DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in regards to application # 18/615,336 that was filed on 03/25/2024. Claims 1-16 are currently pending and are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Callaghan et al. (US 5651474).
Regarding claim 1, Callaghan discloses a storage tank (2, Fig. 2) for liquified gas or for liquid hydrogen (col. 2, lines 18-col. 4, lines 57), comprising a vessel(2, Fig. 2) having a vessel wall (50,54, 55, Fig. 2) formed from a fiber metal laminate including metal layers (aluminum skins, 76, 78, Fig. 5) formed with an aluminum alloy and one or more synthetic layers (70,72,74, Fig. 5) with reinforcing fibers embedded in a thermoplastic matrix (“prepeg sheets”; col. 3, lines 63-65).
Regarding claim 4, Callaghan discloses a storage tank (2, Fig. 2) wherein the thermoplastic matrix is formed with at least one of a polyphenylene sulfide or a polyimide or a polyaryletherketone (col. 4, lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 5, Callaghan discloses a storage tank (2, Fig. 2) wherein the thermoplastic matrix is formed with at least one of a polyetheretherketone, a polyetherketoneketone and a polyetherketone (col. 4, lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 6, Callaghan discloses a storage tank (2, Fig. 2) wherein the reinforcing fibers comprise glass fibers (col. 2, lines 1-2) and/or carbon fibers (claim 9, col. 3, lines 65-66; col. 3 , lines 32-34).
Regarding claim 10, Callaghan discloses a storage tank (2, Fig. 2) wherein an innermost layer of the fiber metal laminate from which the vessel wall is formed, which forms an inner side of the vessel wall, is a metal layer formed with the aluminum alloy (‘…made by sandwiching sheets of composite prepreg between two sheets of (e.g. "Supral.TM.") superplastic aluminum alloy….’, col. 3, lines 30-34; 78, Fig. 5), and wherein further, an outermost layer of the fiber metal laminate, which forms an outer side of the vessel wall, is a metal layer formed with the aluminum alloy (‘…made by sandwiching sheets of composite prepreg between two sheets of (e.g. "Supral.TM.") superplastic aluminum alloy….’, col. 3, lines 30-34; 76, Fig. 5).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1)/(a)( as being anticipated by Yangen et al. (CN107880494) (on IDS dated 03/25/2024) (see attached English translation).
Regarding Claim 12, Yangen discloses a fiber metal laminate (claim 16; para. [0005]) comprising metal layers formed with an aluminum alloy (para. [0005], [0051]) and one or more synthetic layers with reinforcing fibers (claim 1-16, para. [0050], “carbon fiber prepeg”) embedded in a thermoplastic matrix (para. [0005], [0008], thermoplastic resin), wherein the fiber metal laminate further comprises carbon nanotubes and/or graphene particles (para. [0024]).
Regarding Claim 13, Yangen discloses a fiber metal laminate (claim 16; para. [0005] ) wherein the carbon nanotubes and/or graphene particles are dispersed in the thermoplastic matrix of at least one of the synthetic layers (para. [0005], [0024]) or of a sublayer thereof (para. [0005]), or are dispersed in the thermoplastic matrix in a portion of one of the synthetic layers or of a sublayer thereof in a thickness direction of the fiber metal laminate or are provided in a form of a layer between at least one of the synthetic layers or a sublayer thereof and an adjacent layer or adjacent sublayer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Callaghan et al. (US 5651474) in view of Vorel et al. (doc. “AlMgSc alloy 5028 status of maturation”).
Regarding Claims 2 and 3, Callaghan is silent, Vorel in the same field of endeavor teaches an AlMgSc alloy 5028 (Alloy 5028 is a low density high strength aluminum alloy on AlMg basis with additions of Sc; page 1) and AIMgSc alloy 5024 (page 1) used for a storage tank for liquified gas or for liquid hydrogen(i.e. cryogenic tanks).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the metal layer disclosed in Callaghan with the AIMgSc alloy 5028/5024 as taught in Vorel with a reasonable expectation of success because it provides a superior strength-to-weight ratio and low density; exceptional weldability; excellent corrosion resistance.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Callaghan et al. (US 5651474) in view of Edie et al. (doc. “THERMOPLASTIC COATING OF CARBON FIBERS”).
Regarding Claim 7, Callaghan discloses a storage tank (2, Fig. 2) for liquified gas or for liquid hydrogen (col. 2, lines 18-col. 4, lines 57) wherein the reinforcing fibers include carbon fibers are coated with epoxy resin (claim 4, thermoset resin epoxy)).
Callaghan is silent, Edie in the same field of endeavor teaches reinforcing fibers are coated with an electrically insulating coating before being embedded in the thermoplastic matrix (abstract, page 2, LaRC-TPI high-performance thermoplastic polyimide is an excellent electrical insulator).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to coat the electrically insulating epoxy resin disclosed in Callaghan onto the reinforcing fibers before being embedded in the thermoplastic matrix as taught in Edie with a reasonable expectation of success because it provides a uniform and flexible prepeg, improve thermal management, prevent electrical discharges, and protect against unwanted current.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Callaghan et al. (US 5651474) in view of Yangen et al. (CN107880494) (see attached English translation).
Regarding Claim 8, Callaghan discloses a storage tank (2, Fig. 2) for liquified gas or for liquid hydrogen (col. 2, lines 18-col. 4, lines 57) with reinforced carbon fibers(“prepeg sheets”; col. 3, lines 63-65).
Callaghan is silent, Yangen in the same field of endeavor teaches a fiber metal laminate (claim 16; para. [0005] ) comprises carbon nanotubes and/or graphene particles(para. [0005], [0024]), wherein the carbon nanotubes and/or graphene particles are dispersed in the thermoplastic matrix of at least one of the synthetic layers (para. [0005], [0024]) or of a sublayer thereof or are dispersed in the thermoplastic matrix in a portion of one of the synthetic layers or of a sublayer thereof in a thickness direction of the fiber metal laminate or are provided in a form of a layer between at least one of the synthetic layers or a sublayer thereof and an adjacent layer or adjacent sublayer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carbon fibers disclosed in Callaghan with the carbon nanotubes and/or graphene particles as taught in Yangen with a reasonable expectation of success because it provides better mechanical strength, flexibility, elasticity, and enhanced electrical & thermal conductivity.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Callaghan et al. (US 5651474) in view of Labordus et al. (US 2004/0151921).
Regarding claim 9, Callaghan is silent, Labordus in the same field of endeavor teaches a fiber metal laminate wherein the laminate comprises at least one weld seam or a butt weld seam (6, Fig. 1) wherein two portions of the fiber metal laminate are joined at the weld seam (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vessel walls disclosed in Callaghan with the weld seam or a butt weld seam connection as taught in Labordus with a reasonable expectation of success because it provides a strong connection between two fiber metal laminate walls of the vessel.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Callaghan et al. (US 5651474) in view of Orchard (US 2023/0143288).
Regarding Claim 11, Callaghan discloses a cryogenic structure application in an aerospace structures like rockets and spacecrafts for cryogen containment (col. 4, lines 50-57).
Callaghan is silent, but Orchard in the same field of endeavor teaches an aircraft (para. [0053]) or spacecraft comprising the storage tank (100, para. [0053]) for liquified gas according to claim 1 as well as a hydrogen-based propulsion system configured to be supplied with hydrogen at least from the storage tank (para. [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the storage tank disclosed in Callaghan with the on an aircraft for supplying liquified gas/hydrogen based propulsion as taught in Orchard with a reasonable expectation of success because it provides a safe and long-range fuel storage for the aircraft.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yangen et al. (CN107880494) (see attached English translation) in view of Vorel et al. (doc. “AlMgSc alloy 5028 status of maturation”).
Regarding Claim 14, Yangen discloses a fiber metal laminate (claim 16; para. [0005] ) wherein the thermoplastic matrix (para. [0005], [0008], thermoplastic resin), is formed with at least one of a polyphenylene sulfide (para. [0024]) or a polyimide (para. [0024]) or a polyetherketone or a polyaryletherketone or a polyetheretherketone (para. [0024]) or a polyetherketoneketone.
Yangen discloses a fiber metal laminate (claim 16; para. [0005] ) wherein the metal layers are formed with ana high strength metal alloy like aluminum alloy (para. [0005]).
Yangen is silent, but Vorel in the same field of endeavor teaches an AIMgSc alloy 5028 (Alloy 5028 is a low density high strength aluminum alloy on AlMg basis with additions of Sc; page 1) and AIMgSc alloy 5024 (page 1) used for a fiber metal laminate for making a storage tank for liquified gas or for liquid hydrogen(i.e. cryogenic tanks).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the metal layer disclosed in Yangen with the AIMgSc alloy 5028/5024 as taught in Vorel with a reasonable expectation of success because it provides a superior strength-to-weight ratio and low density; exceptional weldability; excellent corrosion resistance.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yangen et al. (CN107880494) (see attached English translation) in view of Edie et al. (doc. “THERMOPLASTIC COATING OF CARBON FIBERS”).
Regarding Claim 15, Yangen discloses a fiber metal laminate (claim 16; para. [0005] ) wherein the reinforcing fibers (claim 1-16, para. [0050], “carbon fiber prepeg”) comprise glass fibers and/or carbon fibers(para. [0024]).
Yangen is silent, Edie in the same field of endeavor teaches reinforcing fibers are coated with an electrically insulating coating before being embedded in the thermoplastic matrix (abstract, page 2, LaRC-TPI high-performance thermoplastic polyimide is an excellent electrical insulator).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reinforcing fiber disclosed in Yangen with electrically insulating coating before being embedded in the thermoplastic matrix as taught in Edie with a reasonable expectation of success because it provides a uniform and flexible prepeg, improve thermal management, prevent electrical discharges, and protect against unwanted current.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yangen et al. (CN107880494) (see attached English translation) in view of Vorel et al. (doc. “AlMgSc alloy 5028 status of maturation”), and further view of Edie et al. (doc. “THERMOPLASTIC COATING OF CARBON FIBERS”).
Regarding Claim 16, Yangen discloses a fiber metal laminate (claim 16; para. [0005]) comprising metal layers formed with an aluminum alloy (para. [0005], [0051]) and one or more synthetic layers with reinforcing fibers (claim 1-16, para. [0050], “carbon fiber prepeg”) embedded in a thermoplastic matrix (para. [0005], [0008], thermoplastic resin).
Yangen discloses a fiber metal laminate (claim 16; para. [0005] ) wherein the metal layers are formed with ana high strength metal alloy like aluminum alloy (para. [0005]).
Yangen is silent, but Vorel in the same field of endeavor teaches an AIMgSc alloy (Alloy 5028 is a low density high strength aluminum alloy on AlMg basis with additions of Sc; page 1) and AIMgSc alloy 5024 (page 1) used for a fiber metal laminate for making a storage tank for liquified gas or for liquid hydrogen(i.e. cryogenic tanks).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the metal layer disclosed in Yangen with the AIMgSc alloy 5028/5024 as taught in Vorel with a reasonable expectation of success because it provides a superior strength-to-weight ratio and low density; exceptional weldability; excellent corrosion resistance.
Modified Yangen discloses a fiber metal laminate (claim 16; para. [0005] ) wherein the reinforcing fibers (claim 1-16, para. [0050], “carbon fiber prepeg”) comprise carbon fibers (para. [0050]).
Modified Yangen is silent, but Edie in the same field of endeavor teaches reinforcing fibers are coated with an electrically insulating coating before being embedded in the thermoplastic matrix (abstract, page 2, LaRC-TPI high-performance thermoplastic polyimide is an excellent electrical insulator).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reinforcing fiber disclosed in modified Yangen with electrically insulating coating before being embedded in the thermoplastic matrix as taught in Edie with a reasonable expectation of success because it provides a uniform and flexible prepeg, improve thermal management, prevent electrical discharges, and protect against unwanted current.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure”
Bruton et al. (US2023/0313384) discloses a multilayered article including a thermosetting polymer material having at least one surface, a thermoplastic polymer layer deposited on the at least one surface of the thermosetting polymer material, a cold sprayed metal layer present on at least a portion of a surface of the thermoplastic polymer layer, at least one additional layer, the at least one additional layer sandwiching at least a portion of the cold sprayed metal layer between the additional layer and the thermoplastic polymer layer, where the thermoplastic polymer layer has a crystallinity of about 5% to about 60%.
Assres H. Woldemaryam
Primary Examiner (Aeronautics and Astronautics)
Art Unit 3642
/ASSRES H WOLDEMARYAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642