Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9-10, 12, 15-16, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Feng (CN213692369).
As to independent claim 1, Feng teaches an access cover (4) of a high voltage system (see paragraph [0012]) comprising: a plate (41, 45) defining a plurality of through holes (see annotated figure 3 and see figure 4) ; and a receiver (see annotated figure 3 and see figure 4) defining a through slot (5), wherein the receiver (see annotated figure 3 and see figure 4) is offset from the plate (41, 45), wherein the plate (41, 45) and the receiver (see annotated figure 3, see figure 4) define opposing ends of the access cover (4) as shown in figures 3 and 4.
As to claim 2/1, Feng teaches the through slot (5) is a linear through slot as shown in figures 3 and 4.
As to claim 3/2, Feng teaches teaches wherein the through slot is the linear through slot (5) with a pair of fillet corners as shown in figure 3 and 4.
As to claim 5/1, Feng teaches comprising: an L-bend (see annotated figure 3 and see figure 4) , wherein the L-bend (see annotated figure 3 and see figure 4) extends from the plate (41, 45); and a vertical leg (42, 44); wherein the vertical leg (42, 44) extends from the L-bend (see annotated figure 3 and see figure 4), wherein the L-bend (see annotated figure 3 and see figure 4) joins the plate (41, 45) to the vertical leg (42, 44); wherein the receiver (see annotated figure 3 and see figure 4) extends from the vertical leg (42, 44), wherein the vertical leg (42, 44) joins the L-bend (see annotated figure 3 and see figure 4) to the receiver (see annotated figure 3, and see figure 4), wherein the receiver (see annotated figure 3) is offset from the plate (41, 45) by the L-bend (see annotated figure 3 and see figure 4) and the vertical leg (42, 44) as shown in figures 3 and 4.
As to claim 6/5, Feng teaches wherein the vertical leg (42, 44) is orthogonal to the plate (41, 45) as shown in figure 3 and 4.
As to claim 7/6, Feng teaches wherein the receiver (see annotated figure 3 ad see figure 4) is parallel to the plate (41, 45) and orthogonal to the vertical leg (see annotated figure 3 and see figure 4) as shown in figures 3 and 4.
As to claim 9/5, Feng teaches wherein the plate (41, 45), the L-bend (see annotated figure 3 and see figure 4), and the vertical leg (42, 44) include a uniform thickness as shown in figures 3 and 4.
As to claim 10/5, Feng teaches comprising a first member (see annotated figure 4) and a second member (see annotated figure 4); the first member (see annotated figure 4) comprising the plate (45); the second member (see annotated figure 4) comprising the L-bend , (see annotated figure 4) the vertical leg (44), and the receiver(see annotated figure 4); wherein the first member (see annotated figure 4) is coupled to the second member (see annotated figure 4); wherein the plurality of through holes (see annotated figure 4) are a first plurality of through holes (see annotated figure 4); wherein the L-bend (see annotated figure 4) defines a through holes; wherein the through hole (see annotated figure 4) is aligned with at least some of the first plurality of through holes (see annotated figure 4) as shown in figure 4,
Duplication of parts
Re (2) above, teaches the claimed invention except for second plurality of through holes, it would have been an obvious duplications of parts to modify Feng by employing second plurality of through holes. Further, it would have been an obvious matter of duplication of parts to modify Feng, since such modification would have involved a mere duplication of essential working parts. A duplication of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co, v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
As to independent claim 12, Feng teaches a high voltage system (see paragraph [0012]) comprising: an access cover (4) comprising: a plate defining a plurality of through holes (see annotated figure 3 and see figure 4); and a receiver (see annotated figure 3 and see figure 4) defining a through slot (5), wherein the receiver (see annotated figure 3 and see figure 4) is offset from the plate (41, 45), wherein the plate and the receiver define opposing ends of the access cover (4); an electric motor (inherent, see tile relate to a junction box of motor controller, so the motor controller control an electric motor); a high voltage circuit (see paragraph [0012]); and a housing (1) comprising a connector housing and a low voltage connector (6), wherein the connector housing (see figure 1) houses the high voltage circuit (see paragraph [0012]), wherein the through slot (5) receives the low voltage connector (6), wherein the plate (41, 45) couples to the connector housing (see figure 1) and covers the high voltage circuit (see paragraph [0012]) as shown in figures 1, 3, and 4.
As to claim 15/12, Feng teaches wherein the low voltage connector (7) is disposed adjacent to the connector housing (1) as shown in figure 1.
As to claim 16/12, Feng teaches comprising a low voltage plug (7), wherein the low voltage plug (7) couples to the low voltage connector (6), wherein the receiver couples between the low voltage connector (6) and the low voltage plug (7) thereby preventing uncoupling of the plate from the connector housing (1); wherein the low voltage plug (7) is configured to uncouple from the low voltage connector (6) thereby permitting the plate (41, 45) to uncouple from the connector housing (1) as shown in figure 1, 3 and 4.
As to claim 18/12, Feng teaches wherein the housing comprises a motor housing which houses the electric motor(inherent to have a motor controller to control a motor and the motor have a housing to protect the electric components); wherein the connector housing (1) and the low voltage connector (6) extend from the motor housing (inherent to have a motor controller to control a motor and the motor have a housing to protect the electric components) as shown in figure 1.
As to independent claim 20, Feng teaches a method comprising: uncoupling a low voltage plug (7) from a low voltage connector (6) of a housing (1), wherein the housing (1) comprises a connector housing (see figure 1) and the low voltage connector (6); uncoupling a plurality of fasteners (inherent, to connect the plate to the housing through the plurality of holes) a plate (41, 45) of an access cover (4) and the connector housing (see figure 1), wherein the access cover (4) comprises the plate (41, 45) defining a plurality of through holes (see annotated figure 3 and see figure 4); and a receiver (see annotated figure 3 and see figure 4) defining a through slot (5), wherein the receiver (see annotated figure 3 and see figure 4) is offset from the plate (41, 45), wherein the plate (41, 45) and the receiver (see annotated figure 3 and see figure 4) define opposing ends of the access cover (4), wherein the plurality of fasteners (inherent, to connect the plate to the housing through the plurality of holes) are uncoupled from the plate (4) by removing the plurality of fasteners (inherent, to connect the plate to the housing through the plurality of holes) from the plurality of through holes (see annotated figure 3 and see figure 4); and uncoupling the plate (41, 45) from the connector housing to uncover a high voltage circuit housed within the connector housing, wherein the plate (4) is uncoupled from the connector housing in response to uncoupling the low voltage plug (7) from the low voltage connector (6) and in response to uncoupling the plurality of fasteners from the plate (41, 45) and the connector housing as shown in figure 1, 3 and 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng (CN213692369) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Guyot (5,885,423).
As to claim 4/1, Feng teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the plurality of through holes are counterbore through holes.
However Guyot teaches plurality of through holes are counterbore through holes as shown in figure 2, for the advantageous benefit of providing obviate or retrofit a damaged to the plate.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Feng by using plurality of through holes are counterbore through holes, as taught by Guyot, to provide obviate or retrofit a damaged to the plate.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng (CN213692369) as applied in claim 6 above, and further in view of Tanaka (WO2013015396).
As to claim 8/6, Feng teaches vertical leg (42,44) as shown in figures 3 and 4, but Feng teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein is an arched surface.
However Tanaka teaches arched surface (see annotated figure 4), for the advantageous benefit of achieving simplification of the manufacturing process by simplifying the shape, and thereby achieving to be smaller and low cost.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Feng by using arched surface, as taught by Tanaka, to achieve simplification of the manufacturing process by simplifying the shape, and thereby achieving to be smaller and low cost.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng (CN213692369) as applied in claim 12 above, and further in view of Guo (CN215898338) .
As to claim 11/12, Feng teaches L-Bend (see annotated figure 4) as shown in figure 4, but Feng teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except defining a second through slot.
However Guo teaches second through slot (20) as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of preventing to obstruct the base.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Feng by using a second through slot, as taught by Guo, to prevent to obstruct the base.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng (CN213692369) as applied in claim 12 above, and further in view of Schneider (EP3993585).
As to claim 13/12, Feng teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the electric motor is a three-phase electric motor.
However Schneider the electric motor is a three-phase electric motor (see paragraph [0026], for the advantageous benefit of allowing and preventing access to an electrical conductor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Feng by using the electric motor is a three-phase electric motor, as taught by Schneider, to provide separate insertion hole and the securing-by-bolts chamber which is configured to secure terminal metal fitting and the electrode by bolts.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng (CN213692369) as applied in claim 12 above, and further in view of Sakaguchi et al. (US PG Pub 2015/0035399).
As to claim 14/12, Feng teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except comprising a plurality of fasteners, wherein the plurality of fasteners couple the access cover to the connector housing through the plurality of through holes.
However Sakaguchi et al. teaches a plurality of fasteners (66), wherein the plurality of fasteners (66) couple the access cover (61) to the connector housing (6) through the plurality of through holes (66) as shown in figure 4, for the advantageous benefit of providing an efficiently increase the protection strength of the rotating electrical machine.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Feng by using a plurality of fasteners, wherein the plurality of fasteners couple the access cover to the connector housing through the plurality of through holes, as taught by Sakaguchi et al., to provide an efficiently increase the protection strength of the rotating electrical machine.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng (CN213692369) as applied in claim 16 above, and further in view of Kronenberger (DE102022113963).
As to claim 17/16, Feng teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except comprising a power electronics unit, wherein the high voltage circuit couples the power electronics unit and the electric motor, the power electronics unit comprising an interlock circuit, wherein the interlock circuit is configured to receive one or more signals from the low voltage connector via the low voltage plug; wherein the interlock circuit prevents the power electronics unit from supplying power to the high voltage circuit when the low voltage plug is uncoupled from the low voltage connector.
However Kronenberger a power electronics unit (3), wherein the high voltage circuit couples the power electronics unit and the electric motor, the power electronics unit (3) comprising an interlock circuit (HVIL), wherein the interlock circuit (HVIL) is configured to receive one or more signals from the low voltage connector via the low voltage plug (SV); wherein the interlock circuit prevents the power electronics unit (3) from supplying power to the high voltage circuit (HVIL) when the low voltage plug (SV)is uncoupled from the low voltage connector (see paragraph [0005-008]), for the advantageous benefit of improving an interlock circuit for a high-voltage electrical system of a motor vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Feng by using a power electronics unit, wherein the high voltage circuit couples the power electronics unit and the electric motor, the power electronics unit comprising an interlock circuit, wherein the interlock circuit is configured to receive one or more signals from the low voltage connector via the low voltage plug; wherein the interlock circuit prevents the power electronics unit from supplying power to the high voltage circuit when the low voltage plug is uncoupled from the low voltage connector, as taught by Kronenberger, to improve an interlock circuit for a high-voltage electrical system of a motor vehicle.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng (CN213692369) as applied in claim 12 above, and further in view of Danzer (DE102011004625).
As to claim 19/12, Feng teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except comprising a delay plate; wherein the delay plate is disposed within the connector housing.
However Danzer teaches a delay plate (221); wherein the delay plate (221) is disposed within the connector housing (500) as shown in figure 3 and 5-6, for the advantageous benefit of providing an electrical terminal of the low voltage apparatus in the vehicle can be protected efficiently through the protection device.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Feng by using a delay plate; wherein the delay plate is disposed within the connector housing, as taught by Danzer, to provide an electrical terminal of the low voltage apparatus in the vehicle can be protected efficiently through the protection device.
Conclusion
/JOSE A GONZALEZ QUINONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 February 6, 2026