DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the initial filing filed on March 25, 2024 Claims 1-20 havebeen examined in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 3/25/2024 have been acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoenberg et al (US 2021/0072373 A1) in view of Swart (US 10028105 B1) and Farrokhi et al (US 2018/0003827 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Schoenberg teaches an electronic device comprising [0035 for mobile device]:
a communication circuit [0035 for ranging circuitry];
memory storing instructions; and at least one processor, comprising processing circuitry wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to [0035 for processing measurement signals]:
receive, via the communication circuit, an advertising frame transmitted by a first external electronic device [0035 for signals between two mobile devices, and 0064-0066 for advertising signals];
transmit, via the communication circuit, a first request signal, requesting a second external electronic device to receive the advertising frame from the first external electronic device, to the second external electronic device in response to receiving the advertising frame [0035 for round trip transmission between two mobile devices, with 0064-0066 for adverting tags];
obtain, via the communication circuit, response data, including first timestamp information on a timing at which the second external electronic device receives the advertising frame transmitted by the first external electronic device, from the second external electronic device [0035, 0058-0059 and figure 5];
obtain location data including location information of the second external electronic device with respect to the electronic device, based on performing ranging using Ultra-Wideband (UWB) communication with the second external electronic device [0035, 0050-0051];
and identify a location of the first external electronic device with respect to the electronic device, based on the response data and the location data [0032-0033 and 0035].
Schoenberg teaches receiving the advertising frames but fails to explicitly teach advertising frames from other sources.
Swart has A real-time locating system for use in tracking assets and people includes tag, beacon and bridge components (abstract), and teaches receiving the advertising frames but fails to explicitly teach advertising frames from other sources [col 3, lines 20-40].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the ranging techniques, as disclosed by Schoenberg, further including the advertising message calculations as taught by Swart for the purpose to estimate the location of the moving tag (Swart, lines 20-40).
Schoenberg fails to explicitly teach receiving the advertising frame and timestamp information from the first external electronic device to identify location.
Farrokhi has a positioning system is provided in which a client device samples a transmission from any suitable terrestrial wireless source (abstract) and teaches receiving the advertising frame and timestamp information from the first external electronic device to identify location [0034 and 0037].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the ranging techniques, as disclosed by Schoenberg, further including the timing calculations as taught by Farrokhi for the purpose to accurately timestamp the received samples from the wireless source (Farrokhi, 0034).
Regarding Claim 2, Schoenberg teaches the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to [0061]:
based on receiving the advertising frame from the first external electronic device in a state where a ranging session for performing the ranging is not generated, transmit, via the communication circuit, a second request signal, requesting to generate the ranging session with the first request signal, to the second external electronic device [0061-0063, figure 5, 0104-0105 for ranging rounds].
Regarding Claim 3, Schoenberg teaches the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to [0087-0088 with 0104-0105 for ranging rounds]
based on receiving the advertising frame from the first external electronic device in a state where the ranging session for performing the ranging is generated, transmit the first request signal through the ranging session and receive the response data [0086 for handshaking with ranging sessions also 0111 for use of time slots].
Regarding Claim 4, Schoenberg teaches the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to, using the communication circuit through the ranging session for performing the ranging [0183]:
receive a first message corresponding to a ranging initiation message from the second external electronic device [0122-0123 for using reply times, and 0184 for first ranging with another mobile device];
transmit a second message corresponding to a ranging response message to the second external electronic device, in response to receiving the first message [0185-0187 for determining direction of other devices and performing ranging using timing calculation];
and receive a third message corresponding to a ranging final message from the second external electronic device [0188-0189 for coordinating with UWB, wifi, and Bluetooth circuitry].
Regarding Claim 5, Schoenberg teaches the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to obtain, via the communication circuit, the response data [0058-0059 for using time stamps to track and correct time difference],
further including second timestamp information on a timing at which the second external electronic device receives the second message, from the second external electronic device [0058-0059 for using time stamp between devices (second device), also 0128-0130 for elapsed time].
Regarding Claim 6, Schoenberg teaches the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively [0042-0044],
cause the electronic device to obtain distance information on a distance between the electronic device and the second external electronic device through a ranging session for performing the ranging, and wherein the location data includes the distance information [0042-0044].
Regarding Claim 7, Schoenberg teaches the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to obtain first angle information on an angle at which the second external electronic device is located with respect to the electronic device [0185 for getting angles with pitch yaw and roll information],
based on an Angle of Arrival (AoA) of a signal received from the second external electronic device through the ranging session for performing the ranging, and wherein the location data includes the first angle information [0185 for performing triangulation].
Regarding Claim 8, Schoenberg teaches the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to [0184 for mobile device with ranging]:
obtain second angle information on an angle at which the first external electronic device is located with respect to the electronic device, based on an angle of arrival (AoA) of the advertising frame received from the first external electronic device via the communication circuit [0185 for determining orientation, direction, and angles];
and identify the location of the first external electronic device with respect to the electronic device, further based on the second angle information together with the response data and the location data [figure 13 for getting ranging and angle information from multiple devices].
Regarding Claim 9, Schoenberg teaches the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to [0102 for one to many ranging]:
generate a plurality of ranging blocks for performing the ranging every specified ranging interval, wherein the plurality of ranging blocks includes a first ranging block and a second ranging block [0104-0106 for first ranging round with multiple time slots];
obtain first location data including a location of the second external electronic device with respect to the electronic device for a time duration in which the first ranging block is enabled [0104-0105 for getting ranging and know distances, with acknowledge signals (round trip time calculations)];
obtain second location data including the location of the second external electronic device with respect to the electronic device for a time duration in which the second ranging block is enabled [0104-0105 and figure 13];
and identify the location of the first external electronic device with respect to the electronic device, based on either the first location or second location data selected based on the first timestamp information [0104-0105, and 0113-0115].
Regarding Claim 10, Schoenberg teaches a method of operating an electronic device, the method comprising [0035 for mobile device]:
receiving an advertising frame transmitted by a first external electronic device [0035 for signals between two mobile devices, and 0064-0066 for advertising signals];
transmitting a first request signal, requesting a second external electronic device to receive the advertising frame from the first external electronic device, to the second external electronic device in response to receiving the advertising frame [0035 for round trip transmission between two mobile devices, with 0064-0066 for adverting tags];
receiving response data, including first timestamp information on a timing at which the second external electronic device receives the advertising frame transmitted by the first external electronic device, from the second external electronic device [0035, 0058-0059 and figure 5];
obtaining location data including location information of the second external electronic device with respect to the electronic device, based on performing ranging using Ultra-Wideband (UWB) communication with the second external electronic device [0035, 0050-0051];
and identifying a location of the first external electronic device with respect to the electronic device, based on the response data and the location data [0032-0033 and 0035].
Schoenberg teaches receiving the advertising frames but fails to explicitly teach advertising frames from other sources.
Swart has A real-time locating system for use in tracking assets and people includes tag, beacon and bridge components (abstract), and teaches receiving the advertising frames but fails to explicitly teach advertising frames from other sources [col 3, lines 20-40].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the ranging techniques, as disclosed by Schoenberg, further including the advertising message calculations as taught by Swart for the purpose to estimate the location of the moving tag (Swart, lines 20-40).
Schoenberg fails to explicitly teach receiving the advertising frame and timestamp information from the first external electronic device to identify location.
Farrokhi has a positioning system is provided in which a client device samples a transmission from any suitable terrestrial wireless source (abstract) and teaches receiving the advertising frame and timestamp information from the first external electronic device to identify location [0034 and 0037].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the ranging techniques, as disclosed by Schoenberg, further including the timing calculations as taught by Farrokhi for the purpose to accurately timestamp the received samples from the wireless source (Farrokhi, 0034).
Regarding Claim 11, Schoenberg teaches the obtaining of the location data through the ranging session for performing the ranging comprises [0183]:
receiving a first message corresponding to a ranging initiation message from the second external electronic device [0122-0123 for using reply times, and 0184 for first ranging with another mobile device];
transmitting a second message corresponding to a ranging response message to the second external electronic device, in response to receiving the first message [0185-0187 for determining direction of other devices and performing ranging using timing calculation];
and receiving a third message corresponding to a ranging final message from the second external electronic device [0188-0189 for coordinating with UWB, wifi, and Bluetooth circuitry].
Regarding Claim 12, Schoenberg teaches the obtaining of the response data comprises receiving the response data further including second timestamp information on a timing at which the second external electronic device receives the second message [0058-0059 for using time stamp between devices (second device), also 0128-0130 for elapsed time].
Regarding Claim 13, Schoenberg teaches the obtaining of the location data comprises obtaining distance information on a distance between the electronic device and the second external electronic device through a ranging session for performing the ranging [0042-0044].
Regarding Claim 14, Schoenberg teaches the obtaining of the location data comprises obtaining first angle information on an angle at which the second external electronic device is located with respect to the electronic device [0185 for getting angles with pitch yaw and roll information],
based on an Angle of Arrival (AoA) of a signal received from the second external electronic device through the ranging session for performing the ranging [0185 for performing triangulation].
Regarding Claim 15, Schoenberg teaches obtaining second angle information on an angle at which the first external electronic device is located with respect to the electronic device, based on an angle of arrival (AoA) of the advertising frame received from the first external electronic device [0184 for mobile device with ranging with 0185 for determining orientation, direction, and angles],
wherein the identifying of the location of the first external electronic device with respect to the electronic device comprises identifying the location of the first external electronic device with respect to the electronic device, based on the response data, the location data, and the angle information [figure 13 for getting ranging and angle information from multiple devices].
Regarding Claim 16, Schoenberg teaches an electronic device comprising [0035 for mobile device]:
a communication circuit supporting ultra-wideband (UWB) communication [0035];
memory storing instructions [0035 for ranging circuitry];
and at least one processor comprising processing circuitry, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to [0035 for processing measurement signals]:
receive, via the communication circuit, a first request signal requesting to receive an advertising frame transmitted by a second external electronic device [0035 for signals between two mobile devices, and 0064-0066 for advertising signals],
generate an advertisement reception session in response to receiving the first request signal, receive, via the communication circuit [0035 for round trip transmission between two mobile devices, with 0064-0066 for adverting tags],
the advertising frame transmitted by the second external electronic device through the advertisement reception session, and transmit, via the communication circuit [0035, 0058-0059 and figure 5],
response data including first timestamp information on a timing at which the advertising frame is received, to the first external electronic device [0032-0033 and 0035].
Schoenberg teaches receiving the advertising frames but fails to explicitly teach advertising frames from other sources.
Swart has A real-time locating system for use in tracking assets and people includes tag, beacon and bridge components (abstract), and teaches receiving the advertising frames but fails to explicitly teach advertising frames from other sources [col 3, lines 20-40].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the ranging techniques, as disclosed by Schoenberg, further including the advertising message calculations as taught by Swart for the purpose to estimate the location of the moving tag (Swart, lines 20-40).
Schoenberg fails to explicitly teach receiving the advertising frame and timestamp information from the first external electronic device to identify location.
Farrokhi has a positioning system is provided in which a client device samples a transmission from any suitable terrestrial wireless source (abstract) and teaches receiving the advertising frame and timestamp information from the first external electronic device to identify location [0034 and 0037].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the ranging techniques, as disclosed by Schoenberg, further including the timing calculations as taught by Farrokhi for the purpose to accurately timestamp the received samples from the wireless source (Farrokhi, 0034).
Regarding Claim 17, Schoenberg teaches the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to [0104-0105]:
receive, via the communication circuit, a second request signal requesting to generate a ranging session for performing ranging using UWB communication with the first external electronic device [010-0105],
with the first request signal, and generating the ranging session and the advertisement reception session, in response to receiving the first request signal and the second request signal [0108-0109].
Regarding Claim 18, Schoenberg teaches the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device using the communication circuit through the ranging session for performing the ranging to [0183]:
transmit a first message corresponding to a ranging initiation message to the first external electronic device through the ranging session [0185-0187 for determining direction of other devices and performing ranging using timing calculation],
receive a second message corresponding to a ranging response message from the first external electronic device [0122-0123 for using reply times, and 0184 for first ranging with another mobile device],
and transmit a third message corresponding to a ranging final message to the first external electronic device, in response to receiving the second message [0188-0189 for coordinating with UWB, wifi, and Bluetooth circuitry].
Regarding Claim 19, Schoenberg teaches the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to [0058-0059 for using time stamps to track and correct time difference]:
obtain second timestamp information on a timing at which the second message is received from the first external electronic device, and transmit, via the communication circuit, the response data including the second timestamp information to the first external electronic device [0058-0059 for using time stamp between devices (second device), also 0128-0130 for elapsed time].
Regarding Claim 20, Schoenberg teaches the electronic device comprises a wearable electronic device [0031 for wearable device].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Watson et al (US 2018/0091965 A1) has a wireless audio output device is configured to be paired with a second wireless device via a first piconet connection.
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648