Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “a moving walkway” in line 3, “it should be “the moving walkway”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the frame” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 10, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (JP 4407227).
Regarding claim-1. JP discloses a handrail system for a moving walkway (Abstract; Fig.1, 11), the handrail system comprising:
multiple handgrasp apparatuses (11-14, Fig.1, 4) for a moving walkway, each handgrasp apparatus includes a handgrasp ([0011-0012], Fig.1, 3);
a propulsion system (45, Fig.4) for propelling the handgrasp apparatuses on a passenger side ([0011-0012]) and
a return side returns of a loop track the handgrasp apparatuses travel around ([0011-0015], Fig.6); and
a side housing (16, Fig.1) for supporting the handrail system and enclosing the return side for the handgrasps ([0011-0012], Fig.2, 6).
Regarding claim-2. JP discloses wherein the propulsion system (45) includes linear motors (45 includes coils 41-43, Fig.4, 6)) along the passenger side that interact with a magnet (18, Fig.3) supported by each handgrasp apparatus (11-14) to propel the handgrasp apparatuses around at least a portion of the loop track ([0011-0012], Fig.1, 4).
Regarding claim-3. JP discloses wherein the propulsion system (45) further includes linear motors (47) along the return side (Fig.6) that interact with the magnet (18) supported by each handgrasp apparatus (11-14) to propel the handgrasp apparatuses around another portion of the loop track ([0011-0015], Fig.4, 6).
Regarding claim-4. JP discloses further comprising a frame (16) that defines the loop track the handgrasp apparatuses will travel around (track 16 defines the loop track Fig.1, on which 11-14 travels around, [0011-0012], Fig.6).
Regarding claim-5. JP discloses wherein the loop track includes transition zones to allow the handgrasp apparatuses to move from the passenger side to the return side and from the return side to the passenger side (See Fig.1, 6-7, track 16 includes curved transition zones that allows 11-14 to move around closed loop).
Regarding claim-10. JP discloses wherein the moving walkway is a modular moving walkway (individual multiple conveyor belts 21, 22, 23 in variable speed zones 41 being slow and 43 being high speed zone, [0013]; Figs.1, 4) wherein each module of the moving walkway includes a separate linear motor for each passenger side of the loop track (the primary coils 41, 42, 43 of the linear motor 45 correspond to respective low speed zones 41, acceleration zones 42, and high speed zones 43 along the length of the moving walkway, [0013]; Figs. 4, 5).
Regarding claim-12. JP discloses further comprising a computer system (40, Fig.4) to set motion profiles (with the help of sensor 15, Fig.3) and modulate speed of the handgrasps (11-14) by sending electrical signals to the linear motors (41-43) of the propulsion system (45) ([0011-0013]).
Regarding claim-13. JP discloses wherein the computer system includes a synchronization system that tracks and coordinates the position of the handgrasps of the handrail system relative to passengers riding the moving walkway (when the passenger touches the touch sensor 15, the control device 40 moves the moving part 11 at the same speed as the conveyor belts through the different speed zones, [0012-0013]).
Claim(s) 16-17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gonzalez (US 6602331).
Regarding claim-16. Gonzalez discloses a handrail system for use with a moving walkway (Abstract, Fig.1), the handrail system comprising:
a handrail belt (3, Fig.2);
a driver roller (pinion 3d on the axle 16, Fig.4, 6) for moving the handrail belt; and
multiple handgrasps (1, Fig.4, 6) driven around a loop track by the handrail belt (Col.4 line23-44, Fig.2, 5-6).
Regarding claim-17. Gonzalez discloses wherein the handrail belt (33) includes ridges (Fig.5) that engage teeth (Fig.5) on an underside of the handgrasps to propel the handgrasps around the loop track (the chain 3 has elements 3a-b that engage the two valleys 1a-b on the underside of the handle 1 so that the moving chain can pull on the handle, Col.4 line35-43, Fig.5).
Regarding claim-20. Gonzalez discloses wherein the moving walkway is a modular moving walkway and each module of the modular moving walkway has a separate handrail belt (the different speed zones of the walkway have respective sections of chains 3, 4, 5 at corresponding speeds to the walkway, Col.4 line53-67, Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (JP 4407227) in view of Dean (US 4232776).
Regarding claim-6. JP doesn’t disclose wherein each transition zone includes a rotary wheel that interacts with a portion of each handgrasp apparatus to facilitate movement of the handgrasp apparatuses from the linearly disposed passenger side to the linearly disposed return side and from the linear disposed return side to the linearly disposed passenger side.
Dean discloses a walkway system (Fig.1) having handgrasps (12, Fig.3) (Abstract) and also, teaches wherein each transition zone includes a rotary wheel (rotary spools 112) that interacts with a portion of each handgrasp apparatus (the handrail units 12 follow the curved path 146 by having the friction block 96 of the handrail units 12 roll along a series of five rotary spools 112, Fig.3, 6, 7) to facilitate movement of the handgrasp apparatuses from the linearly disposed passenger side to the linearly disposed return side and from the linear disposed return side to the linearly disposed passenger side (the end modules 16 and 18 are constructed the same with the curved path 146 to transition the handrail units 12 from the bottom return side up to the top passenger side and back, Fig.3, 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to provide/include JP’s system with rotary wheel as taught by Dean for purpose to provide a system to support the handgrasp apparatus through the vertical transition where there is no linear motor system.
Regarding claim-7. JP as modified wherein the rotary wheel (112, as taught by Dean) includes notches disposed therein that engage with a protruded portion that extends from a base member of each handgrasp apparatus (the spools 112 have a notch with tapered side walls 114 that engage the protruding friction block 96 of the handrail units 12, Col. 7 lines 53-56, Fig.6-7).
Regarding claim-14. JP doesn’t disclose wherein the frame has a series of shoulders that can be engaged by a series of wheels mounted to the handgrasp apparatus to maintain position of the handgrasp apparatuses as they travel around the loop track.
Dean teaches wherein the frame has a series of shoulders that can be engaged by a series of wheels mounted to the handgrasp apparatus to maintain position of the handgrasp apparatuses as they travel around the loop track (each handrail unit 12 has Camrol bearings 100 mounted on the shaft 98 to ride in slots 102 formed in the sidewalls to extend the length of the walkway and along the curved path 138; Col.7 line45-50, Fig.7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to provide/include JP’s system with addition of shoulders and engaging wheels as taught by Dean for purpose to provide a low friction track to rigidly support the handgrasps for the length of the walkway.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (JP 4407227) in view of Clark (US 20210039502).
Regarding claim-8. JP does not explicitly disclose wherein each transition zone includes a curved linear motor to propel the handgrasp apparatuses around the transition zone. However, it does teach the handgrasps 11-14 travels around the transition zones of the loop track 16, [0012], Fig.1 but fails to explicitly discloses a curved linear motor.
Clark discloses a transport system (Fig.1) and also, teaches wherein each transition zone includes a curved linear motor (22e-f, bend 180 degrees to transition between the bottom and top sides using linear synchronous motors; Fig. 2, [0042], [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify JP’s transition zone with addition of curved linear motor as taught by Clark for purpose to provide a system to support the handgrasp apparatus through the vertical transition.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (JP 4407227) in view of Ford (US 3314517).
Regarding claim-9. JP doesn’t disclose wherein the loop track is horizontally disposed and the passenger side of the loop track provides handgrasps to passengers going a first direction on a first moving walkway and the return side of the loop track provides handgrasps to passengers going a second direction on a second moving walkway.
Ford discloses moving pedestrian walkway (Fig.1), and also, teaches wherein the loop track is horizontally disposed (handrail 140 is supported by driving rings 142, 144 in a horizontal loop; Figs.1-3) and the passenger side of the loop track provides handgrasps to passengers going a first direction on a first moving walkway and the return side of the loop track provides handgrasps to passengers going a second direction on a second moving walkway (the continuous handrail 140 is rotated on the driving rings 142, 144 to move in the first and second directions on the respective walkways 24, Col.5 line38-45 and Col.6 line26-32, Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify JP’s loop track with addition of horizontal loop as taught by Ford for purpose to provide a compact and efficient system to for moving walkways in two opposite directions.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (JP 4407227) in view of Gonzalez (US 6602331).
Regarding claim-11. JP does not explicitly disclose wherein the propulsion system (45) includes a conveyor belt that engages a part of each handgrasp apparatus to propel the handgrasp apparatus down the return side of the loop track.
Gonzalez discloses a moving walkway (Fig.1 Abstract) and also, teaches wherein the propulsion system (45) includes a conveyor belt that engages a part of each handgrasp apparatus to propel the handgrasp apparatus down the return side of the loop track (chains 3-4 engage the valleys 1a-b in the fixed length handles 1 and drive the movement of the handrail system across the bottom return side, Col.4 line35-45, and Col.5 line40-45, Fig.2, 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify JP’s return side with addition of conveyor apparatus as taught by Gonzalez for purpose to quickly return the handgrasp apparatus to the start point of the walkway.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonzalez (US 6602331) in view of Dean (US 4232776).
Regarding claim-18. Gonzalez does not discloses further comprising a guide track positioned adjacent to the handrail belt that maintains position of the handgrasps on the loop track and cooperates with the handgrasps to maintain engagement between the handgrasps and the handrail belt.
Dean discloses a walkway system (Fig.1) having handgrasps (12, Fig.3) (Abstract) and also, teaches further comprising a guide track positioned adjacent to the handrail belt that maintains position of the handgrasps on the loop track (each handrail unit 12 has Camrol bearings 100 mounted on the shaft 98 to ride in slots 102 formed in the sidewalls to extend the length of the walkway and along the curved path 138; Col.7 line45-50, Fig.7) and cooperates with the handgrasps to maintain engagement between the handgrasps and the handrail belt (slots 102 keep the handrail unit 12 positioned so that the friction block 96 is positioned against the driving spools 112; Fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Gonzalez system with addition of guide track as taught by Dean for purpose to provide a low friction track to rigidly support the handgrasps for the length of the walkway.
Regarding claim-19. Gonzalez as modified disclose wherein guide track (as taught by Gonzalez) includes a body with recesses disposed therein to receive bearings to facilitate movement of the handgrasps by the handrail belt (each handrail unit 12 has Camrol bearings 100 mounted on the shaft 98 to ride in slots 102 formed in the sidewalls to extend the length of the walkway and along the curved path 138; Col.7 line45-50, Fig.7 as taught by Dean).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15, and 21-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Note: Examiner strongly suggest applicant to take a look at Notice of references cited PTO-892 as there are other references or in combination that can be used to reject some of the claims.
/MA/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651