DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s response filed 28 January 2026 containing remarks and amendments to the claims.
The previous rejections have been updated as necessitated by amendments to the claims. The updated rejections follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14, 17, and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Palmer (US 2017/0137717).
Regarding claims 1 and 23, Palmer teaches feeding a used lubricating oil as feedstock to dehydration and fuel stripping units to produce a dewatered and defueled feedstock, and sending the dewatered defueled feedstock to a VDC to produce lighter base oil fractions and VTAE (see figures 6-7, [0070-072], [0060-0062]). Palmer feeds VTAE to a solvent deasphalting unit with hydrocarbon solvent in order to recover a product having reduced solids (polymer) and metals concentrations [0122].
Regarding claim 2, Palmer teaches using the purified VTAE material in various asphalt applications [0122].
Regarding claims 3-6, Palmer teaches oxidizing the VTAE in combination of asphalt or bitumen to form oxidized product having improved performance characteristic [0073], blending the VTAE with asphalts and air blowing in order to create products suitable for paving [0073-0078].
Regarding claims 7-9, Palmer teaches blending 20% purified VTAE with 80% asphalt [0123], also [0038].
Regarding claim 10, Palmer teaches blending a base asphalt with purified vtae having 1-30% vtae [0038].
Regarding claim 11, Palmer teaches separating the vacuum distillates from the vdc to hydrotreatment and fractionation to recover base oil distillates (see figure 7, [0061], [0139], [0037], [0125]).
Regarding claim 12, Palmer teaches separating and recycle of solvent [0122].
Regarding claims 13-14, Palmer teaches oxidizing to produce asphalt products [0123], [0073] and blending to produce pavement materials [0073-0080].
Regarding claims 17 and 19, Palmer teaches using petroleum derived solvents including pentane and n-heptane [0122].
Regarding claim 20, Palmer teaches CAPR comprising metals including aluminum, barium, etc [0030].
Regarding claims 21-22, Palmer teaches the same process steps applied to claim 20, as discussed above. Therefore, it is expected that the same products would result. Further, Palmer teaches blends of 1-98% asphalt with 1-30% VTAE with 1-30% SBS [0038]. Palmer further teaches poly alkyl methacrylates and styrene polymers [0038-0039]. Palmer teaches the materials also comprise metal compounds [0084].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palmer (US 2017/0137717) in view of Waghorne (US 2,729,589).
Regarding claims 15-16 and 18, Palmer teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above.
Palmer does not explicitly disclose the solvent ratio, or using propane solvent.
However, Waghorne teaches a conventional solvent deasphalting unit using propane solvent and ratios of about 4-10 (column 2, lines 1-60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have selected appropriate solvents, including propane, and optimized the solvent ratio, for the benefit of achieving the desired separations. Examiner considers Waghorne solvent ratio of about 10 to be close enough to the claimed range of 12:1, that the same or similar results would be achieved. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the solvent ratio depending on the solvent used and the feedstock, in order to achieve the desired separation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 28 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner considers Applicant’s arguments to be:
Palmer does not teach sending VTAE to solvent deasphalting stages.
Palmer does not teach solvent ratios of 12:1 or oxidation and pelletization.
Regarding Applicant’s first argument, Palmer teaches sending VTAE to solvent extraction with pentane, heptane, or other solvents to recover asphalt fraction precipitated from the hydrocarbons [0072].
Regarding Applicant’s second argument, Examiner notes that the independent claim does not require a solvent ratio or oxidation or pelletization. The rejections for claims 15-16 rely on teaching from Waghorne to address the solvent ratios. Waghorne is analogous art as it is a solvent deasphalting process, using alkane solvents to separate asphalts from hydrocarbons. Palmer teaches oxidation of the purified vtae [0073] as discussed with respect to claim 3.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE STEIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771