CTNF 18/615,187 CTNF 96242 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding Claim 1, Claim 1 cites “when the cleaning system is manually initiated to clean the vehicle window during an at least partially automated driving operation of the vehicle, it is determined whether a cleaning program for cleaning the driving assistance sensor is currently active” this is unclear, as it is unclear what is required by “an at least partially automated driving operation of the vehicle” and “a cleaning program”. As best as examiner can tell “an at least partially automated driving operation of the vehicle” just requires that the vehicle in question is being driven and “a cleaning program” would be the cleaning system being automatically controlled. For the purposes of examination this will be interpreted as “when the cleaning system is manually initiated to clean the vehicle window during the operation of the at least partially automated vehicle it is determined whether the cleaning system is operating automatically” Additionally, the limitation in question seems to require a controller for the “cleaning program” but does not positively recite a controller and is being interpreted to require a controller to perform the determination of if the cleaning program is currently active. Claims 2-5, and 7-10 are rejected for dependence on a rejected claim. See Below regarding claim 6. Regarding Claim 6, this claim is unclear, as it is dependent on claim 1, but recites the majority of claim 1. Claims 1 and 6 are substantial duplicates but differ in the final clause: “wherein a control and/or regulating system is configured to determine, when the cleaning system, is manually initiated to clean the vehicle window during an at least partially automated driving operation of the vehicle, whether a cleaning program for cleaning the driving assistance sensor” in claim 6 and “wherein when the cleaning system, is manually initiated to clean the vehicle window during an at least partially automated driving operation of the vehicle, it is determined whether a cleaning program for cleaning the driving assistance sensor is currently activated” This appears to be intended to be a second independent claim and will be treated as such for the purposes of examination. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 4 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skyula (US 20180370496 A1) in view of Krishnan (US 20230242080 A1) . A cleaning procedure for a cleaning system (window wipers 50, see Fig. 2), an at least partially automated mobile vehicle for cleaning at least a partial area of a vehicle window of the vehicle (windshield 34, See Para [0035] “With reference to FIGS. 1 and 2, the vehicle 30 includes the window wipers 50. Each window wiper 50 may be positioned to contact one of the windows 34, 36, 38.” ) and for cleaning at least a partial area of a field of view of an optical, driving assistance sensor of the vehicle (See Para [0031] “The camera 42 may be located in the vehicle 30, e.g., in a passenger cabin, and directed at one of the windows 34, 36, 38, e.g., at the windshield 34. The camera 42 is sensitive to visible light and outputs data constituting an image detected by the camera 42.” ), wherein the cleanable partial areas of the field of view and the vehicle window at least partially overlap (See citation above of Para [0031], camera 42 operates as a sensor and is positioned behind the windshield 34), But does not explicitly disclose, wherein when the cleaning system is manually initiated to clean the vehicle window during an at least partially automated driving operation of the vehicle, it is determined whether a cleaning program for cleaning the driving assistance sensor is currently active. However, Krishnan discloses a similar cleaning device wherein when the cleaning system is manually initiated to clean the vehicle window during an at least partially automated driving operation of the vehicle, it is determined whether a cleaning program for cleaning the driving assistance sensor is currently active (See Para [0027] “The computer 26 may receive a user input specifying to clean the windshield 22, as discussed below. In response to the user input, the computer 26 actuates the pump 24 to direct fluid through a windshield fluid nozzle 28 (as discussed below) and across the windshield 22, e.g., typically from a hood towards a roof of the vehicle 10. However, the pump 24 may be actuated according to a maximum pressure to clean the windshield 22, which can cause fluid discharged from the windshield fluid nozzle 28 to contact and possible to then adhere to the sensor 14. Advantageously, while the vehicle 10 is in the autonomous mode, the computer 26 can actuate the blower 16 and the motor 18 in response to the user input. The computer 26 can then actuate the pump 24 according to the pressure threshold. Actuating the pump 24 according to the pressure threshold after actuating the blower 16 and the motor 18 reduces a likelihood of fluid discharged from the windshield fluid nozzle 28 adhering to the sensor 14, which can improve the quality of data gathered by the sensor 14.” Discussing modifying the response to manual activation from the user when the automatic cleaning mode is activated). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the cleaning system of Skyula to determine if a cleaning program is active when a user manual initiate to clean the vehicle window, as doing so would allow for one a user to manually initiate a cleaning of the window in the case of a malfunction of the sensor and maintain a clear surface to remain safe while driving. Regarding Claim 4, Skyula as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least partially automated driving operation (automatic operation of the cleaning device) of the vehicle is deactivated if a cleaning program for cleaning the driving assistance sensor is active when the cleaning system, is manually initiated. However, Krishnan discloses a similar cleaning system with an automatic and manual mode, wherein the mode can be changed based on user input (See Para [0012] “The vehicle system can include a fluid nozzle in fluid communication with the pump and aimed to discharge fluid across the windshield. The computer can be communicatively coupled to the fluid nozzle and can be further programmed to, upon determining the autonomous mode is activated, actuate the fluid nozzle to discharge fluid in a jet pattern. The computer can be further programmed to, upon determining the autonomous mode is deactivated, actuate the fluid nozzle to discharge fluid in a flat-fan pattern. The computer can be further programmed to determine to transition the autonomous mode between a deactivated state and an activated state based on a user input.” ). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to include a method of deactivating the automatic operation of the cleaning device if a cleaning program for cleaning the driving assistance sensor is active when the cleaning system, is manually initiated. As doing so would allow the user to have a manual override of the cleaning system, allowing for them to be able to maintain clear vision through the windshield during driving in the case of a system malfunction or something continually triggering the automatic method. Increasing the safety of the driver. Regarding Claim 5, Skyula as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein the cleaning program for cleaning the driving assistance sensor is time-controlled, and/or automatically initiated based on contamination recognition (See Krishnan Para [0076] “the computer 26 can actuate the blower 16 based on detecting debris and/or liquid droplets on the sensor 14.” ). Regarding Claim 6, Skyula discloses A cleaning procedure for a cleaning system (window wipers 50, see Fig. 2), an at least partially automated mobile vehicle for cleaning at least a partial area of a vehicle window of the vehicle (windshield 34, See Para [0035] “With reference to FIGS. 1 and 2, the vehicle 30 includes the window wipers 50. Each window wiper 50 may be positioned to contact one of the windows 34, 36, 38.” ) and for cleaning at least a partial area of a field of view of an optical, driving assistance sensor of the vehicle (See Para [0031] “The camera 42 may be located in the vehicle 30, e.g., in a passenger cabin, and directed at one of the windows 34, 36, 38, e.g., at the windshield 34. The camera 42 is sensitive to visible light and outputs data constituting an image detected by the camera 42.” ), wherein the cleanable partial areas of the field of view and the vehicle window at least partially overlap (See citation above of Para [0031], camera 42 operates as a sensor and is positioned behind the windshield 34), But does not explicitly disclose, wherein a control and/or regulating system is configured to determine, when the cleaning system, is manually initiated to clean the vehicle window during an at least partially automated driving operation of the vehicle, whether a cleaning program for cleaning the driving assistance sensor. However, Krishnan discloses a similar cleaning device wherein when the cleaning system is manually initiated to clean the vehicle window during an at least partially automated driving operation of the vehicle, it is determined whether a cleaning program for cleaning the driving assistance sensor is currently active (See Para [0027] “The computer 26 may receive a user input specifying to clean the windshield 22, as discussed below. In response to the user input, the computer 26 actuates the pump 24 to direct fluid through a windshield fluid nozzle 28 (as discussed below) and across the windshield 22, e.g., typically from a hood towards a roof of the vehicle 10. However, the pump 24 may be actuated according to a maximum pressure to clean the windshield 22, which can cause fluid discharged from the windshield fluid nozzle 28 to contact and possible to then adhere to the sensor 14. Advantageously, while the vehicle 10 is in the autonomous mode, the computer 26 can actuate the blower 16 and the motor 18 in response to the user input. The computer 26 can then actuate the pump 24 according to the pressure threshold. Actuating the pump 24 according to the pressure threshold after actuating the blower 16 and the motor 18 reduces a likelihood of fluid discharged from the windshield fluid nozzle 28 adhering to the sensor 14, which can improve the quality of data gathered by the sensor 14.” Discussing modifying the response to manual activation from the user when the automatic cleaning mode is activated). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the cleaning system of Skyula to determine if a cleaning program is active when a user manual initiate to clean the vehicle window, as doing so would allow for one a user to manually initiate a cleaning of the window in the case of a malfunction of the sensor and maintain a clear surface to remain safe while driving. Regarding Claim 7, Skyula as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein the cleaning system, comprises a common washing water tank for providing washing water for cleaning the driving assistance sensor and the vehicle window (See Para [0037] “With reference to FIG. 3, the vehicle 30 includes a liquid system 64. The liquid system 64 includes a reservoir 66, supply lines 68, the pumps 58, 60, the valves 62, and nozzles 70, 72. The liquid system 64 distributes washer fluid stored in the reservoir 66 to the nozzles 70, 72. “Washer fluid” refers to any liquid stored in the reservoir 66 for cleaning. The washer fluid may include solvents, detergents, diluents such as water, etc.” ) and/or a common compressed air system for providing compressed air for cleaning the driving assistance sensor and the vehicle window (See Para [0036] “With reference to FIG. 2, the vehicle 30 includes the air system 52. The air system 52 is arranged to direct air at the external sensors 48. The air system 52 can direct a continuous stream or a short burst of air at the external sensors 48. The air system 52 may be equipped to direct air at one of the external sensors 48 at a time or at all or a subset of the external sensors 48 at a time. The air system 52 may include a compressor, accumulators, valves, nozzles, etc. (not shown).” ). Regarding Claim 8, Skyula as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 7 and in addition discloses wherein the cleaning system comprises a valve unit which is configured for a controllable supply of washing water (See Para [0037] “With reference to FIG. 3, the vehicle 30 includes a liquid system 64. The liquid system 64 includes a reservoir 66, supply lines 68, the pumps 58, 60, the valves 62, and nozzles 70, 72. The liquid system 64 distributes washer fluid stored in the reservoir 66 to the nozzles 70, 72. “Washer fluid” refers to any liquid stored in the reservoir 66 for cleaning. The washer fluid may include solvents, detergents, diluents such as water, etc.” ) for the cleaning the driving assistance sensor and for at least one further driving assistance sensor (See Para [0043] “The nozzles 70, 72 include one or more first nozzles 70 and one or more second nozzles 72. The first nozzles 70 are each directed at one of the windows 34, 36, 38 and fluidly connected to the first pump 58. The second nozzles 72 are each directed at one of the external sensors 48 and fluidly connected to the second pump 60. The nozzles 70, 72 direct the flow of the washer fluid at the windows 34, 36, 38 or at the external sensors 48, and the nozzles 70, 72 may increase the speed of the flow.” The driving assistance sensor shares a field of view with window 34, and the valve assembly also controls the cleaning fluid for external sensors 48). Regarding Claims 9, Skyula as modified in claim 1 discloses A control and/or regulating unit (Computer 32) of a cleaning apparatus according to claim 7 (See Rejection of claim 7 above). Regarding Claim 10, Skyula as modified discloses A partially automated mobile vehicle with at least one driving assistance sensor, with at least one vehicle window, and with a cleaning apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the cleaning system, comprises a common washing water tank for providing washing water for cleaning the driving assistance sensor and the vehicle window (See Para [0037] “With reference to FIG. 3, the vehicle 30 includes a liquid system 64. The liquid system 64 includes a reservoir 66, supply lines 68, the pumps 58, 60, the valves 62, and nozzles 70, 72. The liquid system 64 distributes washer fluid stored in the reservoir 66 to the nozzles 70, 72. “Washer fluid” refers to any liquid stored in the reservoir 66 for cleaning. The washer fluid may include solvents, detergents, diluents such as water, etc.” ) and/or a common compressed air system for providing compressed air for cleaning the driving assistance sensor and the vehicle window (See Para [0036] “With reference to FIG. 2, the vehicle 30 includes the air system 52. The air system 52 is arranged to direct air at the external sensors 48. The air system 52 can direct a continuous stream or a short burst of air at the external sensors 48. The air system 52 may be equipped to direct air at one of the external sensors 48 at a time or at all or a subset of the external sensors 48 at a time. The air system 52 may include a compressor, accumulators, valves, nozzles, etc. (not shown).” ) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skyula (US 20180370496 A1) In view of Krishnan (US 20230242080 A1) as modified in claim 1 and in further view of Davies (US 20230347850 A1) Regarding Claim 2, Skyula as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the cleaning of the driving assistance sensor is prioritized over manually initiated cleaning of the vehicle window. However, Davies discloses a similar cleaning system wherein the cleaning of the driving assistance sensor is prioritized (See Para [0326] “In an expedient embodiment the cleaning method goes over to keeping only a sensor absolutely necessary for manual driving sufficiently available by carrying out a corresponding cleaning process, if a cleaning resource has reached a reserve level.” and Para [0327] “A kind of reserve strategy is proposed here as a measure of the last moment, whereby in the case in which the attainment of a pre-planned destination without service maintenance is endangered and whereby the cleaning mode was not adapted to a lower level of cleaning resource consumption at an early stage, that the cleaning mode is changed by the cleaning system to such an extent that only the sensors that are absolutely necessary for manual driving remain sufficiently available.”) It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the cleaning system of Skyula as modified to prioritize the cleaning of driving assistance sensors over manually initiated cleaning of the vehicle window as doing so would ensure that critical systems of the vehicle are maintained while the vehicle is in use, increasing the safety of the vehicle. Regarding Claim 3, Skyula as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 2 and in addition discloses wherein a decision is made based on the current driving situation, detected and/or determined by the vehicle; as to whether the cleaning program for cleaning the driving assistance sensor is continued without interruption or whether the cleaning program for cleaning the driving assistance sensor is at least interrupted in order to permit cleaning of the vehicle window (See citations of Para [0326] and [0327] of Davies cited above in the rejection of claim 2, disclosing that the system prioritizes critical systems, based on the availability of cleaning resources, meaning that as cleaning resources are available, the system will allow the interruption). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Tyler James McFarland whose telephone number is (571)272-7270. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30AM-5PM (E.S.T), Flex First Friday. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, David Posigian can be reached at (313) 446-6546. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /T.J.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 3723 /DAVID S POSIGIAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/615,187 Page 2 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/615,187 Page 3 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/615,187 Page 4 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/615,187 Page 5 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/615,187 Page 6 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/615,187 Page 7 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/615,187 Page 8 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/615,187 Page 9 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/615,187 Page 10 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/615,187 Page 11 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/615,187 Page 12 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/615,187 Page 13 Art Unit: 3723