DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed July 22, 2026 has been received, Claims 1-11, 13-15, and 18-31 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 15, 18-19, and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meir (US 2014/0245545).
Regarding Claim 15, Meir discloses an article of footwear, comprising: an upper (Fig.13) comprising a knitted component (1300; para.85) comprising: a heel portion, a lateral midfoot portion (midfoot at 1304), and a medial midfoot portion (midfoot at 1305)(see annotated Figure below); a first knitted tubular structure integrally knitted with the lateral midfoot portion, the first knitted tubular structure extending upward from the heel portion proximate a biteline (1304,1305) of the article of footwear to an opening (i.e. opening of 1342 with 1344) in a convergence region (1310,1312,1313) in a throat area of the upper (see annotated Figure above & Fig.11); a second knitted tubular structure integrally knitted with the medial midfoot portion, the second knitted tubular structure extending upward from the heel portion proximate the biteline (1304,1305) of the article of footwear to the opening (i.e.rearmost opening of 1342 with 1344) in the convergence region in the throat area of the upper (see annotated Figure above & Fig.11); and a tensioning element (1340) that extends through the first knitted tubular structure and through the second knitted tubular structure (para.86), wherein the tensioning element extends out from the knitted component through the opening in the convergence region to form an exposed segment of the tensioning element outside of the knitted component in the throat area of the upper (as seen in Fig.13), wherein each of the first knitted tubular structure and the second knitted tubular structure comprise a first boundary (i.e. rear side edge of 1342) and a second boundary (i.e. forward side edge of 1342)(as seen in Fig.13).
Regarding Claim 18, Meir discloses an article of footwear of claim 15, wherein the first knitted tubular structure and the second knitted tubular structure meet and are joined at a heel seam (1306,1307; para.85)(as seen in the annotated Figure above).
Regarding Claim 19, Meir discloses an article of footwear of claim 15, wherein the first knitted tubular structure and the second knitted tubular structure each extend upward diagonally from the heel portion (as seen in annotated Figure above), the second boundary (i.e. left side edge of 1342) being proximate to the biteline (1304,1305) located between the upper and a sole structure (110)(para.46 & 48; as seen in Fig.2 & 4B), wherein the first boundary (i.e. rear side edge of 1342) represents a first edge and the second boundary (i.e. forward side edge of 1342) represents a second edge where a first layer and a second layer start to separate to form the first knitted tubular structure and the second knitted tubular structure, respectively (para.86; as seen in Fig.11, 13 & 14).
Regarding Claim 22, Meir discloses an article of footwear of claim 15, wherein the tensioning element (1340) forms a single exposed segment (i.e. one rearmost 1344) outside of the knitted component (as seen in Fig.13).
Regarding Claim 23, Meir discloses an article of footwear of claim 15, wherein the first knitted tubular structure and the second knitted tubular structure each comprise a first knit layer and a second knit layer that are integrally knit and partially unsecured to define a corresponding channel (para.86; as seen in Fig.13 & 14), and wherein a single tensioning element (1340) extends through the corresponding channel of the first knitted tubular structure and through the corresponding channel of the second knitted tubular structure (as seen in Fig.13 & the annotated Figure above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meir (US 2014/0245545) in view of Moudgil (US 11,793,267).
Regarding Claim 20, Meir discloses an article of footwear of claim 15, wherein the first knitted tubular structure forms a first folding area (i.e. area of 1300 behind lateral, rearmost vertical 1342) and the second knitted tubular structure forms a second folding area (i.e. area of 1300 behind medial, rearmost vertical 1342). Meir does not explicitly disclose wherein when force is applied to an exterior side of the heel portion, the knitted component is biased to fold at the first folding area and the second folding area along the first boundary so that the heel portion is folded down and extends into a foot-receiving void defined by the upper. However, Moudgil teaches a heel portion (109) wherein when force is applied to an exterior side of the heel portion, the knitted component is biased to fold at a first folding area (i.e. lateral side of 109) and a second folding area (i.e. lateral side of 109), so that the heel portion is folded down and extends into a foot-receiving void defined by the upper (as seen in Fig.1A & 2A; Col.3, line 45-Col.4, line 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the heel portion of Meir to fold down, as taught by Moudgil, in order to provide a shoe with an easy entry configuration for the user to quickly don a shoe when needed. When in combination, Meir and Moudgil teach the knitted component is biased to fold at the first folding area and the second folding area between the tensioning element positioned at the first and second tubular structures and the heel portion.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-11, 13-14, 21, and 24-31 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant's amendment, the search has been updated, and new prior art has been identified and applied. Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEGAN E LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732