to the processor for a system which includes a cellular, WiFi, or and Bluetooth transceiver coupled to the processor, (Tran, [0003], line 1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRANTZ BATAILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681