DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/22/2025 with respect to amended claims 1 –11, also newly added claims 12 - 14 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicant has amended the specification to overcome the objection to the specification provided in the previous office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5 – 7, and 9 - 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LIU (US PgPub No. 2008/0025649).
Regarding claim 1, LIU teaches an image processing apparatus (figure 1) comprising at least one processor (figure 1 item 120) configured to: perform processing on first image data and generate second image data different from the first image data (figure 3 item 210 to 218; also figure 6 items 270 and 280); determine whether or not the first image data includes associated data that is data in association with the first image data (figure 3 metadata, main image data, parameter; also figure 6 item 274); and when the first image data includes the associated data, copy the associated data and associate the copied associated data with the second image data that is processed and generated in the processing (figure 3 item 216 and 218; also figure 6 items 278 and 280).
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, LIU teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, LIU teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to transmit the first image data to another apparatus (paragraphs 0020, 0026, 0040 transfer image).
Regarding claim 6, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 5, LIU teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, LIU teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to manage a transmission state of the first image data to the other apparatus (paragraphs 0020, 0026, 0040 transfer image while managing transmission state).
Regarding claim 7, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, LIU teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, LIU teaches wherein the processing is trimming processing or resizing processing (paragraph 0020 invention rotate, resize, or otherwise as necessary transform the thumbnail image to accurately portray, in miniature form, the corresponding transformed main image; also paragraph 0004 time).
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, LIU teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, LIU teaches wherein the associated data is audio data (paragraph 0036; audio data).
Regarding claim 10, LIU teaches an image processing method (paragraphs 0018 – 0019) comprising: processing first image data and generating second image data different from the first image data (figure 3 item 210 to 218; also figure 6 items 270 and 280); determining whether or not the first image data includes associated data that is data in association with the first image data (figure 3 metadata, main image data, parameter; also figure 6 item 274); and when the first image data includes the associated data, copying the associated data and associating the copied associated data with the second image data that is processed and generated in the processing (figure 3 item 216 and 218; also figure 6 items 278 and 280).
Regarding claim 11, LIU teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-executable instructions for causing a computer to execute (paragraphs 0024 – 0030) an image processing method (paragraphs 0018 – 0019), the image processing method comprising: processing first image data and generating second image data different from the first image data (figure 3 item 210 to 218; also figure 6 items 270 and 280); determining whether or not the first image data includes associated data that is data in association with the first image data (figure 3 metadata, main image data, parameter; also figure 6 item 274); and when the first image data includes the associated data, copying the associated data and associating the copied associated data with the second image data that is processed and generated in the processing (figure 3 item 216 and 218; also figure 6 items 278 and 280).
Regarding claim 12, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, LIU teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, LIU teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to determine whether or not the first image data has Exif data, and in a case where it is determined that the first image data has the Exif data, only Exif data corresponding to processing applied to the first image data is inherited to the second image data (figure 3 item 210 to 218; also figure 6 items 270 and 280; Exif data).
Regarding claim 13, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, LIU teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, LIU teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, in a case where the first image data has a plurality of associated data, copy all associated data and associate the copied associated data to the second image data regardless of the processing applied to the first image data (figure 3 item 210 to 218; also figure 6 items 270 and 280; Exif data; also figure 5).
Regarding claim 14, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, LIU teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, LIU teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to record the associated data and the Exif data in different regions respectively (figure 3 item 210 to 218; also figure 6 items 270 and 280; Exif data; also figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 – 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU (US PgPub No. 2008/0025649) in view of Speasl (US PgPub No. 2019/0325164).
Regarding claim 2, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, LIU teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim.
However, LIU fails to clearly teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to acquire the image data by capturing an image of a subject. Speasl, on the other hand teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to acquire the image data by capturing an image of a subject.
More specifically, Speasl teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to acquire the image data by capturing an image of a subject (paragraphs 0004, 0031, 0041; an object being photographed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Speasl with the teachings of LIU to have a system that can take image of a subject for user pleasure and/or processing.
Regarding claim 3, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 2, LIU in view of Speasl teach all of the limitations of the parent claim.
Additionally, LIU teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to acquire the associated data (paragraphs 0025 – 0028 processing unit 120 processing image data).
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 2, LIU in view of Speasl teach all of the limitations of the parent claim.
Additionally, LIU teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to store the first image data in association with the associated data (figure 3 metadata, main image data stored in image, parameter; also figure 6 item 274 stored in image).
Regarding claim 8, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, LIU teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim.
However, LIU fails to clearly teach wherein the associated data is protection information or rating information. Speasl, on the other hand teaches wherein the associated data is protection information or rating information.
More specifically, Speasl teaches wherein the associated data is protection information or rating information (abstract, paragraphs 0023 - 0024, 0034 – 0035, 0038, 0040, 0046 - 0049, 0051; secured/certified/level of secured images).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Speasl with the teachings of LIU to have a system that can take image of a subject for user pleasure and/or processing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fredlund (US PgPub No. 20060044399) teaches a camera system with lens and processing.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Usman Khan
/USMAN A KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637
02/25/2026