CTNF 18/615,190 CTNF 93296 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings 06-22 AIA The drawings are objected to because : in Figure 1, the XYZ compass appears to have an editorial error and it appears that the “X” and the “Z” labels should be swapped to improve clarity and to be consistent with the rest of the disclosure; in Figure 3, it appears that the reference numeral 54 that is located next to reference numeral 58 is an editorial error and that it should instead be latching device 59 in order to be consistent with Figure 5; in Figure 3, it appears that the lead line for reference numeral 70 may be positioned in the wrong location and that it may need to be adjusted slightly in order to be accurate and correct and to avoid pointing at bumper 62. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: arrow direction “2” (see Figure 1) . The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters “62” and “70” have both been used to designate the bumper structure . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by McCormick et al. US20230271539 . Regarding independent claim 10 , McCormick discloses, in Figures 1-11, A rear storage structure (McCormick; Fig. 1-11; lug box 16) configured to be located in a rear region of a vehicle cabin (intended-use limitation; MPEP 2111.02(II) PREAMBLE STATEMENTS RECITING PURPOSE OR INTENDED USE), the rear storage structure comprising: a rear glovebox storage bin (McCormick; Fig. 1-11; cooler 20) including a glovebox lid (McCormick; lid 40 of cooler 20; [0023] “cooler 20 further has a lid 40”) configured to cover a rear glovebox storage volume in a closed configuration, the glovebox storage lid comprising a bumper structure that is mounted at an outer face of the glovebox storage lid (McCormick; Fig. 11; gasket G fitted to lid 40; [0031] gasket G fits in an interior recess which is facing in an outward direction of the lid 40 so that the gasket G is on an exterior surface of the lid 40). Regarding claim 11, McCormick discloses The rear storage structure of claim 10, wherein the rear storage structure comprises a vertical portion (McCormick; front wall 26 of base 22) configured to extend along a rear wall of the vehicle cabin and a horizontal portion (McCormick; bottom wall 33 of base 22) configured to extend along a floor of the vehicle cabin. Regarding claim 12, McCormick discloses The rear storage structure of claim 11, wherein the horizontal portion comprises the rear glovebox storage bin (McCormick; bottom wall 33 of base 22 of cooler 20). Regarding claim 13, McCormick discloses The rear storage structure of claim 12, wherein the horizontal portion comprises a tool storage bin (McCormick; sub-floor compartment 18) that comprises a floor storage lid (McCormick; Fig. 1 and 4; movable floor panel/lid 14) that is moveable between closed and open configurations. Regarding claim 14, McCormick discloses The rear storage structure of claim 12, wherein the vertical portion (McCormick; front wall 26 of base 22) comprises a rear storage bin (McCormick; sub-floor compartment 18) that comprises a rear storage lid (McCormick; Fig. 1 and 4; movable floor panel/lid 14) that is moveable between closed and open configurations. Regarding claim 15, McCormick discloses The rear storage structure of claim 14, wherein the rear storage lid (McCormick; Fig. 1 and 4; movable floor panel/lid 14) engages the bumper structure (McCormick; gasket G) with the rear storage lid in the closed configuration . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rori et al. US20100264681 in view of Mozurkewich et al. US20180319347 and An US20190023196 . Regarding independent claim 1 , Rori discloses, in Figure 6, A vehicle (Rori; Fig. 6; cargo van 10) comprising: a cabin (Rori; Fig. 6; the driver cabin of cargo van 10) comprising a front region (Rori; Fig. 6) comprising a front seat (Rori; driver seat 38) and behind the front seat and a rear wall (Rori; bulkhead 14) of the cabin; and a rear storage structure (Rori; Fig. 6; the bottom-most bin 56 of the storage compartment 14) located in the cabin, the rear storage structure comprising a rear glovebox storage bin including a rear glovebox storage volume. Rori does not disclose a rear region that is located behind the front seat and extends to a rear wall of the cabin; a rear storage structure located in the rear region of the cabin; the rear storage structure comprising a rear glovebox storage bin including a glovebox lid configured to cover a rear glovebox storage volume in a closed configuration, the glovebox storage lid comprising a bumper structure that is mounted at an outer face of the glovebox storage lid . Mozurkewich teaches a rear region (Mozurkewich; Fig. 1-2; [0044] volume V that is defined by between a seatback assembly 14 and a rear bulkhead 44) that is located behind the front seat (Mozurkewich; seatback assembly 14) and extends to a rear wall (Mozurkewich; Fig. 1-2; rear bulkhead 44) of the cabin; a rear storage structure (Mozurkewich; reservoir 50; [0055] reservoir 50 can extend approximately 60% of the vehicle width which is a majority of the vehicle width and extends vertically to rest/sit on the cabin floor) located in the rear region of the cabin (Mozurkewich; occupant compartment 8). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cabin as taught by Rori to have a rear storage structure that extends into a rear region behind the front seat so that the storage spans a majority of the vehicle width and also and extends vertically to rest/sit on the cabin floor as taught by Mozurkewich for the purpose of providing additional cabin storage space for the passenger. Modified Rori does not disclose the rear storage structure comprising a rear glovebox storage bin including a glovebox lid configured to cover a rear glovebox storage volume in a closed configuration, the glovebox storage lid comprising a bumper structure that is mounted at an outer face of the glovebox storage lid . An teaches a rear glovebox storage bin (An; console assembly 100) including a glovebox lid (An; lid assembly 106) configured to cover a rear glovebox storage volume (An; storage compartment 112) in a closed configuration, the glovebox storage lid comprising a bumper structure (An; Fig. 3; rubber pads 134) that is mounted at an outer face of the glovebox storage lid. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the rear storage structure as taught by Modified Rori to comprise a glovebox lid with a bumper structure as taught by An for the purpose of minimizing vibration of the lid (An; [0003] “a rubber bumper to inhibit vibration of the lid assembly assemblies during operation of a vehicle”). Regarding claim 2, Modified Rori teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The vehicle of claim 1, wherein the rear storage structure (Rori; Fig. 6; the bottom-most bin 56 of the storage compartment 14) comprises a vertical portion (Rori; Fig. 6; the vertical wall of the bottom-most bin 56 of the storage compartment 14) that extends along the rear wall of the cabin and a horizontal portion (Rori; Fig. 6; the bottom wall of the bottom-most bin 56 of the storage compartment 14) that extends along a floor of the cabin (Mozurkewich; [0055] reservoir 50 can extend approximately 60% of the vehicle width which is a majority of the vehicle width and extends vertically to rest/sit on the cabin floor). Regarding claim 3, Modified Rori teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The vehicle of claim 2, wherein the horizontal portion comprises the rear glovebox storage bin (Rori; Fig. 6; the bottom wall of the bottom-most bin 56 of the storage compartment 14). Regarding claim 4, Modified Rori teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The vehicle of claim 3, wherein the horizontal portion comprises a tool storage bin (Rori; Fig. 6; the bottom wall of the bottom-most bin 56 of the storage compartment 14) that comprises a floor storage lid that is moveable between closed and open configurations (An; lid assembly 106). Regarding claim 5, Modified Rori teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The vehicle of claim 3, wherein the vertical portion comprises a rear storage bin (Rori; Fig. 6; the vertical wall of the bottom-most bin 56 of the storage compartment 14) that comprises a rear storage lid that is moveable between closed and open configurations (An; lid assembly 106). Regarding claim 6, Modified Rori teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The vehicle of claim 5, wherein the rear storage lid engages the bumper structure (An; Fig. 3; rubber pads 134) with the rear storage lid in the closed configuration (An; lid assembly 106) . Allowable Subject Matter 07-43-03 AIA As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a). 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 7-9 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Radek US4216728 teaches a detachable storage container 250 on bulkhead B. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JONATHAN MALIKASIM whose telephone number is (313)446-6597. The examiner can normally be reached M-F; 8 am - 5 pm (CST). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yuqing Xiao can be reached at 571-270-3603. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JONATHAN MALIKASIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645 3/26/26 Application/Control Number: 18/615,190 Page 2 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/615,190 Page 3 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/615,190 Page 4 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/615,190 Page 5 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/615,190 Page 6 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/615,190 Page 7 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/615,190 Page 8 Art Unit: 3645